Ultimate Frisbee
TSFCUK89
Mar 4 2009, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(kayaun @ Mar 4 2009, 09:30 PM) Hey guys, I just started picking up with sport with a bunch of good friends. It's nice to know there's a local community for this sport. KBU is near my house so I'll be seeing you guys on Saturdays(not this one though, I'm busy this weekend  ). Just dropping by to say hi, and it's really awesome to know there are a bunch of dudes out there who are so keenly intent on chasing a piece of plastic. we are always glad to see new players picking up the sports. Are you studying at KBU or? Actually I myself don't go to KBU cause it's quite a distance, and i'm kinda lazy and busy. (Excuses) Anyway, hope you pick up the game more regularly.
kayaun
Mar 4 2009, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(FCUK89 @ Mar 4 2009, 09:38 PM) we are always glad to see new players picking up the sports. Are you studying at KBU or? Actually I myself don't go to KBU cause it's quite a distance, and i'm kinda lazy and busy. (Excuses) Anyway, hope you pick up the game more regularly.  Hahah awesome. Thanks for the warm welcome. Nah actually I'm studying in MMU Cyberjaya, but I usually spend my weekends back home in TTDI. Just realized next week I'll be busy too, so I'm doubly dissapointed. Hope to meet some of you guys the week after. Maybe I can learn some stuff from you people.
TSFCUK89
Mar 4 2009, 11:03 PM
QUOTE(kayaun @ Mar 4 2009, 09:42 PM) Hahah awesome. Thanks for the warm welcome. Nah actually I'm studying in MMU Cyberjaya, but I usually spend my weekends back home in TTDI. Just realized next week I'll be busy too, so I'm doubly dissapointed. Hope to meet some of you guys the week after. Maybe I can learn some stuff from you people.  I see. I have some friends who are at MMU Cyber too, but they don't play frisbee unfortunately. Well if you can, do get some of your friends, and play with them. probably 6 people, like basketball, 3 aside. Just make the field smaller. Just get a frisbee and play with them. Start getting frisbee active in MMU, since you all have like tons of people there. It would be great, plus it's like quite dull in cyber. So having something different is actually quite cool.
kayaun
Mar 5 2009, 12:30 PM
Hey guys, I've already got a couple of MyDiscs, and to be dead frank, their performance is definitely not up to par with the original Discraft. I think it's mainly due to the rigidness of the plastic they use and the uneven weight spread of the disc. Anyway, I'm looking to pick up a few of the original Discraft (Ultra-Stars, I hear they're called), and I'm wondering where I can buy these from. I hear they range from RM35-40, but I'm not sure if they're the original Discraft. I've already PM'ed klsmurf, but he's not replying, so I'm assuming he's probably out of stock. I'm particularly interested in the Nite-Glo, White and Fluorescent Yellow ones, mainly because I'll be using them at night. Anyone wanna help a newbie here? This post has been edited by kayaun: Mar 5 2009, 12:36 PM Attached image(s)
klsmurf
Mar 5 2009, 03:44 PM

kayaun, just pm'ed you. The nite-glo discs are a nice novelty but you can't really play with them at night. It has a nice glow when it's completely dark (like you see in your pic) but when there's some light around, even dim light, the glow is not that obvious. Also, the glow doesn't last very long. It's just like any other glow-in-the dark toy. To play in the dark, best ones to use are LED lit discs: http://www.flashflight.com Again, these look amazing when completely dark. If you're playing in a park with lamp posts or an area lit with street lights, I would suggest just using a CLEAN white disc.
kayaun
Mar 5 2009, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(klsmurf @ Mar 5 2009, 03:44 PM) kayaun, just pm'ed you. The nite-glo discs are a nice novelty but you can't really play with them at night. It has a nice glow when it's completely dark (like you see in your pic) but when there's some light around, even dim light, the glow is not that obvious. Also, the glow doesn't last very long. It's just like any other glow-in-the dark toy. To play in the dark, best ones to use are LED lit discs: http://www.flashflight.com Again, these look amazing when completely dark. If you're playing in a park with lamp posts or an area lit with street lights, I would suggest just using a CLEAN white disc. Hahah, awesome man. Yeah, you have a good point. I've seen those LED discs before, they look really funky lol. Any idea where I can get them and how much they cost?
tofuking
Mar 8 2009, 12:45 AM
hey there! welcome to Ultimate  Anyways, still want to buy those discrafts? My captain has a really large stock sitting around  Give me a pm if you're interested!
david_lai
Mar 9 2009, 08:57 PM
When is nottingham going to organize their 1st open? =p
doctorpopcorn
Mar 9 2009, 09:13 PM

QUOTE(david_lai @ Mar 9 2009, 08:57 PM) When is nottingham going to organize their 1st open? =p Yeah! When are Nottingham gonna have their first tournament? I'd really wanna play there.
minic00per
Mar 13 2009, 04:39 PM
i'm a newbies as well. did you guys happen to know if there is any place i can learn to play at penang? it is mid sem break so i'm thinking to improve my skill.
klsmurf
Mar 13 2009, 10:55 PM

Please send me your email at: klsmurf<at>mac<dot>com (replace the <at> with @ and <dot> with .)  I can probably put you in contact with ppl who play in Penang or around the northern states. This post has been edited by klsmurf: Mar 14 2009, 08:04 AM
TSFCUK89
Mar 13 2009, 10:57 PM
QUOTE(klsmurf @ Mar 13 2009, 10:55 PM) Please send me your email at: klsmurf@mac.com I can probably put you in contact with ppl who play in Penang or around the northern states. Yeah give him Doug's number. @ MiniCooper I'm not sure bout pickup days in Penang though, but yeah more and more people are playing. Polo field, that's where they are playing. The one opposite using the GH.
TSFCUK89
Mar 16 2009, 11:57 PM
Mr David Lai,
Please PM me your MSN.
2nd Last day of MUL guys, 21st March, PGRM Cheras field.
This post has been edited by FCUK89: Mar 17 2009, 10:57 AM
doctorpopcorn
Mar 17 2009, 12:07 AM

QUOTE(FCUK89 @ Mar 16 2009, 11:57 PM) Mr David Lai, Please PM me your MSN. Last day of MUL guys, 21st March, PGRM Cheras field. PM me your MSN too please! Lol.
klsmurf
Mar 17 2009, 07:38 AM

QUOTE(FCUK89 @ Mar 16 2009, 11:57 PM) Last day of MUL guys, 21st March, PGRM Cheras field. The 21st is the SECOND last day. There is still the playoffs and Finals on 4 April 2009.
david_lai
Mar 26 2009, 10:17 PM
From klsmurf
Malaysia Ultimate Open 2009: "Kampung Style"
Many have been asking and we have been slow in responding but things are finally materializing!
Date: May 23 - 24, 2009 Venue (Tentative): RRIM - Rubber Research Institute of Malaysia in Sungai Buloh
Tournament Format: - Games to 13 - Soft cap at 60 minutes - Ratio is 4:3 - WFDF 2008 edition rules
We have already received interest from several teams from Singapore and Bangkok, so please let me know early if you are interested. Field space IS limited!
More details will be coming your way shortly but please do drop me a line if you are interested at: kmcheong<at>mac<dot>com
klsmurf
Mar 26 2009, 10:36 PM

MUO 2009: Kampung Style! Registration is temporarily closed Interested teams can still email me but will be on a waiting list. Individuals looking for a team to play can also contact me. This post has been edited by klsmurf: Mar 26 2009, 10:37 PM
serioustee
Apr 29 2009, 10:55 PM
thanks klsmurf for the CoD of two MsiaUltimate Discrafts. This post has been edited by serioustee: May 2 2009, 09:29 PM
david_lai
May 1 2009, 12:34 AM
22 Ways to Show Spirit
* 1. Cheer for the other team when they make a good play or score a point * 2. Call your own fouls * 3. Introduce yourself to the person your defending * 4. Bring a funny gift for the other team * 5. Resolve any calls amicably * 6. Involve everyone on your team * 7. If there is a question about the rules STOP the game and clarify * 8. Submit pictures to the website * 9. Show up early for the game * 10. Post an interesting link on the forum * 11. Pay dues up front! * 12. Keep the f-bombs (swearing not flatulence) below 30dB * 13. If opposition is short players loan them players to even it up * 14. Keep the field clean (Leave no evidence) * 15. Help set up and take down the cones * 16. Warm up with the other team * 17. Go out to a pub or restaurant with the other team * 18. Play hard! * 19. Take part in theme days * 20. If you knock down an opponent apologize and help them up * 21. Play a spirit game after the game * 22. Chat with the other team on the sideline
silver_hand81
May 1 2009, 01:20 AM
We have a small group of players here in Sabah too. Play by the beach with the sunset (we play every tuesday, thursday n sunday). if we have a small tourney, u guys in west side interested to come down?