ACCA (V4), Accountants

Topace111
post Aug 22 2008, 10:53 PM

2,102 posts

I have some enquiries here :
1) Will employer asked about ACCA results in detail, means beyond passing only ? (ie : have you failed any paper b4 or not, any high marks)
2) Will they tolerate students whom had failed before ?
3) Assuming you did get high marks is it bcos of > 2nd sitting on same paper ?

Are there many of this kind of prospective empoyer in Malaysia ?
Which student is considered inferior : the one who had never failed or the one with higher aggregate mark ?
What kind of questions do firms like Big4 asked when they interviewed fresh graduates ?
moon yuen
post Aug 22 2008, 10:56 PM

2,293 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Aug 22 2008, 10:53 PM)
I have some enquiries here :
1) Will employer asked about ACCA results in detail, means beyond passing only ? (ie : have you failed any paper b4 or not, any high marks)
2) Will they tolerate students whom had failed before ?
3) Assuming you did get high marks is it bcos of  > 2nd sitting on same paper ?

Are there many of this kind of prospective empoyer in Malaysia ?
Which student is considered inferior : the one who had never failed or the one with higher aggregate mark ?
What kind of questions do firms like Big4 asked when they interviewed fresh graduates ?
For lecturer post, they might wan to see your marks .....
roy_pck
post Aug 22 2008, 11:05 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!
552 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Aug 22 2008, 09:07 PM)
i guess wouldn't hurt to share my marks here.

p1 - 56
p2 - 66
p4 - 73
p7- 54

Damn grateful I passed all of it. XD finally can work, and achieve my personal goal of graduating in 2 1/2 years.
you are seriously sick. how could you get 73 for P4? OMG...you are my idol!! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Aug 23 2008, 12:13 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

i went for mr michael for p4 and mr goh for p7 at sunway. Though i think most ppl will agree outside lecturers are better, i guess i had to make do with what i had. XD
rvp
post Aug 23 2008, 12:17 AM

371 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Aug 23 2008, 12:13 AM)
i went for mr michael for p4 and mr goh for p7 at sunway. Though i think most ppl will agree outside lecturers are better, i guess i had to make do with what i had. XD
congratz man. so r u working now?
scorpiok
post Aug 23 2008, 09:53 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(rozisboz @ Aug 23 2008, 06:36 AM)
my relative is a an senior accountant for a big bank. he said everyone in malaysia is accountant. theres no more jobs for accountants.
i dun think so~
As u can see at Jobstreet or JobsDB, accountant is still the job that have the highest vacation.
But the problem is just the fresh graduate expect a high salary job and as a result can't get a job.

TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Aug 23 2008, 08:18 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

not yet working. but soon. anyway, the pass rates are quite surprising, but generally in line with what i felt was acca's attempt to 'prune' m'sian passrates.
Topace111
post Aug 23 2008, 10:59 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(rozisboz @ Aug 23 2008, 06:36 AM)
my relative is a an senior accountant for a big bank. he said everyone in malaysia is accountant. theres no more jobs for accountants.
Everyone is an accountant can be many derivations :
1) Fresh accountant with diploma, LCCI or CAT
2) Fresh accountant with degree
3) Fresh accountant with ACCA, CIMA or CPA
4) Chartered / certified accountant with relevant 3 years experience qualified under MIA
5) Accountants with more than 6 / 7 years experience with degree / qualifications
6) Accountants / auditors who has worked under PLC or Big 4 firms.

Furthermore very few accountants wish to remain in the same post forever & the competent few would eventually rise above the hierarchy chain.
They normally won't be called as accountant anymore = directors, managers, chief accountant, key executives....etc.
For 1, 2 & 3 the supply is more than the demand
For 4 it is the standard requirement in Malaysia
5 & 6 are in very high demand but also dependant on the age of applicant & remuneration demand.

The degree or qualification will just serve as an "entry" level for the occupation only. To progress it requires something more :
= people skills (EQ), capability & efficiency, know how to "sweet talk" your boss, networking ....etc.
As what Sun tzu had said, all warfares was based on deception (that also applies to working life & business)
karhoe
post Aug 23 2008, 11:39 PM

6,238 posts

Nah, Malaysia will soon face shortage of accountants as MOST of our accountants are lured to other countries because of the higher pay, Singapore to begin with.

Even small audit firms from UK are coming to Malaysia to seek for fresh grads
coolly
post Aug 24 2008, 09:32 AM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Aug 23 2008, 11:39 PM)
Nah, Malaysia will soon face shortage of accountants as MOST of our accountants are lured to other countries because of the higher pay, Singapore to begin with.

Even small audit firms from UK are coming to Malaysia to seek for fresh grads
ya hor..uk also lack of auditor?

how to get this piece of information?> tongue.gif tongue.gif

Added on August 24, 2008, 9:53 amDear all...

Dr. Choong Kwai Fatt is planning to conduct Intensive Revision Class for Advanced Taxation on 8 to 11 November, tentatively the location will be in SEGI college KL and the price charged is RM 280 for 3 days.

So for those who will take this paper for this coming sitting,i would strongly recommmend u to atttend as the exam technique could guide and help you to pass.Please let your friend know also.

This post has been edited by coolly: Aug 24 2008, 09:53 AM
wall.E
post Aug 24 2008, 05:40 PM

thats unfortunate, as it clashes with michael mainwaring's IRC on the 8th to 10th nov. guess i'll have to attend chow chee yen's one instead.
carlosandy
post Aug 24 2008, 07:44 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(coolly @ Aug 24 2008, 09:32 AM)
ya hor..uk also lack of auditor?

how to get this piece of information?> tongue.gif  tongue.gif

Added on August 24, 2008, 9:53 amDear all...

Dr. Choong Kwai Fatt is planning to conduct Intensive Revision Class for Advanced Taxation on 8 to 11 November, tentatively the location will be in SEGI college KL and the price charged is RM 280 for 3 days.

So for those who will take this paper for this coming sitting,i would strongly recommmend u to atttend as the exam technique could guide and help you to pass.Please let your friend know also.
That's good!

But how come the price so cheap? RM280 only? Last time the price was RM400 for 4 days.

For P6 student, I strongly recommend yours attend his revision class.
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Aug 24 2008, 11:02 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

tax p6 at segi eh, how to sign up ar? i've got frens interested.
carlosandy
post Aug 25 2008, 10:07 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Aug 24 2008, 11:02 PM)
tax p6 at segi eh, how to sign up ar? i've got frens interested.
Very simple. Go to SEGI KL (Systematic), just paid tuition fee and get the receipt. No registration fees or admin fees need to pay for CKF class.

Ask your friend go to sign up ASAP cos CKF only run 1 class and I'm sure the class will full.
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Aug 25 2008, 05:15 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Alright, thanks. Will inform them.
sillylupie
post Aug 25 2008, 06:13 PM

Great to have bumped into this thread...
Lupie, very old, still haven't completed my ACCA! Been on the ACCA student register for over 8 years?????
Just passed my F6 last sitting ... 68 smile.gif

Anyone can comment on F7 classes in Kolej Bandar?
pristina
post Aug 25 2008, 09:51 PM

223 posts

so many friends and family did advised not to take 3 papers in once for this coming sitting sad.gif
but they're true also..
1.not enough $ to purchase tongue.gif
2.no time revise all
3.this is not kidding paper rclxub.gif
waffles
post Aug 26 2008, 08:28 PM

27 posts

hey all. i just completed my CAT on last june08 sitting. im sitting for F4 and F6 for the next exam session. would really appreciate it if any of you guys could spare me some good F4 notes. icon_question.gif

heard Viknes's notes is really good. smile.gif
rvp
post Aug 28 2008, 08:38 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(waffles @ Aug 26 2008, 08:28 PM)
hey all. i just completed my CAT on last june08 sitting. im sitting for F4 and F6 for the next exam session. would really appreciate it if any of you guys could spare me some good F4 notes.  icon_question.gif

heard Viknes's notes is really good.  smile.gif
not to say that gud. for sure, pyq is vy important
Topace111
post Aug 28 2008, 11:25 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(waffles @ Aug 26 2008, 08:28 PM)
hey all. i just completed my CAT on last june08 sitting. im sitting for F4 and F6 for the next exam session. would really appreciate it if any of you guys could spare me some good F4 notes.  icon_question.gif

heard Viknes's notes is really good.  smile.gif
Past year question = to help on memorisation
Lecturer notes = better understanding
text book = a little of both

131 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0186sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:35 PM