Travel Club LYN Japan V1, 日本へようこそ!
SUSJeremyClarkson
Nov 19 2008, 02:38 PM
Guys, i am going to Japan, Tokyo by the end of this year, approx 22dec-30dec 08 i wanna know do i take a tour? or do i walk by my self. Do i also stay in a A Hotel, because i am going with 3 of my friends, and we plan not to stay in a hotel because it is going to be a waste of money. We plan to stay in those capsule hotels. is it much cheaper than those normal 3 stars hotel ?  I also would like to ask , since i am going there about 8 days 7 nights, anywhere i could go? like take a train to somewhere or anything? we also plan to go down to Kyoto to meet some of our Japanese host friends (student exchange Program ) how can we get there?
PsyCHZZZ
Nov 19 2008, 02:49 PM

QUOTE(JeremyClarkson @ Nov 19 2008, 02:38 PM) Guys, i am going to Japan, Tokyo by the end of this year, approx 22dec-30dec 08 i wanna know do i take a tour? or do i walk by my self. Do i also stay in a A Hotel, because i am going with 3 of my friends, and we plan not to stay in a hotel because it is going to be a waste of money. We plan to stay in those capsule hotels. is it much cheaper than those normal 3 stars hotel ?  I also would like to ask , since i am going there about 8 days 7 nights, anywhere i could go? like take a train to somewhere or anything? we also plan to go down to Kyoto to meet some of our Japanese host friends (student exchange Program ) how can we get there? I would say forget about joining tours. Tokyo is VERY accessible by trains and subways. Just plan out your days and places you plan to cover and identify how to get there by train. Some useful links- Printable metro guide - http://www.tokyometro.jp/global/en/service...routemap_en.pdfOnline subway/train timetable- http://www.hyperdia.com/cgi-english/hyperWeb.cgiAs for accommodation, I think capsule hotel prices aren't much different from budget hotels. You might want to stay just a night for the experience but generally staying in a budget hotel offers much more comfort. Might wanna check out - Business Hotel - http://www.princejapan.com/shinagawaprincehotel/Budget Hotel - http://www.sakura-hotel.co.jp/ Capsule Hotel in Akihabara - http://www.capsuleinn.com/General information - Tokyo WikiTravel - http://wikitravel.org/en/TokyoJapan Guide - http://japan-guide.com/Hope this helps.
clemong_888
Nov 19 2008, 03:45 PM
i agree budget hotels/backpackers are much better than capsules.
kyoto might be a lil far unless you're going on a bullet train.
no tours, dont see the point.
PsyCHZZZ
Nov 19 2008, 03:54 PM

If you're planning to go to Kyoto - then do it early when you first arrive in Tokyo cause towards the end of your trip (around 27th onwards) is like super peak season for Japanese to go back to their hometown for the New Year holiday. You DO NOT want to get caught in that rush.
SUSJeremyClarkson
Nov 19 2008, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Nov 19 2008, 03:54 PM) If you're planning to go to Kyoto - then do it early when you first arrive in Tokyo cause towards the end of your trip (around 27th onwards) is like super peak season for Japanese to go back to their hometown for the New Year holiday. You DO NOT want to get caught in that rush. lets say, i arive in Tokyo on 22nd noon, then i take a bullet train there, and arive about ? and i get back on the 23rd. would that be a good idea? how much does a bullet train to Kyoto cost ?
PsyCHZZZ
Nov 19 2008, 05:26 PM

QUOTE(JeremyClarkson @ Nov 19 2008, 04:50 PM) lets say, i arive in Tokyo on 22nd noon, then i take a bullet train there, and arive about ? and i get back on the 23rd. would that be a good idea? how much does a bullet train to Kyoto cost ? I've not been to Kyoto (yet) so can't offer any better advice but I personally think just spending one night in Kyoto is not worth it. Might want to consider spending 2 nights (especially since by the time you arrive in Tokyo it'll be already noon time). You can check out the WikiTravel page for Kyoto (http://wikitravel.org/en/Kyoto) for more info. From the site, avg cost is around 10-15k yen and approx 2 hours+ travelling time. What's interesting is the 'Shinkansen Tour' ( link) which I think will be more worth it for you. Forgot another important point - when you arrive in Tokyo (Narita airport); give yourself at least a minimum of 2 hours leeway because that's how long it'll take to travel from Narita to central Tokyo. This post has been edited by PsyCHZZZ: Nov 19 2008, 05:35 PM
TStanoshi
Nov 19 2008, 05:50 PM
QUOTE(haya @ Nov 19 2008, 12:47 PM) I'll be in Tokyo for about 12 days. Renting a phone is about 500yen/day. Thats 6000yen just so that the office can call me! Roaming is not much cheaper: RM1.50/minute incoming call. I'll consider the offer.  Is the legacy of Vodafone still there? (For those who don't get it, Vodafone's slogan is "Make the most of now")  Anyway, I think I get your point, that there is a shortage of prepaid phones currently in the Tokyo region. Thanks to all who provided the information. Was most useful and helpful. yes sir, you are right sir...hard to say the words of SHORTAGE of prepaid phone in Tokyo (for Softbank lah)
TStanoshi
Nov 19 2008, 05:55 PM
QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Nov 19 2008, 04:45 PM) i agree budget hotels/backpackers are much better than capsules. kyoto might be a lil far unless you're going on a bullet train. no tours, dont see the point. IF talk bout bacpackers then..why need tour guide  ? it will cost you dude..my frenz doin for freelance 'tour guide & translator' for Muslim traveller, charges for 2,000yen perhour dude  ! hehehe even Durian sebijik pun dah 5,000yen sebijik hehehe...will upload soon the pic of RM16x.xx  sebijik!
irienaoki
Nov 19 2008, 06:00 PM
hajimemashite tanoshi san watashi irie desu.... juz a suggestion here...... can u add list for people who wanna stay in japan also? hehehe if yes put me in the 1st row....hahaha onegaishimasu
Added on November 19, 2008, 6:01 pmminna nihon benkyou shimashou......
This post has been edited by irienaoki: Nov 19 2008, 06:04 PM
PsyCHZZZ
Nov 19 2008, 06:11 PM

QUOTE(zoakies @ Nov 13 2008, 03:39 PM) Hey guys, I have few question to ask as i am heading to Tokyo on February. My virgin trip to Land of Rising Sun. 1) Is the weather cold on the month of February?
Yes. This year it actually snowed twice in Tokyo during the month of February (not a lot but enough to cause the road to be pretty slippery). So, just remember to bring your winter jacket and you should be fine. 2) What are the places that i should visit during my stay in Tokyo (i will be around for a week only)
As suggested earlier by keii-kun; just stick to the JR Yamanote line and visit the places on that line. 3) I heard there got this 'Bus and Train Pass' for tourist to travel around Japan for a 'single-payment' fees only right? May i know whats is the rate and name
JR Rail Pass is not worth it if you're just going to travel in Tokyo. It's more suited for long distance traveling in Japan. Nevertheless, there is day-pass for the usual metro bus (Tokyu Bus) which you can buy for 500 yen and it'll allow you unlimited rides for all the bus for 1 day. Also, I don't think there's actually an all-day pass for the JR lines in central Tokyo but there is one for the Tokyo Metro. 4) Would it be tough to walk-around Japan/Tokyo is i dont know japanese?
Not at all. Tokyo is very gaijin-friendly and there's english signs everywhere. What I recommend is to visit the Tourist Information center and get yourself a copy of the Tokyo guide. Then it'll be very easy to navigate and go around. Cheers. Reading back some older posts and thought of giving you my opinions as well.
TStanoshi
Nov 19 2008, 06:29 PM
QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Nov 19 2008, 07:11 PM) Reading back some older posts and thought of giving you my opinions as well. Thanks for helping us for the infos  !
TStanoshi
Nov 19 2008, 06:35 PM
QUOTE(irienaoki @ Nov 19 2008, 07:00 PM) hajimemashite tanoshi san watashi irie desu.... juz a suggestion here...... can u add list for people who wanna stay in japan also? hehehe if yes put me in the 1st row....hahaha onegaishimasu Added on November 19, 2008, 6:01 pmminna nihon benkyou shimashou...... Updating...oh ya bro, wer r u currently? studying or working? list of the LYN members with the number who residing Japan!
1- Firedauz 2- me.. 3- Clemong_888 4- Asuk 5- Irienaoki
SUSJeremyClarkson
Nov 19 2008, 07:18 PM
oh, what would the weather be like in the end of Dec? do i need to bring thick clothing or just normal tshirt and Jeans
PsyCHZZZ
Nov 19 2008, 07:32 PM

QUOTE(JeremyClarkson @ Nov 19 2008, 07:18 PM) oh, what would the weather be like in the end of Dec? do i need to bring thick clothing or just normal tshirt and Jeans It's pretty cold already so normal t-shirt and jeans won't do unless you can really stand the chill. You won't need the full winter gears but I would suggest that you bring at least a down feather jacket with you.
clemong_888
Nov 19 2008, 07:39 PM
QUOTE(irienaoki @ Nov 19 2008, 06:00 PM) hajimemashite tanoshi san watashi irie desu.... juz a suggestion here...... can u add list for people who wanna stay in japan also? hehehe if yes put me in the 1st row....hahaha onegaishimasu Added on November 19, 2008, 6:01 pmminna nihon benkyou shimashou...... where are u staying? tanoshi, could u update on where in japan as well, japan ain't that small  im in gifu btw. This post has been edited by clemong_888: Nov 19 2008, 07:39 PM
SUSJeremyClarkson
Nov 19 2008, 07:40 PM
so, i just have a normal wind breaker with me? is that fine? Just saw the weather at tokyo. its 17 C . as cold as genting
clemong_888
Nov 19 2008, 07:43 PM
QUOTE(JeremyClarkson @ Nov 19 2008, 07:40 PM) so, i just have a normal wind breaker with me? is that fine? Just saw the weather at tokyo. its 17 C . as cold as genting dec would be 10 or less. it was 15 last week in my area, its 5-10 now
SUSJeremyClarkson
Nov 19 2008, 07:45 PM
QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Nov 19 2008, 07:43 PM) dec would be 10 or less. it was 15 last week in my area, its 5-10 now  ohh, i noticed your Sig, do i bring my normal 18-55mm lens or 18-135mm? dont wanna bring 2 lenses along.
PsyCHZZZ
Nov 19 2008, 07:46 PM

QUOTE(JeremyClarkson @ Nov 19 2008, 07:40 PM) so, i just have a normal wind breaker with me? is that fine? Just saw the weather at tokyo. its 17 C . as cold as genting Haha... well, that's the peak (usually on a fair sunny afternoon temp) but like right now it's currently 9 degrees outside. And it'll just get colder by the day so by end of next month ... you'll easily be looking at below 10 degrees.