16 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Chubby Hamsters V9, Rolling Fat Furballs.

Jamien
post Jul 3 2008, 03:53 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(Hunz @ Jul 3 2008, 03:44 PM)
I'm going for some budget.
below 80 maybe.

give me item with price. need to refer
A 2ft tank is about RM 45 or more. Shavings you get the small pack. RM 10/RM 11. Can use for quite a while, but stay away from pine. Bowl I don't remember the price but quite cheap. You need one for food and 1 for toilet ( if you wanna save changing shavings weekly i suggest you just toilet train). Water bottle RM 10. Toilet sand RM 6. The wheel is about RM 20, if I remember correctly. Food just depends wat u wanna feed. Prestige is RM 22 but can use for more than 3 months for 2syrians. Mine's been eating for one month still have almost full pack.

The above is all my memory and estimation (I haven't bought beginner's stuff for quite a while).

blush.gif It's very hard to hit your target if you're planning it for long term nicely. But only the first time is expensive. After that you only need to top up shavings, toilet sand, and food, and not very often cuz it takes them forever to finish their food, the shavings can probably last a month, and the toilet sand a couple of weeks (depending on how much your hammie pees).

This post has been edited by Jamien: Jul 3 2008, 03:56 PM
Jamien
post Jul 3 2008, 03:59 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(Hunz @ Jul 3 2008, 03:55 PM)
Should I get a Habitrail Ovo Pad instead of normal cage?
An avo pad cost RM 70 - 80 right? It looks nice but actually a 2ft tank is better for your hamster. It's more spacious and it's much more easier for you to wash.. Trust me, the tubes will stink. Plus it cost less. So why not just buy a tank?
Jamien
post Jul 3 2008, 04:06 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(Hunz @ Jul 3 2008, 04:02 PM)
Got picture how the 2ft tank looks like?
This lor. The common one.

Despite the looks, it really is the best.

Attached image(s)
Jamien
post Jul 3 2008, 04:12 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(Hunz @ Jul 3 2008, 04:09 PM)
I see, how can I put water bottle over there?
drill?
and also the exercise thing
You drill a hole. If you buy from Pet Shack they can drill for you.

Some wheels can be attached to the side of the tank with suction cup. Otherwise, just stand it like normal in the tank lor. No problem wat.
Jamien
post Jul 3 2008, 05:24 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(neshie @ Jul 3 2008, 05:21 PM)
OMAIIGOD SATIN SATIN SATINNNN!! JAMIEN GO BUYYYYYYYY!!  cry.gif  cry.gif
or ask Hun jiejie to buy. muahahahahaha.
I got pm and message the fella but no reply. Honestly I'm scared the fella is bluffing cuz he has 0 post count. Plus i don wan the cage lar.
Jamien
post Jul 3 2008, 06:10 PM

2,647 posts

I agree. Plus the reason why he's selling is probably because he doesn't have time to care for it anymire. Meaning most probably not tame lar. Most probably not so healthy.

Cuz of the cage he's selling. He selling 80 lor.

This post has been edited by Jamien: Jul 3 2008, 06:11 PM
Jamien
post Jul 3 2008, 06:16 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(neshie @ Jul 3 2008, 06:13 PM)
80 is still very expensive lu. the cage, isn't of high quality right? the wheel, also not high quality.. only the hamster rare.  drool.gif
But then again, the hamster isn't young. rm80 is just too expensive sad.gif
Yah. He's syrian looks to be 1 year plus? If the cage is 50, 30 really isn't the price the hamster should be no matter wat. And to think about it, it's not worth to buy the fella att all unless breed to keep more satins from that one.

Hun also mentioned something about red eyes being sterile after 10 weeks of age. The more I think about it, the more I think it's not worth it. Sigh....
Jamien
post Jul 3 2008, 06:30 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(neshie @ Jul 3 2008, 06:21 PM)
Lol yeah she mentioned that. Maybe not worth buying then. We'll just wait for Hun jiejie's satins....  drool.gif
Sure expensive wan wor..
And pet shop order, still the same what. Need to pay more cash.  sweat.gif
smile.gif Ya lah. I think better get from Hun. At least we know it's healthy and young. Later that guy's hamster, buy back, less than 3 months died jor. Some more it might be sterile and don't leave a few satin babies before it go.

So patience... Cannot be tempted by the gold shiny hamstre... Abstinance...

Satins are like white faced robos. The pet shops don't know that they're rare and sell them like common hamsters. tongue.gif If pet shops know they'll just use it as a tactic to make it more expensive. And then mass breeding... Poor hammies... Some more later got doule satin. poor thing. We should keep it a secret.

I think these are just the things called luck. If it's meant to be yours, it'll be yours. If not then it won't be. blush.gif I had the chance to have a white face robo who also turned out to be the tamest and biggest. One of my most favourites in my experience of raising robos. But it never sired any pups. I think sterile. It wasn't meant to be lar.
Jamien
post Jul 3 2008, 06:49 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(neshie @ Jul 3 2008, 06:38 PM)
Heee. yeah! one day i wanna keep RC's and Robos. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif today i went to Carrefour, then to the pets section. Then this lady was buying two winter whites, and i was like telling my friend " NOOO should i tell her that you cant keep WW's together etcetc" i was like sooooo ready to tell her and advice her but then i dunno whether it'd be advisable or not.  sweat.gif

Gee. Lets say we see people in pet stores buy hamster stuff, or hamsters, then we know that they're doing the wrong thing, is it OK to advice them?
I think you should lor. Occasionally I will tell people also. Whether a not they will listen is up to the. Some more thank you politely for telling. Some will be like "hamster only la. No need like that". Some will be grateful. Depends lor.

@Blurjoey: Eh, how does hamster treat taste like? Very curious lar. XD
Jamien
post Jul 3 2008, 07:04 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 3 2008, 07:02 PM)
Taste like cardboard for the blueberry yoghurt treats. Crunchy though.

The strawberry yoghurt treats is a little sweet then no taste after...  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Wah! You so brave! Neshie also eat hamster food?

Actuyally is the food human consumable?
Jamien
post Jul 3 2008, 10:38 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jul 3 2008, 09:23 PM)
Disturbing thread.... you guys should see what terrysoh in Garage Sales wrote in his sales thread....
Purely ridiculous. He knows how to say they fight for territory but but houses his syrians together. Pfffttt... Bloody hypocrite. Besides, one syrian will try to take over as large a territory as possible. There isn't such thing as "provide enough territory for both".

Plus he don like people to give him good advise cuz it questions his "expertise" feelings. shakehead.gif
Jamien
post Jul 4 2008, 02:09 AM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(mikelim2020 @ Jul 4 2008, 12:59 AM)
No they're just common robos. A white faced robo's whole face is... Well.. White. These only are white below the nose.
Jamien
post Jul 4 2008, 11:52 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(deleted @ Jul 4 2008, 11:44 PM)
hmm price not bad, but i'm leaning more towards a steel cage so the lil guy has more stuff to do.. like climb. lol
is it cheaper than Pets World?  unsure.gif
If possible, don't get a steel bar cage. Why? Because it rusts. And also because hamsters will chew it, which causes mouth injury. Not a pretty thing to look at. Plus you won't like the sound of incessant chewing. It's annoying!

Not all hamsters can be trained to stop chewing steel bars and rusts mixed with their saliva creates a poison that will build up pvertime and kill your hamster. Plus trying to train them to stop is exhausting... Takes a lot of patience and effort. Save yourself the trouble and get a 2ft tank.

blush.gif Sometimes it's not about what's the cheapest. JTL's set is made prepared for a hamster's need. Pet Shack is the most trustworthy shop I have ever come accross. All her syrians are fat and round~ I feel in love with my first hamster there. Roche was my second love, followed by Ferro. Then Hun's Satin. tongue.gif Plus the hamsters there are tame and pretty!

Just get a wheel if you want it to exercise.
Jamien
post Jul 5 2008, 12:05 AM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(jayniel @ Jul 4 2008, 11:52 PM)
also i feel hamsters kept in a cage are more territorial than those in tanks..
blush.gif This is quite true. When you have those cages, you can only extend 1 hand and grab your hamster. You can't use the proper way of scooping a hamster, which is with 2 hands cuz the entrance is simply too small. This makes them frightened of "the big thing that wants to get me!" in their perspective.

I'm also using a cage so I usually wait for them to clim out on their own when they want to come out. I don wanna grab them when not necessary.
Jamien
post Jul 5 2008, 12:28 AM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(deleted @ Jul 5 2008, 12:20 AM)
hmm, but wouldnt a chew toy help the hamsters not chew like mad on the cages? if i buy a cage i would buy a stainless steel one of course unsure.gif
what about the hamu kichi cages?
The hamsters love the taste of metal. They won't pick the chew toy over the steel bars. So far I don't know any cages that have stainless steel bars but chewing still causes injury to th mouth.

Plus not all hamsters like to chew wood or chew toys. My Ferro only chews the bars when i confiscate his wheel but never his chew toy and my Roche is a horrid chewer of absolutely everything. I spent countless hours sitting in front of her cage teaching her that she isn't suppose to chew the bars. It's exhausting.

And a real plus is that plastic tanks are CHEAPER than the steel bar tanks and not to mention so much easier to clean. So better for hamster health and also cheaper, I'd pick that option.

So the question is, do you want a cage that looks nice for you or do you want a cage that works best for your hamster's well being in a long run?

blush.gif I'm the straightforward type but I'm not flaming you or anyting.

@Tina: rclxms.gif I'm so glad to hear it. So now just make sure your enclosure is escape proof lo.

This post has been edited by Jamien: Jul 5 2008, 12:33 AM
Jamien
post Jul 5 2008, 12:41 AM

2,647 posts

QUOTE((N)3 @ Jul 5 2008, 12:35 AM)
hmm i actually have no idea really
i get pics tomorrow
too tired now
Ok. Anyway., besides the particular breed of your hamster, it could be she wasn't hand tamed and doesn't know it's wrong to bite.

The only hamster i ever got who nips me is Fat Fat and I think she wants to be more dominant than me. Hehe...

@deleted: a 2 ft tank is adequate for a syrian and very spacious for 2-4 robos. 2ft tanks are... well... 2 ft long. sweat.gif
Jamien
post Jul 5 2008, 02:53 AM

2,647 posts

The fact is syrian don't like living with each other and like to conquer and have as much territory as possible. The same as no 2 lions can have the same territory in Africa, 2 syrians cannot live well together.

I mean, why do you wanna let one of your hamster keep cowering and running away from the dominant hamster and live so terribly for the short 2 years of life that it only has?

We are not petshop owners who have no choice but to house a few hamsters together. We are plain hobbyist who should be able to give the hamsters most things it needs to live.

If the owner of the thread don't like it that we tell him the methods are wrong, then the least we could do is to not encourage people to buy into wrong facts.

Since syrians are solitary, there's no such thing as luck or no luck. It is in their nature that they don't like each other ad don't wanna see each other other than to breed.

To be honest, The second day I brought Ferro home, I wanted to take a picture of both of them together. Ferro was less than 2 months old and Roche was 2 months (supposedly). Their territorial instict is not out yet but non the less Roche chased Ferro around in a very unfriendly fashion. I conclude it's because she has her own territory (her cage) and does not like the idea of another hamster around. Ferro got so trauma that when I let him walk on the table i put both their cages on, he smelled her, and turned around and flew right off the table without second thought.

Don't do this to your hamsters... They deserve everything they need.
Jamien
post Jul 5 2008, 03:00 AM

2,647 posts

I use the same one for Ferro and Roche. They're both bouncing off the walls in my living room in the same balls as those.

If your syrian isn't too big it's fine. Nezu's hammmies cannot use those lar. tongue.gif There is one size bigger for hedgehogs and other larger sized small animals.
Jamien
post Jul 5 2008, 03:06 AM

2,647 posts

Hahaha... Just to say, sadly, Malaysian hamsters don't achieve the 7 inch build that's standard in countries like America.

Mine's only about 4 inches or a lil more and they should have stopped their growth spurt already.

As long as they don't have to bend their back to manouver it, then it's fine.

biggrin.gif You should see the way Ferro runs in the ball. He pushes it so fast that it looks like he's walking on 2 legs. Roche is more selamba. Just slow slow...
Jamien
post Jul 5 2008, 03:21 AM

2,647 posts

Eh... Actually it's up to you. But I wouldn't do that if I were you.

Somebody's guinea pig got infested with mites and lice because the guinea pigs were brought out to play in grassy areas. It could happen to your hamster. Not to mention it could chew on the grass blades that portrude through the lil air holes and get its tummy infested with worms or watever parasite laid it's eggs in the grass. Just put it in the exercise ball and let it run around a room.

Just my 2 cents though.

16 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0463sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:47 AM