Never use Samsung before except Omnia..window one. Saw it at Maxis and look big...love it but don't know the friendly of the phone...
Samsung Samsung INNOV8 i8510 - Symbian Slider, The killer monster phone
Jan 26 2009, 11:45 AM
3,786 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Never use Samsung before except Omnia..window one. Saw it at Maxis and look big...love it but don't know the friendly of the phone...
Jan 26 2009, 12:07 PM
1,220 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Kerteh |
Jan 26 2009, 12:29 PM
45 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: PJ |
Hi, which map program are you guys using? Any recommendations..
My unit came with navfone by agis, not too impressed with the maps or software. I'm tempted to try out garmin but read in a few forums that it drains battery life within less than a day because the program does not turn off GPS after exit. Have to manually use task manager to kill it everytime. |
Jan 26 2009, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(CharlieBrownKL @ Jan 26 2009, 12:29 PM) Hi, which map program are you guys using? Any recommendations.. Well for me i really recommend Garmin Mobile XT. as for battery life issue here i quote: My unit came with navfone by agis, not too impressed with the maps or software. I'm tempted to try out garmin but read in a few forums that it drains battery life within less than a day because the program does not turn off GPS after exit. Have to manually use task manager to kill it everytime. QUOTE just an info. garminXT has a file named cardrunner that runs automatically to run another file that is linked to it. it runs when your phone is on..regardless of restarting is uses battery and you can only turn it off with jbak taskman. but it will turn on again. it uses significant amount of battery without u noticing it. so if you are not using GPS that much or if u care about batt life..then better not install garminXT latest version v5..the old version better cause the file can be deleted/turned off (reported to be better in terms of batt usage but performance maybe not that good compared to v5) Quoted from alpha_company from N79 thread.. hope he doesn't mind.. so u might wanna try older version of garmin for better battery performance. |
Jan 26 2009, 01:05 PM
45 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: PJ |
QUOTE(Aishiteru^Suki @ Jan 26 2009, 12:41 PM) Well for me i really recommend Garmin Mobile XT. as for battery life issue here i quote: thx for the reply. think i'll just wait till garmin comes out with a fix for this.Quoted from alpha_company from N79 thread.. hope he doesn't mind.. so u might wanna try older version of garmin for better battery performance. |
Jan 26 2009, 01:12 PM
QUOTE(CharlieBrownKL @ Jan 26 2009, 01:05 PM) Ow its up to u then.. anyway here's another tips from our fellow davidmakQUOTE Not sure if you have implemented the 'Battery tips' by deleting cardrunner.dll from the memory card file system. It is a well known issue that when you install Garmin Mobile XT v5.0 it will add a feature call presence awareness. This feature will be run at the background and occasionally update its coordinates. This feature uses battery power. Deleting the file to disable this feature will give you back approximately 20% of battery efficiency. |
Jan 26 2009, 02:08 PM
469 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Cyberjaya |
Guys, im having problem wif message delivery report. Where is d settings?
Jan 26 2009, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(izdyharz @ Jan 26 2009, 02:08 PM) What kind of problem are you having? the setting can be accessed by go to messaging>options (left soft key in messaging menu)>settings>text message>receive reports (yes or no) For multimedia message its messaging>options (left soft key in messaging menu)>settings>multimedia message>receive reports (delivery and read/delivery/no) Hope this helps |
Jan 26 2009, 03:31 PM
469 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Cyberjaya |
QUOTE(Aishiteru^Suki @ Jan 26 2009, 02:27 PM) What kind of problem are you having? Man.. YOU are the Man lah!the setting can be accessed by go to messaging>options (left soft key in messaging menu)>settings>text message>receive reports (yes or no) For multimedia message its messaging>options (left soft key in messaging menu)>settings>multimedia message>receive reports (delivery and read/delivery/no) Hope this helps I change the settings as per what u told me. Now it works like champ! Hahaha! Sorry la, this phone is new to me, quite complicated to as I never use symbyian OS before. Thanks dude! |
Jan 26 2009, 06:08 PM
327 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
hi all, i just got this phone 2 days ago...so far satisfy with the performance
today tried use usb cable connect to pc, 1st time it works. i even copy and paste some photos and videos from the phone, and vice versa. later on i disconnected the phone from the pc, and i did 'safety remove hardware'. problem is, since then my phone no responds when ever i connected it again with my pc. tried to restarted my pc and the phone, problem still exist. how ha? |
Jan 26 2009, 06:28 PM
4,051 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 槟城 |
QUOTE(Aishiteru^Suki @ Jan 26 2009, 11:39 AM) @Shinichi - Yo whats up bro.. it seems you are handling this thread well.. I have been really busy lately though.. Gong Xi Fa Chai to those that celebrate CNY Hi there, I'm fine here. Just busy lately also. Yesterday when I tried to forward sms to many recipient's, it will auto convert to MMS. I need to limit number of recipients in order to keep it as sms. How many I din really count thou. Added on January 26, 2009, 6:36 pm QUOTE(corad @ Jan 24 2009, 12:32 AM) i don't have additional apps on my phone Is yours ori set? try get back to service center?not sure why i can't install. most of the programs just show the splash screen then return me to the main menu. Added on January 26, 2009, 6:38 pm QUOTE(Aishiteru^Suki @ Jan 26 2009, 11:40 AM) This phone to N95 8GB?? IMO.. Innov8 FTW.. I tried to update my phone but it says update do not support connected phone... not sure anyone here face this?P/s: My phone's gallery is still laggy la.. probably will update it soon.. I heard there's already update available for DJHI1.. DJHI4 if i'm not mistaken.. Added on January 26, 2009, 6:44 pm QUOTE(Aishiteru^Suki @ Jan 26 2009, 12:41 PM) Well for me i really recommend Garmin Mobile XT. as for battery life issue here i quote: Wow, guess need to uninstall Garmin and test on my battery life since its draining like flowing water...Quoted from alpha_company from N79 thread.. hope he doesn't mind.. so u might wanna try older version of garmin for better battery performance. This post has been edited by Shinichi: Jan 26 2009, 06:44 PM |
Jan 26 2009, 07:09 PM
QUOTE(izdyharz @ Jan 26 2009, 03:31 PM) Man.. YOU are the Man lah! Glad to be at help bro I change the settings as per what u told me. Now it works like champ! Hahaha! Sorry la, this phone is new to me, quite complicated to as I never use symbyian OS before. Thanks dude! QUOTE(tiffneedle @ Jan 26 2009, 06:08 PM) hi all, i just got this phone 2 days ago...so far satisfy with the performance First of all welcome to the club bro today tried use usb cable connect to pc, 1st time it works. i even copy and paste some photos and videos from the phone, and vice versa. later on i disconnected the phone from the pc, and i did 'safety remove hardware'. problem is, since then my phone no responds when ever i connected it again with my pc. tried to restarted my pc and the phone, problem still exist. how ha? at the same time try to change USB connection mode to a different one.. and try to connect the phone thru different USB port.. hope it will work.. good luck QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jan 26 2009, 06:28 PM) Gong Xi Fa Chai to those that celebrate CNY Ow ya.. that one if im not mistaken if the number of recipient is more than 15 Hi there, I'm fine here. Just busy lately also. Yesterday when I tried to forward sms to many recipient's, it will auto convert to MMS. I need to limit number of recipients in order to keep it as sms. How many I din really count thou. Added on January 26, 2009, 6:36 pm Is yours ori set? try get back to service center? Added on January 26, 2009, 6:38 pm I tried to update my phone but it says update do not support connected phone... not sure anyone here face this? Added on January 26, 2009, 6:44 pm Wow, guess need to uninstall Garmin and test on my battery life since its draining like flowing water... This post has been edited by Aishiteru^Suki: Jan 26 2009, 07:10 PM |
Jan 26 2009, 07:39 PM
QUOTE(Aishiteru^Suki @ Jan 26 2009, 07:09 PM) Ow ya.. that one if im not mistaken if the number of recipient is more than 15 I see. Now that we know our phone will convert sms to mms if number of recipient is more than 15. Perhaps someone can update this to the front page?Oh ya I'm using Vista. And my PC Studio version is 7.1.47.8. Not sure if this is the latest version? |
Jan 26 2009, 07:56 PM
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jan 26 2009, 07:39 PM) I see. Now that we know our phone will convert sms to mms if number of recipient is more than 15. Perhaps someone can update this to the front page? Opss.. just now i just guessed.. since you mentioned it again i checked it myself and the number should be more than 20, not 15.. Oh ya I'm using Vista. And my PC Studio version is 7.1.47.8. Not sure if this is the latest version? eh.. 7.1.47.8.. that version should fix the problem.. coz its the latest one |
Jan 26 2009, 08:00 PM
QUOTE(Aishiteru^Suki @ Jan 26 2009, 07:56 PM) Opss.. just now i just guessed.. since you mentioned it again i checked it myself and the number should be more than 20, not 15.. Thanks for the correction bro eh.. 7.1.47.8.. that version should fix the problem.. coz its the latest one I see, not sure why mine say connected phone is not supported |
Jan 26 2009, 08:16 PM
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jan 26 2009, 08:00 PM) Thanks for the correction bro No prob bro.. i don't want to give wrong information there.. I see, not sure why mine say connected phone is not supported EDIT: been looking for vista usb driver.. found none.. so my suggestion just now might not be able to help u at all.. sorry Added on January 26, 2009, 10:12 pmErr.. guys.. any of you experiencing this.. my camera is still having face detection mode although i already switched to AF mode.. is it normal?? This post has been edited by Aishiteru^Suki: Jan 26 2009, 10:12 PM |
Jan 26 2009, 11:52 PM
327 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(Aishiteru^Suki @ Jan 26 2009, 07:09 PM) Glad to be at help bro hehe...both are different things to meFirst of all welcome to the club bro at the same time try to change USB connection mode to a different one.. and try to connect the phone thru different USB port.. hope it will work.. good luck Ow ya.. that one if im not mistaken if the number of recipient is more than 15 i choose j-phone is because of the design, and long screen. of coz, got some other features like can put swf as wall paper, enable calendar as part of standby screen, nice video recording quality, and so on... but there are some downside also, not able to play mp3, set it as ringtone, no bluetooth (all these not are concern or me, i hardly use these features), fatal downside is most of the j-phone does not have T9 for sms, very inconvenient. yeah i able to connect the phone to pc already, many thanks just that not able to use PC Studio...strange... |
Jan 27 2009, 01:04 AM
QUOTE(Aishiteru^Suki @ Jan 26 2009, 08:16 PM) No prob bro.. i don't want to give wrong information there.. Its ok, this is the screen I see when I try to update my phone firmware...EDIT: been looking for vista usb driver.. found none.. so my suggestion just now might not be able to help u at all.. sorry Added on January 26, 2009, 10:12 pmErr.. guys.. any of you experiencing this.. my camera is still having face detection mode although i already switched to AF mode.. is it normal?? ![]() As for camera auto face detection, mine has this as well. But for me I feel is ok to have this feature in all mode. Added on January 28, 2009, 12:45 am QUOTE(Aishiteru^Suki @ Jan 26 2009, 12:41 PM) Well for me i really recommend Garmin Mobile XT. as for battery life issue here i quote: I've uninstalled Garmin and battery life seems to improved a lot!Quoted from alpha_company from N79 thread.. hope he doesn't mind.. so u might wanna try older version of garmin for better battery performance. Previously I just put there with very minimal usage or no usage, by end of day battery only left 3-4 bars. But today I've made some calls and sms and it only drop 2 bars as of now. Guess my battery still works okay, and Garmin is the culprit to the poor battery life. This post has been edited by Shinichi: Jan 28 2009, 12:45 AM |
Jan 28 2009, 12:29 PM
15 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Petaling Jaya |
Hey guys!
To aishiteru-kun, sorry I've been keeping quiet lately. Now, I'm a proud owner of a Samsung Innov8 8Gb. Yeah, navigating thru the Symbian s60 menu was not that hard though it did take a few tries to get where i want to. Battery life as all here has confirmed, it is power hungry especially if the multimedia features eg camera, video playing, surf the net are utilized. Haven't done exploring the phone yet. *ehem* I'm still ogling at how gorgeous the phone is. LOL! I also havent install any 3rd party apps. Oh, one thing I really missed is having animated icons/smiley you can inserted when you sms someone. Have anyone found any 3rd party app that can do this? |
Jan 28 2009, 10:26 PM
90 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Just some sharing,
I tried to do some experiment on the battery life. here is my result: With Garmin Mobile XT installed - I use for SMS(10-15 sms) and calls(for 10minutes only). - Keep my phone silent for the whole day during working. - Full battery at 8am.charge until full bar Result: Battery level drop to half at 12.00pm, and totally flat when i reach home at 6.30pm Without Garmin Mobile XT installed - I use for SMS(30-35 sms) and calls (for 15minutes). - Not keep my phone silent for the whole day. - Full battery at 8am.charge until full bar Result: Batter still full bar at 12.00pm, full bar after office hour at 6.30pm, and still full bar now at 10.35pm Conclusion: U need to delete Garmin v5.0020 due to poor battery life. and update your firmware by using Apollo software.my version is I8510XEHJ4 and is actually from Russia region. When you update to this firmware, u will not able to change the phone language to Malay and Chinese,but still u can use english. so u choose which one you prefer. BTW, any recommendation for new GPS software. Mapking got ehem ehem version arrr? |
| Change to: | 0.0208sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:36 PM |