Credit Card Thread V3, Everything about Plastic World Fantasia
tinkerbel
Jul 5 2008, 11:36 PM
Fanaddict!
@danlhct, Over just the little thing Citibank gave U 5000 RP?!!!!! I sent a 2 page letter 'complaining' about 3 different issues and even before I could hear from the bank the 4th and 5th issued arose and yet I didn't get any such compensation. You must be a great customer *hmph* [not *hmph at U* but at Citibank!] @TeraPox, vin_ann's right
tinkerbel
Jul 7 2008, 10:13 AM
Fanaddict!
@vin_ann, muAHahAHahhahAHa  Thanks. It was nice of U to stand up for me *grins* So the person paid RM8 using his UOB credit card? *grins* And, whatever happened to swiping 7x at the petrol kiosk for a RM70 tank of petrol?! @TeraPox, *hmph* No, I wasn't at Mid Valley yesterday; and I'm not the kind who would go up asking about a credit card unless I'm truly interested and I wouldn't bother about asking for promotions upon application of the card other than perhaps its annual waiver. @jeff_ckl, You could alwiz make a request for an increase in CL; whether the bank gives it to U is their prerogative. Also, the banks will bill in the 'domestic' currency which will then be converted into RM based on the actual forex rate upon when posting's made from merchant to the bank. What U need to take note is that some banks do charge an overriding 1% for Administration charges [most of the time the banks say they do not charge and that it is Visa/MasterCard who charges that additional 1% but I don't think that is true since this 1% figure is not a common denomination] - kindly refer to Post #1 to check the different charges from the different banks.
tinkerbel
Jul 7 2008, 02:27 PM
Fanaddict!
@vin_ann, Yeah, sometimes I onli make 7 transactions a month; except my average transaction costs are much higher than RM15  It gets v 'pai seh' if U split the bills too much *grins* unless of course U haf 2 HSBC cards and they allow U to combine it; that way U can probably try for like 2 transactions with every big purchase. I don't suppose U can blame him for the cash vouchers; if he's got it he's got to utilise it mah. Low productivity and efficiency is the fault of Jusco, not the customer
tinkerbel
Jul 7 2008, 05:50 PM
Fanaddict!
@dEviLs, Get her name and contact details. If U put in an application for it and don't get the RM50 rebate, write to Citibank and make a big fuzz !  Also remember to state U've read the T&C prior to it yet U were told the rebate is still given, etc etc. Give Citibank more paperwork to do
tinkerbel
Jul 8 2008, 10:55 PM
Fanaddict!
@Syd G, I don't think U can blame the airlines for the fuel surcharges though admittedly I don't like the idea of it *sigh* Also, I find it ridiculous that it's so high. Apparently fuel charges + airport taxes + administrative charges for a flight to Hokkaido is RM1400!!!!!
tinkerbel
Jul 9 2008, 09:44 PM
Fanaddict!
@zenquix, I don't think it's considered as cash advance. As to whether commission charges are applicable, I ain't too sure *shrugs*
tinkerbel
Jul 10 2008, 11:19 PM
Fanaddict!
@xphossis, Just get a supplementary card application form, fill it in and provide necessary details as required and submit to CC company  It should be approved, processed and mailed to U within 2 weeks. @SkyNet42, You might need additional documentation if Ur planning to get a Singapore-based CC. The CC agents should be able to help U. If ur based in SG I suggest U get a SG based CC *grins*
tinkerbel
Jul 11 2008, 03:07 PM
Fanaddict!
@pisang, The Ikea-Alliance CC is a co-brand card so it probably has a different benefit from their usual CC
tinkerbel
Jul 11 2008, 03:34 PM
Fanaddict!
@TeraPox, iYah don't be so pessimistic lah!
tinkerbel
Jul 11 2008, 03:45 PM
Fanaddict!
@shamsay, Y the need to change from CIMB to DA? Benefits are the same isn't it?
tinkerbel
Jul 11 2008, 08:21 PM
Fanaddict!
@shamsay, I thought the 2% rebate is applicable for DA & CIMB MasterCard holders *shrugs* Anyways, Citibank Shell does give rebate if U don't have any carry forward balance; it's just lower in percentage that's all
tinkerbel
Jul 11 2008, 10:45 PM
Fanaddict!
@David83, That could be possible *shrugs* I do not have the CIMB-Petronas Card so I'm not 100% sure how that card works but the DA MasterCard does give 2% rebate on all petrol purchases.
@ZONX, There is NO best card in the world; it depends on what ur needs are and what U want the card for.
tinkerbel
Jul 11 2008, 10:49 PM
Fanaddict!
@ZONX, DA M/Card could be a good option since U'll get a 2% rebate off petrol purchases. Also, if U make online payment in foreign currency, DA doesn't charge additional Administrative Fees.
tinkerbel
Jul 12 2008, 12:35 AM
Fanaddict!
@ronnie, But other forumers mention the rebate's credited at the end of the month. I only started using my DA M/Card last month for petrol and the bill hasn't come so I ain't able to tell U until the actual bill comes.
tinkerbel
Jul 12 2008, 12:31 PM
Fanaddict!
@ronnie, AhHh..... so it's the Shell Citibank card which hasn't given U back ur rebate! Well, some forumers have mentioned that too.
tinkerbel
Jul 12 2008, 03:44 PM
Fanaddict!
@David83, I don't hold any co-branded CC cards.
tinkerbel
Jul 12 2008, 05:27 PM
Fanaddict!
@TeraPox, You're so biased and yet U hold a CC from EON Bank, just applied for one with MBB and hoping to get one from RHB
tinkerbel
Jul 12 2008, 10:49 PM
Fanaddict!
@Hybz, 1) There's not much difference between Visa/MasterCard; they're both providers and are both recognised in M'sia so it shouldn't matter which one ur applying for.
2) No difference getting a Visa or MasterCard; it's really ur preference. In the past, MasterCard was accepted at more places than Visa [in M'sia] but most merchants now accept both Visa & MasterCard.
3) The local banks are probably more relaxed in its Terms & Conditions when issuing a CC as compared to the foreign banks. As to which one is preferred, it really is entirely up to U. U could check out which CC is suitable for ur need and go for it depending on benefits available through the card.
4) Yes, U can use ur existing Credit Card to apply for a 2nd or 3rd card and that's rather 'hassle-free' as U wouldn't need to show proof of income and the rest of the documentations; etc. Of course, in order for the banks to approve ur 2nd or 3rd application, U need to make sure U haf good credit record.
Y the need to get a separate card just for petrol? You can combine ur spending in 1 card; that should be sufficient - plus Y dilute the reward points when U can channel it all into the same account?
tinkerbel
Jul 12 2008, 10:51 PM
Fanaddict!
@David83, Yup.. I suppose I don't think I be benefiting much from the rebates given hence never made an attempt to put in an application for a co-branded card. I also don't like the idea of carrying too many cards around. I recently applied for an Amex so I now have an additional card to carry.
tinkerbel
Jul 12 2008, 11:05 PM
Fanaddict!
@David83, It helps when U haf both a MasterCard & Visa from the same bank; that way U can still consolidate ur reward points; I just juggle usage between both *grins*