12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Headphones [REVIEW] 18 IEM reviewed and compared! (2/11/08), From low-end to high-end Universal IEM

SUSprecsmo
post Oct 6 2008, 11:03 PM

301 posts

just got my Livewires, it is awesome, it is definitely one of the best sounding IEM, it is a custom IEM espeically for the price of getting a custom IEM. I can confirm that I wouldn't say it is Ety sounding as many in Head Fi been claiming, maybe the sound signature is in the similar group if I really have to say that. I'm thrilled with it after traded it with my Ety ER-4P, it has lots of quality bass, lots of low end bass and tight mid bass, it is awesome, and it is warmer than the Ety, the high is slightly less than the Ety, I wouldn't say the high is inferior to Ety, only that everything is warmer than the Ety, and I would say it is calmer than the Ety when play in a comfortable volume. When the volume is turn up adventurously loud, I personally scare of turning up too loud as I really scare if it will really hurt my ears and cause hearing loss in long run. Anyway, if turn up louder, it is so powerful with lots of dynamics maybe because it is fed but lots of quality low and mid end bass. In high volume everything is so well control, and I won't feel the "honking" vocal high notes from the Ety. I'm so thrill with it. Custom is the big plus, I can slug it in my ear for many many hours and I don't think I will feel any discomfort at all but my Ety can make my ear very painful after 45mins of use. I luv my Livewires! WOW!
redaxis
post Oct 11 2008, 10:03 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(sep90 @ Oct 4 2008, 06:07 PM)
buy the armorall protection liquid used for car waxing
i use it every two week to clean my se530 wires and it does great to relieve my stiffen wires
other than that it will make my wires shine like brand new and make it more elastic
Can you tell me how your protectant feels when u touch it? Is it oily? There are several protectants I see from the the webpage which one did you use?

Couldn't find Armorall protectant so bought one from Lexol. It's called Vinylex Protectant, it specialy formulated to clean and protect vinyl, rubber and plastic. when I apply it onto my cable it does the opposite from softening it!!! It gives the cable a layer of grease coating and it hardens them further!!!! I quickily wash it off but its too late, my not so soft cables started to have little gaps!!! Sob.... counting down on them to fully split...

Guys out there who wants to clean your cables, make sure u put that whatever protectant on your hand n feel it, if its greasy, DO NOT USE IT.

This post has been edited by redaxis: Oct 11 2008, 10:04 PM
sep90
post Oct 12 2008, 01:12 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(redaxis @ Oct 11 2008, 10:03 PM)
Can you tell me how your protectant feels when u touch it? Is it oily? There are several protectants I see from the the webpage which one did you use?

Couldn't find Armorall protectant so bought one from Lexol. It's called Vinylex Protectant, it specialy formulated to clean and protect vinyl, rubber and plastic. when I apply it onto my cable it does the opposite from softening it!!! It gives the cable a layer of grease coating and it hardens them further!!!! I quickily wash it off but its too late, my not so soft cables started to have little gaps!!! Sob.... counting down on them to fully split...

Guys out there who wants to clean your cables, make sure u put that whatever protectant on your hand n feel it, if its greasy, DO NOT USE IT.
omg shocking.gif do u actually use the lenox vinylex protectant for yur cables?
that is most damaging liquid for yur cables and it is not for cables
it actually add a thickening agent to yur cable and thus making it more harder
anyway headfi only recommends only armorall protectant or olive oil only for cables only
this is pic of my armorall protectant which doesnt have greasy formula and which can wipe off by using tissue paper as well

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
redaxis
post Oct 13 2008, 01:45 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(sep90 @ Oct 12 2008, 01:12 AM)
omg  shocking.gif  do u actually use the lenox vinylex protectant for yur cables?
that is most damaging liquid for yur cables and it is not for cables
it actually add a thickening agent to yur cable and thus making it more harder
anyway headfi only recommends only armorall protectant or olive oil only for cables only
this is pic of my armorall protectant which doesnt have greasy formula and which can wipe off by using tissue paper as well
oh?! so the protectant I bought has actually been discussed before and its bad?! man i didn't know! sad.gif
The thing is, if its oil from our body that cracks the cable, then why do we want to apply greasy product on the cables again? wouldn't it accelerates the hardening process?
Anyway, I'll try out Armorall again since i got nothing to lose now... sigh... >_<
sep90
post Oct 13 2008, 06:19 PM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(redaxis @ Oct 13 2008, 01:45 PM)
oh?! so the protectant I bought has actually been discussed before and its bad?! man i didn't know!  sad.gif
The thing is, if its oil from our body that cracks the cable, then why do we want to apply greasy product on the cables again? wouldn't it accelerates the hardening process?
Anyway, I'll try out Armorall again since i got nothing to lose now...  sigh... >_<
not for my armorall
our body sweats made from salt and all toxic that discard from our body that y is damaging to cables salt and wire doesnt mix together and not to mention heat from our body as well...
it uses a non chemical formula for it and doesnt cause plasticization and harden the cord
it is non greasy formula and works well for my cables
make it shine like brand new and protect from uva and uvb damage

This post has been edited by sep90: Oct 13 2008, 06:21 PM
Sieg
post Oct 14 2008, 03:10 PM

★★★★★★★★★★
728 posts

where did u purchase that armorall from? im interested as well
sep90
post Oct 15 2008, 02:51 PM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(Sieg @ Oct 14 2008, 03:10 PM)
where did u purchase that armorall from? im interested as well
carrefour and tesco got sale meh.............. sweat.gif
look under car products and household as well
but make sure it armorall and for rubber and vinyls as well
TSClieOS
post Nov 2 2008, 01:52 AM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

Another update. SoundMAGIC PL-30 added.
toughnut
post Nov 2 2008, 01:56 AM

3,239 posts

wow bro, faster than head-fi this time haha. nice updates. possible to review senn IE series? haha
bossnass15
post Nov 2 2008, 09:49 PM

Veni, Vidi, Vici
1,188 posts

Anyone got anything to say about the um2? I'm leaning to buy that 1..
TSClieOS
post Nov 2 2008, 09:55 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

QUOTE(bossnass15 @ Nov 2 2008, 09:49 PM)
Anyone got anything to say about the um2? I'm leaning to buy that 1..
In case you miss it, I already included it on the review.
killz23
post Nov 27 2008, 12:45 PM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

any reviews on x3i??how does it compare to the x3??
TSClieOS
post Nov 27 2008, 04:57 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

QUOTE(killz23 @ Nov 27 2008, 12:45 PM)
any reviews on x3i??how does it compare to the x3??
X3i has been discontinued for a few months now, replaced by the Bijou series.
i_bony
post Nov 27 2008, 11:56 PM

1,298 posts

hello all.

i have a few questions.
does the bijou level 3 have more base than x3i?
how does the build quality so far?
is it still fragile?

do we need to burn it same as x3i to achieve optimum SQ

thanks.
bossnass15
post Nov 28 2008, 12:32 AM

Veni, Vidi, Vici
1,188 posts

westone 3 needs to be added into the list tongue.gif
TSClieOS
post Nov 28 2008, 12:51 AM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

QUOTE(i_bony @ Nov 27 2008, 11:56 PM)
hello all.

i have a few questions.
does the bijou level 3 have more base than x3i?
how does the build quality so far?
is it still fragile?

do we need to burn it same as x3i to achieve optimum SQ

thanks.
Bijou3 has a lot of bass. IIRC, it is more bassy than X3i - and perhaps too bassy for its own good. Though I haven't heard Bijou2, I read that it has a more controlled and refined bass. You might want to pay attention to it as well. As for build quality, it has been improved vastly and pretty solid now. You do need to burn it in for at least 50 hrs.

QUOTE(bossnass15 @ Nov 28 2008, 12:32 AM)
westone 3 needs to be added into the list  tongue.gif
The estimated price is close to (and maybe even over) RM1500, I am not that rich to get one sweat.gif
sep90
post Nov 28 2008, 01:01 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ Nov 28 2008, 12:51 AM)
Bijou3 has a lot of bass. IIRC, it is more bassy than X3i - and perhaps too bassy for its own good. Though I haven't heard Bijou2, I read that it has a more controlled and refined bass. You might want to pay attention to it as well. As for build quality, it has been improved vastly and pretty solid now. You do need to burn it in for at least 50 hrs.
The estimated price is close to (and maybe even over) RM1500, I am not that rich to get one  sweat.gif
lol just post a review of it clieo afterall they all wan to know how it is compare to shure se530, triple hi fi pro 10 and ie 8
imo i think it way better shure se530 mind me i not saying i dont like shure 530 afterall i got it with me sweat.gif
better resistant cables than the crackling shure cables, improved mids and not so weightly lows compare to shure 530 and a bit exp than it 399 usd 19usd to 380 for shure se530
highly recommendable if u looking for shure se530 without dark sound signature then W3 is for u a bit brighter than shure not so much or so little thumbup.gif
btw i hope shures also noticed that w3 is gaining upon it rite now brows.gif

This post has been edited by sep90: Nov 28 2008, 10:18 AM
i_bony
post Nov 28 2008, 01:32 AM

1,298 posts

thanks ClieOS for ur info
so the bass for bijou level 3 is overrated?
does it work best with rock genre kind of music?
say avenged sevenfold?

how bout UE Super.fi3 Studio, shure se110, shure scl2, cx500?
does it compete with mylar? or they r in another level?

do all iem need burning or just particular ones?

thanks in advance!
Proclaimer
post Nov 28 2008, 01:46 AM

1,150 posts

Thanks for the review.. Ur review helped me get my UM2.. biggrin.gif

i_bony

As for the bijou3 i think its pretty ok for rock music.. More bass the better.. biggrin.gif But details sure suffer..
UE Super.fi3 Studio, shure se110, shure scl2, cx500 i would say a notch above mylar.. Price wise they are already above mylar..

But it all depends on individual preference.. Take all reviews with a pinch of salt..

Dynamic driver do need burn in but it depends on diff IEM coz they have diff burn in time...

BA driver do not need burn in i suppose but i think some burn in is required to loosen up the BA driver.. hmm.gif
i_bony
post Nov 28 2008, 12:17 PM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Nov 28 2008, 01:46 AM)
Thanks for the review.. Ur review helped me get my UM2..  biggrin.gif

i_bony

As for the bijou3 i think its pretty ok for rock music.. More bass the better..  biggrin.gif  But details sure suffer..
UE Super.fi3 Studio, shure se110, shure scl2, cx500 i would say a notch above mylar.. Price wise they are already above mylar..

But it all depends on individual preference.. Take all reviews with a pinch of salt..

Dynamic driver do need burn in but it depends on diff IEM coz they have diff burn in time...

BA driver do not need burn in i suppose but i think some burn in is required to loosen up the BA driver..  hmm.gif
thanks Proclaimer!

the review makes it harder for me to decide cause so many good iem out there! sweat.gif
oh yea what about headphones? do they need to be burn as well?
let say a bose headphones.
do they need 50hours of burnin too?

hows ur UM2 SQ so far? detailed or bassy?

thanks in advance ya~

12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0467sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:06 PM