AMD/ATi HD 4000 Series Discussion V3, Thread stays on V3 till October.Read 1st

NetRaid
post Jul 25 2008, 10:37 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(acronyx @ Jul 25 2008, 08:22 PM)
i have one simple question: should i buy the 4870 tomorrow or wait another 2 weeks? *big grin* biggrin.gif
Wait a bit longer, till mid August, great custom design for HD4850 and HD4870 coming from Gainward. Save your money buying 3rd party cooler and risk voiding the warranty. icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Jul 25 2008, 09:52 PM)
anyone here watercooled their 4800 series gC? biggrin.gif
YES, please see Coolice review on the signature below.

QUOTE(D-Zire @ Jul 25 2008, 10:01 PM)
yea...i'm having the same dilemma as u man....damn scare later when custom cooler and oc version come out with cheaper price...i'm gonna go crying.... cry.gif
See my reply above. Patience will save you money. Just remember to lookout for Gainward. thumbup.gif

NetRaid
post Jul 28 2008, 11:50 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Jul 26 2008, 09:20 AM)
Any picture or spec of the of Gainward, custom coolers? I might this both brands PowerColor HD4870 1GB DDR5 PCS or Gainwards non reference wink.gif .
Hi Guys,

Gainward will come out with 4 custom models:

1. Gainward 4850-512 Golden Sample (extreme OC) with Heatpipe and Fansink available sometime mid Aug. drool.gif

2. Gainward 4850-512 cost effective with nice fansink.

3. Gainward 4870-512 Golden Sample with Heatpipe and Dual Fans, HDMI, 2 DVI and Display Port (1st for ATI). rclxms.gif

4. Gainward 4870-1GB Golden Sample with Heatpipe and Dual Fans, HDMI, 2 DVI and Display Port (1st for ATI). thumbup.gif

Both 4870 should be here by end Aug. Hold your purchases, have patience. Good things come to those who wait. brows.gif

Please PM us if you have any queries. Thanks.
NetRaid
post Aug 2 2008, 12:42 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(lotiman2003 @ Aug 1 2008, 06:34 PM)
I wonder the Force3D 4850 model will be available in Malaysia and hopefully not too expensive until nearing the price point of 4870.
Force 3D is a subsidiary of Inno3D, but they don't dare to come out openly like Gainward for fear of offending NVidia. If they have solutions for ATI like their iChill series, than great, but I don't see anything solid at the moment. The worse fear is that Force3D revert back to becoming a NVidia exclusive partner.

Hey guys, please WAIT for our Gainward 4850 and 4870 Golden Sample factory overclocked cards with powerful cooling solutions (see below):

Gainward will come out with 4 custom models:

1. Gainward 4850-512 Golden Sample (extreme OC) with Heatpipe and Fansink available sometime mid Aug. drool.gif
Specs here: Gainward 4850-512 Golden Sample specs

2. Gainward 4850-512 cost effective with nice fansink & PCB cover.

3. Gainward 4870-512 Golden Sample with Heatpipe and Dual Fans, HDMI, 2 DVI and Display Port (1st for ATI). rclxms.gif

4. Gainward 4870-1GB Golden Sample with Heatpipe and Dual Fans, HDMI, 2 DVI and Display Port (1st for ATI). thumbup.gif

Please PM us if you have any queries. Thanks.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 1 2008, 10:07 AM)
I would prefer it to come as stock though, no need to void the warranty  rclxms.gif

Dang, these non reference cards making me delay my new pc =/
Good things come to those who wait, but grab it when it lands. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by NetRaid: Aug 2 2008, 12:58 AM
NetRaid
post Aug 2 2008, 12:57 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Aug 2 2008, 12:45 AM)
looks ugly
Whoops, what can I say. Look at the features of Gainward 4850-512 Golden Sample:

1. Faster core at 700MHz and mem at 2000MHz. Allowance for further overclocking.

2. An innovative cooler comes with PWM fan (two-ball bearing) and solid heatpipes to ensure high performance, reliability and low noise. Totally solve the thermal issue.

2. Dual slot, better performance.

3. Less noice, below 37dB compare to reference at 47.8dB

4. 3-phase PWM GPU power circuit to provide sufficient energy for stable overclocking operation.

5. 8-pin supplementary power connector supply sufficient power to stabilize the board.

Might be so-so outside, but real solid inside. thumbup.gif
NetRaid
post Aug 7 2008, 07:42 PM

241 posts

Our Gainward HD4850 custom models will be here by Tue next week.

For all those who have booked, get ready to rock with 700MHz+ !! thumbup.gif

Enjoy!
NetRaid
post Aug 9 2008, 04:22 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(Kytz @ Aug 9 2008, 04:12 PM)
waiting for someone to compare the HIS and Gainward cards
especially about the PCB power design of the cards, Gainward is 3 phase compared to the reference 2 phase
but i cant seem to find any info about the HIS card
and would be interesting to see which can cool better and clock higher since both same price point
Hi All,

Gainward is currently testing to enable their HD4850 Golden Sample core to be 700MHz+, which should set allowance for push till 725MHz and 750MHz or beyond... drool.gif

We will pass this model to Coolice and Goldfries for benchmarking once they are here.

Same with their HD4870 Golden Sample and HD4870X2. But both these models won't be here till early Sep the fastest.

Thank you all for your patience and support. notworthy.gif

NetRaid
post Aug 11 2008, 06:21 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(chchee @ Aug 11 2008, 05:11 PM)
recently got any 4870 / 4850 with non reference board or cooler?
YES, Gainward just launched HD4850 with Custom Cover and HD4850 Golden Sample (factory overclocked 700MHz+ with heatpipe cooler & 3 PWM power). Check the specs on the links below.

Available from Leh Teck, Moderno and Karom. Thanks.

NetRaid
post Aug 12 2008, 01:47 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Aug 12 2008, 10:21 AM)
im at lost which 4850 card brand i should be getting...any help?
QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 12 2008, 10:58 AM)
Walao pengsan, now in dilemma again between GS and ICEQ4 Turbo-X lol. But haven't seen the specs of the HIS yet... Anyone can find the specs for the turbo-x around?
Here bro,

Relax ler, read this page for detail comparison: http://www.netraid.com.my/Custom-HD4850-comparison.pdf

This has been addressed earlier here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/746229/+780 (see middle of page)

Hope this helps. icon_rolleyes.gif

NetRaid
post Aug 12 2008, 11:59 PM

241 posts

Hi everyone,

We are pleased to announce that Gainward 4850-512 Golden Sample and 4850-512 Custom Cover should be here on Mon onwards. rclxm9.gif

The delay is really worth it because Gainward 4850-512 Golden Sample has 2 fantastic features now: thumbup.gif

1. Overclocked Memory at 2200MHz+

2. Use Samsung 0.8ns hyperfast memory.

Most brands are using 1ns or slower memory. Just having Samsung 0.8ns memory alone is worth about RM50 extra!! drool.gif

Your wait will be over soon. Enjoy fantastic gaming experience with Gainward.

See the links below for more details. Thanks.

NetRaid
post Aug 15 2008, 12:18 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(iadejam @ Aug 13 2008, 08:14 PM)
hey guys where can i get those Gainward 4850 GS??lowyat shop got kah or from traders in here??who haa??..the 4870x2 just announce rite,what manufacturer is the best??
Hi All,

Gainward HD4850 with Custom Cooler is here!! rclxms.gif

We have 2 hot models: drool.gif

1. Gainward HD4850 with Custom Cover: 512MB DDR3, Core 625MHz, Mem 1986MHz
http://www.netraid.com.my/images/Gainward-HD4850-512MB.jpg

2. Gainward HD4850 Golden Sample: 512MB DDR3, Core 700MHz+, Mem 2200MHz+, Samsung 0.8ns Memory hyperfast memory
http://www.netraid.com.my/images/Gainward-...lden-Sample.jpg

3. See comparison here: http://www.netraid.com.my/Custom-HD4850-comparison.pdf

These cards will be available in:

Low Yat Plaza: PC Zone, ATE, Thunder Match, Wawasan

Digital Mall: Octavo, Wawasan IT

Penang: Pristine Wireless http://forum.lowyat.net/PristineWirelessTechnology

LYN resellers: Leh Teck, Moderno, Karom, Zhen Wei and CEX
NetRaid
post Aug 16 2008, 12:38 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ Aug 15 2008, 12:56 AM)
Woah a power sucker, does it comes with the converter for those who don't have 8pin power connector? lol laugh.gif
Yup of course it comes with 6-pin to 8-pin power cable and:

1. Driver CD
2. DVI to VGA converter
3. User Manual

Remember we use 3-phase PWM GPU power circuit to provide sufficient energy for stable overclocking operation. thumbup.gif

Some reviews are out for Gainward 4850 Golden Sample, google it or see the links below.

This post has been edited by NetRaid: Aug 19 2008, 01:12 PM
NetRaid
post Aug 19 2008, 07:07 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(D-Zire @ Aug 19 2008, 05:33 PM)
i was wondering if 4870 custom cooler would arrive here besides powercolor's...
Gainward 4870-512 and 4870-1GB Golden Sample coming... No time to update yet.

Will upload the specs and pics soon.
NetRaid
post Aug 19 2008, 11:37 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(Calvin22 @ Aug 19 2008, 06:41 PM)
What the price of this card ? ???
Gainward HD4850 Golden Sample is the FASTEST pre-OC 4850 card at the moment with core 700MHz+, mem 2200MHz+ and Samsung 0.8ns chip!! drool.gif

Details here: http://www.netraid.com.my/Gainward-3850-4850-specs.pdf and http://www.netraid.com.my/Custom-HD4850-comparison.pdf

You can get them from:

Low Yat Plaza: PC Zone, ATE, Thunder Match, Wawasan

Digital Mall: Octavo, Wawasan IT

Penang: Pristine Wireless http://forum.lowyat.net/PristineWirelessTechnology

Thank very very much to all those who have bought this model. notworthy.gif Please contact us if you need any info or assistance whatsoever. smile.gif
NetRaid
post Aug 20 2008, 11:58 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(lotiman2003 @ Aug 20 2008, 08:49 PM)
But Gainward dont have ram sink. Will it withstand heavy gaming???
From our experience, R&D and lab tests, Gainward cards have solid tolerance to high temp, esp our flagship Golden Sample series which is very well known in Europe for it's overclocking capability.

Our meetings & interactions with Malaysia's top overclockers like Coolice, Sanko and Lolhalol from Team K.O.C. revealed that most mid/high end graphic cards can withstand high temp up to over 100C.

Watch out for our limited Coolice Edition soon. brows.gif

IMHO, cooling is overrated compare to performance. At the moment, our Gainward 4850 Golden Sample still has the fastest core and mem at 700MHz+ and 2200MHz+ thumbup.gif

To those who have bought this awesome card recently, thank you very much. notworthy.gif
NetRaid
post Aug 21 2008, 04:39 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(xchoit @ Aug 21 2008, 02:52 AM)
anybody got news about a HD4870 with custom cooling
QUOTE(kerollowyat @ Aug 21 2008, 03:14 AM)
Hi, planning on getting Gainward HD4870.
OK guys, as requested, here it is... Gainward HD4870 Golden Sample. See this link: http://www.netraid.com.my/Gainward-HD4870-Golden-Sample.pdf

NetRaid
post Aug 23 2008, 03:28 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(jeromeccm @ Aug 21 2008, 10:43 AM)
the heat pipe seems differnt colour... different material?
looks the same la but the material composit dont knwo the same or not...
YES bro, clever observation. But it's not the heatpipe that makes Gainward special. It's our design & engineering. You'll be surprised how much a twitch here and there can improve the performance of our cards. Wait for the benchies soon. Bet it'll knock your socks off! drool.gif

QUOTE(-jackson- @ Aug 19 2008, 08:18 PM)
bro, any benchi scores on 1GB version available yet?
YES there is, but it's from Gainward labs. To view it, you need to be a Gainward staff or distro. I can't tell you the scores but I can say it'll definitely make you smile with glee. Read this carefully: http://www.netraid.com.my/Gainward-HD4870-Golden-Sample.pdf brows.gif

BTW, to all Gainward 4850 Golden Sample & 4850 Custom Cover owners, we will have something special for you soon, to further improve the performance & durability of your card. Please wait for the announcement here. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by NetRaid: Aug 23 2008, 02:34 PM
NetRaid
post Aug 24 2008, 02:00 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(Kaellis @ Aug 23 2008, 11:32 PM)
Try volt mod it?
i think got pencil mod
Gonna void the warranty

Now got 2 unsatisfied user of Gainward 4850 GS yawn.gif
Hey bro,

What are you talking about? I thought your problem caused by your motherboard (ASROCK 775Dual-VSTA), no?

I already PM you and Celciuz. Anyone else with problems please PM me or come to our office (next to Low Yat Plaza, see website below).

Sorry for any inconvenience caused. notworthy.gif
NetRaid
post Aug 25 2008, 01:06 AM

241 posts

Please see my reply in red below.

QUOTE(jeromeccm @ Aug 24 2008, 02:03 AM)
brother netRaid

hey bro... since you are with gainward i hhave some question for you, hope you dont mind...

1) does gainward sell their special design coolers? for 4870. No, Gainward does not sell it's cooler separately.

2) for thier special coolers, after installation to the card, will it be ticker compare to the original cooler? This is important for CF. Gainward after-market cooler for it's 4850 and 4850 models are all dual-slot. Being able to CF depends on your mobo type, size, and slots available.

do you have the details of the special design for the gainward cooler? See the links below. What details are you looking for?
thanks  notworthy.gif

Most welcome.   smile.gif
QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 24 2008, 07:10 PM)
Some update on my Gainward 4850 Golden Sample, wasn't the driver problem... Instead was my DirectX. I reinstalled with the June 2008 redistributable and everything was working fine  rclxms.gif Phew lucky thing not hardware problem else  shocking.gif
at 700/2200, mine was almost able to hit 13k.
So bro, all settled now? Let me know if any problems ok. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(sparrowed @ Aug 25 2008, 12:58 AM)
how much does it cost by the way? thinking to upgrade my accient 6800GS liao............
For Gainward 4850 Golden Sample prices, please visit our resellers here:

NetRaid
post Aug 27 2008, 01:07 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(ghost321 @ Aug 27 2008, 12:18 AM)
I wonder how to clean that or mine after the dust starts collecting inside the fins (liek in 2 years time) The only way i can think of is to take out the heatsink (which will void the warranty) spray it will alkaline? (like cleaning the aircon fins) Then apply the thermal paste?
Well, as Gainward local distro, we allow you to change or clean the heatsink/cooler as long as you keep the original cooler in good condition. We try our best to be flexible in warranty claims to ensure customers satisfaction. For more details re cleaning your cooler or changing it, please ask the local cooling experts here like Moderno, www.modernopc.com

QUOTE(User_Xp @ Aug 27 2008, 12:39 AM)
what is the differences between reference card and non references card?  sweat.gif
Generally reference cards refer to the first batch of graphic cards made exactly according to NVidia or ATI specs. Also known as stock fan/card. Later most manufacturers will IMPROVE the cards by using their own designs/components and cooling solutions.

Some eg. of differences between reference and non-reference cards:

http://www.netraid.com.my/Custom-HD4850-comparison.pdf (see totally different looks and components)

http://www.netraid.com.my/Gainward-4850-Go...-4850-Toxic.pdf

http://www.netraid.com.my/Gainward-HD4870-Golden-Sample.pdf

NetRaid
post Aug 27 2008, 01:15 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(wingwp @ Aug 27 2008, 01:07 AM)
Gainward 4850 GS version hv so many prob? I hope its 4870 is ok
No problem lar, please READ the users posts carefully, it's NOT confirm yet it's the VGA problem. So far we have zero claim on 4850 GS. Celciuz and Kaellis problems are caused by other reasons according to them. Since this is a popular model (here and overseas), we appreciate all the feedbacks here. notworthy.gif

So please don't worry bro. Please understand a model as popular as Gainward 4850 GS will sure have plenty of comments since everyone have different specs on their PCs.

0.0535sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:08 PM