4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

MCSE, MCAD, MCSD...CCNA, CCNP, discuss...dicuss

clngu
post Jun 26 2008, 10:56 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(NicholasG5 @ Jun 26 2008, 10:28 AM)
clngu, did your company sponsor you to take the trainings and exams? How much money did you invest to get all the certs and how long did it take?
ya. current company sponsor me for trainings and exams, but not all. some i pay myself.

previously i paid everything myself. around RM20k. got all the certificates in 18 months.
clngu
post Jun 26 2008, 11:03 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

before i move on to IT Management certification, others technical certification you can aim is IBM, EMC, Checkpoint, Citrix, Nortel, Juniper and Tibco.
clngu
post Jun 27 2008, 01:28 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

don't be a "paper" qualified IT professional. with relevant qualification, skills and knowledge, you can excel in your career. RM10k-100K per month, no problem at all.

nowadays, many industries is looking for multi-talented IT professionals. only equip yourself with technical qualification, you won't go too far. every soon you will hit bottleneck. your career is stuck. unless you are comfortable with that level of job satisfaction. in the end you just doing day-in day-out job, and you fall into second category/quorum of employee performance chart.

haha. are you happy with your current salary and position ???
clngu
post Jun 27 2008, 02:58 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Jun 27 2008, 02:06 PM)
erm, im not sure whether i will be involving in which IT field. Most probably i am looking forward to work as IC designer. Do those professional certs play a role in this career path ? ...

Also, i saw there are some management professional cert stated in previous post .. can you recommend some of the management cert which I able to take ? ... I am not sure whether to take master in business field for my postgraduate study or ... to take these professional certs .. , in order to do so, i need to know will these certs help me in my career if its not really in IT field ..

Moreover, what are the available IT fields we have in Malaysia ? ..
my specialty is involved Financial, Education and Vendor industries. Manufacturing not my area.

however, is best if you have Six Sigma certificate to support your career. and MBA/MSc programme to help you to move up the management ladder.

clngu
post Jun 27 2008, 03:03 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Jun 27 2008, 02:06 PM)
So, are you implying that we should obtain a mixture of technical and management qualification ? ... If so, i will be taking master in management .. or master in finance ..  i dont really like to be too technical to the extent where everday I will be reading/working on the same thing for the rest of my life ... I prefer to go for management path ..
unless you want to be in technical field or be an engineer forever. if you want to take the role of managerial position, you need something else than technical qualifications.
clngu
post Jun 29 2008, 09:59 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(asidz13 @ Jun 28 2008, 10:51 AM)
hello... im planning to take mcsa and mcse for this moment. can anyone suggest me the right books to buy? plan to self student since no money..... sad.gif(
there is no so called "right" book to read. for example, I bought Microsoft offical press books to study. but sometimes I do not understand the contents. so I bought Sybex books as cross-reference. to me Sybex is easy to understand to my knowledge. however Sybex alone not sufficient. this is how I study.
clngu
post Jun 29 2008, 10:35 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(otyew @ Jun 28 2008, 02:41 PM)
hi all, actually last time i'm not sure getting certified is really tat important now cos currently, my company hired some 'mcse' certified engineer. instead of fixing things, they kept messing things up till the whole client network was down. and in the end, freshies clean up the mess.

but certainly i'll get one, but at least i would certified for the things i really understand. not for the sake of jus getting certified. wat u all think? last time degree was hot, now technical certifications.....
academic degree the value is decreasing over the years. Bachelor degree is mean nothing even your CGPA scores 3.75 and above. academic degree becomes a necessity of career path. nowadays employer is looking at Master or PhD or Professional certificate the candidate holds.

for the sake of getting certified, some candidates do that. but they won't last long in the team.
clngu
post Jun 29 2008, 10:46 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Jun 28 2008, 09:29 PM)
How about those professional certificates that you mention? can I take it and will it be hard to cope despite having little computing background as those which took Computer science degree ?
Im still thinking whether to take BEng or MEng ... zzz in a tight dilemma..
then MBA would be the right choice izzit ?
you can take those professional certificates. the level of difficulties to understand the content is vary on individuals. i have no financial background yet i can self-study and pass CFA (the most prestige certificate in Accounting and Financial fields) Level 1.

you still need to take academic degree to move up in corporate ladder.

you can take both MEng and MBA. the more the merrier.
clngu
post Jun 29 2008, 06:47 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(howmun @ Jun 29 2008, 11:26 AM)
Hi clngu,

I am still a student studying degree of Comp Science,
now is my last year of study, thinking about getting certified to help me up in my future.

I am interested with web development and securities, and considering to take a CEH course at semester break.

Some of my friends aim for Cisco cert but seems like there is a lot of Cisco certified pros out there....

Can i get some guidance on which certification to get for web development and security?

Thanks smile.gif
as a student before graduated your Bachelor Degree in CS. in your case, you can pursue the below certificate.

Web Development - CIW Associate, CIW Site Designer, CIW JavaScript Fundamentals, CIW Perl Fundamentals, CIW Application Developer, Sun Certified Java Associate, Sun Certified Java Programmer, Microsoft Certified Application Developer.

Security - EC-Council CEH (some training centres may reject student without working experience).

clngu
post Jun 29 2008, 06:55 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(Linuxkid @ Jun 29 2008, 12:24 PM)
CISSP and JAVA cert @@
fresh graduate is not qualified to take ISC2 CISSP.

The applicant must meet the following requirements to qualify to sit for the examination:
- Have a minimum five years of direct full-time security professional work experience in two or more of the ten domains of the information systems security.
clngu
post Jul 3 2008, 02:01 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(spantex @ Jun 30 2008, 06:53 AM)
ermm if i got deg in it majoring in network + ccna + mcsa..

how much expected salary for me?
are you fresh graduate or experience people ?
clngu
post Jul 3 2008, 02:16 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(nickenstein @ Jun 30 2008, 08:48 AM)
hi clngu,

can u guide a lost sheep here?
I'm a programmer/technician for this small private company. have been working for ~4 years.

I'm only holding a degree for computer science and no any other cert.
Currently I dont know which field I'm interested and kinda lost for my carrier path. So, can u tell me which is the 1st cert I should get?

btw, I'm from KK sabah. Is there any exam centre located at KK? If no, does that mean I must go to KL to take these exam for the cert?
I am not sure about Kota Kinabalu job market there. However I can give you certain indications.

1. You working 4 years as a programmer cum technician. what sort of programming and technical skills you have ?
2. You need to identify the field that you would like to focus on. only then can give you expert advice.
3. You can browse prometric and vue website to check any exam centre in KK.

I given to understand that KK is a high living standards city. I wonder whether the pay is equivalent to Klang Valley here.
clngu
post Jul 3 2008, 02:31 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(howmun @ Jun 30 2008, 08:53 PM)
thanks clngu! this help a lot.
By the way, is web development a promising career path?
Since i saw most of them who is highly paid is on networking/servers admin/software engineering etc. ....
you get high pay working in Vendor/Consultancy industry. or working in Financial industry, etc whereby organizations treat web development as a vital tool to their business.
clngu
post Jul 3 2008, 02:59 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(Leong Forever @ Jul 2 2008, 07:05 PM)
hi clngu,

20k is consider very cheap.Only the CCNP course itself can cost till 15k.Clngu so do you pay fees to attend course for CCNP and MCSE?  .I have friend work as network engineer 5 years in hypermarket which support is quite complicated.He has go attend the CISCO first two module

642-801 BSCI (Building Scalable Cisco Internetworks)
642-811 BCMSN (Building Cisco Multilayer Switched Networks)

Until to date,he only get CCNA ONLY/What he say is he go for the exam and failed? he say CCNP is very hard unles you really work at the routing environment else you will failed.Last time ,did you do router and switch while you study the CCNP? Really scare also listen from who experience before? Got planning to take my CCNA. Do you play and setup router yourself ,self study or  got real times hands ON  on cisco router.
haha. 20k is a lot for own hard-earn money. if sponsor by company, different story lo. i didn't attend CCNP and MCSE courses cause I found the trainers were lousy after few class sessions. i complaint to management and got my full refund. luckily the company i worked has a quite comprehensive networking environment for me to hands-on. i setup a simulation lab and everyday study+practice.

CCNP indeed is hard to pass. I also failed the exam few times. one of my friend went to eBay bought few 2nd-hand routers & switches, and setup a home lab.

my piece of advice. technical certificates require you to have hands-on experience. just study the books or attend trainings would not help you to pass the exam.
clngu
post Jul 3 2008, 03:22 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(menghong68 @ Jul 3 2008, 12:44 AM)
Just want to share my experience with those who want take CCNP exam. Feeling bad because yesterday i fail my ccnp bsci exam the passing score is 790 my score is 611. i left 8 question because i have no time to finish it in 2 hours. actually this is my second time to take bsci last time i finish all question on time but only got 600 score ! i have read all the cisco press and testking question but the real exam question is very trick and contain so many output screen which cause me very blur to see and waste my time for the rest question. i think maybe i will find network job b4 take again the bsci. sadly my ccna cert is expired this week. can i still get the ccna related job ?
you pay yourself or sponsor by the company ?

a few times i scored very close to pass the exam ie. 1 question or 1 mark to pass. at that moment i felt i wanna give up (my devil kept telling me on my right ear), somehow i scared to lose (my angel kept telling me on my left ear). at last angel KO devil. haha.

to sit for the exam. you need to adjust your mentality before start doing the question. don't get panic. treat it as the exercise questions you done regularly.

you no need worry about the expiry of your CCNA. it only mean you are inactive (status) as Cisco professional. you still able to get the job in the market.

clngu
post Jul 3 2008, 03:48 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(spantex @ Jul 3 2008, 03:09 PM)
fresh...... got exp in pc troubleshoot, etc..

dont have exp in server yet
in the interview, you better don't mention you have no experience in MS Windows Server. otherwise interviewer might question you about your MCSA status.

your case should be fresh graduate average market salary + RM200-300. male candidate top up RM200.
clngu
post Jul 3 2008, 04:21 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(jep @ Jul 3 2008, 04:05 PM)
anyone taken OCA & OCP ??..planning to take it...need some infos
you start 1st exam with OCA. which version (9i, 10g, 11g) you planning to take ?
clngu
post Jul 3 2008, 04:46 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(menghong68 @ Jul 3 2008, 04:19 PM)
i paid myself. just now i check with the cisco website about the recert for my expired ccna. if i want to extend my ccna can i just taking any 642 prefix ccnp exam or i need to retake all the ccna exam? for now i think i should find a networking job first b4 taking any 642 exam. but the problem is i only got diploma in computer studies and ccna cert it seem hard to get me a networking jobs nowaday with no exp b4.  sad.gif
just take any 642 prefix paper. but if you find 642 prefix paper too hard. then re-take CCNA lo.

no worry. go flip through newspapers and browse online recruitment websites. you still can find the job you want.
clngu
post Jul 3 2008, 04:55 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(jep @ Jul 3 2008, 04:26 PM)
Don't know yet..any suggestion..my office currently running on 9i
you can take 9i provided you still working there for some time. however getting more and more companies using 10g and 11g. think about it. our company is using 10g. soon upgrade to 11g.
clngu
post Jul 4 2008, 04:51 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(spantex @ Jul 4 2008, 11:46 AM)
practical n exp how to setup, manage, maintain  in mcsa class got laa..
practical n exp config router, subnetting, ip, dns, etc in ccna class got oso..
not in real environment.. u mean i should lie to them?
r u serious ? 200-300?  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
or isit typo..  unsure.gif  unsure.gif  unsure.gif
the class practice not really count as real working experience. but you can mention that you have learned and equipped with basic skills to manage and troubleshoot the networking environment.

example: IT fresh graduate out from school. say looking for a job in Financial industry. salary range is RM2.2k-2.8k. let us take RM2.5k. with CCNA and MCSA. should be around RM2.8k. this is just a benchmark.

the factors not include your CGPA ie. first class higher pay. which job field you work under ie. helpdesk, data centre, etc. which industry you work in ie. service provider, manufacturing, etc. contract or permanent position. on shift basic or normal working hours.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0175sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:56 AM