Movies Official STAR WARS Movies/TV Thread, FORCE AWAKENS | ROGUE ONE | SW VIII

hfi
post Apr 20 2015, 11:06 AM

598 posts

Really like the Rogue One teaser. From the teaser, we hear Obi Wan's voice over talking about jedi and darker times. The scenes progress from a jungle landscape and ending with the massive Death Star looming in the horizon. Cut to black and you hear what i assume the rebel's combat and panic chatters. The director said last night there will be no force users in the film. But the story takes place sometime between EP3 and 4, essentially about "A rogue band of resistance fighters unite for a mission to steal the Death Star plans and bring a new hope to the galaxy."

http://a.pomf.se/ylyzvr.webm
hfi
post Apr 20 2015, 08:36 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(athlonmax @ Apr 20 2015, 01:35 PM)
It will be a gritty war movie according to the director, Saving private ryan the star wars version!  rclxms.gif
Waah that will be really gritty haha. Been waiting a long time for a gritty Star Wars.
hfi
post May 6 2015, 01:33 PM

598 posts

'Kylo Ren' ...

hfi
post Dec 18 2015, 11:51 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(ReAcTiVo @ Dec 17 2015, 04:30 PM)
watched last night at TGV sunway pyramid,
happening last nite  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

few question:

hfi
post Dec 19 2015, 11:17 AM

598 posts

I really like Kylo Ren. I feel unlike previous villains, he's not one dimensional. Vader, Maul, Dooku and Sidious were all the same. Calm and composed. Kylo starts off similar, he looks calm and composed but as the film progress, you witness him throwing his tantrums and you get the feeling he's a little unhinged. When he removes his mask revealing himself, it becomes clear to you that he's just a kid.

He's an emotional wreck, tremendously conflicted. As a Solo, he's talented with the Force but not nearly a finished product. He's not really skilled with the saber, and mentally he's quite weak; quick to lose temper and easily flustered. There's a lot of room for his character to grow. And being an unstable individual means he could go either way.
hfi
post Dec 19 2015, 12:25 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Dec 19 2015, 12:06 PM)
Guys guys, the last light saber fight, I prefer it to be a little more slower pace. Plus the location is at the snowy dark forest with only those two's lightsabers illuminating. You guys expected saber fights like in the prequels, you guys will only end up seeing two colours swinging left and right and you won't be able to enjoy the scenery, the environment and etc.

As for Kylo Ren vs Rey, Kylo Ren already has inferiority complex plus easily intimidated because Rey's force is a lot stronger than expected. Not to mention, Rey knows Kylo's weakness (plus Kylo is injured and can hardly use his saber skills) so she could take advantage. Did you guys realized when Ren and Rey clashed swords near the cliff? I think Rey is using her Force Mind tricks on Ren to confuse him even more. In the end she uses mental power instead of sword skills to win her opponent.

Then it was mentioned he is still not a full fledged Sith Lord/Jedi Knight level. So that's it, just enjoy the ending smile.gif
Imo the Rey/Finn vs Kylo duels were fine given that they both lacked training. It looked raw with both Finn and Rey showing little finesse in the way they handled the saber - They both sorta swinging the saber like a bat. Rey at the end i feel tapped into the dark side to overpower Kylo - much like Luke did against Vader in ROTJ. Her aggressive posture over a soundly beaten Kylo was great to see.

Man, i can't wait till we see Rey and Kylo refine their training and becoming more skilled with the saber.
hfi
post Dec 20 2015, 11:00 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(Ichighost @ Dec 20 2015, 05:38 AM)

Just to add to the discussion about Darth Plagueis ...

hfi
post Dec 21 2015, 12:26 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Dec 21 2015, 11:25 AM)
just watch..

i am fine with the lousy sword fight as all 3 of them are not jedi master. but kylo sword skill is shit although he is just a apprentice. anakin during apprentice skill would have tapao him. but this is fine for this lousy sword skill , maybe he is not talented.

but what i cannot tolerate is the use of force ...it was so bloody frequent !!! and the use of force is so shit easy??

i dun think even darth vader or luke able to stop a lazer by using the force when they are just apprentice.
Initially i thought he was just really bad with the saber but after second viewing i actually think he's quite skilled. He was just really overconfident with his own ability - most of the time he fought one handed, showing no respect to his opponents. He toyed with Finn; side stepping his attack, letting his guard down, turning his back on him etc. Could have finish him off easily but decided to prolong the duel to demonstrate his superiority. Just pure arrogance. He tried the same with Rey and nearly got himself killed.

The only problem i initially had was with Rey who used the Force like a veteran Jedi. But perhaps she too is naturally gifted with the Force like Kylo.

This post has been edited by hfi: Dec 21 2015, 12:28 PM
hfi
post Dec 21 2015, 01:05 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(dlct87 @ Dec 21 2015, 12:52 PM)
well, there's several thing that worked against Kylo (my opinion anyway, and SPOILER):

perhaps because I read Japanese manga, so I don't really mind this kind of genius level rookie protagonist thing haha
All good points. I thought him punching his wound to inflict pain on himself was a great touch. We seen characters like Yoda and Obi Wan saying pain or anger leads to the dark side, here we actually see a dark side practitioner applying it to his advantage.

hfi
post Dec 22 2015, 10:07 AM

598 posts

Her mouth looks almost a carbon copy of Mark Hamill. But i admit i really do like the possibility of Kenobi. He's by far my favorite character in the series. Feels a bit more complicated to tell that story tho - i mean you would have to tell the story how he banged someone decades ago and then how his offspring would go on to give birth to Rey.

Actually, they could reveal this in EP8, maybe towards the end. And then expand this revelation in the following year in Kenobi spinoff. This would add incredible hype to the 2nd spinoff. Hmmmmmm.

This post has been edited by hfi: Dec 22 2015, 10:08 AM
hfi
post Dec 24 2015, 11:39 AM

598 posts

I can't really make out what he's truly saying with all the explosion and voice distortion. It does sound like cousin but i can hear s at the end of that word. This would be a monumental feckup if true, which i doubt to be honest.

This post has been edited by hfi: Dec 24 2015, 11:40 AM
hfi
post Dec 25 2015, 11:59 AM

598 posts

Wow that concept art of Rey's ATAT home is really something else. The comm radar hints at her scavenging and mechanical talents. The fabric decor at the entrance showing a feeble attempt at making a home out of a wreckage, and her sitting there staring out in the open alludes to her determination to wait for her parent's return. Great exposition.
hfi
post Dec 18 2016, 10:30 AM

598 posts

Watched it last night. Enjoyed it immensely! It's the star wars film i've been waiting for since the OT.

It lacks some characters depth but i don't mind it at all because the rest of the film is pretty great! The world building, the gritty tone, and epic ending all sums up to one great thrilling ride. TFA seem so tame compared to this one.

Man we need more spinoff like this!
hfi
post Dec 19 2016, 08:48 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(koolspyda @ Dec 19 2016, 06:51 PM)
Alright Rogue one was great, I know it's divided amongst some fans, saying it's still too cheery Disney, not badass enough

Or it's not as good as TFA

To me Rogue one did have many good moments, it certainly filled all the gaps the old fans asked about before

Only few gripes I have..

0.0591sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:12 PM