Household [Home Appliances] Air-con

tiger1986sg
post Mar 22 2009, 07:16 PM

20 posts

Anybody knows what is the latest price for:

1) Panasonic 1.5HP Inverter?
2) Panasonic 2.5HP Inverter?
3) Daikin R410A 4MKD80 condenser unit with 3x FTK35 fan coil?

Thanks!

Added on March 22, 2009, 8:46 pm
QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Feb 26 2009, 11:35 AM)
The york cooling king is 10K from the brochure tongue.gif average is 9k. then york is good at cooling rite.
I don't like York. The YWM15G I have in my office is noisy.. Lots of rattling sound despite at the lowest fan speed.

This post has been edited by tiger1986sg: Mar 22 2009, 08:46 PM
tiger1986sg
post Mar 23 2009, 11:36 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(kswong77 @ Mar 23 2009, 11:29 AM)
but he said they will not seal & plaster back the wall. just hack only.... is this consider "conceal work"?
I don't call this concealed installation. Concealed means hiding the connections and pipes so it cannot be seen.

In my personal preference, I would prefer to use PVC trunking and conduits instead of concealed for easy maintenance and upgrades.
tiger1986sg
post Mar 23 2009, 01:27 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(kswong77 @ Mar 23 2009, 12:49 PM)
after we paid for this "conceal installation" charges, do we need to pay another charges for him to fix the aircond?
I've never done concealed installation before. Not sure about this one.

Anyway do take note of the following when your aircon tech comes to install your aircon.

I have noticed a lot of aircon techs didn't do a good job. They should at least vacuum pump the refrigerant lines + each fan coil unit and check for leaks before releasing the refrigerant. Without doing the vacuum pump evacuation, the moisture in the air will contaminate the system and the compressor will not function efficiently. It will also lead to premature wear and tear. The vacuum evacuation process should last at least 30 minutes for a thorough moisture and air evacuation.

On the other hand, a lot of technicians tried to save materials costs by using thinner copper tubings, brazing it with soft solder. The thinner tubings will cause more flow resistance and thus wasting the power. Thinner tubings also have the potential to starve the compressor of refrigerant and lubrication, leading to overheating and premature wear and tear.

Make sure they use at least a 80 core cable (not the very thin type) when wiring up the system. They should connect the aircon to a dedicated circuit breaker, not sharing it with other power plugs or lightings.

The temperature of the system should be measured after it has been running for at least 15 minutes in cooling mode with high fan speed and lowest temperature setting. Measure the temperature on the fan coil air intake and air outtake. The temperature difference should be at least 8 deg.C for Panasonic models. Different models come with different specifications.

Make sure your aircon tech does the above - otherwise they're not doing a good job. Another thing, offer the aircon tech a cold drink. This will give them some motivation for a good job.

This post has been edited by tiger1986sg: Mar 23 2009, 01:28 PM
tiger1986sg
post Mar 23 2009, 08:55 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(qsil @ Mar 23 2009, 03:04 PM)
does anybody have good electrician who does good sealing of copper pipping for aircons.....heard a lot on shoddy work by air con shops installer

Added on March 23, 2009, 3:09 pmtoshiba aircon vs panasonic which 1 better ?
Johor Bahru:
Zhi Sheng Sdn Bhd
Add : 56, Jalan Nakhoda 2, Taman Ungku Tun Aminah, 81300 Skudai, Johor.
P.I.C : Tee Tian Chua
Tel : +607 5548 388
Fax : +607 5541 388

Alternative Solution: Install yourself tongue.gif

Toshiba vs Panasonic: I choose Panasonic. But if you give me more choices. I choose Daikin.

This post has been edited by tiger1986sg: Mar 23 2009, 08:55 PM
tiger1986sg
post Mar 23 2009, 10:14 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(ah liew @ Mar 23 2009, 09:57 PM)
York air-con has the worst remote control, have to point directly & closely to the sensor.

The best remote control is National/Panasonic, very sensitive in every direction.
*nods*

My one the buttons are also very hard to press. since new already like that.
tiger1986sg
post Mar 29 2009, 11:01 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(DigitalBayPG @ Mar 27 2009, 11:25 AM)
Any idea of cooling an entire floor in an office?  I am planning to cool a office floor, and install those suction fan on each room.  Will this in return save me money and be more energy saving?  And the A/C will turn on almost 24/7.

Some of the water cooled system that are used for outdoor function or at restaurant, how good are they?
How big is your office?

I will recommend Daikin VRV III systems if your office is big and has multiple rooms or zones. My friend just got it installed in his office. If you're staying in Johore, I can recommend you a contractor.

For chilled water system, it is good for extremely large installation exceeding 200HP like shopping malls. However the drawback is the risk of water leakages. In this case I would go with Daikin VRV if I were you.

Added on March 29, 2009, 11:01 am
QUOTE(andrewektai @ Mar 26 2009, 12:49 AM)
Get a York, the BTU is higher and it cools your rooms fast with higher BTU.
York is noisy sad.gif I just threw away mine and got a new Daikin smile.gif

This post has been edited by tiger1986sg: Mar 29 2009, 11:01 AM
tiger1986sg
post May 10 2009, 10:58 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(KingHenry14 @ Apr 6 2009, 09:47 AM)
Hello guys, I was offered RM280 for the normal A/C conceal work while RM560 for the Inverter type.

Does anyone here know whether this price is reasonable or expensive?

Thanks for your advice in advance.

Added on April 12, 2009, 5:07 pmAnyone using Daikin brand?

I heard Daikin Inverter conceal charges is same as any brand's non inverter A/C from one of the contractor.

Not sure whether how true it is..anybody has experience on this?
I've used Daikin since age of 5 (That's 18 years ago) and it is a very good brand. I'm using Daikin Inverter now. The installation cost should be the same as there is nothing much too complicated. For an effective installation, ensure the contractor vacuum (remove air) the refrigerant lines and check for leaks before opening the valves at the outdoor unit. Some of them don't have the correct size of tubings and they just downsize/upsize it. This is not an effective way. They should also use a pipe bender to bend the copper tubings. Bending it by hand can cause a sharp 90 degree blockage.

I recommend that you visit www.daikin.com.my to search their authorised contractors at your area.
tiger1986sg
post Jun 11 2009, 10:36 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jun 1 2009, 11:40 AM)
Panasonic is good, my office uses it but over long period of time, you can feel the chill air piercing your skin. Additionally, usually developer only give the basic piping for normal aircond. Panasonic inverter aircond need special piping and special gas if i'm not mistaken.

Because of this, my new home ended up with full Daikin. So far, we are quite happy with it and the air is quite cooling. Cost saving 45%. Panasonic can save a little more like 50% electricity though.

For ceiling central aircond, York is the way to go cause that seems to be every shop telling me, including some of my relatives who has them.
I would prefer Daikin Skyair for ceiling cassette roundflow aircon or VRV III for central air conditioning. I've tried them myself and they're far better than York. Quieter and save more power because they are inverter too.
tiger1986sg
post Jun 11 2009, 10:49 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jun 2 2009, 10:59 AM)
That is suprise me when the aircon installer told me inverter type need CFC free gas. I thaught all the aircon is using cfc free gas. Thaught the harm gas already phase out in the late 90's. Now I makesure all gas must cfc free gas before they can pump in.
CFC is R11 and R12
HCFC is R22
HFC is R410A and R134A

HCFC has been used as an intermittent solution towards ozone depletion prevention. It contains Chlorine still harms the ozone but not as much as CFC. HFC is totally ozone friendly. However it is a greenhouse gas and the global warming potential is higher than R744. I can't wait to see R744 products appearing for air conditioning in Malaysia. R410A is already a trouble here since many installers and suppliers are not willing to deal with them due to increased costs. Many technicians also don't know how to handle R410A. It has to be handled differently from R22. The transition period can be further delayed due to costs concerns.

FYI, R744 is Carbon Dioxide.

Just an observation, I have seen many aircon technicians releasing R22 and R12 into the air. Now this is illegal by law but people just don't care. I'm very disappointed with these technicians. Sometimes I told them but they would tell me off as if I know nothing about aircon refrigerants.

Added on June 11, 2009, 11:00 am
QUOTE(naleh33 @ Jun 11 2009, 10:46 AM)

One of the electrical shop in Serdang, Weng Ho is offering me the Daikin Inverter 1HP (RM1300) including installation and Daikin Inverter 1.5HP (RM1530). Is it a good price?
No this is not a good price. It is FAR TOO CHEAP. I find them suspicious. They only earn like RM100 to sell you the system and install for you I believe.

I installed mine FTKD35 + RKD35 series (1.5HP class inverter system) for RM1.9k. This includes the following:
-Vacuum Refrigerant Lines with a Vacuum Pump
Vacuum Pump looks like this http://www.pumps-manufacturer.com/products...umPump_7705.jpg
-Bend copper tubbings properly using a pipe bender
Pipe bender looks like this http://www.tradecounterdirect.com/prodimag...vy-pipe-ben.jpg
-Stainless Steel Brackets
-PVC Trunking for the copper tubings and pipes plus wires
-System check
-Never save on things like downsizing the pipes, thinner cables etc.
The previous cheapo installer did that sad.gif
-My piping length is 22 feet.

The cost of the equipment is RM 1.5k. Cost of installation is RM400.

You can check out the following contractor I have sourced from Daikin:
HVAC Engineering Sdn Bhd
Add : No 238-A (1st Floor), Jalan Jelutong, 11600 Penang.
P.I.C : Chiang Boon Huat
Tel : +604 2811 325

This post has been edited by tiger1986sg: Jun 11 2009, 11:00 AM
tiger1986sg
post Jun 11 2009, 12:19 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(JayC75 @ Jun 11 2009, 12:14 PM)
any good air con installer in KL that use vaccum pump during their installation?  pl share...

Also, i was told if inverter air con get spoilt, the circuit board is quite expensive.
Install a surge protector to protect your inverter aircon + your entire house. The circuit board is expensive but it is very reliable as long as it is not abused. Don't install your outdoor unit in a cramp location. The circuit board is located in the outdoor unit and requires adequate cooling.

Surge protector is now installed in my house main switch. Previously about 4 computers and a modem were fried by lightning. Thank God my aircon is fine.
tiger1986sg
post Jun 11 2009, 01:29 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(naleh33 @ Jun 11 2009, 12:47 PM)
Installation fees is RM400!!! That is very expensive but looking at the tasks that you have listed make sense as well. However, for my case, I have done all the conceal piping. They will need to install the air-con probably check the piping with a vacumm pump.

However, thank you for your information, I will take note.
Actually I spent RM150 on that stainless steel bracket lol.

On another note, it is worth to spend more on installation for safety and power efficiency. Cheapo installs only want to clinch your business and make their money. Two years ago a cheapo contractor helped my dad to replace a blown fuse by using a wire instead of a proper fuse. He could have asked me and I replace for him with a proper fuse DIY!

You'll have to be nice to the contractors as well. Don't give them a difficult situations and consider their safety as well. Give them cold drinks and refreshments so they feel nice and do a better job for you.

This post has been edited by tiger1986sg: Jun 11 2009, 01:41 PM
tiger1986sg
post Jun 30 2009, 11:19 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(JayC75 @ Jun 30 2009, 04:34 PM)
is there any way to self clean the drain pipe without asking for technician to come??
Use a wet vacuum cleaner to vacuum at the drain pipe outlet. smile.gif

0.0479sec    1.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:27 AM