Travel Singapore, Q&A & Driving into Singapore - on Pg1

deodorant
post Nov 14 2011, 10:13 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Guys,

I need to arrange a first-time "in-laws meet-up" (my family + fiancee's family) dinner this weekend. Any recommendations? About 10 ppl, I'm paying all so I don't feel like going swanky, think I can feed 10 mouths in a proper dinner for like $300?

Currently thinking of Seafood International cos food is "ok" and not too expensive, but that's only cos I don't know of any other places ...
deodorant
post Nov 21 2011, 04:59 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Sweetie89 @ Nov 21 2011, 04:01 PM)
Hi, I would like to inquire about the transportation to Singapore. I thought of driving down to JB. I am thinking whether I should drive my car into SG or park my car somewhere in JB. What do you think?

Does your hotel provide you free parking? Do you have GPS while in Singapore?
deodorant
post Nov 22 2011, 11:27 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(altung @ Nov 22 2011, 11:08 PM)
anybody know, how much is the price of ticket bus to Singapore ? well, I check on Air Asia and it costs RM150 VV

http://www.firstcoach.com.my/
https://www.aeroline.com.my/
http://transtar.com.sg/
deodorant
post Nov 29 2011, 01:55 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(fhatz @ Nov 29 2011, 01:01 PM)
Where should i stay that easy for me to get MRT/LRT/Bus to go to Universal studio (USS) from my hotel? 

Find a hotel that's walking distance to an MRT station, then you can just MRT to Harbourfront. Otherwise just use google maps and use the "public transit" method and it will give you the directions as to what bus or MRT to take, where to switch lines, etc.

QUOTE(fhatz @ Nov 29 2011, 01:01 PM)
i read Geyland and lil india got alot of budget hotel. can list of budget hotel hope can get below RM100 hopefully can get good room to sleep only and easy to get food that near from my Bus station at Balestier Road or near to USS??

Impossible. For that budget you have to search for backpacker lodges or hostels. The budget hotels like Hotel81 will be at least sgd60 (rm150) or more.
deodorant
post Jan 10 2012, 12:26 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(designer69 @ Jan 10 2012, 11:23 AM)
Or this price range only allow me to take 81 or fragrance type hotel in Singapore

^
if you shop around a bit, rm250 might be able to borderline get you some 2 or 3-star hotels. I think I remember my auntie last time came and stayed at value hotel thompson or thomson or something like that and she was paying slightly over sgd100-ish/night

Added on January 10, 2012, 12:27 pm
QUOTE(red_brick_zero @ Jan 9 2012, 01:45 AM)
what if i want to stay there for a year working? is it recommended? easy? place to stay? cost of living? Thanks in advance smile.gif

there's like a few dozen (malaysian) forumers working in SG and we hang out here:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2111283

This post has been edited by deodorant: Jan 10 2012, 12:27 PM
deodorant
post Jan 30 2012, 01:28 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jan 30 2012, 11:27 AM)
also, planning to go universal studio as well. should i buy from there?

if you're going during weekends and/or school holiday then probably safer to buy online from their website.
deodorant
post Jan 31 2012, 08:06 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(arbeiten @ Jan 30 2012, 11:03 PM)
i want to go to ITE college in simei, singapore for a competition. i'm from skudai & how can i go there buy taking bus?

do you mean how do you get to singapore from skudai? or how do you get to ITE college once you're in singapore?
deodorant
post Feb 8 2012, 02:27 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Kven148 @ Feb 7 2012, 05:49 PM)
hey guys I will be going SG end of this month for 4days 3 night any recommend hotel? my budget is around 50-60SGD

this kind of budget you can only get 1 star "hotels." go agoda.com for an idea of how much singapore hotels cost.
deodorant
post Mar 1 2012, 01:31 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(kurt_maisu @ Mar 1 2012, 12:27 PM)
will be in sg by tomorrow but just wondering since my passport will be expired by august, is it true they won't allow me enter since my passport will be expired less than 6 month

Not 100% strictly enforced rule kua. Some LYN kaki's here have managed to enter SG on <6mths validity passport, seems that none of them were turned back at immigration.
deodorant
post Mar 19 2012, 12:17 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(nutella @ Mar 18 2012, 11:34 PM)
generally, how much u guys spend for a 4D3N trip in spore?
i've drafted my itinerary and calculated the cost, around $450, which is equivalent to RM1080. i find it quite costly.
(cost covers: Universal studio, sentosa 4d magix/cineblast/desperados, zoo, and accommodation around $30-40 per night)

SG is expensive. My lunch today was just two bowls of ramen for myself + fiancee also $48 liao (rm115). i'm assuming you do know that $30/night accomodation only buys you hostel-style bedding, right?
deodorant
post Mar 20 2012, 04:34 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(phenally @ Mar 20 2012, 12:09 PM)
does anyone know the maximum number of days i can stay in SG on normal entry?

1. 30 days max per stay
2. 60 days max out of every 90 days

example you come in 30days, then go out and come back in another 30 days, then you must stay out 30 days before coming in again.
deodorant
post Mar 20 2012, 05:46 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Mar 20 2012, 05:24 PM)
u eat ramen where? y so expensive... I think the popular ramens also most is 15 per bowl..

http://www.cnngo.com/singapore/eat/ramen-santouka

spicy miso version is, if i remember correctly, $21 before service charge and tax icon_idea.gif
deodorant
post Mar 21 2012, 08:41 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Milky b0Y @ Mar 21 2012, 12:45 AM)
am planning to drive down to Singapore from KL these weekend....have heard from my peers that I would need to bring car registration card / road tax receipt to show the customs....am kind of confused what are the items....

no need. they will just go over to your car and look at the road tax disc on the windscreen.
deodorant
post Mar 21 2012, 08:49 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Mar 20 2012, 08:03 PM)
wa sei so premier one... only 60 bowls a day lol no wonder so ex.... is it good? have you tried ramen champion?
I'm always on the lookout for good Japanese ramen!!

To me, the pork is very tender and the portion is huge (a lot of noodles) but at the end it was salt overload. The pork cheek dunno how they braise until very salty edges, the miso soup also salty, wah by the end of the meal feel like body become ham choi already.

Ramen is subjective but for me the best still Ippudo at Mandarin Gallery.

Superb!: Ippudo & Santouka
Delicious!: Nantsuttei & Tampopo
Solid: Shin-Sapporo & Keisuke
Below Average: Marutama

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Mar 21 2012, 08:45 AM)
had u tried the Keisuke Tonkotsu King @ Tanjong Pagar before? so far its my fav n the best i had in SG lol

The tonkotsu or the ramen? I've only gone to Keisuke's (same person) Keisuke Ramen over at Parco Millenia Walk but nothing special also the ramen. Cos his specialty is the prawn-based ramen which Singaporeans all comment say taste too much like local prawn mee so he decided to stop selling it, lol.
deodorant
post Mar 31 2012, 12:31 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(puchong20 @ Mar 31 2012, 12:06 PM)
bus from singapore to JB....

take red line MRT to Kranji, walk across the road then take bus 170 to JB
deodorant
post Apr 3 2012, 06:19 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(KLHC1964 @ Apr 3 2012, 09:04 AM)
Is there anything in singapore that is cheaper to buy than KL?

Generally, most things are roughly equivalent to more expensive here (after conversion). Unless you willing to really dig at those cash converter shops (2nd hand goods) at the heartlands shopping areas.
deodorant
post Apr 6 2012, 05:51 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(xphossis @ Apr 6 2012, 04:26 PM)
Can intro some buffet that we should try out in sg?

try this site i guess http://www.buffetsingapore.com/

I don't generally like buffets so I don't know of any good ones.
deodorant
post Apr 11 2012, 08:27 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Apr 10 2012, 10:09 PM)
I'm thinking of dropping by Singapore next week just to watch wicked TT.. Next week is their last week performing in Singapore

have you been to the sands theatre? the cheaper tickets sit damn far and damn high up leh sad.gif
deodorant
post May 3 2012, 12:47 PM

5,691 posts

backpack lodge quite safe, what are you worried about? passport phone all keep on your body lor.
deodorant
post May 17 2012, 12:18 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(pchan @ May 17 2012, 11:41 AM)
Any idea how far/taxi cost from woodlands or changi airport to main city...say to station like chua chu kang?

according to google maps, changi airport to cck mrt = 36km

cdg taxi rate, first 1km = $3.20 then
Every 400m thereafter or less up to 10km $0.22
Every 350m thereafter or less after 10km $0.22

add on:

Peak Period Surcharge*
Monday to Friday: 6.00am - 9.30am**
Monday to Sunday
& Public Holidays: 6.00pm - Midnight 25% of metered fare
* Payable for trips made during peak hours as indicated.
** Not applicable on Public Holidays.

Late Night Surcharge
Midnight - 5.59am 50% of metered fare

Every trip starting from Changi Airport, Changi Air Freight Centre, Airport Police Station and Airport Logistics Park of Singapore
Friday to Sunday (5.00pm - Midnight)
All Other Times

$5.00
$3.00

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0246sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:39 PM