Renovations 3-phase wiring
cpmah
Nov 17 2011, 09:15 AM
Hi all,
Pls share to detail cost of upgrade from 1 phase to 3 phase.
I plan to upgrade mine from 1 phase to 3 phase, any TNB certified contractor recommend?
This post has been edited by cpmah: Nov 17 2011, 09:17 AM
PacManV12
Nov 22 2011, 11:34 AM

You could find out the TNB Contractors here.
Dazel83
Nov 30 2011, 09:34 PM
need some help,
i made a mistake by hiring a contractor from hell, my house reno was supposed to be done in sept but was delay till today, due to many issues with the contractor, however, my house was a single phase and we decided to change to 3 phase when we wanted to renovate it, the application had been done a month ago and still no sign of connection for 3 phase.
does anyone knows how long does it takes for 3phase to connect? or how to check whether your 3 phase is connected?
pls help thanks
sovietmah
Dec 5 2011, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(Sitting Duck @ Jan 12 2009, 07:46 PM) So which means we still need to pay $$$ to TNB for the wiring from the TNB power distribution point to our house , regardless whether it's already ready or not..  I paid RM 1800 for the 3 phase wiring from the meter outside the house into the DB inside the home. It's done now and so far there isn't any problem.. (touch wood).. And thanks for showing me the calculation..some day i really need to sit down and calculate what's the consuming so much electricity... Added on January 12, 2009, 7:51 pmI just remembered this, I was told me someone (cannot remember who, a friend, electrcian, TNB, newspaper??) that which one fridge and some basic electronics in the house (tv, lights,etc), the minimum would be around RM40~/month, without air-con that is... so with 1HP air-con that is on about 7 hours a day, can the electricity bill still be at RM40/month?? I stay at condo, 2 person, Inverter aircon 4 hours daily with 25 celcius, honestly i see only Rm5 differences. Normally bill RM50-60.
weikee
Dec 5 2011, 06:22 PM
With recent rainy season, 25c is not much difference than outside temperate, sometime can go below 25c too. Your compressor even non inverter did not work that much. Try setting 21, compressor will on and off more frequent.
sovietmah
Dec 6 2011, 12:07 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 5 2011, 06:22 PM) With recent rainy season, 25c is not much difference than outside temperate, sometime can go below 25c too. Your compressor even non inverter did not work that much. Try setting 21, compressor will on and off more frequent. Ok noted. but seriously, i feel extremely cold already with even 23 celcius, dun talk about 21 celcius.. but compressor on and off more frequent means more electric use right? I install inverter but honestly i have no idea how it works. i fail my engineering haha.
ozak
Dec 6 2011, 12:36 PM
You don't need to know. What you need to know is your bill have drop or not.
phoenix69
Dec 6 2011, 12:54 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 6 2011, 12:36 PM) You don't need to know. What you need to know is your bill have drop or not. Unscientific but so true, as the botton line is savings
yymn
Jan 3 2012, 05:03 PM
Hi, wud like to know about single-phase installation and deposit to TNB. How much is it and what is contribution charge?
Hope, someone can enlighten me. Sorry, if this has bn discussed before. I might hv missed that.
tks
This post has been edited by yymn: Jan 3 2012, 05:04 PM
SUSendau02
Jan 5 2012, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(onlinefever @ Apr 7 2009, 01:15 PM) anyone know how much is the wiring cost if i want to move the electric meter from inside house to outside? old house the meter is inside and tnb can't take reading if nobody at home. i think oni tnb technician can change the location, as anythin bfore meter is under tnb concern
weikee
Jan 5 2012, 02:47 PM
Outside as in at gate or autogate pillar?
adrianjc
Jan 5 2012, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(Dazel83 @ Nov 30 2011, 09:34 PM) need some help, i made a mistake by hiring a contractor from hell, my house reno was supposed to be done in sept but was delay till today, due to many issues with the contractor, however, my house was a single phase and we decided to change to 3 phase when we wanted to renovate it, the application had been done a month ago and still no sign of connection for 3 phase. does anyone knows how long does it takes for 3phase to connect? or how to check whether your 3 phase is connected? pls help thanks Your internal 3-phase wiring needs to be completed prior to the application for 3-phase connection from TNB. Once the wiring has been completed by your wireman, call the TNB contractor to submit your application. There is one item that can severely delay the completion and that is moving your TNB meter from the wall of your house to the gate pillar. The application process is usually longer and depending on your location, submission to local council is required if TNB needs to dig up the road for the laying of the 3 core cables to go to your meter. My parents neighbour waited a good 3 months before the relevant approvals were obtained and TNB came to dig up the road and lay the cables.
benc43
Jan 8 2012, 08:15 PM
Hi
Anyone know if there is a 3 phase connection promotion by TNB? I heard from a friend that sometime back (2009/2010) TNB had a promotion for 3 phase connection for only RM800 including installation to your house.
Anyone knows if there is one planned in the near future
adrianjc
Jan 8 2012, 09:44 PM
QUOTE(benc43 @ Jan 8 2012, 08:15 PM) Hi Anyone know if there is a 3 phase connection promotion by TNB? I heard from a friend that sometime back (2009/2010) TNB had a promotion for 3 phase connection for only RM800 including installation to your house. Anyone knows if there is one planned in the near future Thanks 3 phase only works if your internal home wiring has been changed to accommodate 3 phase. TNB may have had a reduction on the application fee for the 3 phase electrical input in and new meter. Have not heard of any promo. Total cost for converting your home to 3 phase will cost a great deal more.
kelvyn
Jan 10 2012, 09:19 AM
Go for 3 phase only if you requires them. The TNB deposit will be increased. You will need to consider the wiring from the meter to your DB. If you DB is on the wall behind the meter, then very easy. However, if it is located say under your staircase, etc. then this will involve major work, thus the additional cost
ozak
Jan 10 2012, 09:44 AM
Why you guys want to change to 3phase when your applicance doesn't exceed 65A at 1 go use?
Does your bill cheaper?
weikee
Jan 10 2012, 10:40 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 10 2012, 09:44 AM) Why you guys want to change to 3phase when your applicance doesn't exceed 65A at 1 go use? Does your bill cheaper? Make me wonder too. My household equipment if fully switch on till take up about 16,000 Watt. But that if I switch it on. I doubt  Usually highest usage is about 8000 watt for short period of time. Added on January 10, 2012, 10:41 amBTW, the fuse is rated much lower, think is 43Amps or 45Amps. Mine is on that number. Is 65Amp common for single phase? This post has been edited by weikee: Jan 10 2012, 10:42 AM
ozak
Jan 10 2012, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(weikee @ Jan 10 2012, 10:40 AM) Make me wonder too. My household equipment if fully switch on till take up about 16,000 Watt. But that if I switch it on. I doubt  Usually highest usage is about 8000 watt for short period of time. Added on January 10, 2012, 10:41 amBTW, the fuse is rated much lower, think is 43Amps or 45Amps. Mine is on that number. Is 65Amp common for single phase? For single phase, there have 2 type. 30A and 60A. 30A is for std house low usage. Which next upgrade is 60A. Over than that, TNB advise you to get 3phase. Becuase your house is already like shop lot usage. I suspect it only benifit tnb but not the owner. TNB have phase load problem if over load 1phase.
weikee
Jan 10 2012, 12:14 PM
Hmm, That mean i got to replace my outdoor fused before i blow it up
ozak
Jan 10 2012, 12:33 PM
My main fuse is 60A. That is original from day 1.