5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE (NAS), old thread closed. please open a new one

numbertwo
post Feb 8 2012, 02:28 PM

1,784 posts

@jchue73, is that possible to upgrade the MOBO in N36L ? If yes, i don't mind getting N36L and upgrade in future if at all necessary..

Added on February 8, 2012, 3:53 pmThis is the total cost quoted from Amazon US if I were to ship it back...

---

Order Summary
HP 658553-001 ProLiant N40L Ultra Micro Tower Server System AMD Turion II Neo N40L 1.5GHz 2C 2GB (1 x 2GB) 1 x 250GB LFF SATA

Items: $275.85
Shipping & Handling: $131.50
Total Before Tax: $407.35
Estimated Tax To Be Collected:* $0.00
Order Total: $407.35

---

This post has been edited by numbertwo: Feb 8 2012, 03:53 PM
numbertwo
post Feb 8 2012, 05:26 PM

1,784 posts

Just exploring possibility , not necessary to n40L spec.
numbertwo
post Feb 8 2012, 07:08 PM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(CocoMonGo @ Feb 8 2012, 05:46 PM)
Actually when I compare the prices from july 2011 and Jan 2012 from same seller in lowyat, for WD Green SATA it increased about RM50 more or less for a 2TB drive. it increased... but not too much, still can tahan. between the two models 200Mhz increase, but they now give 2GB RAM and 250GB HDD as standard. Unfortunately i cannot recycle storage liau... coz if i delete anymore i might as well just delete everything LOL. Already deleted unnecessary stuff and duplicates months ago and now full again.

Can I ask which OS u r using for ur N36L? 120MB/s is very impressive, close to theoretical max.

I htink the major bottle neck is not the processor, but the network hardware. SATA I states that transfer speeds reach 1500 Mbps, so theoretically a SATA I HDD will more then saturate a 1000Gb network. Mayb unless you are using software RAID5 over even number discs on a slow processor then maybe la
WD Green WD20EARS - cost about RM250 before the flood(sept '11), i'm sure it cost 400 min or more now... Please can you PM me your seller in lowyat who is able to sell this 2TB below 300 now? Thanks.
numbertwo
post Feb 8 2012, 10:21 PM

1,784 posts

I got a response from a HP reseller in PJ for N40L.. It's back-2-back order with 2-4 weeks lead time. Anyone interested? Price would most probably be somewhere around 1.3-1.4K, w/o OS.
numbertwo
post Feb 9 2012, 09:43 AM

1,784 posts

haha..the WD Green certainly won't be selling for 249 now, otherwise I'm pretty sure this seller will run out of stock under 15 minutes he put up the offer in our garage sales here..
numbertwo
post Feb 9 2012, 10:54 AM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Feb 9 2012, 10:31 AM)
if its for real please PM me tongue.gif I'll glady grab a few units hahah!

Btw, DLink ShareCenter 320 NAS drop price to RM245 liao in penang. What happened? Suddenly the price drop so much after cny.
320 has been priced like that in KL even before 2012 in All-IT mall for example.. Yes the 320, not the 323..
numbertwo
post Feb 9 2012, 11:06 AM

1,784 posts

can't remember bro becoz i have basically take this out from my NAS list due to poor comments found on the net.

Added on February 9, 2012, 11:16 amif u guys don't mind an over spec HP model just for media storage, u may consider ML110 G6, $1388 promo price according to the reseller.

This post has been edited by numbertwo: Feb 9 2012, 11:16 AM
numbertwo
post Feb 10 2012, 10:18 AM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(CocoMonGo @ Feb 9 2012, 01:24 PM)
what kind of power consumption can we expect from the ML110?
It is a server spec, running on xeon so i guess power consumption won't be low..but expandability is there for sure.

So, anyone wanna tag along to get the N40L ?
numbertwo
post Feb 12 2012, 08:56 PM

1,784 posts

as i read the feature of JBod does not have any data redundancy feature, is that bearable to you?
numbertwo
post Feb 13 2012, 10:04 AM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Feb 12 2012, 09:03 PM)
jbob is just a bunch of hdd that is grouped up into 1 continues big volume..

raid 0 , stripping = no data redundancy, for NAS no point to do raid 0 , since gigabit network speed is only about 100MB/s

while on average most hdd can read/write higher than that.. apart from that.. your using a normal NAS, which its processing power im not sure how powerful is it.. u might even get more worst performance..

if you wan speed, just fix the hdd into your desktop ....

if you want mass storage with redundancy get raid5 with nas..
do you have any experience with unRaid ? apparently this raid can support incremental HDDs..and it runs off a USB drive.. hmm.gif
numbertwo
post Feb 16 2012, 10:21 AM

1,784 posts

as usual, the next one the sifus here will recommend u will be synology or qnap.. happy hunting.
numbertwo
post Feb 17 2012, 08:52 AM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(CocoMonGo @ Feb 16 2012, 11:56 PM)
I was searching online on HDD lifespan today and found this white paper from Fujitsu about using 2.5" HDD for server applications.

http://www.fujitsu.com/downloads/COMP/fcpa...ext-duty_wp.pdf
some of the points made seems relevant to me so I thought I did share. However read it with a pinch of salt... Fujitsu is a major 2.5" HDD manufacturer. Not the first time i read about using 2.5" HDD in server applications and it does seem like a very good solution (lower heat, noise, power consumption, vibration)
I guess price and size factors alone will prohibit us from using 2.5" into our valuable HDD server slots. But there is such a idea being implemented, see this
nod.gif

numbertwo
post Feb 17 2012, 12:48 PM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(CocoMonGo @ Feb 7 2012, 02:02 PM)
dunno yet ... i will update u guys when it arrives
how's this going CocoMongo?! has it arrived yet..?
numbertwo
post Feb 20 2012, 05:01 PM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Feb 19 2012, 07:53 PM)
that 6-slot 2.5" for 3.5" slot is awesome!! Can I know where I can buy that thing?
if u have already fully utilized the 4bays, do you need to change the power supply to power up these additional 2'5"s?
numbertwo
post Feb 23 2012, 06:43 PM

1,784 posts

I'm gonna place an order for N40L(from local authorised hp distributor), estimated cost will not more than 1.4K. If anyone here interested to join the purchase PM me... Only 1 or 2 orders max.

Added on March 2, 2012, 4:13 pmHi ,
wonder if anyone has converted the optical drive in N36/N40L to 5th 3.5" HDD? Is there any special type of caddy to be used?

This post has been edited by numbertwo: Mar 2 2012, 04:13 PM
numbertwo
post Mar 5 2012, 10:51 AM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Mar 4 2012, 03:33 PM)
this

http://www.frozencpu.com/products/11681/cp...525B.html#blank

lian li.. easier to get there are many more out there in the market but not sure if malaysia got sell

u can check out ebay also
ok, this is certainly one good option if we can pool these 4 2'5" drives into one single pool , separated from the 4 sata 3'5".. I can then use that 4x2'5" for important documents and make it raid5/raid10, and the other 4sata 3'5" will just be a JBOD(just media .mkv files, nothing important)..

Added on March 5, 2012, 10:57 amsince HD is so expensive now, getting 4 2'5" is killing.. so a cheaper solution to convert 5.25 to 3.5" http://www.lelong.com.my/hard-disk-bracket...2-03-Sale-P.htm

This post has been edited by numbertwo: Mar 5 2012, 10:57 AM
numbertwo
post Mar 13 2012, 11:34 AM

1,784 posts

Just collected my N40L today..
now I have to decide what to go for in terms of OS, my few choices are :

1. Freenas or OpenMediaVault, and one that has to have bittorrent(utorrent) server for seeding purpose.. This is easy opt as I can boot the OS thru the USB in the MOBO..

2. Windows Home server 2011 - No idea where I can get a copy as I read it only comes as OEM copy (ie. bundled with Acer Revocenter)..

3. Windows server 2008 R2. I have access to this. This will take up a HDD which I don't quite prefer, and i wonder running this R2 would consume more power than say Freenas since it may have many services that run on the background which I don't really need..

Any inputs and comments are most appreciated!
numbertwo
post Mar 14 2012, 11:50 AM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 13 2012, 06:02 PM)
Wah, congrats.  rclxms.gif Where did you get it? What's the damage?
well..$1328 for the basic unit + $68x2 to 'downgrade' the standard 2GB ECC to 8GB Non-ECC RAM (ready for MS Server R2 installation in case my attempt to get the OMV runs on USB fails my expectation)

just wanna ask.. have you succesfully converted the ODD bay to house the extra 3.5" HDD in ur N36L? I wonder if this works : http://www.lelong.com.my/hard-disk-bracket...2-03-Sale-P.htm

numbertwo
post Mar 14 2012, 01:46 PM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Mar 14 2012, 12:28 PM)
Thanks for the info. Wah, price went up already for the basic unit? Except for the upgraded processor, what do they give now for basic?

Yes, that should work. That looks like the same type of bracket that I pulled out from my old PC and put it at the top of my N36L.
The package includes 2GB ECC, 250GB Seagate 7200 HDD, A Sata DVDROM.. that's it..

The SATA DVDRom has a Sata power cable and a Sata Data cable, I wonder if this fits the 250GB Seagate 7200 that comes with the box as I am going to put that 250GB into the DVD bay?
numbertwo
post Mar 14 2012, 02:53 PM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Feb 23 2012, 06:43 PM)
I'm gonna place an order for N40L(from local authorised hp distributor), estimated cost will not more than 1.4K.  If anyone here interested to join the purchase PM me... Only 1 or 2 orders max.

Added on March 2, 2012, 4:13 pmHi ,
wonder if anyone has converted the optical drive in N36/N40L to 5th 3.5" HDD?  Is there any special type of caddy to be used?
none of the HP shops in Klang Valley sell this, except the only one computer shop at 1U that has N36L in stock...it was a back-2-back order from my co.'s HP distributor- ECS Star, shipment from HP S'pore.

Added on March 16, 2012, 11:42 pm
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Feb 8 2012, 07:31 PM)
You sure only RM 50 increase?

2GB RAM (especially since you can use non ECC type) is cheap. 250GB vs 160GB while nice increase is not substantial increase. OS does not take a lot of space.

Windows Server 2008 R2.
Nowadays, any decent brand network hardware can give you decent Gigabit performance. The trick to fast reads and writes is the hardisk array itself and the RAID controller.
@jchue73... Hi , I wonder were you using the 'Install from USB' method when you did the R2 installation?

I'm hit with 'windows could not determine if this computer contains a valid system volume" issue after chosen a partition to install into..

USB from Mobo is the first boot drive - this is where I
And I'm trying to install R2 into the ODD drive..

google from the net, it seems that Win R2 assume the first boot drive is where new boot drive would be and apparently it recognize that it is an USB hence doesn't allow the installation to proceed..

I am thinking to install the DVD drive, and put the 250GB back to the cage - then move it back to the ODD replacing the DVD drive.. A hardway if there is no other way..

pls share your experience?

This post has been edited by numbertwo: Mar 16 2012, 11:42 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0249sec    0.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:58 AM