Starting for normal grad now is 2.8 and 3.1k for first class. MC85, what dept would you be working in?
Intel
Intel
May 31 2008, 10:49 PM
1,991 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kalamazoo, MI |
Starting for normal grad now is 2.8 and 3.1k for first class. MC85, what dept would you be working in?
May 31 2008, 10:59 PM
well, they believe in being number 1 I guess. LOL Number 1 in killing their employees too.
Jun 1 2008, 03:31 AM
Jun 1 2008, 02:17 PM
QUOTE(jiaxun @ Jun 1 2008, 03:45 AM) I used to hear that... Where did you hear that?? LOL. I believe people have problems staying in their cube for long. LOLpeople working inside intel, they stay at their own cube, and they chat with their colleague only through computer and they don't even greet each other at the pantry. Added on June 1, 2008, 3:48 amAlso, for your guys information. I got a friend, without a degree because he quitted his studies after 2nd year doing E&E at KDU, got offered by Axon at TPM basic is 42k per annum = 3.5k per month. That's a lot more than intel. 42k per annum??? Intel pays more than that for a fresh grad dude. |
Jun 1 2008, 04:41 PM
NAh....been working for 4 years.
Jun 2 2008, 12:06 AM
QUOTE(jiaxun @ Jun 1 2008, 11:21 PM) 42k is basic. That's a lot more than Intel. And the job scope is provide technical support for internal users. Meaning, when there isn't any problem, there is no work for them. They even have a pool table in the office. LOL.....If only 1% of what you said above is true....LOL.....I don't care if your friend graduated 1st class or highest in the world. If he can't blend into working in intel, it's not the company's fault. Every company has their own set of politics. It's whether you want to be in them or not. Money is not everything. But hey, I'm not holding you back from going to Intel but from what I heard, every year you will evaluate the performance of your partner (yes they pair you together just to do the evaluation) and whoever get a better evaluation, get an increment of RM50 per month. The thing I was trying to say about the cube thing is, the tense inside is at stake. They do not greet each other because they are working under pressure. Would you work at that kind of place where you have to tension and tension and tension everyday? For your information, my friend graduated with 1st class honor in E&E(who worked in Intel before) told me all of these. Also, reading through the post, I can see there are some people commenting about the politic inside the Intel. Yet, the decision is totally up to you. Be there and feel it. Another fact, Intel ALWAYS hiring. Why? Because their workers always come and go. Every year, Intel even goes to my previous high school to advertise their company, showing the requirement, salary and the post in Intel(kononnya career talk). A question here, if Intel is so great, why are they still need to hire that much of people until they need to promote themselves in HIGH SCHOOL??!! I don't see AMD, Motorola, Shell all those big company came to my school to do such activity... I had a chance to talked to one of the manager from Intel. I asked "I heard that... Those who stay more than a year in Intel is less than 5%. Is that true? How come there is such situation?" He replied "Every company has its own problem, staff problem etc.... bla bla bla" Anyway, I got no proofs. Be there and feel it yourself. It's a good experience though Haha, why don't you do the survey first? Read through the post. Max 3.1k aka 12x3.1=37.2k LOL..less than 5% is retained. LOL.......you're kidding me right?? Stop listening to that manager ( I'm curious to know who's that manager ). I listened to my friend that shell pays 50 million a year too......wanna go? Max 3.1?? Count this: There're contractual bonuses which adds up to 1.5 months so that' 13.5. Haven't include the performance bonuses and whatever they might give throughout the year. Sides, we get stocks too so if you're happy with 42k, be my guest. As for evaluation, evaluate in pair?? LOL, they're all evaluated in grades. Yes, it's abit unfair and I shall not go into that. Intel is always hiring cause they're expanding lah. Intel believes in proactiveness that's why they go around campuses to promote themselves. Every company's personnel comes and go. This post has been edited by pillage2001: Jun 2 2008, 12:11 AM |
Jun 2 2008, 01:05 PM
QUOTE(jiaxun @ Jun 2 2008, 11:11 AM) First, I DID NOT say that I'm comparing engineering with engineering. Second, for a degree in E&E, you can choose to enter a company with IT based or engineering based. I telling the option to those who wants to join Intel. Third, as far as I know, the Intel also provide IT based position in PENANG! Fourth, if the fact that 5% retain is wrong, why would the manager replied in such manner? If it's wrong, he should replied in a way like "Where did you hear it from?" or maybe "The statement you said is wrong" etc. But he didn't. I don't know what's his name because there were SEVERAL manager there. Seniority has nothing to do with pay check. I know people who did not get increment for a year or two so increment has nothing to do with that. EDITED: Also, your pay doubled not because of the stupid increment. It's because of the seniority. Please la. The best company you've ever served?? Because you only served one. About the 5% thingy, I doubt any company would be able to sustain with a 95% attrtion rate. That's manager is either high or he's on his way out of Intel. Added on June 2, 2008, 1:19 pm QUOTE(ibmsege @ Jun 2 2008, 11:18 AM) through out the post, u r comparing IT post with an engineering post.. The guy posting here from PDC, holding an engineering post. And your fren? IT support... PM ya.i have nothing to say, u r not in the field... better not to mislead ppl here.. i told u already, design and manufacturing env are totally diff.. u can't even compare both of them in terms of env and compensation... Added on June 2, 2008, 11:20 am nope, manufacturing is moving over there... DnD stay still in island... I should say DnD instead of RnD... the "R" term is still weak in apac.... Added on June 2, 2008, 11:22 am bro, what is your job title in INTEL? This post has been edited by pillage2001: Jun 2 2008, 01:19 PM |
Jun 16 2008, 03:42 PM
First class???
Oct 6 2010, 09:53 AM
Dec 8 2010, 09:07 AM
QUOTE(minah_ronggeng @ Nov 21 2010, 11:45 PM) dunno if I heard my prof right but he said that Intel gonna shut their operation in Penang in the next two years .. moving to someplace with lower labor costs.. BS like this happens every other day or month.....There's noway Intel in PG is gonna close....but still, didnt know if he only 'gebang2' .. Added on December 8, 2010, 9:13 am QUOTE(mhchan2002 @ Nov 30 2010, 01:58 PM) simple fact...$$$$..Since AMD have now gain more % share in market..Intel profit down..2nd is less ppl regular change desktop or laptop..Ppl now aim at Ipad and Iphone etc..smaller then laptop..mutliple function.. LOL.....you just love spewing crap from what you use to think huh? How is Intel losing money and where do you see that people are changing laptop or desktop less? Things are more affordable than ever now and people are changing more than ever......Also comparing Proton to Intel shows how much you know about what's going on.....seriously......just crawl out of whatever rock you're under...PC now just use as regular daily work task.. Some more qualification and knowledge of work in Msia is dropping..very common Intel will look for cheaper cost to operate..Vietnam ,China and Israel etc have ppl.. Good example is our Proton car..new model out just use some modification facelift consider new..Even new car and new design but the performance and quality look like old technology... Please do some reading before crapping on things that you don't have a clue about. http://money.cnn.com/2010/10/12/technology...nings/index.htm This post has been edited by pillage2001: Dec 8 2010, 09:15 AM |
May 23 2015, 08:05 AM
May 23 2015, 08:07 AM
QUOTE(pigrabbit @ May 20 2015, 03:10 PM) Going for internship soon at penang intel What dept are you interning? Your couz is prolly on the product engineering side where they work shifts.....or IT.....how was the working flexibility? need to clock in and clock out like others standard company? because i heard from my cousin some day he off during weekday and some day he only work few hours. i always see him damn freeee... however, that was last time. No clock in or out...flexibility at best. This post has been edited by pillage2001: May 23 2015, 08:07 AM |
Feb 17 2016, 12:25 AM
https://www.facebook.com/jobsatintel/photos...?type=3&theater For those who are interested. Please do take some time to attend. |
Feb 13 2020, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(ijeydagarz @ Feb 12 2020, 11:39 PM) Is this thread still active? [1] How much is the average house rental for 3 person (me, wife and 5y/o daughter)? I have an offer to work at Intel Kulim. I am from another country and will be relocating to Kulim. We have some questions to help us decide if we will relocate or not. [1] How much is the average house rental for 3 person (me, wife and 5y/o daughter)? [2] is it better to live at Kulim or Penang area? [3] What is your daily transportation mode to work? Does Intel provide shuttle services? [4] Can somebody provide an estimated monthly budget/expense for a family of 3 person? Thank you very much for your help and time!! 1k RM to live like a king. Am sure you can find something lower within Kulim. [2] is it better to live at Kulim or Penang area? Penang as there's nothing in Kulim. [3] What is your daily transportation mode to work? Does Intel provide shuttle services? PG and Kulim campus has shuttle between but the hours might suck. I think they are around 7 am and 7pm each. Not too sure if there is additional in between. [4] Can somebody provide an estimated monthly budget/expense for a family of 3 person? Depends really. If you just stay in Kulim and don't go far, 1k to 1.5K should be sufficient. I spend about 700- 1k for 2 people on PG island for food...or maybe less, pending if I feel like going for more. This is excluding housing and bills. Bills would prolly set you back 500 bucks for telco, Satellite, broadband and electric. Anyway, where are you hired from and at what grade? |
Feb 13 2020, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(ijeydagarz @ Feb 13 2020, 02:27 PM) Firstly, Thank you for replying. Intel doesn't cover transportation cost. Base on your grade, should be pretty okie in Kulim. I don't know much about the transportation option there but chances are, you would need to buy a second hand car to begin with.The offer is at Job Grade 6, ill be coming from Philippines. If ever we will stay at Kulim area, what are the available local transportation mode (ie,bus) going in and out of the office? do i need to use the taxi everyday? this might be too expensive. Does Intel cover the transportation cost? |
Oct 13 2021, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(Murasaki322 @ Jul 11 2021, 12:42 AM) How many % annual increment and promotion increment is considered competitive? At least for around the northern area within the international tech giants. Increment prolly 4~7/8%.....promo....can range from 15 to 35% actually pending how competitive your pay is before the promo. |
Jul 1 2022, 02:30 PM
QUOTE(soules83 @ Jun 28 2022, 08:41 PM) intel have one app where your management can spy on you. try ask your intel friends. if not mistaken, its call wellnomics workpace Lol..come on.....it's not a spy software but it is for management to ensure that the employees are not having too much screen time without any breaks in between. I personally don't use it. |
Jul 1 2022, 02:33 PM
Jul 3 2022, 09:03 PM