Sep 17 2008, 09:58 PM
499 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Sabah |
Ha ! you're getting me heat up ... ~ Sh~!!!
Sep 17 2008, 10:20 PM
95 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
My tour package wil be going to asakusa, ginza & shinjuku this October. Any recommendation on food or interesting places over there?
Also planning to try the following food (unique food fr Japan) :- Any advice on the cost or place to have them? 1)Kobe Beef / Matsuzaka Beef / Yamagata's / Hida beef / Yonezawa beef/Mishima/ Ikeda beef. ANy idea how much is a good portion steak of the above should cost? 2)Kumamoto Horse meat. (hehehe.. still not sure dare try or not) 3)Kegani - Hairy Crab (is this the same as Shanghai's hairy crab -"Da CHa Xie") 4)Akkeshi's oysters, 5)Saroma's scallops, 6)sea urchin (uni) 7)ika-meshi, rice-stuffed squid 8)matsutake mushroom 9) Karasumi At least if know the cost now, then when the tour guide take us, they won't haf opportunity to overcharge us. Any depachika or department store basement food court, featuring tiny specialist stalls dishing up local specialties with hangaku or 3-wari to get a bargain within ginza & shinjuku? This post has been edited by D-Tourist: Sep 17 2008, 11:05 PM |
Sep 17 2008, 11:07 PM
2,502 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Kuching,Kuala Lumpur, Gifu,Japan |
QUOTE(D-Tourist @ Sep 17 2008, 10:20 PM) My tour package wil be going to asakusa, ginza & shinjuku this October. Any recommendation on food or interesting places over there? its all premium food, dont expect to find it on discounts.... ive been here for more than 2 years and ive yet to eat those beef. i think u can only find kumamoto horse meat in kumamoto ( or at a ++premium in tokyo). uni uni... u can get it around even at 105 yen kaiten sushi shops but dont expect it to be good. u pay for what u get. Also planning to try the following food (unique food fr Japan) :- Any advice on the cost or place to have them? 1)Kobe Beef / Matsuzaka Beef / Yamagata's / Hida beef / Yonezawa beef/ Ikeda beef. ANy idea how much is a good portion steak of the above should cost? 2)Kumamoto Horse meat. (hehehe.. still not sure dare try or not) 3)Kegani - Hairy Crab (is this the same as Shanghai's hairy crab -"Da CHa Xie") 4)Akkeshi's oysters, 5)Saroma's scallops, 6)sea urchin (uni) 7)ika-meshi, rice-stuffed squid 8)matsutake mushroom 9) Karasumi At least if know the cost now, then when the tour guide take us, they won't haf opportunity to overcharge us. Any depachika or department store basement food court, featuring tiny specialist stalls dishing up local specialties with hangaku or 3-wari to get a bargain within ginza & shinjuku? if im not mistaken, kobe beef is at least 3000yen but thts in kobe... tokyo would be more expensive.. dont be surprised to see a 10,000yen price tag on it. |
Sep 17 2008, 11:15 PM
347 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: [ Tokyo/Kel/K.L. ] |
QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Sep 18 2008, 12:07 AM) its all premium food, dont expect to find it on discounts.... ive been here for more than 2 years and ive yet to eat those beef. i think u can only find kumamoto horse meat in kumamoto ( or at a ++premium in tokyo). uni uni... u can get it around even at 105 yen kaiten sushi shops but dont expect it to be good. u pay for what u get. AGREED , in Japan...daging lembu mahal duhhhh! if im not mistaken, kobe beef is at least 3000yen but thts in kobe... tokyo would be more expensive.. dont be surprised to see a 10,000yen price tag on it. |
Sep 17 2008, 11:32 PM
Sep 18 2008, 02:06 AM
Sep 18 2008, 06:59 AM
707 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: down under |
QUOTE(D-Tourist @ Sep 18 2008, 01:20 AM) My tour package wil be going to asakusa, ginza & shinjuku this October. Any recommendation on food or interesting places over there? adding on to that, any 'must-go' restaurant or shop in tokyo?Also planning to try the following food (unique food fr Japan) :- Any advice on the cost or place to have them? 1)Kobe Beef / Matsuzaka Beef / Yamagata's / Hida beef / Yonezawa beef/Mishima/ Ikeda beef. ANy idea how much is a good portion steak of the above should cost? 2)Kumamoto Horse meat. (hehehe.. still not sure dare try or not) 3)Kegani - Hairy Crab (is this the same as Shanghai's hairy crab -"Da CHa Xie") 4)Akkeshi's oysters, 5)Saroma's scallops, 6)sea urchin (uni) 7)ika-meshi, rice-stuffed squid 8)matsutake mushroom 9) Karasumi At least if know the cost now, then when the tour guide take us, they won't haf opportunity to overcharge us. Any depachika or department store basement food court, featuring tiny specialist stalls dishing up local specialties with hangaku or 3-wari to get a bargain within ginza & shinjuku? |
Sep 18 2008, 03:08 PM
urm.. if u have the cash.. u could try michelin's 3 star rated restaurant... definitely not for the poor like me
Sep 18 2008, 04:22 PM
104 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Tmn TAR |
hi...im going to itoman city okinawa for work.....i'll stay there for 3 month....
hope guys can give me a lil bit advise bout life in japan.. should i prepape tons of maggi me+serunding+roti (im a muslim)..i will be staying in a hotel...will the hotel provide halal foor if we request? plz recommen any halal food in itoman...? what cloth should i bring there.....? any other thing should i bring there.... what are the things that i should do and dont ? i'll fly after raya....mid october looking foward to go to japan...(hopping to meet japanese chick awww....) This post has been edited by the golden sukuk: Sep 18 2008, 04:26 PM |
Sep 18 2008, 04:59 PM
Sep 18 2008, 05:19 PM
876 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Tokyo, London, Singapore, KL, Space |
QUOTE(the golden sukuk @ Sep 18 2008, 04:22 PM) hi...im going to itoman city okinawa for work.....i'll stay there for 3 month.... Waaaah Okinawa Island! Cun weiii! hope guys can give me a lil bit advise bout life in japan.. should i prepape tons of maggi me+serunding+roti (im a muslim)..i will be staying in a hotel...will the hotel provide halal foor if we request? plz recommen any halal food in itoman...? what cloth should i bring there.....? any other thing should i bring there.... what are the things that i should do and dont ? i'll fly after raya....mid october looking foward to go to japan...(hopping to meet japanese chick awww....) Let you settle down for 1 month, then all of us from Tokyo buat rombongan to your hotel there I'm guessing this is your first time coming to Japan? If so, yep, just bring the maggis, serundings and rotis. Most of us started like that too LOL Bring at least 1 jacket to stand the cold since its the autumn season. Even though the sun might be bright there in Okinawa, bring it just in case Since its 3 months, make arrangement to come at least once to Tokyo. Its a must if you ever come to Japan |
Sep 18 2008, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(kikurazz @ Sep 18 2008, 04:59 PM) michelin, the tyre company? has a comprehensive guide on fine foods around the world and their guide for tokyo has the most 3 stars(the highes rating, more than their home, paris) but as i said, the budget for such restaurants...http://www.amazon.com/Michelin-Guide-2008-...s/dp/2067130692 |
Sep 18 2008, 10:14 PM
95 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(kikurazz @ Sep 18 2008, 04:59 PM) U would not wan to know where lar... michelin .. unless u r the type who fly first class to japan... hahahaI'm not for sure. Anyone been to Satou Steakhouse in Kichijoji , 5 to 10 min walk North of Kichijoji station in Musashino,Tokyo,Japan? Heard that can get a Kobe beef lunch at 1200-5000 yen. This post has been edited by D-Tourist: Sep 18 2008, 10:18 PM |
Sep 19 2008, 04:08 AM
QUOTE(D-Tourist @ Sep 18 2008, 11:14 PM) U would not wan to know where lar... michelin .. unless u r the type who fly first class to japan... hahaha Sorry dude, I'm a Muslim so really didnt know bout the non halal beef, but then Kichijoji not far from my place hehehe..I'm not for sure. Anyone been to Satou Steakhouse in Kichijoji , 5 to 10 min walk North of Kichijoji station in Musashino,Tokyo,Japan? Heard that can get a Kobe beef lunch at 1200-5000 yen. Think you should finish travel 1st in central of Tokyo such as Shibuya, Ginza, Rponngi bla bla..times limited Added on September 19, 2008, 4:20 am QUOTE(the golden sukuk @ Sep 18 2008, 05:22 PM) hi...im going to itoman city okinawa for work.....i'll stay there for 3 month.... Okinawa? Its not that busy like Tokyo...consider like Malaysia too (its referring from my brother in law who is studying in Okinawa)hope guys can give me a lil bit advise bout life in japan.. should i prepape tons of maggi me+serunding+roti (im a muslim)..i will be staying in a hotel...will the hotel provide halal foor if we request? plz recommen any halal food in itoman...? what cloth should i bring there.....? any other thing should i bring there.... what are the things that i should do and dont ? i'll fly after raya....mid october looking foward to go to japan...(hopping to meet japanese chick awww....) mmm..never been before BUT when huhuhu..heard that got CRUISE from Tokyo? Yeah Maggi, brahim's bla bla...sholud bring lah... what are the things that i should do and dont ? IF you are smoker then please dont smoke at anywhere you like, watch the sign where you can smoke. In Tokyo even while u r walking you CANT smoke! Bout the rubbish, keep any of your own rubbish with you and throw it /dump it in your home or convenience store! 'Jepun adalah salah satu negara yang susah untuk kita menjumpai tong/bakul sampah' Its damn hard to find a bin in Japan!!!..its like, 'kau punya sampah, kau buang kat rumah kau lah' huhuhu This post has been edited by tanoshi: Sep 19 2008, 04:20 AM |
Sep 19 2008, 06:02 AM
QUOTE(tanoshi @ Sep 19 2008, 04:08 AM) Sorry dude, I'm a Muslim so really didnt know bout the non halal beef, but then Kichijoji not far from my place hehehe.. i never found it hard to find rubbish bins. must stations should at least have it.Think you should finish travel 1st in central of Tokyo such as Shibuya, Ginza, Rponngi bla bla..times limited Added on September 19, 2008, 4:20 am Okinawa? Its not that busy like Tokyo...consider like Malaysia too (its referring from my brother in law who is studying in Okinawa) mmm..never been before BUT when huhuhu..heard that got CRUISE from Tokyo? Yeah Maggi, brahim's bla bla...sholud bring lah... what are the things that i should do and dont ? IF you are smoker then please dont smoke at anywhere you like, watch the sign where you can smoke. In Tokyo even while u r walking you CANT smoke! Bout the rubbish, keep any of your own rubbish with you and throw it /dump it in your home or convenience store! 'Jepun adalah salah satu negara yang susah untuk kita menjumpai tong/bakul sampah' Its damn hard to find a bin in Japan!!!..its like, 'kau punya sampah, kau buang kat rumah kau lah' huhuhu |
Sep 19 2008, 10:44 AM
QUOTE(D-Tourist @ Sep 19 2008, 01:14 AM) U would not wan to know where lar... michelin .. unless u r the type who fly first class to japan... hahaha ok. betta stick to normal ramen / sushi house I'm not for sure. Anyone been to Satou Steakhouse in Kichijoji , 5 to 10 min walk North of Kichijoji station in Musashino,Tokyo,Japan? Heard that can get a Kobe beef lunch at 1200-5000 yen. anyway, can you normally ask for discount @ Otaku shops or is it strictly no-negotiation policy in Akiba? and yeah, I want to go hot-spring mane? This post has been edited by kikurazz: Sep 19 2008, 11:07 AM |
Sep 19 2008, 12:18 PM
Sep 19 2008, 12:46 PM
876 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Tokyo, London, Singapore, KL, Space |
Best place to find rubbish bins = at convenient stores
Sep 19 2008, 02:47 PM
2,915 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
| Change to: | 0.0328sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:56 PM |