12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Actuarial Science, Is the job market wide?

TSysh_kobe
post May 17 2008, 02:41 AM, updated 18y ago

1,091 posts

I checked and found out that qualified actuarian in malaysia is actually less than 80. Is this course very very very hard to study and is the job opportunity wide? Those studying this or have informations on this, welcome to drop your comments.
Testify
post May 17 2008, 02:50 AM

147 posts

This subject is actually very tough and you gotta be very good in maths. Currently im doing it and it requires a lot of practice, if you are those kind of person who can actually sit tight on the chair for few hours just to solve few maths equation. well you're qualified for that. other than that you need to be talented too, few of my friends decided to drop the subject because they cant cope up with the workloads.
TSysh_kobe
post May 17 2008, 02:52 AM

1,091 posts

Bro, where are you studying? I'm a maths craze.......
Testify
post May 17 2008, 02:53 AM

147 posts

currently doing ADP, waiting to transfer to US
kyoong
post May 17 2008, 10:01 AM

47 posts

ahhhh.. i'm going to study actuarial science too. n i hope i wont giv up in the middle of the course

anyone can share their exam experience here? how much does one paper costs?? nid to take total how many paper?
purplish
post May 17 2008, 11:06 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(kyoong @ May 17 2008, 10:01 AM)
ahhhh.. i'm going to study actuarial science too. n i hope i wont giv up in the middle of the course 

anyone can share their exam experience here? how much does one paper costs?? nid to take total how many paper?
If i am nt mistaken, there are 18 professional exams. (pls correct me if i am wrong)
serena_lee
post May 17 2008, 12:01 PM

251 posts

alright if 18...then..is there any requirement to take the first exam?..
wayne322
post May 17 2008, 01:11 PM

Mein Herz Brennt
635 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ May 17 2008, 02:41 AM)
I checked and found out that qualified actuarian in malaysia is actually less than 80. Is this course very very very hard to study and is the job opportunity wide? Those studying this or have informations on this, welcome to drop your comments.
Ya,this sub really hard to study,and ur maths level is at least maths T of stpm.
Octavios
post May 17 2008, 01:15 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(wayne322 @ May 17 2008, 01:11 PM)
Ya,this sub really hard to study,and ur maths level is at least maths T of stpm.
Mathematics T is paper one or two?I don't really know it.
serena_lee
post May 17 2008, 01:21 PM

251 posts

maths T has two papers..paper 1 and 2..paper 2 has statistical-related questions..
schizophrenic
post May 17 2008, 01:25 PM

Tribute to Tun Mohamed Suffian Hashim (1917-2000)
1,645 posts

QUOTE(serena_lee @ May 17 2008, 01:21 PM)
maths T has two papers..paper 1 and 2..paper 2 has statistical-related questions..
not maths L?
T = tulen or?
to me L = lanjutan
ellimist
post May 17 2008, 01:27 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

From what I've heard:-

1. There're 2 qualifications,namely degree and professional.The tough one ppl rave about is the professional qualification. The degree is supposedly easier,catered to the mass,and not that big a deal.

2.Job opportunities are supposedly low at the moment. (by this I'm referrin to course related jobs which supposedly pay zomgbbqcrazyhighsalary tongue.gif) For example,the only defined benefit scheme for post employment benefit is that of the government's. All other companies use contributary schemes,which don't involve actuaries.

This post has been edited by ellimist: May 17 2008, 01:29 PM
TSysh_kobe
post May 17 2008, 01:33 PM

1,091 posts

So, this is a tough but not so demanded job?
destroyer
post May 17 2008, 01:38 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

my teacher got degree in actuarial science. now become math teacher...
kyoong
post May 17 2008, 02:32 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ May 17 2008, 01:38 PM)
my teacher got degree in actuarial science. now become math teacher...
it'll be my nightmare if i end up becoming a math teacher cry.gif
Octavios
post May 17 2008, 02:42 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(serena_lee @ May 17 2008, 01:21 PM)
Then why they call it mathematics S n T?
schizophrenic
post May 17 2008, 09:26 PM

1,645 posts

Anyway it is matematik lanjutan
the one that is recommended for those intended to pursue actuarial sci
wink.gif
as opposed to S and T
TSysh_kobe
post May 17 2008, 09:51 PM

1,091 posts

Is it called Further Mathematics T? I didn't take it in STPM. But in Uni sure gonna learn rite?
schizophrenic
post May 17 2008, 09:55 PM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ May 17 2008, 09:51 PM)
Is it called Further Mathematics T? I didn't take it in STPM. But in Uni sure gonna learn rite?
Maths T is Maths T
Maths L is Maths L

Maths T = Tulen = pure maths = taken by sci stream students
Maths L = Lanjutan = Further maths = taken as an additional subject and it is more advanced than Maths T
work_tgr
post May 17 2008, 10:00 PM

501 - Not Implemented
4,583 posts

As what I know, some of my friends who were studying in Actuarial Science, now work as IT programmers. They said, to become qualified, one must sit in many exam papers and the fee is something around RM ... 5 digits laugh.gif

12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:00 PM