i just met up with my contractor.. seems like im going to have to renovate my house... grr was hoping to avoid this... ooh nooo~ $$$$$$
Subwoofer Discussion Thread, A thread for things that go BOOOOMMM!!!
Oct 6 2008, 10:18 AM
798 posts Joined: May 2005 |
i just met up with my contractor.. seems like im going to have to renovate my house... grr was hoping to avoid this... ooh nooo~ $$$$$$
Oct 7 2008, 10:17 PM
oooh ok i just read about rattling.. ehh remember ur physics? those rattling caused by resonance lerr.. everything (matter / compound) have a resonance limit one.. like in my room my window frames resonate most at 14hz i think.. my ceiling resonate most at around 17hz.
so meaning if ur ceiling rattling, it has nothing to do with ur curtains/windows because that does not effect the resonance threshold of ur ceiling.. so.. unless u treat ur ceiling properly (by finding out what exactly is causing the rattling, if its loose fitting then tighten + insulate with good shock obsorbers, and etc.. the thing about echo as mentioned by htkaki is also a cause to the rattle as the echo could be on a diff hz which may be the exact hz that creates the resonance.. so.. room treatment again very important.. avoid bare tiled floors, naked corners, shiny walls+shiny paint job, loose fittings.. and about ur thick curtains.. u have to understand that sound is not like light.. as curtain may be effective to damp light.. it may not be as effective to damp sound.. well not all spectrum of the sound.. those sound that create resonance most probably the low freq ones.. and with those sounds.. ur curtain will be audibly invisible.. u have to use proper sound obsorber, diffuser for this low/high freq.. same thing with wall cusions and wat not it may not be effective to low freq... hmm typed too much.. should rest now.. haha im begining to enjoy Planet Drum as my goodnight sleep song hehehehe |
Oct 11 2008, 08:57 AM
phase settings.. still kompius on this chapter.. anyone care to explain a bit??? thx
Oct 14 2008, 04:42 PM
hah i was given the privilege to butcher a SPL1200R last night.. i calibrated it to 80db and played cloverfield bd at 0db.. i must say its different from my SVS.. first SVS sounded had more OOH and WAAH.. but the SPL.. well to my experience last night la, the SPL had more punch..
i turned on my Lil Jon, T-Pain flacs and to my ears, the SPL sounded better than the SVS for musical bass.. they were somewhat the same on my borcelli and other classical flacs.. in conc.. with my limited knowledge, i can say that the SVS is better for movies as it has the ability to fill the room up with OOH and WAHH.. so u feel more of the movie with it.. (it can scare u). however the SPL is better for music as it really packs a punch of BASS.. /extra, i bottomed the SPL with a scene from the Golden Compass.. had to calibrate it down to 75db.. haha |
Oct 14 2008, 05:07 PM
Oct 14 2008, 11:06 PM
QUOTE(arj @ Oct 14 2008, 08:06 PM) But then again, the SPL is over RM2k more expensive compared to your SVS when compared using Malaysian prices. Cepat2 get the Ultra so that you can do another round of comparison ahaha dont kill me please~~ dunno though i may consider getting the Ultra once they update it.. cuz they going to update their pc+ series in november.. the ultra's should be updated sometime in 1q or 2q nxt year.. if Budget permits of curz.. lol |
Oct 15 2008, 04:35 PM
Oct 15 2008, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 15 2008, 09:43 PM) hahhaha comment on the other thread but.. GRATS MANNN beautiful toy ! hehehe now to piss ur neighbours off and wake up some dogs.. haha-- my neighbour is a good distance away from my house so.. no worries there hehe |
Oct 28 2008, 12:52 PM
htkaki~ am in kl now.. how can i ermm sample ur hd65?
Oct 28 2008, 06:45 PM
Oct 30 2008, 03:50 PM
hehehe not yet.. 3 things to get now suddenly.. hd65, screen, and macbook air.. haha
Timmy! where is A&L ? which building is it in?? |
Oct 30 2008, 06:24 PM
on my way hehhe
Oct 31 2008, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 31 2008, 09:22 AM) Rick eh thats the guy who attended to me yesterday.. haha but he gave me expensive price though! heheSo, the Impact 12 is cheaper than CHT-10R, then. Hope you enjoy your audition in your own sweet home. Rick is very accomodating guy. Will be meeting him on tis Sat htkaki~ next time i come down kl im bringing u with me to him! hehehe do ur magix hehehe inlove with images~~ |
Oct 31 2008, 11:17 AM
Nov 1 2008, 11:56 AM
for those thats hardcore enough to have 'phase settings' on their subs.. lemme tell u... it makes Difference! i just gained 5-8db by adjusting my phase!! tis amazing.. nvr realy bothered with phase settings and just left it at 0, after talking with htkaki, then i did some adjusting and poof~ my crunk songs now sound muchhh better~ haha
so. Adjust ur Phase!! i set mine to i think around 122.5 degrees.. my crossover is at 80 and the sub is positioned at the front left side.. |
Nov 1 2008, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(aiman04 @ Nov 1 2008, 01:54 PM) Crawl like a baby around the room, when you hear the best bass you like, that's the sweet spot. Move you sub to that position. haha u forgot the step before this aiman...For best results, wear a baby diaper while crawling . 1. place ur sub where u would sit.. turn it on, then continue with aiman's |
Nov 17 2008, 08:09 PM
QUOTE(rakyat @ Nov 17 2008, 05:15 PM) Hei, newbie here wanna join velodyne club. lol u shouldve just went ahead with the pb12..Actually ordered SVS PB12-NSD but Eric (SVS's boss) warned about our custom clearance so cancel the order. Was browsing around when I found this tread and kenna poison kaw-kaw until cannot tahan went to A&L after work & bought CHT-12R. Its 50 watts less then the PB12 but saved some $$ and 'kopi' |
Nov 19 2008, 07:27 PM
subs should always be highend! hehe
Nov 23 2008, 08:05 AM
QUOTE(longmile9 @ Nov 19 2008, 10:54 PM) OK, thanks. u must consider the true purpose of a sub.. is BOOM and the WAH.. entry subs can only provide u the BOOM but it leave out the WAH..Added on November 19, 2008, 10:56 pm Argggh.... Cannot tahan the racun..... The high-end sub going to cost more than my front speakers!!! 1 simple question only u ask urself.. u want to hear ur movie or.. feel it? did u notice that cinema experience is relied heavily on the subs they use? hehe |
Nov 23 2008, 09:21 AM
QUOTE(longmile9 @ Nov 23 2008, 09:09 AM) lol im just messing with u. dont worry laah k my advice is like this.. if u really need a sub now but wallet a bit thin for highend, then buy a midrange sub that is EASY to sell back. that way u can enjoy a sub now and when u got enough $$ for better, u just sell the sub. |
| Change to: | 0.0272sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:13 PM |