Chubby Hamsters V8, Rolling furballs

sangels
post Jun 1 2008, 11:35 PM

Too cute not to fall in love with
829 posts

QUOTE(Elayne @ Jun 1 2008, 11:20 PM)
Ohh,really?How to indentify which is syrian type? But as I've saw in few shops,they don't have those winter white you've mentioned. Mostly are mixed colours like brown and grey nod.gif  How much is the price for winter white & syrian? I saw the cheapest price they sell in 1 of the shop are just RM15 for each hamsters (small size) Is that a reasonable price or there is something wrong with the hamsters with this kind of prices? blink.gif Hehe,they nibble that time I said "Ahh,they bite me!!" Lolx,noob me tongue.gif
You can not define their types with the price as different shops would have different price. Syrian is the cheapest of all. You can get range from RM8 to RM20 depends where you get it from. I can even get free Syrian brows.gif Can say something wrong with them just because of cheap. Hamsters are cheap but their accessories are expensive. sweat.gif I can buy more than 10 syrians with the money I spent for one tank with the accessories.

QUOTE(neshie @ Jun 1 2008, 11:22 PM)
erm, then her latest batch also dun have?  blink.gif  omg i think i seriously need to make my "blurness" disease go away.
hmm. i dunno where to pinjam saw. =/
sangels u think if the ventilation holes on the cover enough? (i poked ALOOOOT of holes  doh.gif )
How many holes??? How many percentage of the lid is covered still? Better modified it with the mesh. You can't see it when you have the lid closed, anything happen to it you will not noticed as fast as you can also.

QUOTE(Elayne @ Jun 1 2008, 11:26 PM)
TQ for all the infos biggrin.gif  I am a step closer in knowing hamsters laugh.gif  Wow,your KIKO (correct me if I'm wrong) in your avatar is really cutee worr. Hamster can grow till how big de oh? Some hamsters are soo tiny..if I lost them running on the ground,then cham lor sweat.gif
The avatar is JackJack, my first Syrian. Bought him from Pet Shack. Very tame and good boy, chubby and smart also. Kiko is my Syrian girl. I've posted some pics of all my Syrians in the first page of this thread. You can have a look. They are all cuties. wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif Syrian can grow till 6inches or more in length. If you feed them well since young, they can grow very fat. JackJack is weighted 130+g and 6.5 inches in length.

This post has been edited by sangels: Jun 1 2008, 11:45 PM
sangels
post Jun 1 2008, 11:53 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(Jamien @ Jun 1 2008, 11:46 PM)
smile.gif There are many breeders right here in LYN. I think the best way to tame a hamster is while it's still young, in fact from before it leaves its mother. So getting from a home breeder would make your experience of keeping a hamster somuch more pleasant and interesting.

sad.gif I bought a robo from a pet shop. He was very pretty and his fur was unusually bright in color so I was very attracted. but its been 6 months and he won't stay on my hand for more than 3 seconds. He's been traumatized from a young age at the pet store. It would break your heart if you don't have the patience to deal with this kind of thing.

Prevent such things by getting a tame one. So always always get from a home breeder if you can, no matter which breed you want, whichever animal it is.

smile.gif Which breed are you interested in?
Home breeder doesn't mean can produce very tame hamsters also. Some of the home breeder here just breed for money and do not really tame their hamsters before selling to other people. Pet shop like Pet Shack do have tame and half tame hamsters. So we must know who are we buying from.

QUOTE(neshie @ Jun 1 2008, 11:50 PM)
looks like this user posted image  icon_rolleyes.gif
Still can make some more holes in between the holes. The more the better.

This post has been edited by sangels: Jun 1 2008, 11:54 PM
sangels
post Jun 2 2008, 12:18 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(mikelim2020 @ Jun 2 2008, 12:11 AM)
neshie , can u pm me afta yr hammy hunting trip? if possible i wanna meet u at pet shack and grab some stuff for our new syrian together~ can share ideas !  rclxms.gif  pet shack drill holes for water bottle for free rite?? wat if i bring the tank by myself??
Wah Lao Eh!! Like that also can ar? They drill for free because we buy tank from them la. Where got such thing??? You want their service but you don't want to pay and what they wanna earn ar? grumble.gif
sangels
post Jun 2 2008, 12:36 AM

829 posts

Nimeewon

Here you go:
Kiko's latest pictures:
She is 'geh boh-ing' with the camera outside the tank.

Look at her size compare with the bowl now. shocking.gif

sangels
post Jun 2 2008, 12:45 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(erwhey @ Jun 2 2008, 12:41 AM)
lol looks so healthy and fat  rclxms.gif
Yes. Compare with the time I first got her. Still so small as she is only 3+ weeks old. Now she is going to be 2 months. Getting smarter also. sweat.gif
sangels
post Jun 2 2008, 12:54 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(anderyna @ Jun 2 2008, 12:49 AM)
getting smarter in the sense of escaping?? blink.gif
She is experimenting how to climb and escape. Trying very hard.... More and more naughty now. When I wanna take her pics, she keep moving and running wheel, when I stop taking then she pose there for long time and not move, all nice pose some more. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
sangels
post Jun 2 2008, 01:04 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(anderyna @ Jun 2 2008, 01:00 AM)
wub.gif wub.gif that is interesting
If you ever lost any hammies where they ran away from the tank, you'll know that's not too interesting also. I've lost 2 syrians, 1 solid cream and 1 solid sable. 2 small cute fella. Fed them till fat and tame already then gone missing. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif All of my Syrians now are also smart especially JackJack, that's why he is staying in ZooZone2, he still trying to jump and get to the top everyday. sweat.gif
sangels
post Jun 2 2008, 01:36 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(mikelim2020 @ Jun 2 2008, 01:13 AM)
can you show me what Zoozone tank looks like??
This is the set up once I get the tank.

This is the set up after added some accessories.

You can also google and look at the pic with a nicer view. biggrin.gif It's from Hagen.

Added on June 2, 2008, 1:39 am
QUOTE(IcedNyior @ Jun 2 2008, 01:32 AM)
Thanks to Google Images
kaori is a WW? Looks big, like a small sized syrian. So cuteeee cute cute cuteeee tongue.gif Looks a bit like mine also - agouti rite? Like a chipmunk

Added on June 2, 2008, 1:34 ambtw is that a 1.5ft tank?
This is ZooZone1. Another bigger tank of ZooZone is ZooZone2 which equivalent to 3ft in length.

This post has been edited by sangels: Jun 2 2008, 01:39 AM
sangels
post Jun 2 2008, 10:18 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(11Jan @ Jun 2 2008, 09:06 AM)
haha! i like those hamsters that sleep like that! and when you kacau them, they don't care, they just go on sleeping... attitude, man.. how cute is that! but will they continue to sleep like that when they are older? or is this something that only babies do? cos most hamsters which i see sleeping like that are younger ones
Hamsters sleep like this when they feel safe and not caution to anything. They sleep on their back no matter what age are they. biggrin.gif All my hamsters sleep this way and they are all adult.

Added on June 2, 2008, 10:21 am
QUOTE(mikelim2020 @ Jun 2 2008, 10:17 AM)
thx sangels.. i will consider Zoozone.. so nice~  your display pic is JackJack rite?? izzit a cinnamon banded??
You have to consider whether you want ZooZone1 or ZooZone2. Yes again, it's JackJack and he is cinnamon banded syrian. That's the most common color that you can found in the market. For me ZooZone2 is a bit too big for 1 syrian as it's for GP or Bunny. You can go for ZooZone1 (the pink color one in the pic).

The most important things are the tank and the wheel. Make sure you buy your hamster a good wheel. You can consider Wodent wheel or Sanko wheel. Both almost the same price. You can get everything in Pet Shack with good price if you get everything from them. smile.gif

This post has been edited by sangels: Jun 2 2008, 10:25 AM
sangels
post Jun 2 2008, 10:29 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(mikelim2020 @ Jun 2 2008, 10:25 AM)
thx for your help too~ rclxms.gif sangel's hammy surely is hapi n healthy.. its so big!!! very nice luking tank...

Added on June 2, 2008, 10:27 am
reli? can bargain at pet shack?? yours is a Zoozone 1 or 2?? i like da white colour~
Nice money to have nice looking tank, my house not so big to have all of them staying in ZooZone. Expensive also if I wanna get all of them one each moneyflies.gif Already spent RMxxxx on my hamsters and fat-tailed gerbil already. sweat.gif sweat.gif

Added on June 2, 2008, 10:31 am
QUOTE(mikelim2020 @ Jun 2 2008, 10:25 AM)
thx for your help too~ rclxms.gif sangel's hammy surely is hapi n healthy.. its so big!!! very nice luking tank...

Added on June 2, 2008, 10:27 am
reli? can bargain at pet shack?? yours is a Zoozone 1 or 2?? i like da white colour~
Mine is ZooZone2. It come with white and green. ZooZone1 come in pink and blue. Not so good with white color, nice to see but not nice when it get dirty and cleaning like mad. rclxub.gif

No need bargain, they'll give you discount automatically when you buy more. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif That's why I'll make all my way to buy from them as it's not near for me to get there, but supporting good pet shop, it's worth the money and effort. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by sangels: Jun 2 2008, 10:34 AM
sangels
post Jun 2 2008, 10:38 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(mikelim2020 @ Jun 2 2008, 10:34 AM)
thx thx~ i wll consider a zoozone1 then... any1 here buy vitamins to put in water for their hammy?? izzit useful??
No need for that if you feed your hammies with fresh veges and fruits everyday. With Foo's Nutri Smoothies, no need to buy those expensive vitamin as they don't really drink much water if they eat fresh food. Go for the Nutri Smoothie is sufficient enough. Can get it from Pet Shack also as it's for sale already.You'll find you need to throw the water away after few days with all the vitamin inside, just like throwing your money. If you insist you wanna buy, I can sell mine...kekeke... brows.gif I bought it last time when I'm still a noob and thought my hamster must have it unsure.gif
sangels
post Jun 2 2008, 10:46 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(mikelim2020 @ Jun 2 2008, 10:42 AM)
haha~ since u taught me ed, i wouldnt buy then.. wakkaka~ i tot they will get wet tail or sakit perut if feed fresh every day??
If you feed them from young, they wouldn't. If a adult hamster suddenly given fresh everyday with large amount then they'll get diarrhea.
sangels
post Jun 2 2008, 09:32 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(abang brother @ Jun 2 2008, 10:57 AM)
Can i see your setup? biggrin.gif
Here you go:
This is Kiko's tank.
sangels
post Jun 3 2008, 12:24 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jun 2 2008, 03:35 PM)
Those black and white are RC.

IN malaysia, black banded syrian is very rare coz black is a different gene. Sable is more common.
Then I'll be very lucky to have my late Fummofu..... biggrin.gif ---> wub.gif ----> sad.gif ----> cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif Miss him so much...

QUOTE(anderyna @ Jun 2 2008, 08:48 PM)
but both ruby eyes is it rare??
I think my JackJack have ruby eyes if I'm not mistaken... unsure.gif unsure.gif

QUOTE(IcedNyior @ Jun 2 2008, 10:26 PM)
Yea, quite surprisingly it doesnt bite the wodent wheel. Perhaps the plastic tastes yukky. haha! I do agree about the peeing tho.

That's a really nice setup. quite similar to mine but I don't hv that much bowls. And i put my food bowl (which is actually an old ceramic ashtray that was never used) under the water bottle coz I think my ww can't really reach it well.

How come you have 3 bowls? dried food, fresh food & smoothie is it?
I've 4 bowls in the tank now. 1 for toilet, 1 for Prestige, 1 for fresh food and 1 for smoothie. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(IcedNyior @ Jun 2 2008, 10:30 PM)
if my mom knows that I spend 68 bucks on a hamster wheel, she'll go beserk. Haha! Not to mention all the food, bedding, ect.

can't wait for my hamster from nezu. super excited biggrin.gif

I have a funny story. My Grandmother from my mom's side came to the house the other day and she saw my sister feeding the hamster. Then she asked in Cantonese, 'whats that? A mouse?" then my mom answered "its a pet hamster. She bought it from the petstore." Then my grandma said something like "eyerrr...you give me rm1 also I don't want"

haha
Errr.... Better not to let my parents know also. I got 2 Sanko wheels and 3 Wodent wheels. sweat.gif sweat.gif

QUOTE(IcedNyior @ Jun 2 2008, 10:36 PM)
July/August I hope. Im going to get a 1.5 ft tank, a normal wheel + accessories to put my current WW in and put the syrian into the 2ft tank with Wodent wheel I hv now.

Oh i forgot to ask, Sangels, is that timothy hay i see on the bottom right next to the water bottle? what does the hamster do with it? Eat ahh?
Yes, it's timothy hay. They like to make nest and sleep on it, chew chew sometimes.

QUOTE(vergas @ Jun 2 2008, 11:17 PM)

2 months is a long time.... especially if you keep doing this....

Aiiii... I wanna to go sleep early...
2 months is a long time??? doh.gif doh.gif I've been waiting even she got the breeding pairs. Since last year. Still waiting. shakehead.gif

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Jun 2 2008, 11:18 PM)
haha... i hope i can get to petshack or who knows if nezu got for sale. i will want one. hehe..
You slowly wait hah...kakaka... tongue.gif

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Jun 2 2008, 11:26 PM)
arghhh... i dont think i can even wait for the next litter coz too many in booking list. haha... if want also must wait half a year. =.= die de... petshack! i might be coming for it. hehe... hopefully got sable banded.
Half a year? i don't think so... shakehead.gif

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Jun 2 2008, 11:58 PM)
send to petshack. hehehe

Added on June 2, 2008, 11:59 pmmine i dont have to send. they already say mine is weird looking syrian+mouse. haha... badly shaped and its the end of the world for us. sob sob... just kidding. i love jojo eventhough its a mousy look syrian with badly constructed body and weird looking shape. wakakkaka
Well, bad structure in hamster is not a big deal as people simply breed their hamsters without looking at their quality. Bad structure in hamsters just like ugly face on humans, not a big problem, why are you still taking it seriously? Jojo do look cute also what.
sangels
post Jun 3 2008, 12:31 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jun 3 2008, 12:28 AM)
hahha Sangels don't like that lah.. i know its my bad...make u waiting..
tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif You so bad la, people already don't want to remember and pretend to forget, you still purposely remind me. I already died again and again already. Antidote from getting other Syrians is you! Keep remind myself can not buy cos I'm gonna to have 2 from you, must get ready..... Keep checking them....make sure she get pregnant ya!!!

Added on June 3, 2008, 12:32 am
QUOTE(JonYeap @ Jun 3 2008, 12:30 AM)
make u wait.... =.= not waiting. kaka...
I am waiting....

This post has been edited by sangels: Jun 3 2008, 12:32 AM
sangels
post Jun 3 2008, 12:36 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(Helena1509 @ Jun 3 2008, 12:33 AM)
nezu can help me justify my hammies breed if i bring them 2 petshack?
I think you better ask Crazymouse as Nezu is more an expert in her Mongolian Gerbils... and Syrians...
sangels
post Jun 3 2008, 06:38 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(Helena1509 @ Jun 3 2008, 01:52 AM)
I kno i cant mix diff breed 2gether.Dat is y i wanna identify wat breed they r so dat if i wanna buy new hammies i kno which breed 2 buy
Even the same breed doesn't mean can mix just like that. There's ways of introduction to both of the hammies before really mix them up or else they will fight also. Correct me if I'm wrong as I only keep Syrians which is solitary, no problem at all as I only need to separate each one of them. tongue.gif
sangels
post Jun 3 2008, 08:12 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jun 3 2008, 05:32 PM)
shape doesn't do anything with inbreed. don't get it wrong.
just leave it there see how it goes...  try a few days see any changes.. update me ya.
Agreed. Bad structure is just like people who are not good looking. Inbreeding will produce abnormal pups which means the pups may have hairless, genetic problem, cacat and so on, not bad structure.

#Jon
Your JOJO is just not bear bear look. Just like those show quality hamsters have bear bear look and non bear bear look hamsters are not qualified for show quality, just like a beauty contest, not everyone can qualified. Do not mislead other people of 'cacat' with 'bad structure'.

Added on June 3, 2008, 8:14 pm
QUOTE(mikelim2020 @ Jun 3 2008, 04:33 PM)
Reporting in to Nezu ! today i got Uncle Taro's smoothie from Petshack(papaya and carrot) my WW pearl (Candy) dun seems to like it.. sad.gif  she juz sniff at it and walk away... i tried to hand feed her oso she dun  eat...  i will buy a sweet corn flavour next time i go to pet shack.. hope she will like it..

Syrians ther are so cute n fat ~ rclxms.gif
All my hammies also like that cos they don't used to it. Leave the smoothie till next morning and see how. Repeat it for few days, I'm sure your hammy will eat it. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by sangels: Jun 3 2008, 08:14 PM
sangels
post Jun 3 2008, 11:51 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(neshie @ Jun 3 2008, 10:22 PM)
Thanks blurjoey. i actually bought that wheel from a forumer. how much would a sanko wheel cost? ><
Sanko wheel is almost the same price with Wodent wheel. CAn get it from Pet Shack also.

Please post in Garage Sales.

QUOTE(shenshenshen @ Jun 3 2008, 11:34 PM)
yeahhh.....like i using now chipsi classic.....sometimes stinks ohhhh....becos of the pee i duno la.....after tat okay d.....tats why i kenot put inside my room....cos i am staying in hostel....and everybody noes how big hostel room is la rite? .....so when i come bak from class smells like my own toilet (w/o flushing)
All bedding will be stink with their pee.

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Jun 3 2008, 11:37 PM)
hmmm... the one nezu use in the pic. that is cat litter rite? breeder celect... but where to find. haha
QUOTE(shenshenshen @ Jun 3 2008, 11:39 PM)
yeah...i wan bedding like nezu wan....the wan like twigs wan...i like tat....wat isit callled? and where to get it??
Thats' Breeder Celect. You can also get Back 2 Nature (B2N) as both are the same material. Go to any big pet shop or Pet Shack and look at the cat section and you can find it. Google or visit Pet Shack website to get the picture of the packaging. More expensive than chippsy as it's much better than chippsy. Can last how long? It's really depends how much you use and how frequent you change the bedding.

This post has been edited by sangels: Jun 3 2008, 11:58 PM
sangels
post Jun 3 2008, 11:57 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Jun 3 2008, 11:45 PM)
chipsi wood shaving?
QUOTE(JonYeap @ Jun 3 2008, 11:47 PM)
haha... rich gal like u no problem lor. for me, i got plenty of pets to feed. i am not complaining, but i am just saying, must jimat ma. coz family dont bother to give extra pocket money for pets. haha... got to study and work for myself. ok, guess i will combine breeder celect and corn cobs. hehe
I thought you are the one who wanna buy show quality Syrian and wanna give the best to your pets once you keeping them? Then gotta pay the price already lor... wink.gif Wanna get quality stuffs and need to pay for that price. Woody pet can be use but it's dusty and some hamster do allergy to it as Crazymouse did mentioned before if I'm not mistaken. Corncobs will mold and you need to be careful and get the wet bedding out. Try not to use chippsy if your syrian are long haired as all the shavings will stuck on their hair and make their hair tangle d and you'll have hard time to undo it. It'll make your hamsters fur not nice as well.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0557sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:08 AM