Ultimate Frisbee

klsmurf
post Jun 28 2008, 11:29 PM

104 posts

A few things to add:

1) While Ultimate will not be appearing in the Olympics anytime soon, Ultimate is part of the World Games which is also held every 4 years.

2) The Singapore Ultimate Open is the largest tournament in the Asian circuit but it would be debatable if it is the best tournament around. For those who are new, there is typically at least one major tournament every month in Asia. For example: February=Bangkok; June=Shanghai; September=Singapore; December=Vietnam.

3) Ultimate has been played in Malaysia definitely longer than 5 years. The sport has, however, experienced its biggest growth during these last 5 years. Publicity may seem little, but several articles have appeared in the Star newspapers and has even appeared on TV on NTV7's Breakfast show and also 8TV.

I would definitely recommend/encourage anybody here to come out and give a try. This is the best part of Ultimate - it is an easy sport to learn and all the players are very open. It is a team sport but anybody can just show up and "join the team" so don't worry about not having team right now, just come out!

uhuk: Yes, we did play today. And we will be playing next Saturday.... and the next Saturday.... and the next..... you get the picture.

Added on June 28, 2008, 11:34 pmBTW, if anybody wants a disc, I do have a few MyDiscs (locally-made discs) and some Malaysia Ultimate Discrafts discs as in the picture on the first page (Discraft is the official disc used at major tournaments)

Personally, I prefer Discrafts.

This post has been edited by klsmurf: Jun 28 2008, 11:34 PM
klsmurf
post Jun 29 2008, 09:28 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(chang3rd @ Jun 29 2008, 09:01 PM)
Kuan, did you just joined this forum so you can reply here ?
hehe

Hi Sean: I've been using a different nick here. Decided to register again with "klsmurf" to reply to this topic.

Story behind "klsmurf": I first started playing Ultimate at Loughborough University when they were then known as the Lufbra Smurfs (they are now called Purple Haze or just "Haze"). The Smurfs disbanded in 1996 so you can guess how long I've been playing sweat.gif

This post has been edited by klsmurf: Jun 29 2008, 09:28 PM
klsmurf
post Jun 30 2008, 08:42 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(david_lai @ Jun 30 2008, 04:51 PM)
Kuan is an ancient in Malaysia ultimate. Watch out he can run faster than you. XD
Who are you calling ancient? tongue.gif I know of a few other players older than me and one who has played much longer than I have brows.gif

Doubt I can run faster than all you youngsters smile.gif But that's the great thing about Ultimate right? I mean, which other sport do you know where people of all ages can play at the same time with no REAL advantage/disadvantage? How many sports do you know where both guys and girls can play on the same team?

Where are all the other ppl interested in playing?
klsmurf
post Jul 2 2008, 07:54 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(david_lai @ Jul 2 2008, 02:11 AM)
Can provide some details? When and where exactly?
I work near there. Can drop by after work.
Yes, I think there are a few other players who work in that area wink.gif
klsmurf
post Jul 8 2008, 11:49 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(uhuk-uhuk @ Jul 8 2008, 09:09 PM)
playing tomorrow guys? biggrin.gif
KBU should on tomorrow (from 4.30pm onwards)

However, there will be NO game at KBU this Saturday as most of the players will be at the Intec tournament at UiTM, Shah Alam.
klsmurf
post Aug 29 2008, 07:59 AM

104 posts

2 Malaysian teams will be leaving today to play in the biggest Ultimate tournament in Asia with 22 teams competing, Singapore Ultimate Open (SUO):

1) Satu Lagi - the oldest team in Malaysia
2) Intec Wildcats - a younger up-and-coming team

Will you be playing next year?

Check out http://www.singaporeultimate.com and click on the "SUO 08" tab
klsmurf
post Oct 16 2008, 12:51 AM

104 posts

To all Malaysian Ultimate League (MUL) 08/09 teams:

Due to difficulties in securing a field and many other factors, the tentative start date of the league is now 15 November 2008. As such, the registration date has been extended to 31 October 2008. Any team entries after that date will not be entertained.

As we have seen a higher than expected number of teams expressing their interest, there is a possibility that the League schedule might extend into April 2009 or later. With such a long season, it may then be difficult for all the players in your team to commit to playing the full season. Thus, the maximum number of players on your team roster for registration is now 25. HOWEVER, the original maximum number of 18 players shall still remain on game days. The registration fee of RM50 per player will apply to ALL registered players.

CAPTAINS: If you register a team exceeding 18 players, this means there may be a possibility that you might have to leave some of your players out on game day. It will therefore be your responsibility to handle any grievances from your players who are not allowed to play or only play for a brief period.

If you have further questions regarding the league, please email to: ultimatemalaysia@gmail.com

Kuan
MUL-O
klsmurf
post Oct 26 2008, 12:58 AM

104 posts

elgee: Do you need any help with the club?

I know a few teachers working at the Sunway International School and also in CIMP at Sunway U who are very experienced.

Try to get a team together for the League. It's not about being competitive but the league would be a good opportunity to play with teams outside of your usual circle. Make new friends, learn new plays... this is what Ultimate is about. The Ultimate community has always been able to be competitive yet maintain a friendly, open atmosphere. No other sport so far has been able to conduct themselves like Ultimate players (eg. high-level tournaments and still without referees). All thanks to the Spirit of the Game.
klsmurf
post Nov 12 2008, 06:58 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Nov 12 2008, 12:29 PM)
which brick mark??

A ---------------X*--------------------*Y--------------------------B

"A" Threw, disc went out.. "B" clapped,
so,, which brickmark (X or Y) should "B" bring the disc??
Gee, so many questions, where do I start? sweat.gif

1) Calling "Brick"
On the pull (start of a point), the receiving team must signal for a brick-call (by clapping hands above your head or simply calling "Brick") before picking up the disc. Calling brick before the disc lands is also ok. With the current updated WFDF rules, calling brick no longer means walking the disc to the middle of the field, you must now start from the brick mark. The brick mark shall be the one closest to the line where the receiving team started from. If we take the above diagram, A pulls and the disc flies out of bounds, B must decide to play from the point the disc flew out or start from brick mark Y. Even if the disc flies out before the halfway line, if B calls brick, they must start from Y. So, be smart and think about it before calling "brick".

2) When a pull lands inbounds and rolls out.
Please note that the ENTIRE field is considered inbounds, including the end zone. If the pull lands inbounds and stays inbounds (does not roll out), you play from where it STOPS. This means that even if the pull lands and rolls into your endzone, you are NOT allowed to walk it up to the front of the endzone, you start play from where it stops, ie. from inside your own endzone. If the pull lands and rolls out of bounds, you start from the point where the disc rolled out of the field. Again, even if the disc rolls out behind your endzone, you start from the back of your endzone.
Remember, if you attempt to catch the pull or touch (kick) the disc before it makes first contact with the ground, it is a TURNOVER! If this happens inside the receiving endzone, the disc is walked backed out to the front of the endzone and is checked in.

3) Stall Count
Stall count is officially 10 seconds in both WFDF and UPA rules. The reference to 8 seconds is usually used for indoor Ultimate. The stall count may be started when the marker is within 3 metres of the thrower. I see this quite often locally, a 2nd defender might stand near the thrower, almost like in a cup in a zone defense. If this 2nd defender is within 3 meters of the thrower with no other offense player, the thrower can call "double team" and the 2nd defender must back off.

4) Disc Space
Any part of the marker must be at least 1 disc diameter away from the torso or pivot of the thrower. This means you may not block the thrower's pivot. eg. Even you have a disc space between your bodies, you may not wrap your arms around (blocking the pivot). Remember when Disc Space is called (and not contested), the marker must subtract 2 seconds from the stall count and continue.

Did I miss any questions? rclxub.gif

Added on November 12, 2008, 7:04 pmTo those playing the League starting this Saturday, remember what I said above about "double team". It is quite likely for some teams to play a Zone Defense and this might happen with their cup. Do not be afraid to call it. Don't let the experienced players bully you.

This post has been edited by klsmurf: Nov 13 2008, 05:26 PM
klsmurf
post Nov 12 2008, 09:19 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(FCUK89 @ Nov 12 2008, 08:39 PM)
Kuan, For double team, will the stall count be reseted to 0, or n+1 and 6 if it's more than 6?
A double team is a "marking violation", as are "disc space", "fast count, "straddle", "vision" and "wrapping".

Copied from WFDF 2008 rules:
16.2.2. A marking violation may be contested by the defence, in which case play stops.

16.2.3. On the first call of a marking violation that is not contested, play does not stop. The marker must subtract two (2) from the stall count and continue. A marker who is executing a stall count may, when a marking violation is first called, continue the stall count by reducing the count by one (1) and then continuing the count. The effect of this technique is to subtract two (2) seconds from the stall count. (e.g., “Stalling, 1, 2, 3, 4, 3, 4, 5, 6...” if a marking violation was called at the fourth (4th) stall count).

16.2.4. The marker may not restart counting until any illegal positioning has been corrected. To do otherwise is a subsequent marking violation.

16.2.5. For any subsequent marking violation call during the same stall count, play stops, and, if uncontested, the count is reset to one (1) and play is continued with a check.

16.2.6. If any marking violations are contested, the stall count restarts at maximum six (6).

Please ask if you are unsure of what the above clauses are saying or any other clauses in the WFDF rules and I'll try to explain.
klsmurf
post Nov 20 2008, 10:34 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(FCUK89 @ Nov 20 2008, 11:24 AM)
Lol, yeah I heard from Alvin and Sean that you all have a all girl line up. That's cool. We only have 6 girls though. If you don't mind probably Alvin or Sean can be a "girl" for one point? Hehe, if not then 6 girl : 1 guy ratio.
You can always ask the captains to decide on that ratio. wink.gif

This post has been edited by klsmurf: Nov 22 2008, 06:52 PM
klsmurf
post Nov 25 2008, 05:55 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(doctorpopcorn @ Nov 25 2008, 11:10 AM)
Oh! So you're Wee Kiat! Nice to meet you. Haha!
In Ultimate, we usually introduce ourselves ON the field..... not in a forum a week after playing each other doh.gif

Spirit of the Game!!! SOTG!!! tongue.gif
klsmurf
post Dec 2 2008, 06:04 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(FCUK89 @ Nov 29 2008, 08:35 PM)
Great game today Satu Lagi. Enjoyed it.

Looking forward for next match against you guys. smile.gif
That was a good game... really made us RUN! The first point was so long that I was standing on the sideline wondering if I'll ever get to play!

Quick tip: When you're playing against a team who are mostly taller than you, try not to huck the disc to your deep player. wink.gif
klsmurf
post Dec 8 2008, 12:06 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(david_lai @ Dec 7 2008, 11:39 PM)
This weekend, there will be a tournament in University Malaysia. Wish everyone all the best. Man, i have to get fit. T.T

U8 definitely will be the dark horse.
El-Ninos will show everyone why they are champions in sunway tourny
HELP will show no mercy to any team, the host will rule the field
Nottingham have improve a lot and will be contending for podium finish
Sunway the mysterious stranger, is looking forward to upset any team
Carebears!? will be dancing their way to the finish line.
Isn't Ultimate great? Which other sport can you think of where grown men are unashamed to play on a team called Carebears? laugh.gif of course it helps when you have played as a Smurf before wink.gif
klsmurf
post Dec 12 2008, 06:03 PM

104 posts

One more day till you see fluffy cute Carebears throwing a disc around! brows.gif
Who's coming out to watch/play?
klsmurf
post Dec 12 2008, 09:39 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(david_lai @ Dec 12 2008, 07:51 PM)
Cute bears! They are abomination!
dun kick our asses out there carebear, play against us with lots of love =)
What abomination? Rainbow bear's been looking forward to it all week!

This post has been edited by klsmurf: Dec 12 2008, 09:40 PM
klsmurf
post Dec 12 2008, 10:25 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(doctorpopcorn @ Dec 12 2008, 10:05 PM)
Captain's meeting at 0745 tomorrow! Be there or be square. Games start at 0800!

Tight schedule. Lots of games to be played. Total of 21 games. So please don't be late and please co-operate.

Good luck and may the Spirit be with you! LOL.
Mike, How many fields are you setting up? With 21 games, it doesn't look like you have much buffer (i was assuming 2 fields).
I would suggest calling Captain's meeting earlier - the idea of the Captain's meeting is for you to brief all the captains and clarify the rules & logistics and then, the captains have to do the same briefing to their respective teams. If you call the meeting at 7.45, i can guarantee you the first game will NOT start at 8. I'm not sure if you have done this already but if a copy of your "rules" was sent to captains earlier, it would smoothen the running of the captain's meeting.

I hope you have a copy of the WFDF rules (or UPA depending on which one you're following) on the field in case of disputes.

Good Luck tomorrow and don't worry about asking for help if you need it.

Kuan

klsmurf
post Feb 12 2009, 11:42 PM

104 posts

Malaysia Ultimate League is restarting this Saturday, 14 Feb! Who's going to win it? This is even closer than the EPL!

klsmurf
post Mar 4 2009, 09:16 PM

104 posts

Please check with your respective captains if there is Mully this Saturday. Due to scheduling conflicts, 3 teams will NOT be playing this Saturday but will play on Mar 14th. The other 3 teams MIGHT be playing this Saturday.
klsmurf
post Mar 5 2009, 03:44 PM

104 posts

kayaun, just pm'ed you.

The nite-glo discs are a nice novelty but you can't really play with them at night. It has a nice glow when it's completely dark (like you see in your pic) but when there's some light around, even dim light, the glow is not that obvious. Also, the glow doesn't last very long. It's just like any other glow-in-the dark toy.

To play in the dark, best ones to use are LED lit discs: http://www.flashflight.com Again, these look amazing when completely dark.

If you're playing in a park with lamp posts or an area lit with street lights, I would suggest just using a CLEAN white disc.

0.0201sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:06 AM