Overclocking E7XXX Series

JoBigShow
post Dec 28 2009, 02:41 AM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

QUOTE(evoangel @ Dec 28 2009, 01:21 AM)
im having a little problem wif my e7300.. sometimes it halt when loading windows.. have to restart many times.. and when log in my ram timing suddenly revert back to 800mhz. my ram suppose to run 1066mhz

my spec, e7300,giga ep43-ud3l,Kingston hyperx 1066mhz 5-5-5-18, 450w CM not true power, Zotac 9600gt,160gb hdd,5x12cm fans

my setting, stock vcore, 2.66x10,2.1core for ram.. cpu:ram ratio 1:2

my story begins here, i try to push my proc to 3.2..eventually it failed me sometimes so i revert back to 2.66x10 ( i think dats the ori speed for 7300?)
ram, another problem for me. this ram when i bought suppose to be 5-5-515 timing ori. and only runs 800mhz by default.. as i check their oficial website for setting, i adjust it the same like they recon, 5-5-5-18 , 2.1vdimm..so i could get 1066mhz
agter all this setting i still 'smetimes' get halt when booting and my bios said error due to voltage/settings.. which part i done wrong or maybe some hardwares actually bottleneck my whole rig? psu not enuff juice? or my ram is screwing me around?

anyine could enlighten me?
Let's see break it down briefly:
OC'ing the proc to 3.2ghz is considered a moderate OC'ing for the E7300, that wouldn't do significant damage, the failure to P.O.S.T due to not enough Vcore to the E7300, commonly.. so that rules it out atm...
The Ram, its hard to tell bcoz I believe in this situation, the problem might not be the RAM, but the whole system configuration and the most apparent culprit atm is an un-updated BIOS, because I believe it "thinks" that a 4:5 divider is more stable than a 1:2.

The only way to narrow it down is if you could borrow another ram (800mhz) to see if the prob occurs, IF the 'halt' still occurs, then you at least have an idea where the problem comes from...the BIOS..
After you update the BIOS, there's still one more step, to see if the system stable after updating.
IF the 'halt' still occurs, then its the mobo, thats the only deduction that can be drawn from this troubleshoot...roughly.

Another thing not to be overlooked: The PSU.
Sometimes its just the PSU who's causing the menace, but it always slip people's minds because the PSU always comes across as the 'unusual suspect' from the distraction of toubleshooting the other things.(mobo,bios, ram, etc.)So if you can get your hands on another PSU atm, you should give it a try to narrow down the problem.
For testing, a fresh cap ayam PSU can be used, but just temporarily for testing only. happy.gif

OK bro, thats most of the troubleshoots you can DIY for now.

I hope you can do most of the suggested troubleshooting, which is enough to figure out the main villain, or villains.
It's worth it to do all things boring and tedious procedures, because it will get you closer to finding out what's up nod.gif

@farscope,
I'm still thinking what's going on with your situation atm, I wont say anything yet until I'm sure with the comments prior to you post. hmm.gif

Added on December 28, 2009, 2:50 am
QUOTE(hazairi @ Dec 28 2009, 02:10 AM)
have u tried running all the settings on default?
Sometimes with a 1066mhz ram, with default settings usually it sets the ram to 800mhz, so need to manually set the ram clockspeed to 1066mhz...

It's just the bios...probably needs flashing...but can't tell yet...

This post has been edited by JoBigShow: Dec 28 2009, 02:50 AM
JoBigShow
post Dec 28 2009, 12:19 PM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Dec 28 2009, 04:39 AM)
JoBigShow, may i know when you mean u boot up it takes 1 second and to shutdown it takes 1-2 seconds..do you mean to the bios or to the Disk with OS fullly loaded?
and another thing is when you turn off your computer completely, your cmos doesnt set the bios to the default ( this makes completely no sense). Your imagination quite power about the BIOS can quickly load default and then turn off and load restore OC setting.

Let me share with you. When you turn off your machine, the settings RUN AS settings are still stored in the bios. The BIOS is backed by a battery ( u know the round battery on your board). This same battery mentain's the time etc so you have the same exact config when you boot up. NVRAM is non volotile memory therefor IT NEEDS a battery!

Pls correct me if i'm wrong. Btw how old are you?
you mean u boot up it takes 1 second and to shutdown it takes 1-2 seconds..do you mean to the bios or to the Disk with OS fullly loaded?....

When power up, the system turns on (hangs) a second or two, shutdowns briefly for the same amount of time, then P.O.S.T. normally.
I've tried overclocking with two of my mobos, an Asus P5Q3, an Asus P5N-D and I think another Asus mobo, P5QPL-AM, and they all replicate the same process of 'P.O.S.T delay' that I have described, and that's something you should anticipated because how can any PC(not any that I know of) fully boot Windows in 2 seconds?

Ok, I might explained things a bit out of context regarding the 'reverting to default setting when PC is turned off', yes my imagination took the better of me when i try to explain it in analogy.
My, bad, I'm not a geek, I only able to project my interpretations subjectively or figuratively in that post.
Having said, I have spent hours researching on Asus mobo's (or at the least the one's I have overclocked) why it "delays the P.O.S.T." and can't find find any explanation, even ASUS themselves don't explain much of details.
(btw of course the battery saves the bios configuration, unless the mobo clears its RTC RAM by its self, which of course is impossible, unless the cmos battery is plain dead)

In essence, I tired to contribute to fellow forumer farscope what I know so far about this similar occurrence (which is natural process in my rig) if it ever to coincide in terms of my mobo's 'P.O.S.T. delay' behaviour,
in which pro-actively I'm hoping that it rectifies and not succumb to what we are sooo not fond off...hardware failure.

But then it occured that farscope's latest post indicates that my presumption were wrong, therefore narrows away from what I hope to be just a simple overclocking matter, into a situation more complicated and grim, but still trying to maintain that it is not a hardware failure, but of course foreshadowed by most people (who read his post) having the gut feeling it is a hardware failure, be it PSU or the motherboard, or etc. But I won't draw any conclusion yet until all possible troubleshoots has been done.

Anyways,
I hope you can donate an explanation prior to this so called 'post delay' on an OC'd configured mobo of mine? This would and will be very helpful.
Or more importantly figure out the solution of the distress forumer trying to figure out his situation... (farscope)

Why do you want to know my age? It's just an inappropriate question bro, especially with that sarcastic undertone.
Yes, I'm a 3 years old infant who manage to beat on a board with many buttons and think my parent's PC (that big metal box with string attached on the back and lights coming out from it) is a huge pacifier to play with and suck on hands.gif

Jokes, thnx for highlighting my mistake in that post, will edited it later....

Added on December 28, 2009, 12:26 pm
QUOTE(farscope @ Dec 28 2009, 11:09 AM)
been running default for a day now.. everything seems ok, the voltage did not fluctuate.. hmm.gif mobo problem?
mobo you say... it's could be the capacitors, vrm, mosfet, etc.
The capacitors (those one's next to the 775 socket) regulates voltage stability to the proc.
One thing I like to share, I've read that it's highly recommended Enabling LCC for a 45nm proc, which is the E7400.
Probably when you set to default, the AUTO setting for LCC is 'Enabled',dunno if this is related, but could be... hmm.gif

What else do you notice within the span of a day bro?

This post has been edited by JoBigShow: Dec 28 2009, 12:26 PM
JoBigShow
post Dec 28 2009, 01:11 PM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

QUOTE(evoangel @ Dec 28 2009, 01:00 PM)
JoBigShow, i must say u give good explanation for learners like me.. =)
Aren't we all learners my friend? nod.gif
It's good to educate each other for the sake of collective integrity of knowledge behold by the standards LY.Net..

JoBigShow
post Dec 29 2009, 12:19 AM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ Dec 28 2009, 09:40 PM)
after a day, everything seems normal under default.. voltage is normal.. rock stable..

i will try to revert back to my OC settings tomolo and see how it goes.. will keep u guys update..

apart from the POST delay and fluctuate voltage during idle, stress test and stress voltage all seems stable.. will try to confirm this tomolo when i revert back to OC settings..
This is sweet news, I recommend you enable the LCC, coz like i said before, its recommended for 45nm procs (like E7400)
Maybe this was the root of the cause of the problem....meaning did you remember that if you have the LCC enable/disable during the course when the Vcore fluctuated?
This is important data bro, hope you remember nod.gif
JoBigShow
post Dec 29 2009, 01:21 AM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ Dec 29 2009, 12:40 AM)
LLC is enabled after i lower the Vcore after OC.. remember i said without LLC i need a higher Vcore to get stable.. LLC enabled, i m able to achieve a stable lower vcore..

the fluctuate onli occurs recently.. or mayb i notice it recently cz my systems shown some instability.. but i run stress test, everything seems fine..
I just briefly type 'fluctuating Vcore' on the the good ol' Google and the results are plentiful, vary from the problem causes by an OC rig with bad casing airflow, to PSU ratings, to capacitors of the mobo has worn off resulting instability to the voltage supplied to the proc, etc.
There's more answers out there (for your situation) than in this thread alone bro, so surfing around the web might be more fruitful at time to time....

JoBigShow
post Dec 29 2009, 08:24 PM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

QUOTE(tesla_rage @ Dec 29 2009, 01:16 AM)
Hello, long time no see tongue.gif

I can do 4GHz, but I don't like the voltage. I am still looking for my lowest stable voltage when running 3.8GHz smile.gif
Mine stable with 3.8ghz @ 1.31ghz tongue.gif
But to be stable for 4ghz(400 x 10), I have to bump up to 1.41v rclxub.gif Thats a full 0.1v just to increase a mere 0.2ghz..so no point really.
I haven't given up though by lowering the FSB to 380, and multi to 10.5, but manage to stabilize it to 1.38v only.

IMO, anything above 1.3625v seems unnecessary for 24/7 (on 45nm) and desperate if you want to show off to you peers flex.gif, but for benching, once I briefly pump the E7400 to 1.45v, thats unrecommended, but like I said, for benching only.
I hit 4.2ghz that time but I never posted it on LYN because I never documented it (screenshots, prime95, etc.) for proof/evidence, and don't want to bench it that far ever again because it WAS a scary experience.. sweat.gif (constantly in my mind thinking if the proc ever gonna die on me... bye.gif )

Anyways bro, I believe you can get much lower vcore for 3.8ghz, keep us updated with your progress thumbup.gif
Since this it like a lottery, I will place a bet on 1.34v brows.gif
JoBigShow
post Dec 29 2009, 11:57 PM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

QUOTE(tesla_rage @ Dec 29 2009, 10:13 PM)
Like I said, I was still looking for my lowest stable voltage smile.gif

Well, you lose on the bet, I am running 1.328v stable tongue.gif Still, not as good as your chip smile.gif

Lost bet moneyflies.gif cry.gif
U cheated bro, I thought you gonna go for 400 X 9.5 laugh.gif
Anyways 1.328v is a good result thumbup.gif
U can go lower i think, but IMO i like to at least have a margin of 1 increment between the lowest stable voltage possible and instability...meaning my true lowest stable is 1.30v but I bump 1 increment to 1.31v.

Man my chip is not that good, its an angel at 3.8ghz, but a true deep~in~the~gut devil at 4ghz. tongue.gif
JoBigShow
post Dec 30 2009, 01:36 PM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Dec 30 2009, 09:34 AM)
3.8 to 4ghz normally require more voltage not worth it..
Yup, I tested 3.8ghz and 4ghz on SuperPie, 3Dmark Vantage and 06', etc. The difference are in the realm of 'micro'.. tongue.gif
So 3.8ghz @ 1.31v VS. 4.0ghz @ 1.41v, is obvious who is the real winner. But thats just my E7400, most probably there's couple of E7400s out there can manage to stabilize 4ghz under at least 1.3625v...
JoBigShow
post Jan 13 2010, 10:25 AM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

QUOTE(evoangel @ Jan 12 2010, 11:04 AM)
i tried it already.. but im stuck at VISTA loading bar there.. not error just the loading bar.. like forever couldnt boot in the password page so i restarted it..

btw, cm460 extreme psu only im using.. getting a true power later.. i wanna abuse this psu first.. =p

333 i think its ok at least i know it pass the POST..

1 stupid question.. does the power affected by using a single extension? i mean all my plugs,spekers, other peripherals using 1 single extension.. sometimes scared it will blow.. lol.. sommore my pc 24/7 on...
It all depends on how much stress the plug's fuse can withstand. Its not gonna blow up, just need to replace to new fuse if it cuts out. 1 piece of fuse is like RM0.70 in Tesco tongue.gif
Make sure you spend well of power extension, especially those 'power surge' ones. When you say 'blow up', it usually cause by natural occurrence like lightning, so there's more reason you should consider what I've said.
My extension cost me RM89.90, but I'm free of any worries spent on that ext. rclxm9.gif
JoBigShow
post Jan 14 2010, 09:36 AM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

plush, once you've done with finding harmony in CPU OC'ing, now you still got one more big step to go... the PL as -pWs- mentioned (as in Performance level).
PL's purpose is to tighten up the whole system, meaning to tighten up the interaction between the CPU and the RAM and ICH, etc.

For Asus board, it's called 'Ai Transaction Booster'.

Usually the default PL for a system is '12'...you want to get stable at '8' as a starter.
To get to '7', you need to set the FSB to 5:4, so for your system the for instance to need to:
OC the RAM to 1004mhz, FSB @ 400, FSB Strap @ 266. I considered this one of the ultimate combo for C2D cpu with DDR2 800 ram, and P45 or higher chipset of course. I think P35 is considerable.
You can try other divider like 1:1, 3:4, 5:6, but for your hardware I recommend 5:4
If fail to boot, it's because one of the components is the weak link.
'6' is the closest to the 'holy grail' of PL tweaking, this one oftenly requires good mobo..(e.g. Biostar TPower, Maximus Formula, Rampage, etc.)
'5' is the best PL any system can achieve, but need pretty good hardware to maintain stability.
Below '5' are only threaded by Sifus and master overclockers.

I can go as far as '7', but a bit dodgy, so got it to '8' for everyday use, most probably due to my 'Kingston HyperX DDR2 800 mhz' being the weak link (OC to 1004mhz @ 2.1v)...need to get OCZ or Corsair rams to seal the deal..

JoBigShow
post Jan 14 2010, 10:35 AM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ Jan 14 2010, 10:07 AM)
KVR 800 can go 1000?  rclxub.gif wont it overheat?  sweat.gif
Can buy those RAM sink, (range from RM9 - RM25) they do a pretty good job though.
Buy yeah, I didn't realize the guy using the good ol' KVR. doh.gif
Probably without the heatsink 900mhz is alright, but need to get up to 1000mhz for best PL setting for C2D and Dual core CPU's.
FYI, there's a manufacture,(I forgot its name) produced a perfectly 1000mhz DDR2 ram (yes, not 1066mhz) to cater to the optimum 2 cores proc for PL tweaking.
There's something special about the combo of 400FSB + 5:4 + 1000mhz RAM to achieve low PL value...for 2 core procs especially.

@plush, I re-opened one of my closed thread which might enlighten you with this PL thingy, as well as RAM timing tightening, tRD, etc.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=5&t=1255768&st=0

This article, if you read it and study it carefully, you be in a totally new level of OC'ing:
http://www.anandtech.com/mb/showdoc.aspx?i=3208&p=1

OC'ing the CPU is just the first step like I mentioned, the final step is the whole system tweaking. nod.gif
JoBigShow
post Jan 14 2010, 01:16 PM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jan 14 2010, 12:53 PM)
can.. d9 chips..
notworthy.gif D9 notworthy.gif
These Epida chips are pretty lousy.
At least Kingston should use D9 for the HyperX series, but not.
Dunno where to find these chips anymore, it became pretty much extinct in the market during course of the year 2007 I think cry.gif
JoBigShow
post Jan 15 2010, 07:45 PM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

QUOTE(tesla_rage @ Jan 15 2010, 03:01 PM)
Are you talking about these 4gb rams? They are rated to run exactly at 1000mhz.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=162127
Bro where did you bought these RAM?!! drool.gif
I can't find them in KL, or probably I'm not looking hard enough. tongue.gif

I really need this RAM to get a lower PL since my Kingston HyperX 800mhz is "rattled under pressure", can't get my system to stabilize with them.
At least with those G-Skill I can get stable @ PL 7. notworthy.gif
Underclocking a 1066mhz RAM doesn't quite do the job for me, i need a perfect 1000mhz RAM...

Can you recommend me where to get these RAMs ?(preferable in downtown KL)
I'm in the search for F2-8000CL5D 2GBPK, (2Gbs in enough for me)
JoBigShow
post Jan 15 2010, 08:23 PM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

QUOTE(tesla_rage @ Jan 15 2010, 08:04 PM)
I got them from kingmaker like more than 1 year ago tongue.gif Dont know if its still available, you can ask him yourself smile.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry14962281

EDIT: Just noticed that the thread is now closed. Sorry mate!
No prob... but now I'm poisoned! drool.gif
I'll manage to get those RAMs somehow brows.gif

Anyone else who read this, I would like to propose a trade of my 4 months old HyperX with F2-8000CL5D 2GBPK thumbup.gif

JoBigShow
post Jan 16 2010, 05:37 PM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

QUOTE(evoangel @ Jan 16 2010, 11:40 AM)
im poison too =.=.. btw im using hyperx oso.. just dat mine is 4gb and 1066mhz..

i felt like a waste actually to purchase 1066mhz.. bcoz if wan to get 1:1 timing i need to get my fsb up to 500 at least.. and my board max is 400 fsb only =.= sighs..
Don't worry, actually your 10066mhz is more than happy to be underclocked, it can run tighter timing without issue @ 4-4-4-12 with stability if underclock to 801mhz.

Run Everest Memory Benchmark, which is more faster:
1) 1066mhz @ 4-4-4-12 with default PL
2) 801mhz @ 5-5-5-15 with PL 8~10.
3) 801mhz @ 4-4-4-12 with PL 8~10> ( I doubt you can get it stabilize with this, but if you do, than it's awesome)
4) 1200mhz @ 4-4-4-12 with default PL
5) 1200mhz @5-5-5-15 with PL 9~11
ETC.

This is what I can think right now.....

1:1 is old school approach, really, it was made obligatory during DRR1 era if you want to OC the ram, DDR2 is a bit different nowadays..
5:4 is as great a ratio as 1:1 ( that is for 2 core procs with DDR2), so can be said for for other ratios depending on your hardware.

For everyday use I OC my ram to 1066mhz @ 2.1v with PL10 @ 5-5-5-15.

BTW, I'm pretty much off topic because this has nothing to do with OC'ing procs anymore, but the whole system performance. whistling.gif
JoBigShow
post Jan 17 2010, 09:22 PM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

QUOTE(evoangel @ Jan 17 2010, 12:57 AM)
not my shop.. but i like enjoy coffee and surf lyn sitting there.. =p

my part time leisure.. and of course i cant smoke inside my house.. u understand lor..

btw, i still dun get the PL thingy here.. does everyboard have it?to be more specific im using giga..
I c, I never owned a Gigabybte board.. I only know much of the Asus mobos.
I lik Asus bios settings(specifically 'Ai Tweaker'), it's very nice to OC, especially to do with this PL thingy.

The PL thing you need some time of research hours, dunno what it's called in Giga boards, but for now should un~leash the potential of that HyperX 1066mhz.

Now that you mastered CPU overclocking, you should move to RAM OC'ing.
In RAM OC'ing, either tighten the ram timing or increase the clock speed while tweaking the voltage(vDimm) for stability.
(I dunno if the HyperX can do both tight timing and high clocks at the same time...at least stabilization is concerned.)
Then run prime95 or any proper memory stress test software to test the ram out. biggrin.gif
After that, you need a memory benchmark test, e.g. 'Everest memory test & benchmark' to compare which configuration is best.

Sound complicated? Not really, just need time grasp the idea.
Even a guy like me who takes these thing as one of my many hobbies took less than 6 months to learn adequately to OC the PC.. tongue.gif
Your HyperX is crying to be OC'ed, even a little is good enough... nod.gif

Btw, I like that Old Town Hazelnut Coffee thumbup.gif drool.gif
JoBigShow
post Apr 3 2010, 07:28 PM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

QUOTE(deep_hunter @ Apr 3 2010, 04:36 PM)
hye, this is my first time im post here. usually i just read the all ur post to gain knowledge. then i try to oc my proc, E7200 to

vcore=1.28v at cpuid. 1.31v at bios
multi= 9.5 x 375
ram= kingston hyperX ram at 750mhz 5-5-5-15
vdimm= 1.9v at bios
FSB:DRAM= 1:1

the problem is i cant go higher fsb. if i go higher i cant boot into windows.would like to ask where is my mistake.this is my first time using giga mobo and new to it.how to make ram speed constant.plz can someone share ur experiance and knowledge
The Vcore, still can increase up to 1.32v.

Anyways, I see the rams is downclocked to 750mhz to synchronize with the FSB of 375. Thsi is to maintain that 1:1 ratio.

Bro, try change the FSB to 400, with ram divider to 333, this will allow the ram to be set at it's default clockspeed of 800mhz.
And change the multiplier from 9.5 to 9, this will OC your proc to 3.6ghz, which is a pretty good OC.

Other settings like vdimm should be default speed, but it's better to set it manually than AUTO, find out what's the ram's default vdimm at kingston's site and set to it respectively. BTW I'm using the same RAM and I set it just a little above default: 1.84v.

Always monitor your temps bro when running a stress test. Make sure it doesn't go above 75c when running test like prime95, etc.

Bro, now the best thing is to always update here in this thread so we guys over here can help you out... thumbup.gif
JoBigShow
post Apr 4 2010, 11:38 AM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

QUOTE(deep_hunter @ Apr 4 2010, 09:50 AM)
changes i made:
change multiplier 9.5 to 9.0
change fsb 370 to 400
change vcore to 1.32v
change mch freq latch from 400 to 333
ram timing still the same
vdimm change to 1.8 to 2.00 since in data sheet mention kingston made test at 2v with 5-5-5-15

got bsod after starting windows.said hardware error if im not mistaken.sometimes it hang during starting windows
Ok,bro, I took couple of minutes Google'ing around and I come up with couple of rough ideas:
1) Most probably your E7200 needs lots of voltage pumps into the Vcore to OC above 3.6ghz. Some rough values I can give you is 1.34v~1.38v and above..
2) Your E7200 can't hold FSB above 375.(when combined with specific mobo, in your case Gigabyte) But I've check and some guys can't get the E7200 stable on 400X9 but stable on 420X8.5, do give this a try.
3) Your Gigabyte mobo needs to update bios, from what I've read the Gig mobo have quite an issue when paired up with the E7200..

Do read this, it's a review on E7200, on the section of Overclocking:
http://www.legitreviews.com/article/690/12/

the problem is i cant go higher fsb. if i go higher i cant boot into windows.would like to ask where is my mistake.this is my first time using giga mobo and new to it.how to make ram speed constant.plz can someone share ur experiance and knowledge

IMO, I think you gotta do an "FSB hunt", meaning you have to find another FSB value other than 375 and able to be stable on higher fsb, AND with different multiplier, like 8.5 for instance.
But always keep in mind that the odds are that FSB can be set above 400fsb are possible, for example like 420 X 8.5, etc.

You have to try different combo of fsb X multiplier..

I get the feeling your situation is more trickier than most of E7xxx users here. An E7400 would be much easier to OC... tongue.gif
JoBigShow
post Apr 6 2010, 04:08 PM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

QUOTE(deep_hunter @ Apr 4 2010, 11:38 PM)
yea..i also read somewhere these guys OC E7200 to 36.ghz at stock voltage.to go more they increase the vcore.but im not sure coz afraid that i might burn it
btw ill try ur recommendation later.not have enough time rite now..ill keep update later..thx btw for helping me...

Added on April 6, 2010, 7:37 ammy progress report..LoL
i manage to pull 400mhz from my E7200 at 1.33v at bios. but cpuid shows 1.28~1.29V..whcih one is da true value?but to make it stable and bootable i drop the multiplier from 9.5 to 8.

as suggested by JoBigShow to increase fsb beyond 400, it cannot be done yet...due to time constraint..LoL. but its true u need to pump a lot V into Vcore..but some people can do it with lower Vcore...

btw the temp, 40'c at idle 60'c at load dring prime95. all 3 prime95 for 7hours
multiplier 8.0
fsb  400
vcore to 1.33v in bios but cpuid shows 1.28~1.29v
mch freq latch 400
ram timing still the same
vdimm auto
The load temps are pretty okay for 3.2ghz, well as you know it, all procs are uniquely different to one another, those guys who manage to OC with high clocks and low vcore are very fortunate...

Sweet, actually to get the FSB to 400 is an achievement! Now you can run your HyperX at its intended stock speed of 800mhz. rclxms.gif (if you did select the dram freq. to 800mhz ,that is...)
btw, with an FSB of 400 and mch freq latch 400, you can OC your HyperX to 1000mhz brows.gif , but that's for later... laugh.gif
I OC'ed my HyperX from 800mhz to 961mhz (you need to set the latch to 333 with fsb of 400 to get this...

The differences in Vcore value in Cpuid and bios probably caused by Vdroop. You can improve the Vdroop by: Enable LLC (Load Line Calibration) in your Giga's bios.
Actually LLC is encourage for 45nm chips, from and article I used to read, it's healthier for the chip. (too long to explain, just Google it up bro)
This goes for CPU Spread Spectrum, enable it for insurance, and disable it for CPU overclocking ability.
FYI, I set both LLC and CPU S.S enabled on my mobo, it doesn't interfere much at all with OC'ing...just that I would like to keep my proc healthy. wink.gif

Anyways, your ultimate goal I think should get your proc to boot up @ 400X9.5, 3.8ghz. (at most below Intel's recommended specs of 1.3625v)
Although I think 400X9, 3.6ghz is good enough for the E7200.

So your next logical step is to get the proc stable at 400X9 (3.6ghz) in order to give some hints if you can achieve 3.8ghz...

I hope the Vcore that needs to stabilize @ 3.6ghz is much lesser than 1.3625v, because that way, it will give you much headroom needed to pump juice to your proc when you decide to go to the next step...oc'ing it to 3.8ghz. brows.gif

This post has been edited by JoBigShow: Apr 6 2010, 04:12 PM
JoBigShow
post Apr 7 2010, 01:25 AM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ Apr 6 2010, 08:43 PM)
1.45V to get 400 x 9.5 is kinda high, its quite a big jump from yr 400x9.. sweat.gif but anyway, good try.. wink.gif

load at 70 for prime95 is bit too high, but cz yr vcore is high, so i think its ok..

try run linx with that setting and i can guarantee yr temps will shoot above 90.. brows.gif
I think with Linx, the guy's temps might reach 100c with kind of Vcore paired with air cooling... sweat.gif
And if so, it will reach TJ Max and auto-shutdown during Linx test-run rounds doh.gif

@deep_hunter
no need to try Linx if you are patient with using prime95, Linx makes the long hours of test in prime95 done in half an hour or more, but will rev-up your E7200 temp very high.
Btw, are you sure 1.45v is the lowest you can get stable on E7200?
Try lowering it by increments until you stumble on errors during prime95...I hope you can get lower bro..1.45v is indeed an unhealthy voltage for the 45nm proc...

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0330sec    1.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:28 PM