Household [Home Appliances] Air-con

~Curious~
post Jan 27 2013, 02:04 PM

1,744 posts

wads d difference between panasonic's inverter technology n its econavi technology besides d advertised power savings?
~Curious~
post Jan 28 2013, 03:32 AM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(lingleeyen @ Jan 27 2013, 05:10 PM)
Inverter is inverter. ECONAVI is sensor function. They co-exist to give more energy saving.
ok thanks..i tot is two different panasonic air-con models lol
~Curious~
post Mar 30 2013, 01:19 AM

1,744 posts

any reviews for topaire brand?
~Curious~
post Mar 31 2013, 05:08 PM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Mar 31 2013, 03:02 PM)
I see. Not sure then, my experience so far was that those big shops overcharge (Jusco wants 1500 for the Daikin I paid 1150 for...), smaller shops specialized on aircons usually all have Daikin (in the JB area), and they can give good prices. Was usually between 1150 and 1200, so not much difference. Maybe you can go to the Daikin website and see if they list any dealer nearby? Maybe those small shops can order if they don't have ready stock?

I once had to track down an Epson printer that no shop at all seemed to have in Malaysia. In the end Epson's customer support managed to find one shop that did though, which was pretty awesome. Perhaps if everything else fails Daikin can do that for you too...

Btw., Daikin's inverter models ending on DVM have EcoNavi for sure, GVM maybe not on the 1 hp model, however I may simply have screwed up and mistakenly thought the non-inverter one is the inverter one. You won't be able to find a DVM anymore. If you do manage to get the newer GVM, then please let me know if they still have EcoNavi (it's that thing looking like an eye on the right of the unit, next to the LEDs).
DVM got EcoNavi,then GVM doesn't?
Daikin sounds good n more affordable than d likes of Pana,York n all.
~Curious~
post Mar 31 2013, 11:26 PM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Mar 31 2013, 06:40 PM)
Not sure, I thought so, but others say it still has (but they have higher hp ones). But for bedroom usage it's probably not so crucial, unless you tend to forget turning off your aircon.

Actually in the big shops Daikin tends to be more expensive IMHO.
yeah even in klang valley,not many shops carry daikin airconds alongside other brands.

any reviews of how daikin compares to mitsubishi mr slim series?
~Curious~
post Apr 2 2013, 01:48 AM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Apr 1 2013, 08:45 PM)
Just installed Panasonic Inverter 1.0HP air conditioner for my bedroom today. RM1400 inclusive installation (air cond unit, RM1200 plus installation charge of RM200 due to Inverter). Obviously I didn't bought the unit from Seng Heng which is really pricey (about RM1600++ inclusive installation). I bought the air conditioner from the shop that sells and specialize for the air conditioner unit only, not retail electrical chain stores. Can 'nego' some more  thumbup.gif  At first I was hunting for Daikin model, unfortunately they said that it might takes about TWO WEEKS to order from supplier  rclxub.gif Daikin unit much more cheaper (less RM100 than Panasonic inverter - the reason why Daikin was way cheaper is due to R22 vs R401 refrigerant applied to the compressor) But I was really impatient to wait for two weeks, then I decided to just take Panasonic Inverter since they got ready stock for that unit.

- The indoor unit seems bigger, like 1.5HP air conditioner albeit it only 1.0HP when compared to my old cheapo Mistral air conditioner.

- Installation process was like a charm. Took about 40 minutes only to dismantle my old air conditioner and replaced it with a new one. Good workmanship and installer told me his 'ups and downs' experience dealing with air conditioner installation for the past 12 years. He seems really experienced and professional installer.

- Inverter unit will costs much more money to maintain. Conventional 1.0HP ~ 1.5HP air conditioner only costs RM80 for the brief maintenance, but Inverter will costs about RM130-RM150 for the maintenance (again, due to R22 vs R401A refrigerant). He said that maintenance need to be done like once a year. Depending on the usage styles. More frequent use, need to service every 6 months.

- According to the installer, there's 'nothing special' about inverter compressor. It just a normal compressor, but with build in 'intelligent' microcomputer board to control their behaviour for not to frequently 'on---off' like conventional air conditioner. Just hope that the microcomputer board will last longer since the costs to replace that tiny unit will be pricey.

- Installer also said that you can really saves using the inverter, but with longer usage like 5 hours++ every time you turned it on.

- Faster cooling as well as quiet compressor and indoor unit noise when compared to my old air conditioner as well as my neighbour compressor unit.

- Strong breeze from the indoor unit albeit fan settings was on medium-low, hence the reason why it cools my room faster. (temp settings: 25 degree celcius)

- I still didn't managed to understand well the functions of those-so-called 'ECONAVI'...

- Overall, for the time being I'm satisfied with my 'investment' with Inverter. I understand now the phrase ' you get what you pay' - RM700 Mistral vs RM1400 Panasonic Inverter. So much different between these two air conditioner. Perhaps it just less than a day.... I just crossed my fingers  sweat.gif
no stocck for daikin,but got display unit to view?btw which shop u go to?
~Curious~
post Apr 2 2013, 02:52 PM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Apr 2 2013, 07:18 AM)
No stock and display unit as well. They only showed me some sort of in-house catalogue that tells the detail price of all the air conditioner that they sells. It just a small air conditioner shop and when they get order, they will take the unit from their warehouse. Oh, the shop name is Champion Air Conditioner service, situated somewhere in Northern Perak (small 'cowboy' town) - they only got ready stock for the 'common' air conditioner brand like York, Acson, Panasonic, Midea and just to name a few.
just asking,but y u chose daikin?

sorry forgot u bought panasonic

This post has been edited by ~Curious~: Apr 2 2013, 11:25 PM
~Curious~
post Apr 3 2013, 02:15 AM

1,744 posts

if i get a r22 gassed air cond now,then when the gas is phased out o get an r410a gassed unit,wud d pipings be used again or need to change?
~Curious~
post Apr 3 2013, 06:35 PM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Apr 3 2013, 07:17 AM)
Existing copper piping for R22 cannot be reused with R401A refrigerant. You need to change to new copper piping system which is more thicker and have better insulation to withstand the high pressure of R401A refrigerant.
changing piping means hacking walss rite?/
~Curious~
post Apr 4 2013, 04:18 PM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(BTimes @ Apr 3 2013, 10:48 PM)
Just ordered 1hp Hisense air con for my rooms. Any feedback on this brand? Quite cheap ard $7xx inclusive of normal installation. Also bought LG 2hp for living room.
nvr heard of hisense b4.....LG doesnt seem to come to mind when it comes to aircond
~Curious~
post Apr 9 2013, 05:48 PM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(willius @ Apr 9 2013, 10:12 AM)
Bro,
No worries, a lot of ppl misunderstood about the refrigerant.
It is not the GAS which is running out but the AIRCON MODEL[I] that uses the R22 is PHASING OUT.
from 2014 onwards, Malaysia is enforcing a law to use a MORE environmental friendly aircon refrigerant R401a
But this doesn't mean we're not able to get the R22 gas anymore, it just we're not able to buy R22 type of Aircon anymore.

Whatever existing aircon using the R22 do not need to replace the piping or anything like that. Chill man ......
lol ok..thanks hehe
~Curious~
post Apr 14 2013, 11:15 PM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(willius @ Apr 9 2013, 09:58 AM)
I bought a 1hp and a 1.5 hp Mr Slim, cooling, powerful yet silent.
But i bought it about 2-3 yrs ago when Mitsubishi Heavy Industry Service center is not established yet.

My bro bought a Mitsubishi Heavy Industry 1hp and a 1.5hp Mr Slim recently.
He claims the 1hp from Mitsubishi Heavy Industry cool down faster and performs well yet CHEAPER.

Mr Slim the good thing is, u can always keep your aircon clean bekoz u can DIY the cleaning for the indoor unit.
i tot mr slim is mitsubishi,now got two companies known for mr slim?
i was told rite,tht mitsubishi air-con wont cool as much as they claim wor (eg 1.5 hp,u'll feel llike 1.2 hp coolness nia wor)
~Curious~
post Apr 15 2013, 11:46 PM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Apr 15 2013, 10:01 AM)
My Mitsubishi Electric 1.5 hp inverter aircon cool down my room temperature to 24 when I set the aircond temperature to 26.
wah tht's overpower yeah =D but how do u know its 24?do u have a thermommeter in d room
~Curious~
post Apr 15 2013, 11:52 PM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(willius @ Apr 15 2013, 06:04 PM)
Mr Slim is by MELCO and Mistsubishi HEavy Industry is another entity that sell heavy duty aircon but cheaper.

Whoever told you that Mitsubishi Air Con won't cool down as much as they claim, there's only 3 reason :

1. They don't own a Mitsubishi Aircon before
2. They bought the wrong BTU and HP for the wrong size of the room
3. They are trying to sell you other brand  tongue.gif
d a/c installer said 1....owh so if i wanna buy mr slim, its manufactured by MELCO?
are air cons by Mitsubishi Heavy Inndustries any good?
~Curious~
post Apr 17 2013, 07:20 PM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(willius @ Apr 17 2013, 06:49 PM)
MELCO = Mitsubishi Electric

Both Mistsubishi Electric and Mitsubishi Heavy Industry MHI abang adek company la ........

Both cater for different customer need. Equally good so far.

Mr SLIM from Melco can DIY Cleaning but MHI cannot but for thorough cleaning, u will still need to send it for services to aircon man.
owh ok.thanks I will note this when buying mr slim
~Curious~
post Apr 26 2013, 10:18 PM

1,744 posts

izzit york n daikin now same company?so then if i buy a daikin,its actually d same air cond as york but wif a different pricetag?
anyone got reviews abt topaire/?
btw just 8,wad happened to carrier?
~Curious~
post Aug 27 2013, 01:35 AM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(chris_x @ Aug 26 2013, 04:05 PM)
Daikin works the same way. According to the aircond engineer, it is more durable and efficient to cool slower. Not sure if it's true, but so far I have Daikin in my house, and it works fine. Mitsu compressor is more quiet though.
daikin got lower BTU?does your daikin unit save you alot on the electricity bill?(assuming yours is an inverter unit)
~Curious~
post Aug 28 2013, 12:01 AM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(chris_x @ Aug 27 2013, 08:07 PM)
I't a standard unit. Works well and power consumption is decent. Since only used at night. For home users, not much difference with inverter.
ok thanks
~Curious~
post Aug 28 2013, 12:30 AM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Aug 28 2013, 12:16 AM)
So which one you will purchase?
still deciding.but i think most likely get 1 daikin inverter unit+1 daikin standard unit.then also considering panasonic,york n mitsubishi.have you read anything about "Carrier" brand of aircons?

This post has been edited by ~Curious~: Aug 28 2013, 12:30 AM
~Curious~
post Sep 23 2013, 09:50 PM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(setheo @ Sep 22 2013, 03:43 PM)
All panasonic fan will increase next month too.
panasonic products' prices increased last week ady no?

0.0541sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:54 AM