Chubby Hamsters V8, Rolling furballs
jayniel
Jun 14 2008, 02:11 AM
sigh.. my first syrian.. i didnt know wat was the cause, so i dunno wat to do but just watch him die.. got hamster die for no reason 1 meh? it was barely a day since i bought him.. sigh, reli bad feeling, now have to bury him at this hour.. btw, guess i didnt mention earlier.. after i bought him, on the way back, i saw that he have the 'circling' neurological disorder.. and i was thinking, ah, nvm lah, just teman him till his last day.. why la his last day is the day i met him » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « he looks normal.. no injuries, nothing.. This post has been edited by jayniel: Jun 14 2008, 02:13 AM
Jamien
Jun 14 2008, 02:14 AM
QUOTE(mikelim2020 @ Jun 14 2008, 02:09 AM) v reli need to learn skill to pick hamster...  Basically I pick a hammie that's looking very active with bright eyes and a clean looking fur. I don't usually like sleeping hammies. They could be sleeping because they were sick. Then I choose the attitude and temperament I like the most in the few very active ones. Then I choose color if I still have a choice.  So far this works for me. One of the few times I choose color over temperament. Make me very regret when they're so timid. But at least neither of them have been sick before. Jayniel... It can't be helped. It wasn't your fault. He would probably have died eventually anyway.  It wasn't meant to be. At least he had an owner who cared about him before he passed on. This post has been edited by Jamien: Jun 14 2008, 02:17 AM
mikelim2020
Jun 14 2008, 02:15 AM
he is nt young thou... he looks big for me...
jamien, how u test thier temperament? put yr hand to them? wat if they bite u? bt whenever i go petshop, syrians sure sleeps 1 wor.. neva c active syrians b4.. even in etshack.. mayb i owaz go in da daytime...
This post has been edited by mikelim2020: Jun 14 2008, 02:19 AM
jayniel
Jun 14 2008, 02:18 AM
QUOTE(Jamien @ Jun 14 2008, 02:14 AM)  Basically I pick a hammie that's looking very active with bright eyes and a clean looking fur. I don't usually like sleeping hammies. They could be sleeping because they were sick. Then I choose the attitude and temperament I like the most in the few very active ones. Then I choose color if I still have a choice.  So far this works for me. One of the few times I choose color over temperament. Make me very regret when they're so timid. But at least neither of them have been sick before. all in the tank were sleeping.. it's normal cos hamsters do sleep a lot.. but when i carried him on the spot, he was too active, trying to get off my hand.. untamed like that.. quite suicidal too.. simply wanna jump off my hand without looking down.. Added on June 14, 2008, 2:19 amQUOTE(mikelim2020 @ Jun 14 2008, 02:15 AM) he is nt young thou... he looks big for me... bt whenever i go petshop, syrians sure sleeps 1 wor.. neva c active syrians b4.. even in etshack.. mayb i owaz go in da daytime... he is young.. i've seen bigger syrians, but this is quite young.. exactly the length of an adult ww.. This post has been edited by jayniel: Jun 14 2008, 02:19 AM
Jamien
Jun 14 2008, 02:19 AM
QUOTE(mikelim2020 @ Jun 14 2008, 02:15 AM) he is nt young thou... he looks big for me... bt whenever i go petshop, syrians sure sleeps 1 wor.. neva c active syrians b4.. even in etshack.. mayb i owaz go in da daytime...  This is why I always choose hamsters in the evening. Especially near feeding time. The ones that crowd around the bowl or even better, sitting IN the bowl. Those are the ones I'm interested in. I also like the greedy ones who grab the whole thing and makes a run for it, thinking it can get away. Hehe... Shows spirit.  Jayniel, don't let this be a bad experience. We never know what we get when we get from petshops.  I would prefer to think he was lucky to pass on to an owner who wanted him, no matter how short the period. It really wasn't your fault so don't blame yourself, ok? This post has been edited by Jamien: Jun 14 2008, 02:23 AM
jayniel
Jun 14 2008, 02:21 AM
do hamsters get heart attack ar? maybe he was scared of his surroundings till heart attack?
Jamien
Jun 14 2008, 02:27 AM
QUOTE(jayniel @ Jun 14 2008, 02:21 AM) do hamsters get heart attack ar? maybe he was scared of his surroundings till heart attack?  Actually they do. Read this: Hamster Heart Attack
Q: Hi, this is about my hamster who recently passed away. He seemed in excellent health prior to his death and when he died, it seemed to happen unbelievably fast. What happened with him was his heartbeat accelerated to the point his whole body reverberated from it. When I held him, he seemed to calm down and close his eyes. Thinking he was ok and wanting to sleep, I put him back in his cage, whereupon he started acting erratic, his heartbeat accelerated again, his whole body shook and he had a strange look in his eyes. So I took him out of the cage and put him on the bed and he acted dizzy, he collapsed, and I picked him up and held him and he went limp and he had pink stuff foaming out of his nose and tiny bits of blood on the sides of his mouth and his little body just gave up and died. Can you give me any ideas of what could have happened? I am really puzzled and feel guilty that I couldn't have done more. I wish that when he was in my hand trying to sleep, that I would have just kept him there for a while. Thanks, Karen
A: Dear Karen,
I am so sorry to hear about the loss of your hamster. It must have been a great shock to lose him so suddenly, especially when he seemed in good health. You did not say how old he was - it is a sad fact that they live such a short life and often die suddenly - not giving their owners time to prepare.
From what you have told me, it sounds as if he had a heart attack. You cannot normally feel a hamsters heartbeat that easily and certainly for his whole body to be reverberating, his heart must have been really pounding. I am glad that you were there with him and he obviously felt safe in your hands. The heart and lungs are closely linked and when an animal goes into heart failure, they often get fluid in their lungs, which can come out their nose or mouth when they die. The blood would be from little blood vessels bursting in his chest at the end. Then his little heart stopped and he died.
I'm afraid that there is nothing that you could have done to save him, and it happened so fast there was no time to get him to a vets {although there would have been nothing they could have done either in this case}. It would not have made any difference if you had not put him back in his cage - his little heart was giving up. Many hamsters die alone in their cages - at least that did not happen to him - you took him out and held him till he went. Please do not feel at all guilty, you obviously cared a lot for him and it was not your fault in any way.taken from http://www.petplanet.co.uk/vet_answers.asp?thread_id=116
Jamien
Jun 14 2008, 02:31 AM
louis! That's so cool! I shouldn't have thrown my lego away!  and that's a nice setup for your WW. Just 1 WW? semacam istana lar.
tina_yess
Jun 14 2008, 02:35 AM

wow, big tank......... btw, how u hold ur bottle?
Jamien
Jun 14 2008, 02:42 AM
QUOTE(tina_yess @ Jun 14 2008, 02:35 AM) wow, big tank......... btw, how u hold ur bottle?  It looks a bit like mine. Mine's got these plastic claws (for grbbing bottle) and it's attached to suction pads. This makes it easy to attach bottles in tanks, though outside is still better cuz saves space, prevents escapes (hammies climb the bottle), and prevent bocor as your hammie chews the bottle. It the clawlike hooks come in 3 sizes for 1 packet with 2 suction pads. You can attach a small bottle or the 500ml bottle if you want. Any bottle sizes in between too.  Just make sure it's high enough so your hammies don bite the suction pads.
tina_yess
Jun 14 2008, 02:54 AM

ic.. thx, will buy the suction pads 2mrw..
for your info, carrefour midvalley pets section is bad, the shop keeper has lack knowledge about small animal.. maybe they already change the bedding to recycle paper, but in robo tank they do not provide water bottle, only water in bowl, some hams get wet..
i got my robo from there, but still can survive la.. but quite regret also, its better to buy from home breeder..
This post has been edited by tina_yess: Jun 14 2008, 02:56 AM
Jamien
Jun 14 2008, 03:00 AM
QUOTE(tina_yess @ Jun 14 2008, 02:54 AM) ic.. thx, will buy the suction pads 2mrw.. for your info, carrefour midvalley pets section is bad, theĀ shop keeper has lack knowledge about small animal.. maybe they already change the bedding to recycle paper, but in robo tank they do not provide water bottle, only water in bowl, some hams get wet..  The only place I know that you can get these suction pads is the small lorong from KL central to the monorail. I bumped into it by mistake. That's when I got my Pastel too, my white face robo. Don't remember the hammies. it's not the first time it happened. Last time carefour in subang jaya got pet section also. The people there tell me that syrians like living in groups, hedgehogs are like hamsters as in same rearing method and items, and sugar gliders must best buy in breeding pairs, cuz say joey will high chance to mati. And that adult suggie very easy to bond (although it was crabbing all the way when he handle).  Luckily I did my research.  Petshop robos are extremely hard to tame. There's only the occasional 1 or 2 that takes to you easier and faster than the others. Sometimes fed up handing the petshop bought ones. Very unresponsive. This post has been edited by Jamien: Jun 14 2008, 03:02 AM
tina_yess
Jun 14 2008, 03:06 AM

why it's really hard to find WF robo in kl?? b4 i have thought to smuggle some robo WF from indonesia, coz can find many n cheap, hehe..
Jamien
Jun 14 2008, 03:11 AM
QUOTE(tina_yess @ Jun 14 2008, 03:06 AM) why it's really hard to find WF robo in kl?? b4 i have thought to smuggle some robo WF from indonesia, coz can find many n cheap, hehe..  Yeah they're very hard to come by. White face robo breed with nnormal robo may not produce another white face some more. By chance or fate only you will see or get to buy it. I've only ever bought 2.  That wan no need to consider anything. Just buy or 101% will regret. Wah, yu smuggle lar. Hehe. Then we can all get from you. Hide all the robos in your shirt when you go into the plane in Indonesia. lol
louisfjh
Jun 14 2008, 03:12 AM

QUOTE(Jamien @ Jun 14 2008, 02:31 AM) louis! That's so cool! I shouldn't have thrown my lego away!  and that's a nice setup for your WW. Just 1 WW? semacam istana lar. lol.. thx.. hmmm now only 1.. cus the female ww still wif the baby.. have 4 baby now.. LOL
jayniel
Jun 14 2008, 03:20 AM
QUOTE(tina_yess @ Jun 14 2008, 03:06 AM) why it's really hard to find WF robo in kl?? b4 i have thought to smuggle some robo WF from indonesia, coz can find many n cheap, hehe.. ya, there're sooo many WF in indo.. cheap sumore.. got platinum robo & many platinum campbell also.. louisfjh, if ur WW pee & poo on the lego, hard to clean woh.. This post has been edited by jayniel: Jun 14 2008, 03:30 AM
jayniel
Jun 14 2008, 03:26 AM
lol.. where u get that pic from? i also saw many WF pictures in kaskus..
tina_yess
Jun 14 2008, 03:32 AM

got it from kaskus as well.. hehehe... will figure it out, how can i bring some, LOL.....