LYN Guitar Phreaks Club v8.1, 8 string madness but a string broke

blacktrix
post Nov 21 2008, 05:35 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Nope.. 6550. Not 6L6s or EL34s..... 6550. That's the model name....

http://www.mclink.it/com/audiomatica/tubes/6550.htm

http://www.dv247.com/invt/55065/
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 21 2008, 05:37 PM

1,100 posts

Ah... originally based on the 6L6 right? (Fuh, the wonders of wikipedia! wink.gif )

Why lah? Why not a 6L6?

EDIT:

Oooh, wanted to ask you. Yours is 60W right? Is it friggin' loud? I'm kinda looking at a DSL401 (40W) and I'm kinda scared I gotta blast before it sounds alright.... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Nov 21 2008, 05:40 PM
blacktrix
post Nov 21 2008, 05:53 PM

13,063 posts

Yes. I need to crank it up to healthy (ie: Ear bleeding, nausea, headaches and rectal trauma) levels to get that wonderful Marshall tone. Thank god I have a semi-isolated music room tongue.gif

So the 40w would be a pretty decent amp to crank.

And 6550 Tubes are known for a fatter sound with more headroom...... which is exactly what I need.
beastwars
post Nov 21 2008, 06:00 PM

253 posts

-12-14-14-14-12-12-12-12
------------------------------
-10-12-12-12-12-12-12-10

sorry for the bad example
but can some1 tell me how to play this?
how do i stum fret 10 on the 5th string and fret 12 on the 3rd string?

RustReaver4D1
post Nov 21 2008, 06:01 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Nov 21 2008, 05:53 PM)
Yes. I need to crank it up to healthy (ie: Ear bleeding, nausea, headaches and rectal trauma) levels to get that wonderful Marshall tone. Thank god I have a semi-isolated music room tongue.gif

So the 40w would be a pretty decent amp to crank.

And 6550 Tubes are known for a fatter sound with more headroom...... which is exactly what I need.
Oh... amp I'm about to test comes with Groove Tube Gold series... Slovakian 6L6 if I'm not mistaken... sh!t. I'm damn n00b with all this tube crap.

...more like just damn n00b when it comes to amps. and guitars. gargh! doh.gif

Oh yeah, here's something for Valkyrie:

QUOTE(beastwars @ Nov 21 2008, 06:00 PM)
-12-14-14-14-12-12-12-12
------------------------------
-10-12-12-12-12-12-12-10

sorry for the bad example
but can some1 tell me how to play this?
how do i stum fret 10 on the 5th string and fret 12 on the 3rd string?
If you're using a pick, pick the notes on the 5th string and use your other right hand finger (middle, ring or pinky) to pluck the 3rd string. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Nov 21 2008, 06:03 PM
blacktrix
post Nov 21 2008, 07:00 PM

13,063 posts

Or mute the 4th string with your free finger.
beastwars
post Nov 21 2008, 07:16 PM

253 posts

ok i try again...i did the muting but it doesnt sound that nice..
i will try rustreaver's idea hmmm
Everdying
post Nov 21 2008, 07:25 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

the easier and more common way to play that is like a normal power chord using 1st and ring finger...
then drop ur 1st finger down so it rests on the 4th string thereby muting it.
basically ur 1st finger will be doing all the work...if really want to u can push ur 1st finger slightly higher also so it rests on the side of the 6th string...
so u can really strum it from top.

Added on November 21, 2008, 11:29 pmblacktrix would like this tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Everdying: Nov 21 2008, 11:29 PM
blacktrix
post Nov 22 2008, 12:19 AM

13,063 posts

Holy crap. I definitely DID enjoy That!!!!
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 22 2008, 12:49 AM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(beastwars @ Nov 21 2008, 07:16 PM)
ok i try again...i did the muting but it doesnt sound that nice..
i will try rustreaver's idea hmmm
Actually it depends on how what kind of effect you're trying to achieve. If you want the notes on both strings to articulate clearly, then pick the lower string and pluck the higher string.

If you want more of a "chord" sound, then mute the 4th string and strum it like Blacktrix suggested.

thumbup.gif
quarantined
post Nov 22 2008, 12:51 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

It's amazing! Bikers rock!
TSSweetTooth
post Nov 22 2008, 01:08 AM

2,650 posts

just play the octaves with your first finger on the root note and pinky on the octave, using your first finger to mute the 4th string... for the notes being on the same fret you can either barre it if you're plucking the notes or change your finger positioning if you're using a pick
beastwars
post Nov 22 2008, 01:14 AM

253 posts

actually i found something like this when i was trying
paramore's - thats what you get
i looked at the tabs
and the 2nd guitar was something like that
u know when hear the song to get the sliding sound

enteryourusername
post Nov 22 2008, 06:50 AM

entermyusername
1,000 posts

QUOTE(RustReaver4D1 @ Nov 21 2008, 05:37 PM)
Ah... originally based on the 6L6 right? (Fuh, the wonders of wikipedia! wink.gif )

Why lah? Why not a 6L6?

EDIT:

Oooh, wanted to ask you. Yours is 60W right? Is it friggin' loud? I'm kinda looking at a DSL401 (40W) and I'm kinda scared I gotta blast before it sounds alright....  whistling.gif
davis is selling for 3k iirc. last time i was gassing for one, but then after consideration, i'd rather take a 18w ceriatone than that if i hav 3k whistling.gif

Added on November 22, 2008, 6:56 amdanlion1 is having a sale on bugera amps. check it out mou.

This post has been edited by enteryourusername: Nov 22 2008, 06:56 AM
evalshtog
post Nov 22 2008, 01:02 PM

209 posts

what s a decent cable to get for bout 50 bucks?keep getting planet waves and it gets screwedup like amonth after
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 22 2008, 01:16 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(enteryourusername @ Nov 22 2008, 06:50 AM)
davis is selling for 3k iirc. last time i was gassing for one, but then after consideration, i'd rather take a 18w ceriatone than that  if i hav 3k whistling.gif

Added on November 22, 2008, 6:56 amdanlion1 is having a sale on bugera amps. check it out mou.
Wah... why like that one?! I just picked mine up today... sau-lan... laugh.gif

TSSweetTooth
post Nov 22 2008, 04:19 PM

2,650 posts

has anyone tried the ltd v-200? any comments?
freakfingers12
post Nov 22 2008, 06:35 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Can someone here explain to me about minor 3rds, perfect 4ths,flattened 5ths and stuff like that?I don't understand how to form them.They're chords right? The numbers confuse me.
Everdying
post Nov 22 2008, 10:21 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

simply follow the major scale.
C D E F G A B C

minor is always the 3rd note flat 1/2 step.
so Eb

perfect 4th, like the name is the 4th note perfect...kinda like what miley cyrus will be in 2yrs time.

flattened 5th...again like the name says...the 5th note and flat it 1/2 step...like what would happen if rafidah aziz sat on u...

also known as diminished 5th...again kinda like rafidah's brain cells...

good simple example of that flat 5th is the intro to black sabbath's 'black sabbath'...

This post has been edited by Everdying: Nov 22 2008, 10:21 PM
bayrock
post Nov 23 2008, 02:36 AM

85 posts

guys i have a question

tuning with the floyd rose
from standard to like drop d or c half step down
need to adjust the height of the bridge only right??
nothing to do with the springs ???

This post has been edited by bayrock: Nov 23 2008, 02:38 AM

125 Pages « < 93 94 95 96 97 > » Top

0.0326sec    0.11    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:08 AM