13 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

iPhone Wireless Problem- Not available!!, Solutions?

FaKeAnGeL
post Jul 3 2009, 02:20 PM

178 posts

this step can fix no wifi problem??
zaff1984
post Jul 3 2009, 09:52 PM

187 posts

apple...apple pls release update fast....

Added on July 4, 2009, 8:18 amI already post this problem at Apple Discussion Forum yesterday night... but still waiting for real solution.... see if they can help....

here my thread at Apple Discussion
http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?m...9759966#9759966

This post has been edited by zaff1984: Jul 4 2009, 08:18 AM
davidgary73
post Jul 11 2009, 08:16 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Apple has posted a support document to help those having Wi-Fi issues with their iPhone or iPod touch.

You can read Apple's fix suggestions below and note that if all tips fail they suggest taking your iPhone for repair.

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1559

Cheers
zaff1984
post Jul 12 2009, 11:29 PM

187 posts

I went to maxis centre just now... they cant fix the WiFi problem (fresh restore also not fix the problem). So they will repair my iPhone. but its take 15 days to repair.

I ask them about 1 to 1 Exchange. they said 1 to 1 exchange takes 15 days.
tinkerbel
post Jul 12 2009, 11:38 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@zaff1984,
If fixing the phone and getting a 1:1 exchange is going to take 15 days I'll go with getting the 1:1 exchange biggrin.gif
zaff1984
post Jul 12 2009, 11:58 PM

187 posts

I will send my iphone for repair. I dont know they will give a new one or just repair the phone. hope they replace the new one...

tinkerbel so no 1 to 1 exchange for iphone by maxis?

jesslicious
post Jul 23 2009, 10:46 AM

Hi..Anyone had any advice? any opinion to help me?

Mine iphone 3g wifi does not works at all. icon_question.gif
kc3832
post Jul 23 2009, 01:35 PM

100 posts

Hihihi! Time to get iPhone 3GS..... Anyway, the posting in apple suggested by davidgary help me.... you might wanna try it.....

This post has been edited by kc3832: Jul 23 2009, 01:35 PM
dimebag81787
post Aug 7 2009, 04:21 AM

Hi LYN,

I bought an iPhone 3G 16GB model outside Malaysia and during the first few hours it worked great. However after sometime my wifi signal disappeared and my iPhone 3G wouldn't even look for networks anymore. The bluetooth also seems to be malfunctioning, pairing with devices but continually dropping the connection when trying to transfer any type of file. I've tried all the fixes possible, including those given by Apple! cry.gif

I don't have warranty for this phone, do you guys have any advice on how to fix the problem?
The phone is virtually perfect and I've kept good care of it with a SPECK Candyshell case and invisibleSHIELD protector, I just want to use my wifi the way the iphone was intended to provide!

Any help is greatly appreciated guys,

Sincerely,
Dimebag81787
SUSMatrix
post Aug 7 2009, 08:49 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(dimebag81787 @ Aug 7 2009, 04:21 AM)
Hi LYN,

I bought an iPhone 3G 16GB model outside Malaysia and during the first few hours it worked great. However after sometime my wifi signal disappeared and my iPhone 3G wouldn't even look for networks anymore. The bluetooth also seems to be malfunctioning, pairing with devices but continually dropping the connection when trying to transfer any type of file. I've tried all the fixes possible, including those given by Apple!  cry.gif 

I don't have warranty for this phone, do you guys have any advice on how to fix the problem?
The phone is virtually perfect and I've kept good care of it with a SPECK Candyshell case and invisibleSHIELD protector, I just want to use my wifi the way the iphone was intended to provide!

Any help is greatly appreciated guys,

Sincerely,
Dimebag81787
I think this happens to some jailbreaked iphones. Try to reset to factory default using iTunes and jailbreak/unlock again. PM me to discuss further if needed.
SUSitanium
post Aug 7 2009, 08:59 AM

I brake very late.
762 posts

I have seen 3-4 units failing both wifi and bluetooth functions after ahem ahem and they were sent back to apple for DOA.
geo-milano
post Aug 7 2009, 09:03 AM

237 posts

Now u have to backup ur data in ur iPhone. Then restore it again, without jailbreak. Try and see whether can get the network? Btw , which country of ur iPhone from? Lock or unlock set?
soonwai
post Aug 7 2009, 09:07 AM

11,456 posts

Have you tried to do a Restore in iTunes? If it's hardware problem then tough luck, I guess.
dimebag81787
post Aug 7 2009, 09:30 AM

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 7 2009, 09:07 AM)
Have you tried to do a Restore in iTunes? If it's hardware problem then tough luck, I guess.
Yeah guys, my iPhone was Jailbroken when the problem started but I must have restored five times already and tried every variation to get it to work. I've also reset the factory network settings and used itunes to restore to the original Apple settings but still no fix. I bought my phone unlocked from Saudi Arabia through the phone service provider Mobily there. They sell the phones unlocked. Could it be a hardware issue? If so, any place dependable to fix the problem since I don't have warranty?

This is a shot in the dark but, any chance Maxis can repair my phone? unsure.gif

Thanks guys for your advice and help, would really like to figure out if this is a hardware or software problem!

Sincerely,
Dimebag81787

Added on August 7, 2009, 9:33 am
QUOTE(itanium @ Aug 7 2009, 08:59 AM)
I have seen 3-4 units failing both wifi and bluetooth functions after ahem ahem and they were sent back to apple for DOA.
itanium, I'm guessing those units came with warranties right? Anyway I can purchase a warranty for my iPhone like you can for Macbooks?

Thanks for your comment anyway, comforts me to know it's not just my model with the sickness~

Dimebag81787

This post has been edited by dimebag81787: Aug 7 2009, 09:33 AM
soonwai
post Aug 7 2009, 09:54 AM

11,456 posts

If it's a software prob, a single restore should solve it. Just make sure to "Setup as New Phone" after the restore.

Can you still make calls with it? It might just be a loose antenna cable, there are 2 inside the iPhone, one for the cell radio and another for wifi/bluetooth.

Your phone should still be under warranty. You can check on Apple's website. Problem is you have to send it back to wherever it came from which may or may not be where you bought it from.

crxr & wei on this forum does repairs, contact then and let them have a look.
dimebag81787
post Aug 7 2009, 11:17 AM

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 7 2009, 09:54 AM)
If it's a software prob, a single restore should solve it. Just make sure to "Setup as New Phone" after the restore.

Can you still make calls with it? It might just be a loose antenna cable, there are 2 inside the iPhone, one for the cell radio and another for wifi/bluetooth.

Your phone should still be under warranty. You can check on Apple's website. Problem is you have to send it back to wherever it came from which may or may not be where you bought it from.

crxr & wei on this forum does repairs, contact then and let them have a look.
Thanks for the user suggestions. Everything about the phone works perfectly except the wifi and bluetooth. I suspect you could be right about the antenna, however I've spoken with with a couple of repairers in Malaysia and they both suggest replacing the motherboard. Is this a valid solution? I don't have warranty so there's no worrying about losing it once the iPhone is opened up. Other than the wifi and the bluetooth, the phone is perfect, even the casing is like new! *sigh* Do you think its a motherboard problem or are some repairers looking for some extra cash from me? wink.gif

Wifi is the most important feature of this phone, I'll keep asking around and if I find a valid and cost effective solution, I'll let you guys know so everyone who has the same problem as me will know how to fix it. For now I suspect its a hardware issue such as a bent antenna or burnt chip.

Thanks fellas, really effective brainstorming with you guys! Any other suggestions or experiences would surely help!

Dimebag81787

Added on August 7, 2009, 8:58 pm
QUOTE(kennyshan @ Oct 25 2008, 12:46 AM)
i have experienced a funny thing which i can detect and connect to wifi in oldtown restaurant with my iphone but my fren's pda showing the access point is secured @@
Did you manage to get your wifi working? From what I know about the Oldtown in my area, they limit the number of people who can connect to the wifi to 4 people at a time. That could be the reason if you're wifi works everywhere except that time in Oldtown! Just a thought!

Sincerely,
Dimebag81787

Added on August 7, 2009, 9:07 pmDoes anyone have any proof or experience in downgrading and solving the problem? I know one poster in this thread appeared to have downgraded then upgraded up to 3.0 again and it worked! Anyone else follow this method successfully?

This post has been edited by dimebag81787: Aug 7 2009, 09:07 PM
xxx306
post Aug 8 2009, 01:38 AM

Kylo Ren worshipper
635 posts

hello
something is wrong with my sis's 3Gs. her iphone wifi is connected but when browsing in safari, the browser said it is not connected to the internet.

my iphone's wifi is good. there's no problem at all.

is it hardware problem?
nokia2003
post Aug 8 2009, 01:45 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(xxx306 @ Aug 8 2009, 01:38 AM)
hello
something is wrong with my sis's 3Gs. her iphone wifi is connected but when browsing in safari, the browser said it is not connected to the internet.

my iphone's wifi is good. there's no problem at all.

is it hardware problem?
is it jailbroken? have you tried opting for "reset network settings"?
xxx306
post Aug 8 2009, 01:59 AM

Kylo Ren worshipper
635 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Aug 8 2009, 01:45 AM)
is it jailbroken? have you tried opting for "reset network settings"?
nope. not jailbroken. but i did jailbreak it then i noticed the wifi doesnt work. then i restore it back.
i asked my sis whether got wifi problem before i jailbreak it and she said yes.

yup, i did everything but still can't. icon_question.gif

my sis's 3gs wifi problem is exactly like this
Ever since I’ve started using the iphone 3gs, I have noticed that Wifi has been a pain. The phone keeps connecting to wifi then cuts off and goes to 3g. Once I restart the phone, the wifi connection comes back but then disconnects from wifi and I get this pop up asking me to enter my wifi password. I’m not sure if this a 3gs issue or 3.0. Anyone else experiencing this let me know if you know of a fix to this. Thanks

taken from: http://www.theiphoneblog.com/2009/07/08/ip...-wifi-problems/
This post has been edited by xxx306: Aug 8 2009, 02:35 AM
dimebag81787
post Aug 8 2009, 04:08 AM

QUOTE(xxx306 @ Aug 8 2009, 01:59 AM)
nope. not jailbroken. but i did jailbreak it then i noticed the wifi doesnt work. then i restore it back.
i asked my sis whether got wifi problem before i jailbreak it and she said yes.

yup, i did everything but still can't.  icon_question.gif

my sis's 3gs wifi problem is exactly like this
Try to turn off your 3G in the settings for 15 seconds, this should reset the wifi again. See if that works, its a suggestion from the Apple Wifi support suggestions. Since it stopped working before the jailbreak, I don't think jailbreaking is the cause then. Did the iPhone get unusually hot before the wifi went off? I lost my wifi too after so many restores and jailbreaks. Could be a burnt chip in the motherboard from overheating as my iPhone was a little hot before I lost it.

Does this sound plausible?

13 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:45 PM