10,912 posts

no, it's only 1 V4 now. smile.gif
vin_ann
post Jun 25 2008, 11:16 AM

10,912 posts

basically, all ACCA papers can self study, it's all depending on how individual got confidence and able to learnt things without any guides.
vin_ann
post Jun 26 2008, 09:52 PM

10,912 posts

any1 is goin to ACCA Career fair on coming Sat??
vin_ann
post Jun 26 2008, 11:24 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(dinzzehoe @ Jun 25 2008, 11:25 AM)
Kay heres a scenario...Say for the last year of my ACCA papers, i go over to Australia to do them and work there for 3-4 years...Once thats over and i come back to Malaysia to work, would the experience i gained overseas give me if a bigger advantage than if i had worked here the entire time in terms of pay and job promotion?
Im just finished the first sem of my CAT btw.
you can continue ur ACCA studies in Australia as ACCA is worldwide.

this june, my friend took his exam in Beijing.

career oppoturnity, definately oversea is much better than msia. most of the people wont come back to malaysia once they managed to get a decent join in oversea.

unless the company you working is have a subsi in Msia, they send u back to msia in charge, be part of the management team. tht's another story

vin_ann
post Jun 27 2008, 09:54 AM

10,912 posts

Still no 1 is going to ACCA Career fair tomolo?
vin_ann
post Jun 28 2008, 11:12 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(jonwei @ Jun 27 2008, 12:34 PM)
i might be going......r u going?

Added on June 27, 2008, 12:38 pm

yup..i might be able to help....but i also not sure how much my college sell
but u hav to come to kl to collect...possibly kepong
(pm me if u want)

for CBE, some r ABCD, some insert number, some choose a few ans....tougher than paper-based
but for paper based, all ABCD
(correct me if i'm wrong)
Yes. Im going. see whether can meet up with coolly o not. tongue.gif
vin_ann
post Jun 28 2008, 10:13 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(coolly @ Jun 28 2008, 09:45 PM)
just back from acca career fair,not too bad,roughly same as last year and got many big companies also..

and i am able to meet up with vin ann also..keke..who else going?

now we have v4,really great news,hope this forum become a peaceful discussion channel,but not a fighting place..
just back? thuoght the fair ended at 5.00pm?

i back around 3.30pm. hungry and exhausted. no time for lunch. anyways, this is my 1st time visiting to ACCA Career fair, it's really good. how come previously i never bother to attend. cry.gif i shd have attended last year.
vin_ann
post Jun 28 2008, 10:57 PM

10,912 posts

you shd join the Career talks... it's very useful..
vin_ann
post Jun 30 2008, 08:56 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(roy_pck @ Jun 29 2008, 12:01 AM)
y never tell u were there? should have met u there...which booth were u?

this was my first time going to ACCA career fair too. it was pretty useful i would say. the BDO Binder career talk was interesting. managed to talk with OCBC deputy CEO Mr. Jeffery Chew just before i left rclxm9.gif he is a very nice and friendly person and managed to give good advices too  thumbup.gif

i think i will join finance instead of audit coz that's my interest nod.gif but i've dropped the resume for audit position in the career fair...how ar? is it fine for fresh grad to go to advisory without audit background? advice plz guys..... icon_question.gif
you still can, but the chances will be less, unless u r top student. anyways, no harm to try.

QUOTE(littlediana @ Jun 29 2008, 12:23 AM)
is the acca career fair really crowded???
and any thing to share with us blush.gif
you shd have come to see for yourself.

QUOTE(Raymond_ACCA @ Jun 29 2008, 02:18 AM)
Career talk is what ah? Is it companies will conduct something like "seminar" and explain what they want to see from graduates or u have to walk to them to talk with them personally?
im doubt whether you are an ACCA student or not. Just register? every1 shd have get the ACCA Focus magazine.

QUOTE(pristina @ Jun 29 2008, 02:02 PM)
career talk?? need to pay for it??
i read the magazine of ACCA need to pay hundred plus for ???
are you reading the correct thing?

QUOTE(coolly @ Jun 29 2008, 03:54 PM)
No need pay for the career fair,actually it is like a career fair organise by jobstreet etc,just this is the one organise by the ACCA and more specific to financial area of career..

one more news,Dr. Choong Kwai Fatt might conduct revision class for tax paper this coming sitting,so for those who intended to take tax papers,please take note lo...
This is definately a very good news. need to spreading around.
btw, only IRC?
vin_ann
post Jun 30 2008, 12:41 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Jun 30 2008, 10:28 AM)
Off course lo, cos tomolo already 1/7/2008. I dun think he will suddenly run normal class, cos he need a lot of time to prepare the study material for student.
oh, normal class start on 1st week of July?

vin_ann
post Jun 30 2008, 01:01 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(cospi03 @ Jun 30 2008, 12:48 PM)
Anyone, please answer my query?
seems like no 1 know. waits for those who know.
vin_ann
post Jun 30 2008, 06:41 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Jun 30 2008, 01:32 PM)
I think you misunderstanding my mearning. Wat I mean was tomolo already July and I dun think KwaI Fatt got time to run normal class cos he need more time for preparing the study material for student.

According to history oso, if he planning to run normal class, he will confirm earlier with SEGI at May. Since nothing  from him, so he won't be conduct any normal class.
oic...
but i thinks even he wanted to start normal class also not a problems for him.
since most of the notes is ready( older version) just use it to update then it's the new notes.

but i thinks this is not the main concern. i thinks he will focus on designing questions which suite the current tax law.

btw, i want to dispose off my old test books and revision kits.

FTMS Practice & Revision Kit

1. paper 3.3 Performance Management
2. paper 3.5 Strategic Business Planning and Development
3. paper 3.6 Advanced Corporate Reporting International Stream

year 2004/2005

and some more. to be continue.

interested, pls PM me. thanks.
vin_ann
post Jul 3 2008, 11:00 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(DeathChaosX @ Jul 2 2008, 10:50 PM)
nono, not the answer booklet. I'm talking bout the question booklet. Answer booklet ofcoz need write desk number. But I was wondering if they would penalize us if we did not write desk number on question booklet.
y be so naughty le? ACCA is all about follows rules ma. beside you got the knowledge.
vin_ann
post Jul 4 2008, 10:55 AM

10,912 posts

agree with Topspace111.
vin_ann
post Jul 7 2008, 11:41 AM

10,912 posts

im selling off my old acca text books.
do ur thinks it's still applicable now?

details is on HERE.
vin_ann
post Jul 7 2008, 02:01 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Jul 7 2008, 01:21 PM)
CIMA is more orrientated in management accounting which constitutes a wider scope covered in F5 & P5 in ACCA. It is appropriate for students who are more interested in decision making aspects of accounting. The qualification was less recognised in many countries compared to ACCA but it covers more exposure than ACCA. It is deemed harder to pass CIMA as it was more "theory-orientated" than ACCA. Most accounting terminologies in ACCA was derived / "photo-copied" from CIMA.  CIMA is more famous in UK compared to Malaysia as there are less CIMA students & tuition provider in Malaysia.

Regarding Statement of changes in equity, it shows the movement of capital / equity of company not assets. For example it shows increases / decreases in share capital & share premium which are probably affected by issue of shares or redemption of shares (shares buyback). In real life the equity portion is more relevant to shareholders who are more interested in the returns (dividends). The SCE shows the movement of equty which will probably affect the shares price, dividend, rifghts issue,.......etc.

Actually i also need recommendation on where to take CIMA?
mayb you can try to find out in TARC?
i know some of my fren who took CIMA in tarc, they dun have much options outside unlike ACCA, so they just stick with TARC.
vin_ann
post Jul 17 2008, 01:54 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(rachelmay1402 @ Jul 12 2008, 01:45 PM)
pretty hard to find job now in auditing firm isn't? waiting and waiting  wacko.gif shakehead.gif
QUOTE(sching @ Jul 13 2008, 09:28 AM)
Thanks! Hope to see you there too...
I found it so too...all the waiting and waiting...
why said so? audit firm now is lacking of people. perhaps now is Off-peak already. the required staff is lesser.
but they still need people.

mind im asking, are your applying big4 or medium firm? how long ur have sent out ur resume?
respones from medium firm is much faster than Big4.

vin_ann
post Jul 20 2008, 09:41 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Jul 18 2008, 11:15 PM)
I think you can call ACCA is a "simple" professional course but "never easy".

The reason i said so it is not fair to describe ACCA as merely "brain-dumping" exercise (throw everything you know or memorise).
Some prefer to call it "bullshitting" (argue & explain based on your knowledge not on text provided). It is partially correct to say it that way for P1,P3 and some professional papers (even certain lecturers admit so). ACCA is simple to define but never easy to comprehend as it is impossible that no theoretical, models, formulaes, framework will be included in any ACCA syllabus.

It will do no justice to those who had failed once / twice ...... in any ACCA papers as this was a norm in the past history. Sometimes you need to be a hardworking student (pratice, memorise, no truancy) or a smart student (focus, innovative, reasoning) or the aggresive student (get every kaplan, BPP books he / she can get). Some approach work on certain papers and some failed completely, while some were lucky to spot the correct topic.

Well i don't know most of you out there but i can deduce from my past experience, most ACCA students have a common behaviour.
B4 result = scared to death, negative mind-set, a pass will suffice, conduct a party if pass, pray very hard, stay up all day to wait for result.....
After result (if pass) = complain why marks not high enough cry.gif  (for those aiming for world prize), telling juniors the paper was not so tough actually. icon_rolleyes.gif
After result (if fail) = You don't want me to tell do ya? shocking.gif
well said. haha.

ACCA is just a paper qualification for us to gain into the working field. after that, it's on our own.
vin_ann
post Jul 24 2008, 04:34 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(z3171600 @ Jul 23 2008, 12:52 PM)
Sigh, just called ACCA Malaysia and they have been unable to help me. Asked them regarding JPA thingy and the women who was talking to me was clueless. Asked some other question and she keep put me on hold and needed to check from somewhere else.
it's ur bad luck. i thinks the lady is not the right person to answer u.

what do u wan to find out about JPA thing regards with ACCA?
vin_ann
post Aug 17 2008, 11:26 AM

10,912 posts

as usual, when come to result release period, all people will get nervous.

relax... you have done ur best in the exam. now is just sit relax and receiving the true of the movement.

your all must have confidence on what u have done past 6 months.

0.0178sec    1.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:01 AM