Opinions, About iPhone

TSsacrosanct
post Jun 12 2008, 12:06 PM, updated 18y ago

243 posts

Hey guys,

I have been reading a few reviews about the iPhone ( planning to get mine ) but apparently most of the users that reviewed the phone said that it is not very user-friendly and how the camera lacks of flash, macro, zoom, etcetera. I'm not exactly particular about the camera b/c I'm not planning to use the camera only anyway. Besides, comparison are often made w/the Helio Ocean. However, one of my personal friend thinks that it is pointless to buy one b/c of its usability issues but she said for the design wise; it's really good ( she has an iPhone ). Well, I have meddled w/the iPhone before, but not the sending and receiving messages part neither the music or video player ( which I think it should work the same as any normal iPods especially the iPod Touch ).

I'd like opinions from the users of iPhone whether it is worth investing on this cellphone or not b/c I'd really want concrete and personal opinions before I get mine. Thanks!

This post has been edited by sacrosanct: Jun 12 2008, 05:56 PM
baretta
post Jun 12 2008, 12:09 PM

1,853 posts

For me, worth it. I no need flash, macro etc bcoz it is useless anyway. User friendly? Well for me, very user friendly.
oRoXoRo
post Jun 12 2008, 12:15 PM

Level 1 Audiophile
1,630 posts

Its user friendly. I like smsing using iphone(can type faster) and it's like bubble talk with ur frens. Dun compare iphone with those high end hp cause both in different category I would say. For the design, 3g(coming soon), wifi, and you can customize it urself its worth it. At least you r having something more special than just a hp.
hendra86

295 posts

let me tell u something...juz in my opinion...

yes it's true the camera on the iphone juz only on 2 mega pixel, but the colour of it is fascinating..it would bloom u away..sort of 5 megapixel instead..

the function's are breathtaking...with some tutorial and guideness..u wouldn't believe what so called "iphone" capable of unless ur using it.. rclxms.gif
TSsacrosanct

243 posts

QUOTE(baretta @ Jun 12 2008, 12:09 PM)
For me, worth it. I no need flash, macro etc bcoz it is useless anyway. User friendly? Well for me, very user friendly.
Yeah, that was on my mind too when my friend told me about the camera b/c I do not need it anyway as I have my camera to do the job. What about the touch screen and way to message; good? Some said you need to tap twice or thrice to key in the alphabets.

Added on June 12, 2008, 12:27 pm
QUOTE(oRoXoRo @ Jun 12 2008, 12:15 PM)
Its user friendly. I like smsing using iphone(can type faster) and it's like bubble talk with ur frens. Dun compare iphone with those high end hp cause both in different category I would say. For the design, 3g(coming soon), wifi, and you can customize it urself its worth it. At least you r having something more special than just a hp.
No no, do not get me wrong. I am not comparing w/any high end cellphones. I was reading reviews and they were comparing it to the Helio Ocean. Of course you cannot compare it but I just want concrete opinions before deciding. I'm not planning to get the 3G model b/c I hardly use the function anyway ( my current cell is a 3G one ).

But is the current model customizable? Third party apps, I mean.

[:

Added on June 12, 2008, 12:29 pm
QUOTE(hendra86 @ Jun 12 2008, 12:15 PM)

yes it's true the camera on the iphone juz only on 2 mega pixel, but the colour of it is fascinating..it would bloom u away..sort of 5 megapixel instead..

the function's are breathtaking...with some tutorial and guideness..u wouldn't believe what so called "iphone" capable of unless ur using it.. rclxms.gif
Yeah, I've heard about the photo quality, it's Apple after all which the graphics are known to be good. Mmm ... Now you guys are making me rethink.

XD

This post has been edited by sacrosanct: Jun 12 2008, 12:29 PM
ff8ong
post Jun 12 2008, 02:20 PM

2,550 posts

You dont have to key in twice,just a simple press with QWERTY keyboard is super fast if you use to it...Bubble conversation..Camera fine,SAFARI BEST!!

Iphone also have a lot of third party app which can instal by using installer
blackchides
post Jun 12 2008, 02:33 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(hendra86 @ Jun 12 2008, 12:15 PM)

sweat.gif sweat.gif A lot of people don't understand (not saying you hehe) that megapixel count has the least correlation with photo quality. You can have 12 megapixels but if your camera sensor is shit, your pictures will still come out awry. Unfortunately, most people associate megapixel count with photo quality and the phone manufacturers know it, hence the megapixel race among the newly released phones..

Added on June 12, 2008, 2:36 pm
QUOTE(sacrosanct @ Jun 12 2008, 12:06 PM)
Hey guys,

I have been reading a few reviews about the iPhone ( planning to get mine ) but apparently most of the users that reviewed the phone said that it is not very user-friendly and how the camera lacks of flash, macro, zoom, etcetera. I'm not exactly particular about the camera b/c I'm not planning to use the camera only anyway. Besides, comparison are often made w/the Helio Ocean. However, one of my personal friend think that it is pointless to buy one b/c of its usability issues but she said for the design wise; it's really good ( she has an iPhone ). Well, I have meddled w/the iPhone before, but not the sending and receiving messages part neither the music or video player ( which I think it should work the same as any normal iPods especially the iPod Touch ).

I'd like opinions from the users of iPhone whether it is worth investing on this cellphone or not b/c I'd really want concrete and personal opinions before I get mine. Thanks!

I would say that the best way is to hold an iPhone and try it out for yourself. iPhone has a capacitive touchscreen unlike other touchscreen phones on the market so it's very very finger friendly. There are some niggly issues with the iPhone but nothing that can't be sorted out using 3rd party apps.

Still it's a matter of preference and it may not be everyone's cup of tea so you should try it out for yourself first before deciding...

This post has been edited by blackchides: Jun 12 2008, 02:36 PM
hendra86
post Jun 12 2008, 02:40 PM

295 posts

so go on buy one now....right now..!!! tongue.gif
baretta
post Jun 12 2008, 03:08 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Jun 12 2008, 02:33 PM)
sweat.gif  sweat.gif  A lot of people don't understand (not saying you hehe) that megapixel count has the least correlation with photo quality. You can have 12 megapixels but if your camera sensor is shit, your pictures will still come out awry. Unfortunately, most people associate megapixel count with photo quality and the phone manufacturers know it, hence the megapixel race among the newly released phones..
Correct...correct....correct. And than said " oh my phone have 5 mp. Beat it" without knowing the quality is so BAD. hehehehehehehe
Choongster
post Jun 12 2008, 04:05 PM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

first of all, other's people opinions should only be used as a guidelines and not to influence your decision. To Some people iphone sucks .. and to some it's a wonderful phone ...

yes it's true that Iphone cannot beat the functionality and user friendly of nokia phone but every new thing will need some time to adjust to it.
People say that SE phone are much more user friendly than nokia, to me it is not because i'm too used to nokia.

talking about iphone, it takes some times to get use to it .. for me .. it took about a week to get use to it, because the whole screen in touch sensitive, we always miss pressed the buttons. so it might be an issue to some1 might not be to another ...

as for typing sms with the QWERTY keyboard, it's fast when you have access to two hands... but if u r trying to sms during Driving . That is almost impossible but you shouldn't be sms-ing while driving anyway ..

as to transfer contact from old SIM card to Iphone ..... to some it's hard because they have to install third party softwware like simport, and it's not as straight fwd as nokia/se phones where u can change contactlist memory.

bear in mind that you only do this once when you get your iphone.. after that all your contact will be updated in your iphone and any new numbers can be synchronize with itunes/outlook/ etc...

custom ringtones , again not as straight fwd as assigning mp3 to ringtones. Couple of ways to do this , by converting to m4r / or again using 3rd party software to convert from the phone ..

so alot of features are not included in the iphone but thanks to some individuals , they have created 3rd party software to make up for that losses ..

in the end, it's up to you to adapt to the iphone advantage and disadvantages.

usually ppl that say ... "iphone sucks .. they don't have this and that ..." are those people that don't own an iphone or probably just play with it for 5mins ...and already made up their mind

TSsacrosanct
post Jun 12 2008, 04:55 PM

243 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Jun 12 2008, 02:33 PM)
sweat.gif  sweat.gif  A lot of people don't understand (not saying you hehe) that megapixel count has the least correlation with photo quality. You can have 12 megapixels but if your camera sensor is shit, your pictures will still come out awry. Unfortunately, most people associate megapixel count with photo quality and the phone manufacturers know it, hence the megapixel race among the newly released phones..

Added on June 12, 2008, 2:36 pm
I would say that the best way is to hold an iPhone and try it out for yourself. iPhone has a capacitive touchscreen unlike other touchscreen phones on the market so it's very very finger friendly. There are some niggly issues with the iPhone but nothing that can't be sorted out using 3rd party apps.

Still it's a matter of preference and it may not be everyone's cup of tea so you should try it out for yourself first before deciding...
About the MP, that is really true. I'm a photographer myself, so I do understand that issue. Hahaha!

I played w/it before, but the reviews are just giving me second thoughts ( even though I am an Apple fan ). I just need good feedbacks from users like you guys.

[:

Niggly issues; such as?

Added on June 12, 2008, 4:57 pm
QUOTE(hendra86 @ Jun 12 2008, 02:40 PM)
so go on buy one now....right now..!!! tongue.gif
I'm getting mine from The States since a friend is going there. Besides, I think the pricing here are a little too ridiculous. Hee.

tongue.gif

Added on June 12, 2008, 4:58 pm
QUOTE(baretta @ Jun 12 2008, 03:08 PM)
Correct...correct....correct. And than said " oh my phone have 5 mp. Beat it" without knowing the quality is so BAD. hehehehehehehe
HAHAHAHA! It happens all the time, noh?

sweat.gif

Added on June 12, 2008, 5:01 pm
QUOTE(Choongster @ Jun 12 2008, 04:05 PM)
first of all, other's people opinions should only be used as a guidelines and not to influence your decision. To Some people iphone sucks .. and to some it's a wonderful phone ...

yes it's true that Iphone cannot beat the functionality and user friendly of nokia phone but every new thing will need some time to adjust to it.
People say that SE phone are much more user friendly than nokia, to me it is not because i'm too used to nokia.

talking about iphone, it takes some times to get use to it .. for me .. it took about a week to get use to it, because the whole screen in touch sensitive, we always miss pressed the buttons. so it might be an issue to some1 might not be to another ...

as for typing sms with the QWERTY keyboard, it's fast when you have access to two hands... but if u r trying to sms during Driving . That is almost impossible but you shouldn't be sms-ing while driving anyway ..

as to transfer contact from old SIM card to Iphone ..... to some it's hard because they have to install third party softwware like simport, and it's not as straight fwd as nokia/se phones where u can change contactlist memory.

bear in mind that you only do this once when you get your iphone.. after that all your contact will be updated in your iphone and any new numbers can be synchronize with itunes/outlook/ etc...

custom ringtones , again not as straight fwd as assigning mp3 to ringtones. Couple of ways to do this , by converting to m4r / or again using 3rd party software to convert from the phone ..

so alot of features are not included in the iphone but thanks to some individuals , they have created 3rd party software to make up for that losses ..

in the end, it's up to you to adapt to the iphone advantage and disadvantages.

usually ppl that say ... "iphone sucks .. they don't have this and that ..." are those people that don't own an iphone or probably just play with it for 5mins ...and already made up their mind
Literally, I have decided and made up my mind, but I wanted to know more feedback from users b/c I believe that their personal touches to the cellphone is important. Besides, I do not think that you can compare the iPhone w/Nokia or SE cellphones b/c they are two entirely different thing. The same issue for the camera. I guess the tricks to using iPhone is smashing and I like the whole concept, hence my decision to purchase it but would like to hear the ideas that others have that can be shared.

This post has been edited by sacrosanct: Jun 12 2008, 05:01 PM
blackchides
post Jun 12 2008, 05:03 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

Niggly issues such as no MMS, video recording, can't forward message etc. Might not be an issue to some people but if you need it, there are 3rd party apps that can rectify that.

Owh, if you're getting yours from the States, you're out of luck. There is a new ruling now that requires users to sign up for a contract on the spot so you can't just buy one and leave like last time..

TSsacrosanct
post Jun 12 2008, 05:06 PM

243 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Jun 12 2008, 05:03 PM)

Niggly issues such as no MMS, video recording, can't forward message etc. Might not be an issue to some people but if you need it, there are 3rd party apps that can rectify that.

Owh, if you're getting yours from the States, you're out of luck. There is a new ruling now that requires users to sign up for a contract on the spot so you can't just buy one and leave like last time..
Oh, those niggly issues. Yeah, I'm aware of that. Thanks for the reminder though. But anyway, what is the price for one in the market now? The last I saw was around 2k++.

[:

This post has been edited by sacrosanct: Jun 12 2008, 05:09 PM
panasonic88
post Jun 12 2008, 05:27 PM

37,028 posts

chepeast used set i have seen is about Rm1,400+/-

new set should be around Rm1,800+/-

p/s: i am referring to the 8G smile.gif
TSsacrosanct
post Jun 12 2008, 05:30 PM

243 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jun 12 2008, 05:27 PM)
chepeast used set i have seen is about Rm1,400+/-

new set should be around Rm1,800+/-

p/s: i am referring to the 8G smile.gif
That's a decent price. Where did you see it then?

[:
acbc
post Jun 12 2008, 05:31 PM

9,043 posts

I'm using it mainly for Safari... nothing else. As a phone, it sucks!
TSsacrosanct
post Jun 12 2008, 05:33 PM

243 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Jun 12 2008, 05:31 PM)
Each individual has different taste; just like one man's meat is another man's poison.
panasonic88
post Jun 12 2008, 05:35 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(sacrosanct @ Jun 12 2008, 05:30 PM)
That's a decent price. Where did you see it then?

[:
http://forum.lowyat.net/HandphonesandRelatedAccessories

QUOTE(acbc @ Jun 12 2008, 05:31 PM)
then perhaps you should get a iPod Touch, enough. rolleyes.gif

deadman8836
post Jun 12 2008, 05:35 PM

464 posts

You know, i used to be like you, having second thought after reading the review online and some feedback from iPhone "losers"..... but when my friend told me his sister is coming back from the States and asked me whether i want an iPhone or not i said ok...... it was a 50-50 gamble, it's either i like it because it lived out of my expectation or i'll just lose US$399..... guess wat? it seriously better than i anticipated, thanks those reviews i read online.... i never regretted it til today.... iPhone 3g? so wat? it's just 3G, Assist-GPS and better battery-life..... oh yes i forgotten, and those hefty contracts to accompany with..... haha.... my advice is GO FOR IT~
TSsacrosanct
post Jun 12 2008, 05:39 PM

243 posts

QUOTE(deadman8836 @ Jun 12 2008, 05:35 PM)
You know, i used to be like you, having second thought after reading the review online and some feedback from iPhone "losers"..... but when my friend told me his sister is coming back from the States and asked me whether i want an iPhone or not i said ok...... it was a 50-50 gamble, it's either i like it because it lived out of my expectation or i'll just lose US$399..... guess wat? it seriously better than i anticipated, thanks those reviews i read online.... i never regretted it til today.... iPhone 3g? so wat? it's just 3G, Assist-GPS and better battery-life..... oh yes i forgotten, and those hefty contracts to accompany with..... haha.... my advice is GO FOR IT~
Can't help but to notice your avatar; Clare from Claymore. A fan of that anime? It's kinda outta topic. Heehee.

Yeah, I just wanted to be sure hence read the reviews but then my mind was already partially made up. Well, there are more positive feedbacks than negative ones from the members here. Guess it really does tinkle the users' spines!

[:

Added on June 12, 2008, 5:40 pm
QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jun 12 2008, 05:35 PM)
http://forum.lowyat.net/HandphonesandRelatedAccessories
then perhaps you should get a iPod Touch, enough.  rolleyes.gif
Thanks for the link!

rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by sacrosanct: Jun 12 2008, 05:40 PM

0.0193sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:40 AM