Yes better get a energy saving type. Fridge is the most energy sucker. And you got to stick with it at least 10yrs before it die.
[Home Appliances] Refrigerator
Jun 30 2009, 04:33 PM
17,019 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Yes better get a energy saving type. Fridge is the most energy sucker. And you got to stick with it at least 10yrs before it die.
Nov 20 2010, 10:36 AM
Feb 2 2011, 11:07 AM
QUOTE(hanieh.daemi @ Feb 2 2011, 08:51 AM) Hi, Is this site a local or US? As i have got Samsung with water and ice in front, i'm very happy with this no problem at all. I bought my fridge from online and i recommend to everyone to buy anything from online website because that's cheaper than the shop. the site that I bought my fridge is www.alivetrading.com that was good and helpfull. Enjoy, How they deliver the refrigerator to us? |
Apr 25 2011, 08:44 AM
QUOTE(TuX @ Apr 24 2011, 10:59 PM) i see panasonic have a better energy saving cost. It state cleary at the fridge the amount saving cost and the 5 star rating. While others I don't see any.The only thing is for panasonic fridge is the awkward design freezer at the bottom. Got to change my mindset. |
Apr 25 2011, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(TuX @ Apr 25 2011, 09:39 AM) I actually like the freezer at the bottom. But in terms of reliability, energy saving, etc, which is the best, do you say? Toshiba vs Panasonic, anyone? It is very subjective and depend on individual experience.I myself using panasonic fridge for over 10yrs. Very reliable and no issue at all. If ask me to get another fridge, I will choose panasonic defineatly. |
Dec 3 2011, 12:46 PM
QUOTE(phythia79 @ Dec 3 2011, 10:13 AM) sifus..i'm now getting confused. Please enlighten me on the bottom or top freezer..which ones is for energy efficient? Bottom or top frezeer doesn't relate to energy efficient/saving. I checked online but they say bottom freezer is energy efficient as heat rises ....but some says that it's quite the opposite as energy is used more to push the cold air to the bottom. sigh! It is about your back. Those manufacturing doing r&d conclude that you open the Fridge door more than the frezeer door. So it it more logic to place the freezer at the bottom than ontop. You no need to bend down to take something frequent for the fridge side. |
Dec 4 2011, 12:10 AM
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 3 2011, 08:40 PM) Invertor works on DC current. So AC current has to be converted to DC current and there is a power lost of 10% when doing so. So in situation whereby the motor has to be continuously running, then Invertor motor actually uses more power. For example. Putting a tiny air conditioner in a huge room. The inverter is using ac and not dc. It use frequency hz to control the speed.That's how I understand it. |
Dec 4 2011, 12:30 AM
QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Dec 4 2011, 12:11 AM) Non-inverter compressor has constant RPM no matter when it has achieved the set temperature. I m using inverter aircon for 8hr everyday 365day. Able to save bill about 40%. The condition is, set the temp to 25c and mode to auto.On contrary, the inverter compressor has variable RPM depends on rising temperature or constant temperature. As I stated earlier on regarding the inverter fridge which has the most significant energy saving result in comparison to inverter washer and inverter aircond. We switch on the fridge 24/7 but aircond we don't, correct? How many of us use long hours of aircond at home? and out of how many hours is the energy saving mode? we do not know. Inverter aircond is hard to maintain set temperature especially in the afternoon or in a humid night. |
Dec 4 2011, 09:39 AM
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 4 2011, 08:54 AM) Inverter Air conditioner has to convert the AC to DC first before use. In doing so, loss of power is approximately 10%. So if the motor has to work full power without stopping (like tiny air cond in huge room), an Invertor air conditioner actually uses more power than non-Invertor air conditioner. That is inside the inverter electronic side. What output out is still a ac current with different frequency to drive a ac induction motor (or compressor). So far I never see an inverter control a dc motor.Quote "Inverter" air conditioners use a variable-frequency drive to control the speed of the motor and thus the compressor. The variable-frequency drive uses a rectifier to convert the incoming AC current to DC and then uses pulse-width modulation of the DC current within an inverter to produce AC current of a desired frequency." "Conversion energy losses from AC to DC and then back to AC can be as high as 4 - 6% for each conversion step." http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inverter_%28air_conditioning%29 But servo dc motor yes. Anything that using A/D converter will have some degree of power loss. |
Jul 8 2012, 01:28 PM
QUOTE(craftsnknots @ Jul 8 2012, 12:19 PM) If the freezer is at the bottom n the fan is also at the bottom n considering that cold air ia heavier it should theorectically mean that it takes a little longer to cool the top part, ya? Vs having a top freezer with fan on top n cool air just goes to the bottom easily. Not saying that bottom freezer takes very long.. Just saying the rate of cooling is slower, but the differemce may be so small that it is negligible. What about fan n mechanism lifespan? It doesn't effect at all. The purpose of freezer design below is the frequent of use and your most convenient use from certain manufacturing sturdy. The new design drawer freezer do give better efficiency and save some cold lost.The front door fridge is not efficient and lost a lot of cold air when door open. The cold air will flow out as door front door open. Which cold air is heavier. As the bottom drawer type, the air can't flow out much more. Cause cold air don't rise. The most efficiency fridge is modify those freezer as fridge. Those top open door freezer where mostly use for restaurant and wet market. Put some thermostats and set to fridge temperature. It save your bill a lot. |
Jul 9 2012, 01:38 AM
QUOTE(craftsnknots @ Jul 8 2012, 10:43 PM) Hmmm..but considering that the freezer is not open as often as the non-freezer section, the lost is to the minimum..For me, I open the non freezer part more, which would mean i lose cold air from there more. Considering that the cold air is where the fan is which is wherever the freezer is, and that cold air is heavier and travels downward, i would 'benefit' a little more if the non freezer part is at the bottom; As it cools much easily then if the cold air were to move upwards. Again, this is just a thought, but yes i agree that drawers loses less cold air then front doors since it acts as a barier and cold air couldnt travel any lower if the freezer were to be at the bottom. Unlike side by side which has dual fan, the top-bottom only has one...Haih...buy fridge also so mah fan...and I thought renovation was difficult..buy fridge also so hard... The cold air lost mainly is cause by the door type. Front door type open will have more cold air lost. Due to cold air heavier and intend to flow out downward. Doesn't matter the freezer ontop or below. You can stand beside the fridge and try open the door. You can see the cold air cloud rush out downward. Either you open the freezer or fridge side, it still lost amount of cold air. Very much depend on how fast you close back the door and don't let the temperature rise further.I think if ppl give me fridge as a house warming gift..i wouldn't mind any type....LOL I'm going back and forth between the new Panasonic inverter fridge (bottom freezer), hitachi 4 door top-bottom and the samsung 2 door..grandma say freezer at the bottom kids can pull and toddlers these days if not watch would climb inside and sometimesafter we take a handfull of stuff just turn and kick the door close...LOL..grandma trying to scare me.. Was thinking about the top-bottom hitachi 4 door because the door clearance needed is smaller compared to the full size door...then I dont have to worry about the space from table top to the island.. The deisgn of freezer drawer type at bottom have 2 advantage from my oppinion. It reduce your squarting and poking into the freezer to look for something. It is difficult for older people. Squarting and looking forward is difficult. While bending and look downward is much more eassier if a drawer type. Another advantage is the minimum cold air lost for the drawer type. But I find out also, the drawer type of freezer have lesser space than the front door type. The drawer occupy some space. Again as I said, top door open freezer is the most efficeint. As cold air don't rise. Side by side front door open is the waste space from my oppinion. The center divider occupy a lot of space. And cause the design of the fridge to be wider. But recently I found out a brand name Beko fridge where there is no center divider for side by side door. The fridge have a high rating energy saving compare others same size. Even more energy saving than the smaller size. The fridge have 3 frezzer drawer below and fridge ontop. It is almost perfect fridge for me. But not the price. I would like to go for the new design where freezer drawer at below and look for most energy saving. If inverter can save, why not. It is difficult for me to break away from the traditional freezer ontop. It look strange freezer at bottom. |
Jul 10 2012, 11:22 AM
Jul 11 2012, 09:19 AM
Jul 13 2012, 09:15 AM
QUOTE(khieni @ Jul 12 2012, 11:23 PM) Walauyeah........30-40% of my bill It is not easy for you to check the spec in this way. Specially when scout around the shop. Those saleman even don't no all this eer thingy.after planning to move out and be independent, i sudden feel that my father very great ok, i will look at EER and low defrost amp..any acceptance limit? for example EER must more than 10 just like aircond? how about low defrost amp??? Normally the fridge have a spec sticker stick at the inner fridge side where normally the temp knob locate. You will see the information like voltage, ampere, watt, fridge size etc. The important is look at the ampere and watt. Or just the watt will do. Lowest the watt = more energy saving. Use 1 of your favour fridge spec as a guide. Example your panasonic 400L fridge use 200w energy. Than check around any fridge you like that can lowest than the 200w with same size. That it easy for you to look for the energy saving fridge. Another is look for the 5star rating sticker infront the fridge. |
Jul 16 2012, 11:42 AM
QUOTE(craftsnknots @ Jul 16 2012, 11:20 AM) I haven't decise on the fridge. I not yet know the kitchen cabinet design, size and space dimension. You need to have nice fridge to blend to your kicthen cabinet.But my favour is panasonic with around 400liter inverter. |
Jul 16 2012, 01:44 PM
QUOTE(craftsnknots @ Jul 16 2012, 01:19 PM) My 14yrs old panasonic fridge is start sucking power already. Noise getting louder. Home ministry complain too small. Time to renovate. My main critical point is energy saving. Others, past to home ministry. |
Oct 9 2012, 09:21 PM
Oct 11 2012, 10:24 PM
QUOTE(Chihuahua921 @ Oct 11 2012, 08:18 PM) Guys, my brand new fridge that is delivered today is facing some serious problem: Better switch off the fridge and call the hitachi customer service. Or go back to the shop bang their table and ask for exchange.Model: Hitachi R-Z490EMSLS Problem: 1 side of the fridge is normal temp, the other side is extremely hot, plastic already change shape. Temperature dial for the refrigerator compartment is stuck, can't turn! Found out after the delivery man are away. And its very loud, eeeeee sound. |
Oct 12 2012, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(carebear101 @ Oct 11 2012, 10:48 PM) what about those fridge like inside 7eleven where they display bottle of drinks with fully glass door, is this good for house use? The bill can kill you. Those are cooler. And the consumption is high. Just go behind the shop and see how big the compressor and the unit. |
Oct 12 2012, 11:42 AM
QUOTE(RickOoi @ Oct 12 2012, 10:38 AM) How about Haier brand? Any confidence in this brand? Their fridge damn cheap. Not sure got customer service center here in Malaysia or not... The company is at the bandar puteri puchong toward to DHL. I guess the service should be no problem. This is china product and brand. Don't no the quality. Maybe you can try and let us know. |
| Change to: | 0.1070sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:01 PM |