127 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Bottom

Financial Is property going to drop?, General property price discussion

lucerne
post Feb 14 2011, 04:35 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ Feb 14 2011, 04:02 PM)
You have put in one unlikely scenario for me. I can dream that if I were to have a few mil cash, I will buy agricultural land ie with oil palm or rubber trees as the price is very high. Later on, when the township is needed I will convert into housing land.

However, to be realistic. I have little cash but can qualify for bank loan. I would go for freehold landed property with reputable developers. Banks are happy to offer me high MOF, long tenure and good -ve BLR.
i am answering to soul's question. maybe he have lot of cash and dun want bank loan?
if u hv lot of cash i think it is no wise to buy properties (for rental income) with bank loan as i mentioned. any comment from sifu?
SUSNew Klang
post Feb 14 2011, 04:39 PM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Feb 14 2011, 04:35 PM)
i am answering to soul's question. maybe he have lot of cash and dun want bank loan?
if u hv lot of cash i think it is no wise to buy properties  (for rental income) with bank loan as i mentioned. any comment from sifu?
OIC.

Pls read my previous post that I will buy agricultural land specifically rubber or oil palm.

SUSUFO-ET
post Feb 14 2011, 05:14 PM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ Feb 14 2011, 04:39 PM)
OIC.

Pls read my previous post that I will buy agricultural land specifically rubber or oil palm.
Over the past, investor made the most fr land (development) and industrial factories, followed by commercial shoplots, however, it is too complicated for most of the forummers here, it is specifically most suitable for commodity operator to invest....

brows.gif

Added on February 14, 2011, 5:16 pm
QUOTE(lucerne @ Feb 14 2011, 03:38 PM)
if you have a lot of cash, says a few mil?
how about if you pay cash 10 prop (300k each) and reinvest all the collected rentals to UT/ETF (annual return 8%)  until u can buy another property with cash again?  (u can save on lawyer fees  and bank interests by paying cash)
eg if rental income is 20k net/month (2k/mth x 10 prop) + profits from UTs, u can afford to buy a 300k prop again every 1 year.

p/s: in most cases, rental hardly cover the loan interest, based on current inflated properties prices. so it is not wise to have loan for rental income.
When we say cash, there is different RM with Sing$$ and Reminbi, If all my cash are RM, I will try to convert it to real estate, no confident with the gomen doh.gif

This post has been edited by UFO-ET: Feb 14 2011, 05:16 PM
Pai
post Feb 14 2011, 05:52 PM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

QUOTE(groggy @ Feb 14 2011, 04:02 PM)
He is contradicting himself. doh.gif why sell now if you expect price to go up for another few years?
He is advocating ppl who has few properties to sell off when he himself (who has a few props) going into auctions n props viewing recently....... at least Azizi is walking the talk by selling off his holdings.......

Like this punya standard oso qualify as a guru ka? yawn.gif

Added on February 14, 2011, 6:01 pm
QUOTE(property101 @ Feb 13 2011, 11:21 PM)
Even when there is an opportunity for them, they are always saying: "wait...lets see how it goes first..."
These r the NATOs............. wink.gif

*NATO : No Action, Talk Only

This post has been edited by Pai: Feb 14 2011, 06:01 PM
TheDoer
post Feb 15 2011, 01:02 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ Feb 13 2011, 09:48 PM)
Chief, the example makes sense when there arent any life-boats or cheap housing anymore. As previously mentioned, there r cheap housing available if one is not choosy. No one forces anyone to pay half a mil for a new DSL when a 10 years old DSL within the same vicinity is at least 40% cheaper. Our prop price arent anywhere near HK, SG, China etc...........yet still ppl complaint?

Sometimes I felt ppl complaint as they felt that they r entitled for cheap housing. They somehow think gov, dev, and all prop buyers must ensure that the market adhere's to their own requirements. So instead of adjusting to the world, they want the whole world to adjust to their needs and wants................. and these r the same bunch who could have afford to buy properties for own stay 2 years ago but simply hold back as they are BETTING against the market................. only to see market has gone complete opposite against their bet.............. sweat.gif
@Pai & @Property101,

Yes. There's always an option. As mentioned, we could always swim ashore am I right? The problem is taking this type of advice, from the guys aboard the empty life boats. They do not know what the rest of us are going through.

We are not refering to the minimum wage worker, who is not willing to live in a low cost home, but an average income graduate. Meanwhile, there are plenty of vacant medium cost homes which have overgrown weeds. They are not willing to release those homes at a lower price, because they believe they are worth more in their mind.

Think again, people are not just complaining because they withheld and didn't buy 2-3 years back. Imagine if this is a fresh grad we are talking about, how do you explain this to him? "Son, you have to either work twice as hard as the rest of us, or come from a well to do family."

It's true, this is a dog eat dog world, I do not deny that, sometimes we have to suck it up and take it. But then again if everybody thought of the next person a little more. The world will be a better place.

If we were on the titanic, and the ship was sinking, Yes, the guy who was the most aggressive and pushed his way through the crowd will find a lifeboat first, and the timid one only has himself to blame. However, if we had all walked in an orderly fashion, perhaps all of us could have survived.

Added on February 15, 2011, 1:22 amIt's one thing, if you have extra cash and you are making profit from undervalued properties. The people whom I have a bone to pick are those who buy new properties, to sell them off to genuine buyers whom were not years late, but hours and days late.

These guys do not take long to ponder on the property like people who genuinely want to own a home. They are not planning to live there anyway.

As soon as they can, they sell it back to the genuine guys, for a profit of 10K to 20K. Without needing much cash to begin with.

Basically, this is the same as, you buying some stuff from tesco... and as you are approaching the counter, another guy snatches the cart from you, pays it for you and demands you pay him a tip by %.

This post has been edited by TheDoer: Feb 15 2011, 01:22 AM
SUSUFO-ET
post Feb 15 2011, 02:51 AM

6,747 posts

I read the title "If the property going to drop?" so many times, now I got the answer - "Malaysian's dream home requirement is one of the highest in Asia"

if we dun change our requirements or like someone mentioned earlier "downgrade" our needs, we will keep suffering...and even when property is really bubble, I dun think those low and middle income group can afford to buy theirs dream home....

Until today, we Malaysian still consider an average new double storey link or Condo / service apt at least 1500sf (in average prime location) is considered an ideal "home" for a family, anything below than that spec is miserable, I just came back fr Taiwan, knowing that a very successful film star is staying in a shop apartment and most of them are like that..I make a quick survey, majority think that owning at least a 25 tsubo (890sf) size apartment is the most ideal home and considered quite successful (1 tsubo = 35.6 sq ft), middle upper class group never think or dream of owning a landed property in the Taipei City, only those multi millionaire "businessman" has the privilege to live in. 20-30 years back they are like us, complaining the landed property was too expensive.

If we can't change the world, we change ourselves
1. Lower our requirement - downgrade
2. Dun compare yr wealth (when compare, you will never satisfy)
3. Keep our family size smaller, I am ok if my 2 kids are single (Dr. M 70 mil population target is going to kill the country)
4. Be more hardworking and change our attitude
Taiwanese really good, professional and hardworking, I really feel shameful, m very very lazy, and our gomen servants sick! Taiwan has almost same population like us, their servant total of 800K, we 2.2 mil.. shocking.gif
5. Give a chance to another group of people to manage the country, see anything better

TheDoer
post Feb 15 2011, 03:58 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Feb 15 2011, 02:51 AM)
4. Be more hardworking and change our attitude
Taiwanese really good, professional and hardworking, I really feel shameful, m very very lazy, and our gomen servants sick! Taiwan has almost same population like us, their servant total of 800K, we 2.2 mil..  shocking.gif
Valid points.

Interesting you mentioned Taiwan. was not able to get the stats for the same year, but check this out:

QUOTE( Malaysia)
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...5764&sec=nation
“Our country’s suicide rate from 1990 to 2000 is estimated at 10 to 13 per 100,000 population based on the statistics, including those labelled as undetermined deaths,”
QUOTE( Taiwan)
http://www.taiwantoday.tw/ct.asp?xitem=53029&ctnode=445&mp=9

The DOH said that when this figure was related to the total population size, the death rate is 484.3 per 100,000 people, a record low for the last 20 years.
property101
post Feb 15 2011, 08:30 AM

1,830 posts

QUOTE(TheDoer @ Feb 15 2011, 01:02 AM)
Think again, people are not just complaining because they withheld and didn't buy 2-3 years back. Imagine if this is a fresh grad we are talking about, how do you explain this to him? "Son, you have to either work twice as hard as the rest of us, or come from a well to do family."

It's true, this is a dog eat dog world, I do not deny that, sometimes we have to suck it up and take it. But then again if everybody thought of the next person a little more.  The world will be a better place.

If we were on the titanic, and the ship was sinking, Yes, the guy who was the most aggressive and pushed his way through the crowd will find a lifeboat first, and the timid one only has himself to blame. However, if we had all walked in an orderly fashion, perhaps all of us could have survived.
Interesting. If we were to live in an ideal world, everyone will be happy. Unfortunately we are not robot, we dont walk in an "orderly fashion". we are human. Some of us have a big heart like yourself to care about the others while some will exploit every advantage to benefit themselves and only themselves.

In reality, the person who doesn't get a boat will either has to immediately change his mindset to be aggressive or die in the ocean. Again, unfortunately, one is very unlikely to have a change of mindset in a short period of time without any stimulant . A change of mindset will only come when they are slapped hard by the cold reality. Like Pai has mentioned, I too believe everyone who are generally successful in life usually gone through certain level of hardship. I don't believe success by chance. Even if it happens, the success will not be sustainable. How a person does anything is how a person does everything. If the person cannot manage a basic human need (accommodation), I don't reckon this person is getting too well in life in general. With this property hike, if it can wake them up from their comfort zone, increase the number of "aggressive" people in our country.....

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Feb 15 2011, 02:51 AM)
Until today, we Malaysian still consider an average new double storey link or  Condo / service apt at least 1500sf (in average prime location) is considered an ideal "home" for a family, anything below than that spec is miserable, I just came back fr Taiwan, knowing that a very successful film star is staying in a shop apartment and most of them are like that..I make a quick survey, majority think that owning at least a 25 tsubo (890sf) size  apartment is the most ideal home and considered quite successful (1 tsubo = 35.6 sq ft), middle upper class group never think or dream of owning a landed property in the Taipei City, only those multi millionaire "businessman" has the privilege to live in. 20-30 years back they are like us, complaining the landed property was too expensive.
Didn't people always say about learn from history? Well in this case, we are not learning from our history, we are learning from others' history, could be equally valuable. When you see something coming, you can either find a nice seat to watch the show or being part of the show wink.gif

Added on February 15, 2011, 9:51 amYesterday, I was talking to a colleague who owns more than 20 residential properties and number of commercial units. I guess he obviously know what he is doing. When I asked him about what he thinks about property bubble, his response was not gonna happen. When everything is increasing, why property price should drop? Of course what he said is a little over generalized, and there might be few exception, but for the majority of people who are looking at apartment / condo / studio / DLS etc are not going to be much affected.

This post has been edited by property101: Feb 15 2011, 09:51 AM
mikro
post Feb 15 2011, 02:24 PM

486 posts

1)Will increasing young working population the answer to sustainable house price?

I realize the pool of young graduate is higher than when I was entering college and more and more young people can be seen in shopping mall on the weekend until it so pack that I rather stay at home.

During 2005 the same shopping mall is not as pack and crowded as it is now.

My theory is that although the house price have increase, but the price increase is with tandem with the demand in Malaysia economy.

2) On a macro point of view, the house price have only appreciated 3.3% around the country which is true, the house price in klang valley had shoot up like rocket, which is also true. But on the micro side, not all the house in klang valley has shoot up 30%-50% in just a year, it's is very confine and specific to hotpots such as BU areas wherest Kajang, Shah Alam has not seen much appreciation like in BU and Mutiara Area which come to my conclusion that property high price is segmented and not as wide spread as perceive, so that area like BU and Mutiara maybe have excess speculation that cause the price to increase rapidly.

3) But that also other problem, if those young graduate (Lots and Lots of them) few years down the road opt to buy a house with bank loan, the price of house is also not going to drop, because why sell lower when somebody will buy it?

House price boom is happening in Singapore as well, which explain the situation is not confine to Malaysia.

4) And there is also factor of Holding power, those people who hold number of property are cash rich uncle auntie which unlike previously 97-98 crisis they have little cash or over leverage, these people have high holding power which reduce the selling pressure on housing property, and with limited selling pressure, the downside will be limited.

Property price generally will come up and down like a cycle and the only way I can think of falling property price is in a recession and even the downside is limited to 10-30%. To seeing a property price crash of magnitude of 50% -70% is expecting a political unrest that send everyone panic to leave the country.

Property market in Malaysia is highly segmented market with high rise (super luxury, luxury, mid and low cost), Landed (terrace, Semi-D, Bungalow) and Landed can be segmentise by G&G and non G&G and the whole high rise landed can be further segmented with location and Neighborhood and area with each specifics segment experiencing it individual boom, burst cycle, varies in growth rate and price appreciation and even when in down turn, each segment will react differently.

The best example is to look at Mount Kiara high rise, it an segment on it own.

sampool
post Feb 15 2011, 03:30 PM

2,294 posts

QUOTE(mikro @ Feb 15 2011, 03:24 PM)

Property price generally will come up and down like a cycle and the only way I can think of falling property price is in a recession and even the downside is limited to 10-30%. To seeing a property price crash of magnitude of 50% -70% is expecting a political unrest that send everyone panic to leave the country.

Dec 2012, the maya theory...will pull the property to zero. nod.gif

my opinion only... sweat.gif
property101
post Feb 15 2011, 03:53 PM

1,830 posts

QUOTE(mikro @ Feb 15 2011, 02:24 PM)
1)Will increasing young working population the answer to sustainable house price?

I realize the pool of young graduate is higher than when I was entering college and more and more young people can be seen in shopping mall on the weekend until it so pack that I rather stay at home.

My theory is that although the house price have increase, but the price increase is with tandem with the demand in Malaysia economy.

Agree. Population has increased, naturally property price also increase where there is no enough supply. Anyone has the figure of how much of population increase vs number of new development?

2) On a macro point of view, the house price have only appreciated 3.3% around the country which is true, the house price in klang valley had shoot up like rocket, which is also true. But on the micro side, not all the house in klang valley has shoot up 30%-50% in just a year, it's is very confine and specific to hotpots such as  BU areas wherest Kajang, Shah Alam has not seen much appreciation like in BU and Mutiara Area which come to my conclusion that property high price is segmented and not as wide spread as perceive, so that area like BU and Mutiara maybe have excess speculation that cause the price to increase rapidly.
FYI, new launches in Kajang and Shah Alam also no longer that "affordable".  brows.gif

3) But that also other problem, if those young graduate (Lots and Lots of them) few years down the road opt to buy a house with bank loan, the price of house is also not going to drop, because why sell lower when somebody will buy it?

House price boom is happening in Singapore as well, which explain the situation is not confine to Malaysia.

Even if they cant buy, they will and have to rent. This too make property market sustain

4) And there is also factor of Holding power, those people who hold number of property are cash rich uncle auntie which unlike previously 97-98 crisis they have little cash or over leverage, these people have high holding power which reduce the selling pressure on housing property, and with limited selling pressure, the downside will be limited.

Uncle story is queue up for new launches overnight. Buy 3 units. Sell 2 upon completion. Your unit is free!
But right now everyone is talking about leverage is double sided edge. I believe general public have more awareness.

Property market in Malaysia is highly segmented market with high rise (super luxury, luxury, mid and low cost), Landed (terrace, Semi-D, Bungalow) and Landed can be segmentise by G&G and non G&G and the whole high rise landed  can be further  segmented with location and Neighborhood and area with each specifics segment experiencing it individual boom, burst cycle, varies in growth rate and price appreciation and even when in down turn, each segment will react differently.

Agree. Property market is such a general term, if people would want to predict the market, predict the segmented market rather than on overall

The best example is to look at  Mount Kiara high rise, it an segment on it own.
TheDoer
post Feb 15 2011, 03:58 PM

1,853 posts

Sure, there can be many graduates. but if the salary of those graduates do not improve, then the price of the properties will have to drop to suit them.

IMO, Correct me if I'm wrong:

Some say, if you can't buy, then rent. The rental definately won't be more than the loan, otherwise those graduates won't face that problem to begin with. They might band together to rent a property. Resulting in several homes which were made for them, to be vacant. This will cause these landlords to lower their rent, so these graduates will start to live in them. A reduce in rental, will effect the interest of people to buy, thus the price of property will be in check.

When the price of property is high, it results in runaway development, because developers are trying to rake in as much as they can, therefore, there will not be a problem of housing shortage. The reason for the high property prices, are optimistic speculation. So, even if there is a surplus in property, the price remains high, because speculators keep their money dump in them, in the hopes of return. But when they realise that money isn't coming in from this surplus then the above will happen.

so, it's not really a matter of number of graduates. As mentioned before, if an average graduate who has been saving is not expected to be able to afford a property in future. Then how do we expect the new wave of fresh grads to afford them?

The real spoke in the wheel here is whether the current prices are caused by speculation or demand by real potential home owners? This I leave it to you guys.

This post has been edited by TheDoer: Feb 15 2011, 04:03 PM
AVFAN
post Feb 16 2011, 11:27 AM

24,456 posts

2) On a macro point of view, the house price have only appreciated 3.3% around the country which is true, the house price in klang valley had shoot up like rocket, which is also true. But on the micro side, not all the house in klang valley has shoot up 30%-50% in just a year, it's is very confine and specific to hotpots such as  BU areas wherest Kajang, Shah Alam has not seen much appreciation like in BU and Mutiara Area which come to my conclusion that property high price is segmented and not as wide spread as perceive, so that area like BU and Mutiara maybe have excess speculation that cause the price to increase rapidly.
the idea of more young grads to buy higher prices homes isn't sound. suspect majority of grads not so employable these days, coupled with few high pay jobs, only a minority will make it bigtime. a good no. of brains go overseas since there isn't much for them to hang around for.

this 3.3% is propaganda to ease the discomfort, probably true only outside kv and in rural areas. bu-mutiara is an example but there are dozens more. maybe kajang is just catching up, but you are wrong about shah alam. go check kota kemuning, jelutong, setia alam - you'll be shocked how much even 10yr old houses have gone up except the very old leasehold ones not much change. same story in many parts of puchong, kota damansara/sg buluh and along old klang road.

comparing to singapore is never useful. there are far more differences than similaritites between them.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 16 2011, 11:33 AM
SUSUFO-ET
post Feb 16 2011, 11:57 AM

6,747 posts

To apply other countries's property investment method will lead you to hell. My friend has bought 52 units of low cost flat fr auction in the last 1 yrs (which I totally disagree), he claimed that Singapore low cost house has very good rental, RM300 rental is projected.

I am waiting what will happen to him in the next 3 yrs, I stayed in Tasik Selatan low cost flat before BLK 26, it is nightmare!! Unlike Singapore, our gomen will never take care of our living environment
jessy123
post Feb 16 2011, 01:02 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Feb 16 2011, 11:57 AM)
To apply other countries's property investment method will lead you to hell. My friend has bought 52 units of low cost flat fr auction in the last 1 yrs (which I totally disagree), he claimed that Singapore low cost house has very good rental, RM300 rental is projected.

I am waiting what will happen to him in the next 3 yrs, I stayed in Tasik Selatan low cost flat before BLK 26, it is nightmare!! Unlike Singapore, our gomen will never take care of our living environment
IMO, in good or bad times, there will always be demand for rental of low cost flats..more so in bad times..however. having said that, managing this type of tenants is a huge challenge..and with so many units, you really need to do this full time or get someone to do it for you otherwise it will truly be a nightmare..

having bought so many, if the buyer decides one day he wants to offload, another challenge awaits him,IMO..

SUSNew Klang
post Feb 16 2011, 01:49 PM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Feb 14 2011, 05:14 PM)
Over the past, investor made the most fr land (development) and industrial factories, followed by commercial shoplots, however, it is too complicated for most of the forummers here, it is specifically most suitable for commodity operator to invest....
Is it really complicated for you?
TheDoer
post Feb 16 2011, 01:50 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(jessy123 @ Feb 16 2011, 01:02 PM)
having bought so many, if the buyer decides one day he wants to offload, another challenge awaits him,IMO..
I know of this tenant who defaulted on 2 months rent. And overnight he moved out. He left behind unpaid water and electricity bills costing hundreds.

It's a nice thought to be a landlord doing nothing but collecting money. But there are risks, and you need to really know how to manage your property well.
SUSUFO-ET
post Feb 16 2011, 01:54 PM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(jessy123 @ Feb 16 2011, 01:02 PM)
IMO, in good or bad times, there will always be demand for rental of low cost flats..more so in bad times..however. having said that, managing this type of tenants is a huge challenge..and with so many units, you really need to do this full time or get someone to do it for you otherwise it will truly be a nightmare..

True. RM300 isn't easy to collect, ideally 50 units cost 2.5 mil, collect RM15K every mth sounds ok. But in reality landlord is facing different type of tenants, illegal activities, collection problems, personal safety issue (collecting cash), utility usage disputes, runaway tenants etc... rclxub.gif
AVFAN
post Feb 16 2011, 02:14 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Feb 16 2011, 01:54 PM)
True. RM300 isn't easy to collect, ideally 50 units cost 2.5 mil, collect RM15K every mth sounds ok. But in reality landlord is facing different type of tenants, illegal activities, collection problems, personal safety issue (collecting cash), utility usage disputes, runaway tenants etc... rclxub.gif
this is a special breed of people - need skills manybe similar to loansharks. tongue.gif

i have veen heard of foreigners owning dozens of these low cost flats, flying in/out to collect the rents every month. these skilful people know their way with local bankers, money changers, auctioneers, landoffice, contractors. an int'l career, actuali.
tanch78
post Feb 16 2011, 03:48 PM

712 posts

Apparently China is already tightening home buying policy in major city like Beijing, Shanghai, Shenzhen. I wonder if this restriction will hurt the China economy? Can Malaysia adopt the same move?

Beijing to limit home buying
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

THE Beijing authorities are expected to announce a ban on purchases of third homes, Xinhua News Agency reported Tuesday, in line with Central Government efforts to cool the property market.

The new rule, expected to take effect late this week, would prohibit residents of Beijing who already own two or more homes from buying more, according to the report.

There is currently no limit on the number of homes Beijing residents may own.

The move comes after Shanghai and Chongqing introduced the country’s first property tax for home buyers in late January, underlining the Central Government’s determination to tame property inflation, a source of social unrest. The report said the new regulation was likely to damp demand from an estimated 800,000 families in Beijing, or 18 percent of the total in the capital at the end of 2010.

Residents who are unable to provide tax and social security certificates in Beijing would also be barred from buying more homes, according to the report.

The Central Government has launched a slew of tightening measures since 2009 in a bid to control sky-high property prices, including higher down payments, mortgage rates and home purchase limits.

http://www1.szdaily.com/content/2011-02/10...ent_5325078.htm

127 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0243sec    1.02    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:54 AM