Credit Card Thread V4, Plastic Money @ World Access

andrekua
post Sep 2 2008, 11:27 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Sep 2 2008, 08:54 PM)
Im a Amex Gold member for 8 years now...
and I still have to pay the 800 bucks for my Amex CC...
I din say my boss din pay for AMEX charge card. Im just asking now that he's been given this free for life credit card by AMEX, will it become void when he cancels his AMEX charge card?

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/consumer/onlin...reditcard.shtml

This is the one he's being offered.

This post has been edited by andrekua: Sep 2 2008, 11:28 PM
andrekua
post Sep 3 2008, 12:08 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

I mean you dont have their charge card rite?

If Im free, I will scan the stupid offer letter. I cant really see any term and condition stating that its free only because you are paying for the charge card. My boss just took the card and threw everything else away. Sigh... he didnt even bother to read...
andrekua
post Sep 5 2008, 06:41 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Sep 5 2008, 05:03 PM)
Does this mean, when we shopping in other country, Master/Visa sure will charges a surcharge on top of the exchange rate.

And the bank in depend on what card we holding?? like DA only had Master surcharge but without bank charge.

If ya, how much does Visa/Master charge? flex.gif
Lastime when I went to China, I was using my card to buy a jacket. During that time, I calculate the money I exchange with money changer and then when I received my bills, it was cheaper than what I had calculated in the first place. So I came to my own conclusion that VISA/MASTERCARD had access to better exchange rate than we did as their transaction was enormous.

Added on September 5, 2008, 6:45 pm
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 5 2008, 12:19 AM)
Credit card = fire.

Fire helps us to cook and fire can burn people.

pls understand this theory b4 u comment. thanks.
Bad example.

Credit card is a tool. It wont burn you, nor it will destroy you.
Your life is determine by your action. Dont blame the credit card if you are in debts.
BLAME YOURSELF!!! instead of claiming other people trying to destroy your life with a stupid card.

This post has been edited by andrekua: Sep 5 2008, 06:45 PM
andrekua
post Sep 7 2008, 11:20 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Like I said, dont blame the card.
For some people, its the credit card. For some, its loan shark. For some, its personal loan. Money doesnt determine how you live your life, its you who determine your own life. If you cant do it, take it as a lesson.
andrekua
post Sep 12 2008, 05:24 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(X-Zen @ Sep 12 2008, 11:22 AM)
ok it seems that the citibank shell card 5% rebate is only applicable if you bring forward your balance. ditto for their 1.5% rebate on other purchases

tier system rebate

misleading advertisement

maybe will cancel mine

What about Direct Access rebate?

straight forward? no hidden t&c?
Same for retail purchases. Its 0.75% unless you bring forward your balance.

I have just applied for Alliance Bank credit card. What Im being told is that it will give 1.5% discount for all purchases including petrol regardless of brands. It also gives you point (timeless which wont expired) but only for non petrol and government bills related. I will wait until I get the card. I just signed up as the promoter is very pushy and make me feel bad (same thing happened with Citibank promoter which explained my Shell Gold Card). I didnt read the whole thing, all I knew is a free gift Parker pen and 1.5% rebate on all retail purchases.

Anyone got any idea what kind of card is Alliance Bank promoting?
From what I read from their website, it seem like their classic cash back card only give back 1% while gold card give back 1.3%. Even that also they got limit 1k for classic and 3k for gold. When I called back to enquire, I was told no limit on the amount that are entitled for rebate.
andrekua
post Oct 1 2008, 02:51 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Sep 30 2008, 08:37 AM)
@tgeoklin,
I don't think banks look purely at existing card and credit limits when giving additional CLs.  I would consider myself a pretty 'good' cardholder with consistent spending on monthly basis but still got rejected by Citibank twice when I requested for a permanent upgrade.

I've since given up on ever getting a credit limit increase from Citibank and moved on to another.
I tot Citibank is one of the best when it comes to CL.
Mine also not bad. Maybe they fight with HSBC as I use that to apply for Citibank card.

Right now HSBC seem less attractive as I never see any promo from them liao. Moreover, I rarely go Padini or Vincci to buy stuffs liao.
Im enjoying quite a lot of rebate from my Shell Gold card, thus Im looking forward to keep the card for a whole year and if they charge me annual fee, Im gonna cancel. Then maybe I will move on to other cards. I think I have a Alliance Gold card on its way to me, and hopefully they got better rebate than Shell Gold card. Heard the promoter claims more than 1% for retail purchase. Then I will use it for retail purchase except for petrol.
andrekua
post Oct 10 2008, 04:40 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Accidentally applied for Alliance Bank Gold card and end up with another RM18k card. Hahahaha... 5k more than Citibank Shell Gold card and double my HSBC classic card. Sienzzz.... economy so bad they still give such credit limit to poor people like me.
andrekua
post Oct 12 2008, 12:17 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Oct 10 2008, 11:05 PM)
perhaps you can try to apply for citibank cc with your existing cc?
They wont bother with a card that is less than 1 year old.
andrekua
post Oct 14 2008, 08:16 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Oct 14 2008, 05:43 PM)
So far among all my cards, Citibank give me the highest credit limit, which is still increasing....  rclxm9.gif  Because of this alone, I cancel lots of other cards. Lets just say my Citibank card absorbs all of them.  laugh.gif  Now I only have my Citi and MBB.

I know different card have different perks, discounts blah, etc...but this only encourage spending which is not good. I know that because I have bought many things I do not need just because during a certain promotion period, they have discount this and that. Not to forget that it actually dilutes your reward points.
You phailed laugh.gif
The force is not with you...

Keep applying new card is the fastest way to increase credit limit without having to fax them a shit.

4k SBB -> 9k HSBC -> 13k Citi -> 18k Alliance in 2 years... but think again, do we really need all these... I just couldnt stand persistant sales girls nagging me while Im pumping petrol or eating...

This post has been edited by andrekua: Oct 14 2008, 08:19 PM
andrekua
post Oct 19 2008, 11:52 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Depends. PBB was damn strict that it asked for mother's name which makes my boss angry about it till today.

HSBC asked for IC while Citibank asked none.

For all my card, I have scratch away the black paint so that it wont appear when photostat. When I wanna use, just angle it to the light can see liao.
andrekua
post Oct 20 2008, 12:19 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 19 2008, 11:57 PM)
MBB also asked for mother's name. By the way, why your boss angry about it?

MBB also asked other questions like:

1. Do you have Zing T&G?
2. Do you have installament programme?
3. How you settle your CC bill?
4. What is your mobile number?
5. What is mailing address?

During verification when needed, the CS will ask at least 2 to 3 of the above questions.
LOL
Mother maiden name for online transaction verification, not call center.
andrekua
post Oct 31 2008, 02:59 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Hey hey,
I just came back from CIMB. They are persuading me to sign up.
I dont know whether its only applicable for new card, but they told me now Petrol Rebate is 3% wor. True or not?

0.0492sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:43 PM