9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Mercedes-Benz W124 still worth it?, Worth it as a first car for fresh grad?

eastwest
post Jul 9 2008, 11:58 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(779364 @ Jul 9 2008, 10:26 PM)
my uncles W124 200E one is 1988.
OO, I thought W124 refer to "mata belalang" e class doh.gif

This post has been edited by eastwest: Jul 9 2008, 11:58 PM
pillage2001
post Jul 10 2008, 12:28 AM

1,992 posts

Why the need to get a Merc for a first car?? Cars maintenance will increase almost exponentially when it's getting older. I don't know about you but going back to my parents asking them to chip in for maintenance every month is not something I would do.
aarex
post Jul 10 2008, 01:18 AM

** DyNaMic **
1,153 posts

I think BMW E36 is better than W124 in term of maintenance n FC. Look sporty also...smile.gif

This post has been edited by aarex: Jul 10 2008, 01:27 AM
emechelmi
post Jul 10 2008, 10:19 AM

367 posts

pls don't compare proton parts with merc parts pricing.

cheap 'proton compatible' parts are not as robust or long-lasting as merc's. The cheap proton parts are indeed coming from imitation/third party brands with questionable quality. Not many use the original parts supplied by proton/OEM due to expensive price. Just think about the oil filter.
andy6000
post Jul 10 2008, 10:27 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(serigala @ Jul 9 2008, 11:52 PM)
brand new?u mean mercedes e class new model?not that 1 la..
he is going for a second hand old model e class la..the 1 that worth 30k..masterpiece version if i'm not mistaken..
i means the time that w124 launching cost almosr 300k when it's new. Between, i will chose w124 280 anytime since i had try driving it from ipoh to penang. You won notice that you runing 160km/h. Sure the feel of driving w124 is much more better than new model toyota or honda. So do you think that proton can compare with old old model mercedes?
EyraYus
post Jul 10 2008, 02:30 PM

sTRe3tHunt3R
2,152 posts

QUOTE(andy6000 @ Jul 10 2008, 10:27 AM)
i means the time that w124 launching cost almosr 300k when it's new. Between, i will chose w124 280 anytime since i had try driving it from ipoh to penang. You won notice that you runing 160km/h. Sure the feel of driving w124 is much more better than new model toyota or honda. So do you think that proton can compare with old old model mercedes?
sure cannot. but u need to understand that extra ability does come with extra price. for normal working class people, even old Merc like this one cost not more than 50K, but to maintain such car, will be a problem. TS not asking about "which one better? Old Merc or new Saga?" That is a no brainer.. he`s asking.. "is it worth it?"

I really think for fresh graduate, this car will be a problem to maintain. Unless u very rich cool.gif
Aeon_Clock
post Jul 10 2008, 05:04 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

fresh grad not affected by fuel crisis?
TSSensui
post Jul 10 2008, 08:57 PM

482 posts

Ok let's forget about the W124 for awhile. What about a W123? The price for second-hand unit is soooooooo cheap, even below RM10,000.

What are your opinions on the W123 as a car for fresh grads? Don't forget W123 (RM10,000-RM15,000 excluding repairs and maintenance yet) vs new Saga (RM40,000?)
phas3r
post Jul 10 2008, 11:00 PM

1,206 posts

W124 is produced from 1985 till 1995... for its age, it looks pretty modern. its one of the most reliable merc ever build and yes it is over engineered...for year 1994-95 it is given a facelift where ppl called masterpiece version.. although many older ones were converted to this MP
back in the 90s W124 didn't cost 300k, the price of them in 1995 is:
E200 = rm225k
E220 = RM245k
E280 = RM267k
but now the 2nd hand price are all around 40k..
some of uni mate drive it .. full tank rm200 for now..

W123 is also a tank... if u want something less common just drive an old continental cars la... all students now only drive myvi viva kancil saga, all common wan tongue.gif but maintainance la prob

This post has been edited by phas3r: Jul 10 2008, 11:01 PM
zenabi
post Jul 10 2008, 11:14 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Sensui @ Jul 9 2008, 10:09 PM)
I see that most 2nd hand W124s are quite reasonable on the market. They seem to range from RM30k-RM40k. Is the car maintenance as cheap as some people say and as reliable? Is it fuel efficient also?(assuming it's a 2.6L or 2.8L petrol engine)

Is it worth getting it as my first car as a fresh grad? Let's say I can get some financial support from parents. But they don't trust old cars especially European cars because of their negative perceptions towards it.

Which is more worth it? New Proton Saga or second-hand Mercedes-Benz W124?
Its a tough call bro. Although the W124 is a good car, the fuel will not come cheap.(Thanks to you-know-who) The E230 is the best of the range but maintanance is gonna be higher than a Proton. Safety wise it was the first production model for MB to use the ABS . (Mercedes invented ABS). If u're thinking of safety, the W124 is the car . Quality of the car is fantastic. (Even better that its successors). But I think RM 40K is on the high-side. RM 30 to RM 35K is the normal price. If u do decide to buy it, have a experienced MB guy or mechanic go with you. Look out for Gearbox wear and tear. Its a Mechanical car with minimal electronics, so many cheaper workshops can repair it. Protons are good and reliable, i've had 5 of them but safety is very much compromised. Repairs will be frequent in the Proton but at a lesser cost. ...Moral of the story....Flip a coin la!

Added on July 10, 2008, 11:18 pm
QUOTE(Sensui @ Jul 10 2008, 08:57 PM)
Ok let's forget about the W124 for awhile. What about a W123? The price for second-hand unit is soooooooo cheap, even below RM10,000.

What are your opinions on the W123 as a car for fresh grads? Don't forget W123 (RM10,000-RM15,000 excluding repairs and maintenance yet) vs new Saga (RM40,000?)
hmm.gif W123?? At least if you get saman, you can say its your dad's car!....(sometimes they let u go...for free that is rclxm9.gif )

This post has been edited by zenabi: Jul 10 2008, 11:18 PM
fillet
post Nov 4 2008, 06:19 PM

1,925 posts

W124

very nice to drive ah!!!

you drive one, then u go test drive Proton Saga/Toyota Vios&Altis / Honda etc.etc...

confirm you go back to W124. (it's silent at high speed also)

Take all these cars up to genting and back. you will know what i mean.

This post has been edited by fillet: Nov 4 2008, 06:22 PM
SleeplessEyes
post Nov 4 2008, 08:59 PM

2,429 posts

I'll definitely go for this German marque compared to a shabby Proton. Why everyone with a sane mind would compare a German marque with a jungle-clearing manufacturer?

I agree with Fillet. It's miles apart compared to Proton, City and Vios.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Nov 4 2008, 09:00 PM
shinjite
post Nov 4 2008, 09:49 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

My dad's 300SE still working like a charm till today wink.gif
Engine still very powerful
KeV
post Nov 4 2008, 09:59 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

sensui, i am taking over my parents w202 c200, the w124 is a good car, theres lots of these owners in www.mybenz.org. there was one owner who owned a honda city, but he changed it to a w202 c200. my maintenance for proton is sadly quite expensive. i am driving a proton satria neo and most parts break easily than my 11 year old benz. sometimes the parts is cheap, but the accumulated maintenance would be more than a 1 time fix for a merc. if ur buying a used merc, set aside at least 10% of the car's value for maintenance, e.g. 30k, set aside 3k to fix all. my friend spent 10k to fix his c200 up to his level.
KeV
post Nov 4 2008, 10:01 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

QUOTE(EyraYus @ Jul 10 2008, 02:30 PM)
sure cannot. but u need to understand that extra ability does come with extra price. for normal working class people, even old Merc like this one cost not more than 50K, but to maintain such car, will be a problem. TS not asking about "which one better? Old Merc or new Saga?" That is a no brainer.. he`s asking.. "is it worth it?"

I really think for fresh graduate, this car will be a problem to maintain. Unless u very rich cool.gif
btw instead of the w123, i suggest the w201 190e , its a small cc , small sedan, grandpa to the c-class. u can even get the cosworth tuned 2.5 litre engine halfcut with amg body kit for about rm12k.

EyraYus
post Nov 4 2008, 10:12 PM

sTRe3tHunt3R
2,152 posts

I do think about taking over my mom old E280 Masterpiece.. I love the old Merc all around.. the engine sound.. the strong body.. the comfort.. but the fuel consumption is very high (at least for me as a student/part time worker)

And lucky for me my Wira maintainance is very easy and straight forward.

But in the end, if my mom decide to get another car I will not hesitate to argue with my big bro (he like the Merc too) who going to take over that car... Its really worth it
LunaCry
post Nov 4 2008, 10:29 PM

281 posts

small part of coz easy to fix la but what happen when big part breakdown>? Like air con which cost a few thousand
scorgio
post Nov 4 2008, 10:40 PM

4,695 posts

QUOTE(LunaCry @ Nov 4 2008, 10:29 PM)
small part of coz easy to fix la but what happen when big part breakdown>? Like air con which cost a few thousand
Depending on whether ur mechanic is trustworthy & skillful.

The aircond system is basically the same as any other car. Denso compressor etc.

Most expensive would be the cooling coil. RM800+. But I got quoted RM1200-1500 also for the same part.

SUSFlizzardo
post Nov 4 2008, 10:43 PM

Troll
1,093 posts

merc no good hevy no power lar
mjjj
post Nov 4 2008, 11:24 PM

470 posts

no power?
depends wat spec
used merc wasnt good for fresh graduates
good for young exec which can afford abit more on the maintenance part instead to have tight loans monthly on brand new car

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0336sec    1.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:09 PM