10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

University Useful information for prospective law students, A basic guide to become a lawyer

TSschizophrenic
post Oct 22 2009, 08:14 AM

Tribute to Tun Mohamed Suffian Hashim (1917-2000)
1,645 posts

QUOTE(toby.c13 @ Oct 20 2009, 12:50 PM)
one question.
must we do our chambering/pupillage at a private firm?
can it be done at government departments, such as AGCs?
There is no such thing as chambering, chambering student, or pelatih dalam kamar. It is a widely misconceived fact even by legal practitioners. Please refer to s.12(1) of the Legal Profession Act 1976. There is only a term to describe it. It is pupillage or latihan. Those undergoing it are known as pupils or pelatih in accordance with the Act which is also the primary legislation.

See s.12 of the Legal Profession Act 1976

I am sure that those with legal background would understand the implication of the word 'shall' in a statute and the implication of such a primary legislation as opposed to a subsidiary legislation or a statement issued by the Bar.

For purposes of uniformity and authority, I've decided to attach the BM version of the same section.

Note: Also, Chambers in the context of a Legal Practitioner's(or Barrister's) Chambers is not a room or 'kamar'. It is the building itself where they work. Historically, they all work in a huge room but the term 'chambers' is referred to the place where they are ALL housed. It would be different if a normal chamber such as a Judge's Chambers because that is a Chamber for him alone. Therefore, the term kamar would be appropriate.

Pupillage cannot be completed in any government department. However, you may obtain exemption subject to a minimum prescribed period and approval from the AG.

Added on October 22, 2009, 8:17 am
QUOTE(minshuen @ Oct 21 2009, 01:44 PM)
i would like to ask a question,by passing clp,can that person practise in singapore?
If they recognise the Certificate then yea. However, at present, they do not recognise it. Alsree would be in a better position to provide you with further comments in this regard.

This post has been edited by schizophrenic: Oct 22 2009, 03:35 PM
TSschizophrenic
post Oct 23 2009, 07:55 AM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(edennature @ Oct 22 2009, 08:34 AM)
Legal Profession Act 1976 does not apply on east malaysia.
Please read 1.0 at page 1 of this thread.

It states "...As the admission procedures and requirements differ from jurisdiction to jurisdiction, I will be concentrating on the admission as an Advocate and Solicitor to the High Court of Malaya..."

Therefore, unless otherwise stated, it will be based on the High Court of Malaya and not the High Court of Sabah and Sarawak (Formerly Borneo).

Lest there will be furher disagreements on its contents, I am providing you with Sabah and Sarawak's version.

This post has been edited by schizophrenic: Oct 23 2009, 09:15 AM
TSschizophrenic
post Oct 23 2009, 03:12 PM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(edennature @ Oct 23 2009, 05:58 AM)
what about this?

Without any disrespect to your opinion and statement, I verily believe that you are not referring to the same point.
Please read the post with due care.
TSschizophrenic
post Dec 7 2009, 10:09 PM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(edennature @ Dec 7 2009, 10:23 AM)
if i do not take family law/succession module during my LLB degree,can i practice as family lawyer in future?what difficulties will i meet?
No time to give reasons
in short, yes you can.

no difficulties as long as you are willing to work for it.

Added on December 7, 2009, 10:12 pm
QUOTE(minshuen @ Dec 6 2009, 07:15 AM)
i would like to ask what are the differences between university of london external programme for law and internal law programme in university of london such as queen mary university in uk?
for you to understand the difference, you must 1st understand what is university of london - a federation of independent colleges/universities

queen mary is one of them.

as an external, you are awarded the uol's degree as an external student

as an internal, subject to your individual college's constitution and policy, you may be awarded with its own degree and not the uol's degree.

Naturally, internal is a lot harder to get into... comparatively with external

Added on December 7, 2009, 10:12 pm
QUOTE(finaltrooper @ Dec 5 2009, 05:22 PM)
hi everybody. i'd like to know if some of u here know abt the King's College scholarship which is awarded annually to a msian who is undertaking the UoL LLb external degree, and obtained the highest score in the intermediate exam.

i'd like to know, if the result of ur a-level exam will affect application of this scholarship. As in, will they still award u the scholarship if u've obtained best score in the intermediate exam, but yet u've gotten bad results for ur a-levels, say, not AA
it matters not the last i checked.

Added on December 7, 2009, 10:14 pm
QUOTE(wongjy @ Dec 5 2009, 10:04 AM)
Planning to take econs, accounts, law, and english lit for A levels.
Considering subbing accounts for business.
Heard that Law @ A levels is a "soft" subject. Is it still worth taking? :/
I do want to study about it in A levels, but if it proves disadvantageous then..
Wanted to take history for A levels as well but I can't find any colleges offering it as a subject.

Looking to study law in UK after the 1.5 years.

Are my chosen subjects a good combination?
I know english lit and econs are staple subjects.
I'm not too sure about the rest.
consider physics or something. You'll be surprised that they tend to prefer such subjects for entry into under grad law these days.

:-)

This post has been edited by schizophrenic: Dec 7 2009, 10:14 PM
TSschizophrenic
post Dec 14 2009, 04:11 PM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(nlgoh @ Dec 14 2009, 04:27 AM)
You can be legal advisor even without CLP. But most of the company, they are more incline to recruit legal advisor with experience in litigation.
Also, a person employed in that capacity may only provide such advice to his employer and no one else. This rule is applicable to protect members of the public (perhaps to a certain extent, the rice bowl of members of the bar).

Note on this:

Added on December 14, 2009, 4:13 pm
QUOTE(alsree786 @ Dec 5 2009, 06:01 PM)
yea, if you intend to read law in the future, it would be good to take law at A levels tho not required. It'll give you a slight insight into law and I would think your combination is fine. Taking law at A levels would only prove disadvantageous if you go on and do med or engineering or something unrelated but otherwise it's fine imo.
no, your a level results are not important. they will only consider your intermediate results.
LOL

I'd personally not recommend those who intend to take LLB to study A levels law.

Added on December 14, 2009, 4:16 pm
QUOTE(edennature @ Dec 11 2009, 08:44 AM)
does a lawyer still use law books which are used during LLB degree?What is the benefits for purchasing law reports and journals?Can local graduates use law books which are published in england/australia?
Answer 1: Yes (not all of them but perhaps some of them)
Answer 2: Professional improvement and research
Answer 3: Yes

This post has been edited by schizophrenic: Dec 14 2009, 04:16 PM
TSschizophrenic
post Dec 14 2009, 11:39 PM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(edennature @ Dec 14 2009, 12:09 PM)
'LOL

I'd personally not recommend those who intend to take LLB to study A levels law.'
Why?even though it is considered as soft subject by Trinity College Cambridge and other top uni,it does provide basic legal foundation to students and also enable the students to get a taste how law looks like.It is 'OK' by top uni as 3rd subject.
Again, I would like to repeat what i said

It is something i'd personally recommend based on my own experiences. Nothing more.

The main reason being that it does not do well in preparing students to cope or progress into degree level law. Most of the time, I find fellow llb students with a levels law to be a lot more confused comparatively with those without. The worst thing is, they do not realise it.

http://business.timesonline.co.uk/tol/busi...icle5516630.ece

Perhaps this could shed some light.

TSschizophrenic
post Jan 7 2010, 03:07 AM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(kewlgien @ Jan 6 2010, 12:57 AM)
Hi. I am currently doing UOL LLB Programme. I was told by my institution that it is compulsory for us to take LAN subjects in order to sit for CLP. It doesn't make sense to me, as far as I am concerned, accreditation by LAN are merely regulations the institution is bound to comply. It should not affect us students. Care to comment?
As an UOL External student, you are technically not bound by it.

However, as this is the qualifying board you are talking about, I'd rather not take my chances.

Just take it.

TSschizophrenic
post Jan 10 2010, 05:15 AM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(alsree786 @ Jan 8 2010, 02:41 PM)
PRIVATE HIGHER EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS ACT 1996 (as amended):
S43 -Compulsory Subjects

(1) All private higher educational institutions shall teach such compulsory subjects which shall be determined by the Registrar General.
(2) The subjects determined by the Registrar General under subsection (1) shall be taught in addition to other subjects or courses of study taught in the private higher educational institutions.

(3) In the case of students who are citizens of Malaysia, a pass in the subjects determined by the Registrar General under subsection (1), at a level determined by the Registrar General, shall be a prerequisite to the award of a certificate, diploma or degree of the private higher educational institution or of any University, University College, higher educational institution, whether public or private, or professional body, within or outside Malaysia, consequent upon a course of study or training programme conducted by the private higher educational institution jointly or in affiliation, association or collaboration with such University, University College, higher educational institution or professional body.

*emphasis is my own

Interpret as you think fit. Imo citizens of Malaysia must pass the required LAN subjects. Failure to do so would mean the LPQB may not recognise your qualifications. Question now is whether they check.
I would emphasize on "jointly or in affiliation, association or collaboration"

The programme referred to is neither. tongue.gif Well at least that is my case. *winks*

Then again, I wouldn't want to take my chances on it if there is an easier way out. tongue.gif

Just take the LAN subject
TSschizophrenic
post Jan 28 2010, 10:33 AM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ Jan 25 2010, 03:18 PM)
still have nirwana, stamford colllege and mentari school of law running uol llb; not only bac and atc.
Then, y not have a try in STPM? cos... if u r so lucky, u will get accepted in UM faculty of law. so called tuition fees aso very cheap + exempted from taking CLP.
Career test not accurate 1. Ask any psycho degree holder. So called "interesting occupation".... is just ended up as dream. Normally ur 2nd best result from career test would be ur job in life.
:-) UM degrees are not exempted from CLP

UM degrees are recognised by the Act and the holder is deemed to be a qualified person.

CLP is merely a prescribed exam by the Qualifying Board under powers conferred by the Act for purposes of those holding a recognised law degree but are not deemed to be a qualified person under the Act or exempted from CLP ( in the sense that their qualification has been recognised by the Qualifying Board as a qualification sufficient to deem the holder a qualified person).

Refer to S.3 (a) and © of the LPA

I have to be this particular so as to ensure prospective law students are aware of what they are getting themselves into.

tongue.gif

Added on January 28, 2010, 10:36 am
QUOTE(rayie101 @ Jan 25 2010, 01:48 PM)
Thanks for your advices,Laguna...
It really gives me a helping hand in choosing college ...
Frankly speaking...
I don't have a rich family background...
So I heard that BAC and ATC are the colleges that offer LLB (UOL) and the fees are affordable,so I did'nt even think about Taylor and HELP.
I had check that their fees are quite expensive nad I don't think my family can afford it,so I just hope that I can enter either ATC and BAC...
But,never mind thanks for your advices again ...
Ya.. I had read about the post that about MMU,although their degree is only recognise in Malaysia and commanwealth country,but the student who graduated from MMU is exempted from CLP exam,this is the latest news that I get from the counsellor of MMU and I think it is truth.This is a very big advantage because the CLP exam is very hard to pass ....
Yea,I had taken the career test...
My result showed that the area I interested is either law or business ...
Haha...
It is quite accurate !!!
Erm...
Which college are u studying ?
Alhough not published by MMU, their LL.B has been given conditional acceptance by the Qualifying Board.

However, one of the conditions would be for their graduates to attend an additional course during their period of pupillage. Failure to do so would result in them not being eligible to be called to the Malaysian Bar. This is presumably(by me) done with an objection by the Bar Council to their call.

Added on January 28, 2010, 10:43 am
QUOTE(rayie101 @ Jan 25 2010, 01:48 PM)
Thanks for your advices,Laguna...
It really gives me a helping hand in choosing college ...
Frankly speaking...
I don't have a rich family background...
So I heard that BAC and ATC are the colleges that offer LLB (UOL) and the fees are affordable,so I did'nt even think about Taylor and HELP.
I had check that their fees are quite expensive nad I don't think my family can afford it,so I just hope that I can enter either ATC and BAC...
But,never mind thanks for your advices again ...
Ya.. I had read about the post that about MMU,although their degree is only recognise in Malaysia and commanwealth country,but the student who graduated from MMU is exempted from CLP exam,this is the latest news that I get from the counsellor of MMU and I think it is truth.This is a very big advantage because the CLP exam is very hard to pass ....
Yea,I had taken the career test...
My result showed that the area I interested is either law or business ...
Haha...
It is quite accurate !!!
Erm...
Which college are u studying ?
Do expect to work hard for UOL. If you fail to achieve at least a second class, your degree will not be recognised by the Qualifying Board.

I've seen a lot of friends who are very disappointed due to a 3rd class. So do keep that in mind.

Added on January 28, 2010, 10:48 am
QUOTE(wornbook @ Jan 17 2010, 02:25 AM)
I'd agree that chances of getting a job in the UK are very slim. But I think the chances will be slightly higher if you do a 1+2. The extra year in the UK means more time and opportunities to do a mini-pupillage/vac scheme, which in turn would increase your chance of getting a job.

Whether that slightly higher chance is worth the cost of spending another year there is another thing.
In this regard, do note that under Tier 1 PSW visa, you will have to rely on a full time degree (whether baccalaureus or magister) and not your BPTC which essentially is a PG Diploma.

This post has been edited by schizophrenic: Jan 28 2010, 10:48 AM
TSschizophrenic
post Mar 9 2010, 09:18 PM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(fk2222 @ Mar 9 2010, 03:50 AM)
do u have any idea where to find the list of UK universities that are recognized?

I heard there are some are not recognized.

Pls help!
replied to your pm
TSschizophrenic
post Mar 9 2010, 10:33 PM

1,645 posts

yes
TSschizophrenic
post Mar 13 2010, 12:41 AM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(NatBass @ Mar 12 2010, 11:51 AM)
Greetings..
Um i dont know if this question had been asked before but i would love to know how much does a fresh law graduate earn? Im stuck between medic and law doh.gif
in malaysia...depends on state and area

between 1.8-4.0k

pupillage would probably provide an allowance of 600-3.5k

all depends.
:=)
TSschizophrenic
post Mar 20 2010, 03:24 AM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(alsree786 @ Mar 19 2010, 06:23 PM)
Lawyers don't really earn much comparatively until they hit partner level... the figures are just about what schizo mentioned above as far as i know... but im unsure about bonuses tho if there are any....
do you see yourself practicing in any other country besides the two above? Each country may have its own specific requirements...
LOL, yes there are bonuses. In fact, I know a firm in KL city that actually pay bonuses to pupils.

Added on March 20, 2010, 3:27 am
QUOTE(Seremban_2 @ Mar 17 2010, 04:20 PM)
Hey, I am a student in Brickfield Asia College and Part-time Working in a legal Firm. Currently, I am taking a law degree for University of Northumbia 1+2. They let me take up LLB because my entry requirement is Mature Student age 27 and with a standard degree from La Trobe University, Melbourne and approve by LAN. In the Past, After my SPM went straight to Business Foundation in Inti then went to Nilai for my Business Management Degree.

A confuse student.

The Question is am I able to take up CLP without taking A-Level's.

Am I able to be call to the BAR without A'Level's.

Base on my understanding that a mature student and LLB Degree already enough to qualify to take CLP exam and call to the BAR.
Get a confirmation from the Qualifying Board that you qualify as a mature student for purposes of sitting for the CLP exams and may be exempted from the pre-u requirements.

I take it that you never had 5 years working experience in the legal field before enroling for the 1 + 2 twinning programme?

Added on March 20, 2010, 3:30 am
QUOTE(NatBass @ Mar 16 2010, 06:02 AM)
Hey there , one more thing.

If i were to do clp hence i can only work in My right?
BAR= my and uk?

So meaning either way i cant work in other countries beside my and uk? rclxub.gif
like what alsree said above, it depends on the country's individual requirement. I am referring to the requirements for admission into practice and not whether you are eligible to work in a foreign country.

As regards to the working requirements...

Consider the immigration rules of each country. Being in posession of the qualification does not mean that you are automatically entitled to work.

You need to consider whether you have any leave to remain in addition to whether you have unlimited leave to work.

Example, in UK, you would need a Visa and in HK, you would need a work permit.

So, do consider these factors.

Added on March 20, 2010, 3:32 am
QUOTE(Are_keem @ Mar 13 2010, 01:15 PM)
may I ask, beside lawyer, what's the other job scope / prospect for law graduates? i'm SPM 2009 students and I was forced by my parents to study law sweat.gif
A lot other opportunities. You can go on and obtain a Masters in a different field. You can venture into different areas. Human Resource, Banking, Legal Exec (subsequently up to Legal Mgr), Compliance Exec, etc.

Added on March 20, 2010, 3:34 am
QUOTE(elaine chong @ Mar 13 2010, 10:35 AM)
hey, i'm a student who had completed my spm. i've decided to do law for my degree but i've got a few questions to ask.
1) is it really better for me to do a-lvl? i intended to do SAM but a lot of ppl advised me to do a-lvls. they said that i'm might be having difficulties when i want to do BAR in UK after my degree if i take SAM for pre-u. is it true?
2) i don't want to do a-lvl cos' i dun like its studying style. i dun like the idea of having a final examination. i prefer SAM as it had 50% on your assignments/presentations/tests and so on. so can i go for SAM if i want to do law in UK and BAR in UK after that?
3) if i'm really taking a-lvls, i heard a lot of ppl saying that it will be an advantage for me to take traditional subjects, like science subjects even if i'm taking law which has ntg to do with science. i heard that uni prefer students taking science subs in a-lvls in law. is it true? they also said that if i take science subs in a-lvl, i'll have the advantage when i'm applying for a good uni or even scholarships. so shud i take science subs in a-lvls? my prob is i'm not that interested in science.
4) again, i had lotsa ppl telling me that i stand a higher chance of getting a scholarship if i take a-lvl as compared to SAM. is this true?

thanks for answering my questions. i would really appreciate it =))
If you have a qualifying law degree in England and Wales then you will be eligible for the bptc. I know those without a levels but managed to be called to the english bar and subsequently the malaysian bar.

I will not answer question no.3 and no. 4

This post has been edited by schizophrenic: Mar 20 2010, 03:34 AM
TSschizophrenic
post Mar 21 2010, 12:36 PM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(Seremban_2 @ Mar 21 2010, 01:52 AM)
Thanks alsree786,

I still need to go and find out with Malaysia BAR and some more lecturers. Many of my part-time class mate age 30++, 40++ and 50++ don't have A'Levels or STPM. I ask them already and they told me as long you come in as mature study for LLB and pass then can go straight to CLP. but that is for Northumbia only. That's make me fee secure with lecture tell me is ok by telling me I can take CLP and my classmate no A'Levels. Like that many would kena.
Talk to Admissions Dept in Malaysian Bar and talk to the Qualifying Board.

I would not even bother talking to my lecturers if I were you.

TSschizophrenic
post Mar 22 2010, 10:18 AM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(fk2222 @ Mar 22 2010, 12:36 AM)
anybody know what are the 30 UK universities that are recognzied by the qualifying board?

Added on March 22, 2010, 8:47 amanybody know what are the 30 UK universities that are recognzied by the qualifying board?
You can get it from the Legal Profession Act's statute book. :-) The gazettes are listed in the book as well.

I do not think that anyone will have the time to actually list all the qualifications recognised from different gazettes.
TSschizophrenic
post Mar 22 2010, 10:43 AM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(compunoob46 @ Mar 22 2010, 02:31 AM)
joinin the police force aint a bad choice either
From wat i understood, u need to undergo a 9mnths training which is of the same duration as clp and u get a startin salary of about 4k per mnth?

Correct me if i'm wrong.
strange, the last i checked, an insp shld be getting about 2.9k incl allowance
TSschizophrenic
post Mar 22 2010, 11:10 AM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(compunoob46 @ Mar 22 2010, 03:08 AM)
nt sure bout tat.. but 1 things for sure, it's way higher than whn u got ur clp n start chambering..
well there are firms paying Rm3.5k for pupillage
LOL
TSschizophrenic
post Mar 22 2010, 11:26 AM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(compunoob46 @ Mar 22 2010, 03:21 AM)
in west msia i think.. in east msia, firms oni willing to pay 1.2-1.8k for chamberin students..
i was under the impression that certain places like labuan or sandakan pays well
mainly cause they lack pupils
TSschizophrenic
post Mar 22 2010, 11:35 AM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(compunoob46 @ Mar 22 2010, 03:34 AM)
i'm not very sure bout those places, but in kuching and sibu, they dun pay much, at least not until u finish ur chambering then they will give u a raise.
Yea heard the same
tongue.gif
know someone who did her pupillage in KK

This post has been edited by schizophrenic: Mar 22 2010, 11:35 AM
TSschizophrenic
post Mar 25 2010, 08:11 PM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(afiqmuzakkir @ Mar 24 2010, 10:37 AM)
how to study law effectively
You have to read, and read, and read.

10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0621sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:08 AM