131 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

ACCA (V4), Accountants

carlosandy
post Jun 26 2008, 01:39 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(Blackhart @ Jun 26 2008, 12:55 PM)
Thanks for the advice guys.I'm more inclined to go to KSA as it is the next most convenient place to go from my home via KTM.I'll take the first term course and see how it goes.Another thing, for P3 that I have never attempted I'm planning to mainly rely on the Michael Mainwaring revision course.That means I won't be attending normal classes, I did attend the P3 course till halfway from Sunway before though so I have the notes.I have friends who say they just depended on what they learn from that revision course to pass.Do you think its too dangerous to go on with this plan?
Actually the risk will be very high if you just depend on the revision course materials for the exam. You must understand the syllabus for P3 was very wide, it is 3.4 + 3.5 + some area from 1.3 & 2.1. You need to take more time to study, cos a lot of business model you need to understand.

Since you plan to go to KSA, why not joint Parmindar P3 class? He is very good in teaching business model and IT/IS topic in P3.
Blackhart
post Jun 26 2008, 02:37 PM

Like a rolling stone
508 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Jun 26 2008, 01:39 PM)
Actually the risk will be very high if you just depend on the revision course materials for the exam. You must understand the syllabus for P3 was very wide, it is 3.4 + 3.5 + some area from 1.3 & 2.1. You need to take more time to study, cos a lot of business model you need to understand.

Since you plan to go to KSA, why not joint Parmindar P3 class? He is very good in teaching business model and IT/IS topic in P3.
Perhaps you're right.However I don't think I'll want to go for 2 revision courses for the same paper especially since I hear Mainwaring's sessions will be for 6 days.I'll also give this a try and see how it goes.Thanks smile.gif
eternalflame
post Jun 26 2008, 06:02 PM

47 posts

hey all, i would like to seek some suggestions about f7 lecturers in KL. which lecturer in KL is good in delivering f7? as i heard this coming sitting f7 has alot of new stuff. i have no idea which lecturer is good in this paper. i'm contemplating between keith farmer and joe fang from ksa. anyone been under them before? hope someone can help in clarifying my doubts. many thanks in advance. smile.gif

This post has been edited by eternalflame: Jun 26 2008, 06:03 PM
Topace111
post Jun 26 2008, 08:09 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(eternalflame @ Jun 26 2008, 06:02 PM)
hey all, i would like to seek some suggestions about f7 lecturers in KL. which lecturer in KL is good in delivering f7? as i heard this coming sitting f7 has alot of new stuff. i have no idea which lecturer is good in this paper. i'm contemplating between keith farmer and joe fang from ksa. anyone been under them before? hope someone can help in clarifying my doubts. many thanks in advance. smile.gif
Keith farmer is conducting almost half his class in VIDEO shocking.gif which will not be recommended to students who really needs lecturer exposure.
Other than that he is considered a brilliant lecturer who can balanced in calculation & IFRS. He is considered the most experienced here.

Joe Fang can teach you good calculation techniques but lacking in the IAS / IFRS part which will become very important in P2. If you are considering to follow the same lecturer for P2, his techniques will not be that paramount anymore. sweat.gif

Other considerations:
Menon (sunway), considered the most popular among students but the fees are pricey , lots of students (overcrowded) & probably always come late. doh.gif

Haneef (MCO) , deemed the best lecturer to explain the background, idea and apllication of IFRS, standard calculation (which means slower but precise). However certain students felt he was rather boring (bland jokes) & fees are not economical. whistling.gif

Yap Kok Wah (KB) , i heard from his ex-students that his technique was undisputed + low fees. However , he tends to talk too fast and his handwriting was considered "cakar ayam" by comparison to other lecturer. rclxub.gif

HBK-reloaded
post Jun 26 2008, 09:13 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Jun 26 2008, 11:59 AM)
I think you need to think careful if you plan to take Jackson class in KSA. I'm not sure is true or not, but as I know some student complaint to KSA admin about Jackson teaching method, but not sure for which paper.

Currently in the market, the best audit lecturer are Philip Woo and Sheila. Unlucky both oso didn't run normal class for P7, but Sheila will conduct IRC in Mc Orange.

May be you try Fung Chee Kang in FTMS(if he run the normal class) and go for Revision class for Sheila in Mc Orange.
go for T.seelan for P7 at PAAC..the only lecturer considered good or should i say remaining focus audit expertise lecturer..for normal class..
carlosandy
post Jun 26 2008, 09:28 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Jun 26 2008, 08:09 PM)
Keith farmer is conducting almost half his class in VIDEO  shocking.gif  which will not be recommended to students who really needs lecturer exposure.
Other than that he is considered a brilliant lecturer who can balanced in calculation & IFRS. He is considered the most experienced here.

Joe Fang can teach you good calculation techniques but lacking in the IAS / IFRS part which will become very important in P2. If you are considering to follow the same lecturer for P2, his techniques will not be that paramount anymore. sweat.gif

Other considerations:
Menon (sunway), considered the most popular among students but the fees are pricey , lots of students (overcrowded) & probably always come late. doh.gif

Haneef (MCO) , deemed the best lecturer to explain the background, idea and apllication of IFRS, standard calculation (which means slower but precise). However certain students felt he was rather boring (bland jokes) & fees are not economical. whistling.gif

Yap Kok Wah (KB) , i heard from his ex-students that his technique was undisputed + low fees. However , he tends to talk too fast and his handwriting was considered "cakar ayam" by comparison to other lecturer. rclxub.gif
Simple summary:

Keith Farmer - most balanced in calculation and FRS, but need to stand by to tahan his slang.

Joe Fang - Good calculation technique, FRS just so so only.

Haneef - Good in FRS, but calculation very slow, boring.

Yap Kok Wah - Only good in calculation.
eternalflame
post Jun 26 2008, 09:34 PM

47 posts

thanks for the advices. i feel like going for keith farmer but i really dislike the idea of him conducting his class in video. i don't think it's effective for teaching that way. i thought of taking f7 part-time in sunway. anyone overhere take f7 part-time in sunway? smile.gif

This post has been edited by eternalflame: Jun 26 2008, 09:35 PM
rachelmay1402
post Jun 26 2008, 09:47 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(Blackhart @ Jun 26 2008, 11:18 AM)
Something I want to ask the Sunway students:
You know we have to pay the annual fees to the college (including library and computer lab fees) and I believe we paid a deposit for this as well (please confirm this with me).Is it true that we can claim these payments back from the college after we complete the course?I'm growing more disinterested in studying at Sunway due to the expensive fees, student-unfriendly policy to deferment, very long hours, parking etc.

I'm torn between taking P7 at Sunway and KSA.Sunway mainly to pay the annual fee to keep my membership active and Mr. Goh is an ok lecturer (though his lectures tend to make me sleepy).
KSA because Jackson seems to be good at this and I get the option to only pay for the sessions up to the week the results are out.

The dilemma is that I'm worried for my results for the last sitting, if I didn't do well I'll have to defer P7 to the next sitting to avoid taking 4 papers.At Sunway I'll have to pay the whole RM1000+ upfront and if I can't take it this sem after the results the whole payment is sunk and the most I can get is 50% off for next sitting.And after this paper I'll probably not take anything at Sunway anymore.So if I'm not continuing at Sunway anymore do I have to officially apply to the college or just not do anything?
ok 1st u have to check when is the last date or month you registered as SUNWAY COLLEGE student. example if your last payment to SUNWAY COLLEGE is January 20th 2008 then you are an ACTIVE student in SUNWAY COLLEGE for two semester=1 year. Then, you still eligible for the REFUND(DEPOSIT for the LIBRARY) however if your last payment to SUNWAY COLLEGE is January 15th 2007 then forget it you might not get to REFUND of LIBRARY DEPOSIT.

the most effective way is call up SUNWAY COLLEGE extension FINANCE DEPARTMENT and tell them your name or IC number and then ask them check your availability of REFUND.

after getting confirmation go to ACCA office ground floor, get the WITHDRAWAL FORM from the clerk there and fill in your particular and then get Miss E (u know who i mean) to sign/acknowledge the form. then you have to wait for about one month to get the refund of library fee. about your outstanding fee, just ask Miss E what happen to those money. anything call up FINANCE DEPARTMENT to confirm.

hope my explanation help icon_question.gif

vin_ann
post Jun 26 2008, 09:52 PM

10,912 posts

any1 is goin to ACCA Career fair on coming Sat??
carlosandy
post Jun 26 2008, 10:07 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(eternalflame @ Jun 26 2008, 09:34 PM)
thanks for the advices. i feel like going for keith farmer but i really dislike the idea of him conducting his class in video. i don't think it's effective for teaching that way. i thought of taking f7 part-time in sunway. anyone overhere take f7 part-time in sunway? smile.gif
I think you make some mistake here.

Actually video class is just additional class for student (normally is to revise the topic teaching earlier) and he still will conduct the normal lecturer class as mentioned in the time table. Means that you still will see him teaching like normal lecturer for the normal class, so no need to worry about this thing.

This post has been edited by carlosandy: Jun 26 2008, 10:10 PM
Topace111
post Jun 26 2008, 10:49 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(eternalflame @ Jun 26 2008, 09:34 PM)
Actually, it doesn't really matter who you selected for F7 as the questions prepared are pretty standard (practice + memorisation) not like F8 and F9 and P papers which requires more application and analytical skill. However it is recommended to pick a lecturer which you will follow for P2 (as different lecturer has different technique & skill) especially P2 is a core paper.
vin_ann
post Jun 26 2008, 11:24 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(dinzzehoe @ Jun 25 2008, 11:25 AM)
Kay heres a scenario...Say for the last year of my ACCA papers, i go over to Australia to do them and work there for 3-4 years...Once thats over and i come back to Malaysia to work, would the experience i gained overseas give me if a bigger advantage than if i had worked here the entire time in terms of pay and job promotion?
Im just finished the first sem of my CAT btw.
you can continue ur ACCA studies in Australia as ACCA is worldwide.

this june, my friend took his exam in Beijing.

career oppoturnity, definately oversea is much better than msia. most of the people wont come back to malaysia once they managed to get a decent join in oversea.

unless the company you working is have a subsi in Msia, they send u back to msia in charge, be part of the management team. tht's another story

Blackhart
post Jun 27 2008, 01:21 AM

Like a rolling stone
508 posts

QUOTE(rachelmay1402 @ Jun 26 2008, 09:47 PM)
ok 1st u have to check when is the last date or month you registered as SUNWAY COLLEGE student. example if your last payment to SUNWAY COLLEGE is January 20th 2008 then you are an ACTIVE student in SUNWAY COLLEGE for two semester=1 year. Then, you still eligible for the REFUND(DEPOSIT for the LIBRARY) however if your last payment to SUNWAY COLLEGE is January 15th 2007 then forget it you might not get to REFUND of LIBRARY DEPOSIT.

the most effective way is call up SUNWAY COLLEGE extension FINANCE DEPARTMENT and tell them your name or IC number and then ask them check your availability of REFUND.

after getting confirmation go to ACCA office ground floor, get the WITHDRAWAL FORM from the clerk there and fill in your particular and then get Miss E (u know who i mean) to sign/acknowledge the form. then you have to wait for about one month to get the refund of library fee. about your outstanding fee, just ask Miss E what happen to those money. anything call up FINANCE DEPARTMENT to confirm.

hope my explanation help  icon_question.gif

Thank you so much for the explanation, the last payment I made was indeed for January 2007.So it is unlikely for me to get back my deposit unless I pay for this year's annual fees, which is silly if I'm not planning to come back anymore and it costs more than the deposit.The library deposit is about over RM100 isn't it?Quite a troublesome process, I'll find time to contact the Finance department.Thank you again smile.gif
conniecherry
post Jun 27 2008, 08:40 AM

21 posts

i just want to know is there any condition that we must left only 3 papers in f level then only can take for P2, or there were no such condition
carlosandy
post Jun 27 2008, 08:56 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(conniecherry @ Jun 27 2008, 08:40 AM)
i just want to know is there any condition that we must left only 3 papers in f level then only can take for P2, or there were no such condition
Yes, you must left not more than or max 3 paper in f level, then only can take P1-P3. One more condition was if you didn't pass F7, then you can't take P2. But why you want to take P2 1st? Do you know that P2 is a most difficult? If I'm you still in f level, even can take some paper in Prof level, but I also won't go for P2 1st.

This post has been edited by carlosandy: Jun 27 2008, 08:57 AM
conniecherry
post Jun 27 2008, 09:03 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Jun 27 2008, 08:56 AM)
Yes, you must left not more than or max 3 paper in f level, then only can take P1-P3. One more condition was if you didn't pass F7, then you can't take P2. But why you want to take P2 1st? Do you know that P2 is a most difficult? If I'm you still in f level, even can take some paper in Prof level, but I also won't go for P2 1st.
now i am just deciding whether to attend p1 if cannot sit for the exam then is a waste going for the class. result not out yet, school going to open, dont know how to make the decision....
vin_ann
post Jun 27 2008, 09:54 AM

10,912 posts

Still no 1 is going to ACCA Career fair tomolo?
carlosandy
post Jun 27 2008, 10:59 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(conniecherry @ Jun 27 2008, 09:03 AM)
now i am just deciding whether to attend p1 if cannot sit for the exam then is a waste going for the class. result not out yet, school going to open, dont know how to make the decision....
How many paper you left? If just 3 (including the paper just sit in June 08) , then take P1 should be no problem.

However, you can just signed up for 1st term course and after result out, then baru consider want to continue or not lo.
jonwei
post Jun 27 2008, 12:34 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jun 27 2008, 09:54 AM)
Still no 1 is going to ACCA Career fair tomolo?
i might be going......r u going?

Added on June 27, 2008, 12:38 pm
QUOTE(nite3 @ Jun 26 2008, 01:30 PM)
can sum1 help me to buy the f1-f3 text books n the revision books frm the colleges.For the acca part 1,the 50 question are selected frm a to d,rite?
yup..i might be able to help....but i also not sure how much my college sell
but u hav to come to kl to collect...possibly kepong
(pm me if u want)

for CBE, some r ABCD, some insert number, some choose a few ans....tougher than paper-based
but for paper based, all ABCD
(correct me if i'm wrong)

This post has been edited by jonwei: Jun 27 2008, 12:38 PM
SUSMichi
post Jun 27 2008, 04:59 PM

251 posts

ive just registered at sunway this morning....
im doing part time n taking P1 and P3 in this semester...

since most of P2 classes will be on Thursday
and im planning to work at the same time.... so i dun want to rush from work to attend the class....
so i didnt register for this paper...

What do you guys think? is it wise?
if i didnt take P2 now... can i take all 3 papers (P2 and the other 2 elective papers) in next semester ( for June exam)

and i noticed the classes for P2 will be on Thurs n Sat...
is this paper tough?? coz two days of classes?
P1 and P3 both on Sun....

Btw anybody taking P1 n P3 part time?
Im still blur2...
The admission said i should come on 5July for orientation..
but Financial Course Division said that i dun haf to attend that one... since my class will start on Sun (6jul)

What do u haf n do during the orientation?

Btw, they said i can dl the timetable at sunway.edu.my
mine is ACCA-EM-PT right?? and how to know where is the venue for the class ya?
tried to call the office.. but no answer...
scared i dl the wrong TimeTable >_<

hope someone can help
thanks alot^^

This post has been edited by Michi: Jun 27 2008, 05:06 PM

131 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:10 PM