127 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Bottom

Collectibles STATUES - busts, props, replicas, collectibles -, news, hauls, collection pics, etc.

AssKicker
post Apr 17 2012, 07:04 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(SowYau @ Apr 17 2012, 10:28 AM)
I have a concern about our collectibles, me of course would try to preserve my polystone statue to a pristine condition as long as possible say, more than 50 years and if my children like it, they can have it, it's like passing from one generation to another, haha sort of like antique collection. I know nothing can last forever, our building made of concrete/steel bars can only last for around 500 years blah blah blah, My question now: can the statues last for 50 years without deteriorated condition?

As u all know due to the humid weather in country such as Malaysia, if I display my statue for some time (dehumidifier such as Thirsty Hippo), then I re-pack and put back to the box, will the fungus/mold appear at the statue's surface? Or, how about I have one that never been display, will I get the shock of my life one day if take it out and find out the surface of the polystone become "oily" like the one I encountered with my McFarlane toys? I know Mcfarlane and Sideshow use different material, but, will it happen?

I have Indy Raiders Premium Format, the faux leather jacket appeared to be cracked at various place months after i display it, too bad. from then, I try to stay away from PF and stick only to sculptured one.
Had the same feeling as you about PF but some of it are just too awesome to ignore. I believe that polystone statue wouldn't have any problem lasting more than 50 years if it's handle with care. Just make sure the room temperature is consistent, relatively cool and avoid it from any direct sunlight. Also, I believe that you'll only get those "oily" effect from PVC and vinyl and not polystatue.
TScrazyconsumer
post Apr 18 2012, 01:14 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

It depends on material... if poly/ stone, more lasting compared to plastic or vinyl... other elements that are risky are clothing, paint... sane like house/car... can't last forever... need facelift

QUOTE(SowYau @ Apr 17 2012, 10:28 AM)
I have a concern about our collectibles, me of course would try to preserve my polystone statue to a pristine condition as long as possible say, more than 50 years and if my children like it, they can have it, it's like passing from one generation to another, haha sort of like antique collection. I know nothing can last forever, our building made of concrete/steel bars can only last for around 500 years blah blah blah, My question now: can the statues last for 50 years without deteriorated condition?

As u all know due to the humid weather in country such as Malaysia, if I display my statue for some time (dehumidifier such as Thirsty Hippo), then I re-pack and put back to the box, will the fungus/mold appear at the statue's surface? Or, how about I have one that never been display, will I get the shock of my life one day if take it out and find out the surface of the polystone become "oily" like the one I encountered with my McFarlane toys? I know Mcfarlane and Sideshow use different material, but, will it happen?

I have Indy Raiders Premium Format, the faux leather jacket appeared to be cracked at various place months after i display it, too bad. from then, I try to stay away from PF and stick only to sculptured one.
zapirwin
post Apr 18 2012, 07:03 PM

Looks like koto is coming out with new juggernault.

Check out

http://www.statueforum.com/showthread.php?t=107887&page=8
plastictemple
post Apr 19 2012, 02:11 PM

86 posts

my koto figure held by kastam...help!
Timemuffin
post Apr 19 2012, 03:48 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(plastictemple @ Apr 19 2012, 02:11 PM)
my koto figure held by kastam...help!
the magneto?

From my experience of my Spider Woman LSB kena tahan:

bring the receipt of the purchased item, don't try to con them by falsying the amount coz the shipper probably put the true amount as the item value.

he ask you what is the item, you play coy a bit, ask him how much tax is for toys. If you mention the word "polystone", they will treat the item as porcelien which will be tax @ 20+10.

you can't run away from paying tax, all you can do is minimise the damage

also, they only accept cash.

Side story:
When I collect my LSB from Kastam there was an Eastern European dude there also. His bag of Vatican City gold coins commemorating Pope John Paul II kena tahan lol

He brought his Indon to come claim, after he pay and clear Kastam he gave the Kastam officer one of the coins.

After he left, the Kastam officer gave it to me sayin

"ini barang Kristian, I tak boleh simpan" l
plastictemple
post Apr 19 2012, 05:25 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(Timemuffin @ Apr 19 2012, 03:48 PM)
the magneto?

From my experience of my Spider Woman LSB kena tahan:

bring the receipt of the purchased item, don't try to con them by falsying the amount coz the shipper probably put the true amount as the item value.

he ask you what is the item, you play coy a bit, ask him how much tax is for toys. If you mention the word "polystone", they will treat the item as porcelien which will be tax @ 20+10.

you can't run away from paying tax, all you can do is minimise the damage

also, they only accept cash.
Side story:
When I collect my LSB from Kastam there was an Eastern European dude there also. His bag of Vatican City gold coins commemorating Pope John Paul II kena tahan lol

He brought his Indon to come claim, after he pay and clear Kastam he gave the Kastam officer one of the coins.

After he left, the Kastam officer gave it to me sayin

"ini barang Kristian, I tak boleh simpan" l
no its my deadpool. i really hope it's still intact given the fragility of the statues sweat.gif

now i am thinking what kind of excuse i can make rolleyes.gif
laowai
post Apr 19 2012, 10:10 PM

490 posts

PCS scorpion ...

Timemuffin
post Apr 20 2012, 12:51 PM

98 posts

wah the chain&spear part look so fragile..

eh if I want to repaint the white bits of my statue what type of paint should I use? I don't like how most "all white" statue looks grayish
buggygil
post Apr 20 2012, 04:40 PM

17 posts

Where the hell in China is this factory, I need to find out one day.....
Timemuffin
post Apr 21 2012, 09:22 PM

98 posts

since Simply's Apr shipment is disappointing, heres pics of stuff that I have wasted my life on:

And the most forgotten pieces:

This post has been edited by Timemuffin: Apr 21 2012, 09:30 PM
Anespian
post Apr 21 2012, 10:07 PM

47 posts

[quote=Timemuffin,Apr 21 2012, 09:22 PM]since Simply's Apr shipment is disappointing, heres pics of stuff that I have wasted my life on:

Nice display Timemuffin. Think u gonna need more cabinets for your displays. They are suffocating! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Anespian: Apr 22 2012, 02:25 PM
Timemuffin
post Apr 21 2012, 10:08 PM

98 posts

wait theres more!

I tried to fix my Supergirl, and I broke her entire foot, so shes no longer around ...

ol'Jessica Drew couldn't fit into a Detolf slot, cursed to collect dust outside

this shows you that DC Girls > Marvel Girls

poor X-23 have to bunk with Marcus coz her base is just too damn big

This post has been edited by Timemuffin: Apr 21 2012, 10:11 PM
laowai
post Apr 22 2012, 10:16 AM

490 posts

Nice gallery of females there... congrats
Timemuffin
post Apr 22 2012, 05:54 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(laowai @ Apr 22 2012, 10:16 AM)
Nice gallery of females there... congrats
wait theres more shameless post!

If SS made a Legendary Scale Halo, I would buy it.

ANIME!

YamatoUSA fantasy figures... most expensive PVC ever

i paid for 2 and half PFs for this... thing.

cannot wait to display her with her big sister whenever it arrives

and now for my hoarding of boxes

This post has been edited by Timemuffin: Apr 22 2012, 05:57 PM
tun
post Apr 22 2012, 11:55 PM

441 posts

NEW HAUL LIFE SCALE

This post has been edited by tun: Apr 22 2012, 11:56 PM
veryHOTice
post Apr 23 2012, 12:40 AM

QUOTE(tun @ Apr 23 2012, 12:55 AM)
NEW HAUL LIFE SCALE

I think it is inappropriate to post fake stuff here. Pls do not support fake stuff.
tun
post Apr 23 2012, 01:02 AM

441 posts

QUOTE(veryHOTice @ Apr 23 2012, 12:40 AM)
I think it is inappropriate to post fake stuff here. Pls do not support fake stuff.
just sharing my haul, no other meaning smile.gif

as the title wrote "STATUES - busts, props, replicas, collectibles"

This post has been edited by tun: Apr 23 2012, 01:03 AM
William7
post Apr 23 2012, 02:39 AM

92 posts

replicas is like alike with license bro.

but this LiSB is nice, but try not to support fakes lo.
veryHOTice
post Apr 23 2012, 02:45 AM

QUOTE(William7 @ Apr 23 2012, 03:39 AM)
replicas is like alike with license bro.

but this LiSB is nice, but try not to support fakes lo.
I totally agree. Replicas like Jersey Replicas. Are licenses stuff. Stuff like from Master Replicas. Doesn't mean Recasts are Replicas.

Btw. I'm very tempted to get one too. But I'll try my very best not to support them. RM1,499 is not a good price for a recast. If it is 499. I might have supported them. Hahahhaha.
tun
post Apr 23 2012, 08:30 AM

441 posts

just too excited to share.it is okay if it doesnt fall on this topic.sorry and thanks

127 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Top

0.0349sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:53 PM