MCSE, MCAD, MCSD...CCNA, CCNP, discuss...dicuss

clngu
post Jul 4 2008, 04:51 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(spantex @ Jul 4 2008, 11:46 AM)
practical n exp how to setup, manage, maintain  in mcsa class got laa..
practical n exp config router, subnetting, ip, dns, etc in ccna class got oso..
not in real environment.. u mean i should lie to them?
r u serious ? 200-300?  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
or isit typo..  unsure.gif  unsure.gif  unsure.gif
the class practice not really count as real working experience. but you can mention that you have learned and equipped with basic skills to manage and troubleshoot the networking environment.

example: IT fresh graduate out from school. say looking for a job in Financial industry. salary range is RM2.2k-2.8k. let us take RM2.5k. with CCNA and MCSA. should be around RM2.8k. this is just a benchmark.

the factors not include your CGPA ie. first class higher pay. which job field you work under ie. helpdesk, data centre, etc. which industry you work in ie. service provider, manufacturing, etc. contract or permanent position. on shift basic or normal working hours.
clngu
post Jul 4 2008, 05:32 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(winnie08 @ Jul 4 2008, 12:41 AM)
clngu, now im confuse whether to take mcse or straight to mcitp since the latter have lesser exams. means lesser money to spend. smile.gif

will i miss alot for not taking 2003 first? my confirmed interest will be server/system+security.
just finished my ccna course, doing my hard revisions before taking the exam.
MCSE is for Windows Server 2000 or 2003. MCITP is for Windows 2008. first you have to think the majority of companies is using which version now. the safest bet is 2003. unless you know the company you planning to work is using 2008 or you planning to work in Vendor industry.

example: the company XYZ is using MS Windows 2003 servers in their data centre. they received your resume for technical specialist position. your technical expertise is MS Windows 2008. what would the employer think ?

but then the question is when you planning to take Microsoft exam. this year or next year ? the longer you drag, the scenario will change.

all the best in your CCNA exam. don't fail it ah. haha.
winnie08
post Jul 4 2008, 05:37 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ Jul 4 2008, 05:32 PM)
MCSE is for Windows Server 2000 or 2003. MCITP is for Windows 2008. first you have to think the majority of companies is using which version now. the safest bet is 2003. unless you know the company you planning to work is using 2008 or you planning to work in Vendor industry.

example: the company XYZ is using MS Windows 2003 servers in their data centre. they received your resume for technical specialist position. your technical expertise is MS Windows 2008. what would the employer think ?

but then the question is when you planning to take Microsoft exam. this year or next year ? the longer you drag, the scenario will change.

all the best in your CCNA exam. don't fail it ah. haha.
laugh.gif Ok I decided to take 2003 cert. Then proceed to Security. And when the time comes, 2008!

Thanks for the wishes! I must pass! I cant think of losing RM800. My hard earned cash. sweat.gif
clngu
post Jul 4 2008, 05:40 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(menghong68 @ Jul 3 2008, 08:53 PM)
my ccna is expired can i still able to take 642 prefix exam? yupe.

then how if i pass all 642 exam can i gain both ccna and also ccnp cert? yupe if you already earned CCNA cert before.
clngu
post Jul 4 2008, 06:17 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(epo @ Jul 3 2008, 08:47 PM)
hi clngu...
just wanna ask... let's say i have a lot of IT certified but i'm not good in english (grammar writing/public speaking... i can say 6 out of 10)... can i demand my salary?
what i'm always read in advertisement is must fluent in english if u want a higher position...
and 1 more thing, if u want to move to higher position/salary, we need to sacrifice our time with family... which i can't afford that...
demand the salary in current company or new company ? either way, you can demand it. no harm.

Advertisement is just a guideline or benchmark. some people speaking english fast like rocket but no one understand what the person is talking about. senior position requires the candidate to have good command of english, good presentation and reporting skills because the person is dealing with corporate management. so if you want to climb up corporate ladder, better polish your english skills (don't need 10/10). no choice.

senior position not really sacrifice time with your family. very much depends on how you manage it, balance it. especially now more and more companies emphasis work-life balance to their staffs.

example: am sitting at senior level. am managing wisely for my work tasks, work priorities and the time. therefore i have enough time to do my personal things everyday.

This post has been edited by clngu: Jul 4 2008, 06:35 PM
clngu
post Jul 4 2008, 06:36 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(Secret_Garden @ Jul 3 2008, 08:11 PM)
Hi clngu,

Could you tell me what is my market price because I think I under pay by my current company? Currently I have 2.6 years of exp in IT field + Bachelor Degree in CS, MCSE 2003, MCSA 2003: Security, CCNA and LPIC-1.

different industries have different salaries range. am based on average salary scale. around RM3.8k.
robb234
post Jul 4 2008, 06:50 PM

106 posts

hi all,

i plan to take NCLP cos i'm kind of interested,
but i dont know much about the current market demand, career prospect, etc.

mind to share ?
clngu
post Jul 4 2008, 07:22 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(robb234 @ Jul 4 2008, 06:50 PM)
hi all,

i plan to take NCLP cos i'm kind of interested,
but i dont know much about the current market demand, career prospect, etc.

mind to share ?
you mean Novell Certified Linux Professional ?
robb234
post Jul 4 2008, 09:13 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ Jul 4 2008, 07:22 PM)
you mean Novell Certified Linux Professional ?
yes, rclxms.gif

it is offered in MMU for like RM 1.6k if i'm not mistaken,
dont know how much it will cost if outside MMU
Secret_Garden
post Jul 5 2008, 08:31 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ Jul 4 2008, 06:40 PM)

I thought if your CCNA Cert expired, you cant take one of the 642 prefix.

You must to take at least one of the 642 prefix exam before the CCNA expired.

http://www.cisco.com/web/learning/le3/le2/..._type_home.html

Correct me if i wrong..
clngu
post Jul 7 2008, 10:08 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(Secret_Garden @ Jul 5 2008, 08:31 AM)
I thought if your CCNA Cert expired, you cant take one of the 642 prefix.

You must to take at least one of the 642 prefix exam before the CCNA expired.

http://www.cisco.com/web/learning/le3/le2/..._type_home.html
Correct me if  i wrong..
i have found the information about Recertification Policy Update from Cisco website.

"Recertification is an important indicator to IT professionals and their employers, ensuring that the certification holder has kept up with current trends in networking technology. Valid certifications may be renewed indefinitely, but without timely renewal, certifications expire or become inactive. To keep certifications current, individuals should recertify by advancing to the next level of certification or passing the designated recertification exam(s)."

"Renewal requires certification holders to register for and pass the appropriate Cisco recertification exam(s). In order to recertify, exam requirements must be met prior to the certification expiration date. Individuals with an expired certification(s) must repeat the entire certification exam process in order to regain their certification(s). Visit the Cisco Career Certifications Tracking System to check the status of your certification(s)."

"Cisco advises its certification holders to make plans to recertify well in advance of the certification expiration date. To re-certify, certification holders must take and pass one of the professional-level exams or a CCIE written exam before the expiration date. Cisco will send a reminder six months prior to the date that a certification expires, and again one month before expiration."

you can get details from HERE.
bryon
post Jul 7 2008, 12:52 PM

399 posts

anyone studying or taking 70-640 soon?
=)
menghong68
post Jul 7 2008, 01:26 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ Jul 7 2008, 10:08 AM)
i have found the information about Recertification Policy Update from Cisco website.

"Recertification is an important indicator to IT professionals and their employers, ensuring that the certification holder has kept up with current trends in networking technology. Valid certifications may be renewed indefinitely, but without timely renewal, certifications expire or become inactive. To keep certifications current, individuals should recertify by advancing to the next level of certification or passing the designated recertification exam(s)."

"Renewal requires certification holders to register for and pass the appropriate Cisco recertification exam(s). In order to recertify, exam requirements must be met prior to the certification expiration date. Individuals with an expired certification(s) must repeat the entire certification exam process in order to regain their certification(s). Visit the Cisco Career Certifications Tracking System to check the status of your certification(s)."

"Cisco advises its certification holders to make plans to recertify well in advance of the certification expiration date. To re-certify, certification holders must take and pass one of the professional-level exams or a CCIE written exam before the expiration date. Cisco will send a reminder six months prior to the date that a certification expires, and again one month before expiration."

you can get details from HERE.
Thanks bro! so regarding my situation i think i need to take entire ccna exam like ICND1 & ICND2 to re-cert my ccna because my ccna cert is already expired. It will not work if i continue to take the 642 prefix exam. please correct me if i'm wrong !
bryon
post Jul 8 2008, 09:10 AM

399 posts

ICT professionals can claim back part of exam fees

Published: 2008/07/08

ICT professionals pursuing certifications to upgrade their skills andknowledge can now claim back a portion of their examination fees fromthe Multimedia Development Corporation (MDeC).

In a statement yesterday, MDeC vice president and head of capabilitydevelopment division Ng Wan Peng said the new reimbursement scheme willsignificantly reduce the financial burden of pursuing professionalcertifications.

"It will also provide financial relief tothose taking up multiple certifications from Cisco, Microsoft, Sun, IBMand EMC among others," she said.

Underthe MSC Malaysia Capability Development Programme ProfessionalDevelopment reimbursement scheme, local ICT professionals who havesuccessfully earned technology-based certifications will receivereimbursement of 75 per cent of their total exam fees up to a maximumof RM2,500.

Those who have earned non-vendor-based certifications willreceive reimbursement of 75 per cent of their total exam fees up to amaximum of RM1,000 while ICT professionals who complete recognisedtraining programs will receive reimbursement of 50 per cent of theirtotal training cost up to RM1,500.

This is applicable for MSC Malaysia Status companies that sponsor theirMalaysian employees for professional ICT certifications.

Employees participating in the programme as individual applicants will also qualify to receive the reimbursements.

http://cdp.msc.com.my/capdevprog_pd.php
clngu
post Jul 8 2008, 10:27 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

The programme is open to all MSC Malaysia Status Organisations and its employees. Programme participants are to make own arrangements to undertake their chosen certification/training course and incentive will be disbursed upon successful completion. All certification/training courses must be listed in CDP Professional Development Approved List below:

CDP Professional Development Approved List - Technology based certification

Cisco - CCNA / CCNP / CCSP / CCDP / CCIP / CCVP / CCIE
Microsoft - MCP / MCTS / MCDBA / MCSD / MCSE / MCITP / MCSA / Microsoft Dynamics AX Certifications
Sun - SCJP / SCJD / SCDJWD / SCWCD / SCMAD / SCBCD
IBM - Tivoli / Web sphere / CATE (IBM System p5)
NI LabVIEW - LabVIEW Basics I / LabVIEW Basics II / Certified LabVIEW Associate Developer
CHECK POINT - CCSA NGX
PROGRESS - Character Programming / Database Administration
EMC Technology Foundations - EMC Proven Professional Certification
Database - Oracle OCA / OCP / PL / SQL Programming / IBM DB2 / Informix
ERP - SAP ABAP / BASIS / FICO / MM / SD / HR / MFG/PRO Core Distribution on eB2
Open Source - Linux LPI / RHCE / RHCT / SUSE / Linux Enterprise Server 10 / PHP, Perl, MySQL
Network - Juniper Networks Technical Certification Programme (JNTCP)
Programming - Visual Studio .NET / C#
Object Oriented Analysis & Design - UML
Hardware & OS - CompTIA A+
Engineering - VLSI / DSP / RF
MAC OS X - Apple Certified Help Desk Specialist (ACHDS) / Apple Certified Support Professional (ACSP)
Software Testing - ISTQB Certified Tester (CFTL / CTAL) / Certified Software Tester (CSTE)
WiMAX - WiMAX ForumĀ® RF Network Engineer Certification
Cognos Customer Certification Programme - IBM Cognos 8 BI / IBM Cognos 8 Planning / Cognos 8 Controller
Others - Brainbench certification series (technology related examination only)

CDP Professional Development Approved List - Non-Vendor based certification

Project Management - PMP /CAPM / PRINCE 2
IT Service Management - ITIL
Call Centre Management - CIAC
Data Centre Management - Certified Data Centre Professional (CDCP)
Security - CISSP / SSCP / SANS / ISACA CISA / CISM
Creative Multimedia - Maya / 3D Studio Max
e-Business - EC-Council Certifications
Supply Chain - SCOR Framework
Finance & Accounting - CIMA Certificate in Business Accounting (CBA)
Help Desk - Certified Help Desk Professional (CHDP)
ISO Standards Auditor - Lead Auditor - ISO 9001, ISO 20000 & ISO 27000
vincentmoo
post Jul 8 2008, 11:34 AM

107 posts

decided to self study MCSE, anyone can guide me which module to start 1st? which book is recommended? thanks all for ur great help

This post has been edited by vincentmoo: Jul 8 2008, 11:46 AM
bryon
post Jul 10 2008, 09:19 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(vincentmoo @ Jul 8 2008, 11:34 AM)
decided to self study MCSE, anyone can guide me which module to start 1st? which book is recommended? thanks all for ur great help
win 2003 or win 2008?
clngu
post Jul 10 2008, 10:01 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

IT graduate or IT professional must know IT technical certifications if you want to get the rewards, respect and recognition you deserve.

MCSE for Windows Server 2003 or 2000. MCTS for Windows Server 2008.
vincentmoo
post Jul 10 2008, 10:20 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ Jul 10 2008, 10:01 AM)
IT graduate or IT professional must know IT technical certifications if you want to get the rewards, respect and recognition you deserve.

MCSE for Windows Server 2003 or 2000. MCTS for Windows Server 2008.
hello clngu, i am in a dilemma of choosing my career, i am tired of doing end-user support, which path should i choose? i need to earn some respect

and attractive salary as well rclxms.gif I hold a degree of computer science. After graduation , i work as programmer which i give up after 3 months.
Now
i am working as IT Technical support, means DO ALL I CAN to support end user, such as server , sql , cirtix, macola, crystal report,

Access programming, need to go batching plant to do maintenance of computer, need to help account auntie to check account ,

I REALLY TIRED OF IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!! please guide me a way to be a successful IT Professional. i don't mind to work in any field as long as salary

attractive.PLS HELP icon_question.gif

clngu
post Jul 10 2008, 10:22 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(menghong68 @ Jul 7 2008, 01:26 PM)
Thanks bro! so regarding my situation i think i need to take entire ccna exam like ICND1 & ICND2 to re-cert my ccna because my ccna cert is already expired. It will not work if i continue to take the 642 prefix exam. please correct me if i'm wrong !
if the status of your ccna certification = expired, then no choice. you have to retake it. you can take 640-802 CCNA exam instead of 640-822 ICND1 and 640-816 ICND2. save exam cost.

25 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:32 PM