128 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Bottom

University Useful information for prospective law students, A basic guide to become a lawyer

wanna be hi-tech
post May 22 2011, 03:24 PM

Any self respecting GEEK, certainly owns more than a single rig
1,598 posts

QUOTE(sreeking @ May 22 2011, 01:33 AM)
You may find your answer to the questions, if you have used THIS earlier.. Btw, here you go: A Levels Past Year Papers
Thx sreeking...for the link ...........twas just that you can go for fishing in the sea without any guidance or advice from experienced personnel s and take a whole day to find a good spot....on the other hand you can save a whole day if you get the info from experienced personnel s on as to where are the good spots....this was smthg like that...cheers... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
wanna be hi-tech
post May 22 2011, 03:25 PM

Any self respecting GEEK, certainly owns more than a single rig
1,598 posts

QUOTE(Angela Lee @ May 22 2011, 01:37 AM)
Thx Angela ...twas helpful.....i did check that site earlier but it took me on a voyage ......

This post has been edited by wanna be hi-tech: May 22 2011, 03:34 PM
sreeking
post May 22 2011, 10:44 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ May 22 2011, 03:24 PM)
Thx sreeking...for the link ...........twas just that you can go for fishing in the sea without any guidance or advice from experienced personnel s and take a whole day to find a good spot....on the other hand you can save a whole day if you get the info from experienced personnel s on as to where are the good spots....this was smthg like that...cheers... thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
asking experienced personnel?rolleyes.gif hmmm.... sure no problem icon_rolleyes.gif
sengyik90
post May 22 2011, 10:54 PM

55 posts

Have plenty of LLB first year textbook/reference books to let go, feel free to drop me a message =)

BTW, nice thread!
yvonnec
post May 28 2011, 07:32 PM

QUOTE(sengyik90 @ May 22 2011, 10:54 PM)
Have plenty of LLB first year textbook/reference books to let go, feel free to drop me a message =)

BTW, nice thread!
Only 1st year books? no others?
luminaryxi
post May 31 2011, 12:19 AM

584 posts

Ive 2nd year n 3rd year books

NoN@me
post Jun 3 2011, 12:31 AM

426 posts

hey guys.... i have 2 questions here....

1)is it possible for me to get into local U to study law using my GCE A Levels result?

2)and .... can mmu law student do their master? cos if im not mistaken, i've read or heard from some where that law students from mmu couldnt do their master in law due to they dont meet the lowest requirement to do master in law..... i hope its not true.......

thanks in advance for the reply ^^ cheers

This post has been edited by NoN@me: Jun 3 2011, 01:12 PM
sengyik90
post Jun 3 2011, 07:05 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(NoN@me @ Jun 3 2011, 12:31 AM)
hey guys.... i have 2 questions here....

1)is it possible for me to get into local U to study law using my GCE A Levels result?

2)and .... can mmu law student do their master? cos if im not mistaken, i've read or heard from some where that law students from mmu couldnt do their master in law due to they dont meet the lowest requirement to do master in law..... i hope its not true.......

thanks in advance for the reply ^^ cheers
I don't think that with A-level results you can go into local U.
Personally, if you had already decided to take A-level in the first place, why are you still pondering about getting into a local U?

NoN@me
post Jun 4 2011, 01:00 AM

426 posts

QUOTE(sengyik90 @ Jun 3 2011, 07:05 PM)
I don't think that with A-level results you can go into local U.
Personally, if you had already decided to take A-level in the first place, why are you still pondering about getting into a local U?
err..... previously..... my plan was do law degree twinning program at help( i was told that clp is very hard to pass, but still i refused to change my mind..)...... thn ltr, i was told, again , that CLP is damn hard to pass(some ppl gave up in the half way) and its better to get into local U or MMU ,so that i will be exempted from the CLP....................... besides, the school fees in UK is going to raise by 3 times and i dont wish to give that much of burden to my parents........

thats why i asked whether i can go to local U with my A levels............ but since its impossible, may i know is MMU a good college to study law? is it true the law degree graduate from MMU dont meet the requirement to do master in law?

thanks for the previous reply.............and thanks in advance for the reply.......... cheer and have a nice day.......
Meaty
post Jun 4 2011, 11:04 AM

292 posts

QUOTE(NoN@me @ Jun 4 2011, 01:00 AM)
err..... previously..... my plan was do law degree twinning program at help( i was told that clp is very hard to pass, but still i refused to change my mind..)...... thn ltr, i was told, again ,  that CLP is damn hard to pass(some ppl gave up in the half way) and its better to get into local U or MMU ,so that i will be exempted from the CLP....................... besides, the school fees in UK is going to raise by 3 times and i dont wish to give that much of burden to my parents........

thats why i asked whether i can go to local U with my A levels............ but since its impossible, may i know is MMU a good college to study law? is it true the law degree graduate from MMU dont meet the requirement to do master in law?

thanks for the previous reply.............and thanks in advance for the reply.......... cheer and have a nice day.......
Bear in mind that it is not CLP itself is hard,but this merely quota based system,imagine that if no quota implemented,you think that 'they' will survive to compete with each other?

MMU?Not personal preference,i don't think that their degree is of quality.You know that they even have foundation in Law to proceed directly to degree without the need to pursue A-level/STPM.And also note that you must possess either A-level/STPM in order to sit for CLP exam.

Exemption?Their licence will expire this year,and Bar Council will assess again whether to apply exemption on them.Date to few years back,even one local uni(cant recall the name)need several years to approved from CLP exemption.

I got no idea whether their degree meet the master requirement,if it is not,then you have 1 more reason not to mess with MMU.
yunghui
post Jun 4 2011, 01:33 PM

183 posts

hihi, everyone. a high school graduate here, seeking for advice of which uni shall i go for to pursue law degree.tq=)
sengyik90
post Jun 4 2011, 03:18 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(NoN@me @ Jun 4 2011, 01:00 AM)
err..... previously..... my plan was do law degree twinning program at help( i was told that clp is very hard to pass, but still i refused to change my mind..)...... thn ltr, i was told, again ,  that CLP is damn hard to pass(some ppl gave up in the half way) and its better to get into local U or MMU ,so that i will be exempted from the CLP....................... besides, the school fees in UK is going to raise by 3 times and i dont wish to give that much of burden to my parents........

Nothing is easy. There is no short cut to become a lawyer. Hard work will pay.
If you are determined enough, let no others to influence your decision. Work hard enough.
To be frank with you, during my A-level(I took all papers at one shot, no A2 for me), I am in a real lousy college, with lecturers constantly absent, materials provided are of mediocre level etc, yet I am able to score a straight As and currently studying in BAC under a scholarship provided by them.

School fees in UK, had been raised for 3times due to Nick Clegg's proposal to cut down education's budget. But that doesn't affect international students as subsidies are originally provided to citizens, not international students. The fees shall remain almost the same. In addition, the currency value is dropping to 4.9/4.8, if you have the money, just go and do your twinning program. Personally I am doing UOL since I don't not really have sufficient money.

In short, CLP is difficult, yet do-able. Depends how well you are motivated. BTW, not all local university exempt you from CLP.

Added on June 4, 2011, 3:21 pm
QUOTE(yunghui @ Jun 4 2011, 01:33 PM)
hihi, everyone. a high school graduate here, seeking for advice of which uni shall i go for to pursue law degree.tq=)
Pertaining to your question, kindly decide whether you want to go for local or private U in advance.
Make sure you make your consideration thoroughly. If you want to remain your choices open, STPM is a good choice BUT you will have no basic in terms of studying skills/answering methods etc. during your degree.

I have some friends from STPM, can memorise all cases or principles but cannot really understand how the thing operates. Bear in mind the education system in UK is more towards thinking, analysing etc. An answer with loads of cases without proper explanation or criticisation will not be a good answer.

This post has been edited by sengyik90: Jun 4 2011, 03:21 PM
yunghui
post Jun 4 2011, 04:33 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(sengyik90 @ Jun 4 2011, 04:18 PM)
If you are determined enough, let no others to influence your decision. Work hard enough.
To be frank with you, during my A-level(I took all papers at one shot, no A2 for me), I am in a real lousy college, with lecturers constantly absent, materials provided are of mediocre level etc, yet I am able to score a straight As and currently studying in BAC under a scholarship provided by them.

School fees in UK, had been raised for 3times due to Nick Clegg's proposal to cut down education's budget. But that doesn't affect international students as subsidies are originally provided to citizens, not international students. The fees shall remain almost the same. In addition, the currency value is dropping to 4.9/4.8, if you have the money, just go and do your twinning program. Personally I am doing UOL since I don't not really have sufficient money.

In short, CLP is difficult, yet do-able. Depends how well you are motivated. BTW, not all local university exempt you from CLP.

Added on June 4, 2011, 3:21 pm

Pertaining to your question, kindly decide whether you want to go for local or private U in advance.
Make sure you make your consideration thoroughly. If you want to remain your choices open, STPM is a good choice BUT you will have no basic in terms of studying skills/answering methods etc. during your degree.

I have some friends from STPM, can memorise all cases or principles but cannot really understand how the thing operates. Bear in mind the education system in UK is more towards thinking, analysing etc. An answer with loads of cases without proper explanation or criticisation will not be a good answer.
Sorry, i forget to mention that i just completed my stpm, result not good, so didnt put any hope over local u. if i do my degree in country like U.K will be much expensive right???
sengyik90
post Jun 4 2011, 05:22 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(yunghui @ Jun 4 2011, 04:33 PM)
Sorry, i forget to mention that i just completed my stpm, result not good, so didnt put any hope over local u. if i do my degree in country like U.K will be much expensive right???
Indeed, it will be expensive. To quote you the tuition fees in my college, for UKT program, you will be doing 2+1.
2years in Malaysia will cost you about 30k. The last year will roughly cost you about 60-100k, depending where you are studying(manchester/reading are more expensive, while cardiff is cheaper in terms of living costs).
With STPM results, you can go to pursue any law degree you are fond at, provided you have the minimum requirement needed.
If money is never a problem for you, go for UKT since theoretically it is easier than UOL.
UOL requires hardcore study. Better make your decision quick as UOL intake is only available during september of every year.
NoN@me
post Jun 4 2011, 06:21 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(Meaty @ Jun 4 2011, 11:04 AM)
Bear in mind that it is not CLP itself is hard,but this merely quota based system,imagine that if no quota implemented,you think that 'they' will survive to compete with each other?

MMU?Not personal preference,i don't think that their degree is of quality.You know that they even have foundation in Law to proceed directly to degree without the need to pursue A-level/STPM.And also note that you must possess either A-level/STPM in order to sit for CLP exam.

Exemption?Their licence will expire this year,and Bar Council will assess again whether to apply exemption on them.Date to few years back,even one local uni(cant recall the name)need several years to approved from CLP exemption.

I got no idea whether their degree meet the master requirement,if it is not,then you have 1 more reason not to mess with MMU.
errrrr....... by saying that, meaning even if u score lets say 90 marks, u may still fail IF u are out of the 30% quota??

yeap..... thats why im in dilemma.... either to choose top notch college to do my law or the CLP exemption college........

huh?! must possess either A levels / STPM thn only can sit for the CLP? meaning if their CLP exemption license will over this year, then all the students that straight took their foundation after SPM cant practise?

yeah.... if they dont meet the requirement for me to do my master...... they are definitely not my choice........

Added on June 4, 2011, 6:34 pm
QUOTE(sengyik90 @ Jun 4 2011, 03:18 PM)

thanks for ur motivation .......... and information..........

to be frank with u , also, im not in bright minded category........... i din do well in my SPM and i dont have the confidence whether i can do well in my law or not,especially the CLP ,its one of the obstruction........ i am scared that i cant pass my CLP and my degree cert(hopefully the degree cert wont be that hard to get) together with my parents hard earned money will be wasted....... even my parents also doubting whether i have the brain to study law or not........ LOL

wow? is it so? not going to affect us? wow thats great! greatest news for the day! but i think by the time i finish my A levels and 1 ~ 2 years law degree in malaysia, the currency will raise back bcos of the olympic that going to improve their economics....

i hope its do-able too...... but there are just too many lawyers and my dad frens scaring me off.........keep mentioning how hard the CLP is.... and how bad were the days when they prepare for the CLP......

errrr......... for the twinning program students ..... they will have to attend some sort of CLP tuition rite? provided by the college ? or what?

This post has been edited by NoN@me: Jun 4 2011, 06:40 PM
sengyik90
post Jun 4 2011, 08:11 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(NoN@me @ Jun 4 2011, 06:21 PM)
errrrr....... by saying that, meaning even if u score lets say 90 marks, u may still fail IF u are out of the 30% quota??

yeap..... thats why im in dilemma.... either to choose top notch college to do my law or  the CLP exemption college........

huh?! must possess either A levels / STPM thn only can sit for the CLP? meaning if their CLP exemption license will over this year, then all the students that straight took their foundation after SPM cant practise?

yeah.... if they dont meet the requirement for me to do my master...... they are definitely not my choice........

Added on June 4, 2011, 6:34 pm

thanks for ur motivation .......... and information..........

to be frank with u , also, im not in bright minded category........... i din do well in my SPM and i dont have the confidence whether i can do well in my law or not,especially the CLP ,its one of the obstruction........ i am scared that i cant pass my CLP and my degree cert(hopefully the degree cert wont be that hard to get) together with my parents hard earned money will be wasted....... even my parents also doubting whether i have the brain to study law or not........ LOL

wow? is it so? not going to affect us? wow thats great! greatest news for the day! but i think by the time i finish my A levels and 1 ~ 2 years law degree in malaysia, the currency will raise back bcos of the olympic that going to improve their economics....

i hope its do-able too...... but there are just too many lawyers and my dad frens scaring me off.........keep mentioning how hard the CLP is.... and how bad were the days when they prepare for the CLP......

errrr......... for the twinning program students ..... they will have to attend some sort of CLP tuition rite? provided by the college ? or what?

Its not about you smart then you can do the program, the thing is if you are forced to do other subjects that you are not interested in, you will be wasting your own time, to be more sevete, your life. Do something that you like.

Another option if you want you escape from the CLP is to do the BVC, you can still be called into the bar with BVC, and it is of course better since it is almost recognised by all commonwealth countries.

Pertaining to the economy stuffs, who says organising an Olympic then the economy will turn good? See how Greece fall into such a economy bad time after organising the tournament due to bad debts. Furthermore, the low lecel of currency is affected because of the whole world recession, politicalmuncertainty and their membership in EU. Anyhow, that should not bother you as your task is not to worry about all this, maybe you can get scholarships or what, who knows.

You know why lawyers or your dad friends like to tell you how hard it can be? Because they had went through it and they want people to recognise their smartness for completing it or whatsoever, but very often they didn't realise that had actually restrict certain potential students to pursue their llb. Bear in mind that, studying law need not end up to be a lawyer, with llb with you, your career options are actually wide, if you are affirmed that you had passion in doing law, go ahead.

P.s not typing using keyboard, sorry for typo.

This post has been edited by sengyik90: Jun 4 2011, 08:13 PM
yunghui
post Jun 5 2011, 10:55 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(sengyik90 @ Jun 4 2011, 06:22 PM)
Indeed, it will be expensive. To quote you the tuition fees in my college, for UKT program, you will be doing 2+1.
2years in Malaysia will cost you about 30k. The last year will roughly cost you about 60-100k, depending where you are studying(manchester/reading are more expensive, while cardiff is cheaper in terms of living costs).
With STPM results, you can go to pursue any law degree you are fond at, provided you have the minimum requirement needed.
If money is never a problem for you, go for UKT since theoretically it is easier than UOL.
UOL requires hardcore study. Better make your decision quick as UOL intake is only available during september of every year.
May i know more about UOL? which private u will u recommend if i want to it in malaysia?
sengyik90
post Jun 5 2011, 01:36 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(yunghui @ Jun 5 2011, 10:55 AM)
May i know more about UOL? which private u will u recommend if i want to it in malaysia?
To be impartial, i will not recommend any college to you since i am studying in BAC now, but i can tell you more about UOL.

It is an external program which means you can do it in Malaysia for the entire program. The degree is almost world wide recognised butnour neighbour country does not acknowledge it, singapore accepts CLP though.

Uol is 100% examination based, which means you will have no coursework in your entire degree except for first year which you have to submit an online research essay, that is nothing similar to coursework actually, so no worries on that.

Every year starts at september, end around at may/june. After that, you will have your three months break, like what i am having now smile.gif

The total cost for uol program is roughly 40 to 45k, varies according to college. Uol will provide you materials ie. Textbook, onlibe library, subject guide etc.

Any more specific question you want to know?
yunghui
post Jun 5 2011, 02:31 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(sengyik90 @ Jun 5 2011, 02:36 PM)
To be impartial, i will not recommend any college to you since i am studying in BAC now, but i can tell you more about UOL.

It is an external program which means you can do it in Malaysia for the entire program. The degree is almost world wide recognised butnour neighbour country does not acknowledge it, singapore accepts CLP though.

Uol is 100% examination based, which means you will have no coursework in your entire degree except for first year which you have to submit an online research essay, that is nothing similar to coursework actually, so no worries on that.

Every year starts at september, end around at may/june. After that, you will have your three months break, like what i am having now smile.gif

The total cost for uol program is roughly 40 to 45k, varies according to college. Uol will provide you materials ie. Textbook, onlibe library, subject guide etc.

Any more specific question you want to know?
yes=) if i m not mistsken,atc need roughly 60k to complete a llb right?i was thinking which uni shall i select between atc and bac,any personal opinion?is bac provide part time degree courses?
sengyik90
post Jun 5 2011, 02:46 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(yunghui @ Jun 5 2011, 02:31 PM)
yes=) if i m not mistsken,atc need roughly 60k to complete a llb right?i was thinking which uni shall i select between atc and bac,any personal opinion?is bac provide part time degree courses?
ATC's fees is about 48k if not mistaken. I don't know, i just end up with BAC since they are good enough to give me a scholarship. ATC, macam tak nak bagi, so I don't bother to ask further.

Afterall, my school of thoughts is that studying law very much depending on oneself, college can help, but not with all the notes you can do well. Do some research at those colleges, worth a trip.

Added on June 5, 2011, 2:47 pmand of course, both BAC and ATC does provide part time courses. Normally the classes will be scheduled on saturday and sunday.

This post has been edited by sengyik90: Jun 5 2011, 02:47 PM

128 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Top

0.0315sec    1.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:05 AM