57 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Movies The CAPTAIN AMERICA Movies Thread, CAP3: CIVIL WAR!

Human Nature
post Aug 4 2011, 11:48 PM

- student of human nature -
26,512 posts

oh that one! lol
ashleyjo
post Aug 5 2011, 09:04 PM

17 posts

i think its alright. would only give this movie a 6 out of 10. Thor was better.
Cap A is lacking something, cinematically its very good, but i still see flaws.
defaultname365
post Aug 13 2011, 05:56 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Watched it today. All along I believed this would be better than "Thor" and as such early on I decided not to watch "Thor" and wait for "Captain America".
Fortunately, "Thor" had a great reception and the movie is pretty good too with dazzling visuals, nice dose of humor and some pretty good action sequences. It was on the verge of great though not "Iron Man" great.
Oddly, I decided not to watch this movie (I was getting tired of the superhero action formula and also since I am not a comic book fan though I do keep an interest on film developments).

"Rise of the Planet of the Apes" was still fresh on my mind, and as it would be the case, I ended up watching this anyhow... tongue.gif

The Story - 3/5
Acceptable, fun and definitely retro. I wasn't too compelled in the story though. It definitely felt a linear. The frail one becomes the chosen one and let's give em' hell sort of thing. And a typical boss fight too.
I have no real idea if the Red Skull was really the best villain for the movie since I felt Hugo Weaving was underused (x10)! In fact, Hugo Weaving could have delivered an even more memorable performance if the story allowed him to do so. When he had that face on him, all you see is a villain and that's it. No real attachment to the character. I don't know, feels like an element or two missing here.

The Pace - 4/5
It was fine, no real qualms about the pacing. It starts out well, it integrates the whole transformation sequences well, and then when the action kicks off it bodes quite well. However, I did find noticeable discontinuity with the scenes of Steve Rogers and then when they switch to Johann Schmidt/Red Skull working in the lab.

The Acting Performances - 3.5/5
Hmm... well, not enough screen time or the writing wasn't strong enough for the villain and that is a big blow to the overall movie. Chris Evans, Hayley Atwell, and Tommy Lee Jones, each did brilliantly well and had enough screen time and you knew them well towards the end of the movie. Not the case for Red Skull unfortunately.

The Music - 3/5
Nothing too memorable or there wasn't a "Captain America" anthem. I did like the on-stage Captain America performance though. smile.gif It was fine, nothing too special.

The Ending - 4/5
Quite possibly the best part of the movie but it was super brief. I'm talking after the boss fight. Reminded me of "Enchanted" when Giselle came out of that sewer in the middle of New York City. Nice way to end the movie (as it is supposed to I guess?) and it sets it up beautifully for "The Avengers". Just good enough here and as such, not a bad ending at all. The boss fight was just meh for me though since I wasn't too bothered what happens to Red Skull.

FINAL VERDICT
"Thor" was better in my opinion. This movie verges on great but it settles on good. It does take off the ground and throw action set pieces at you but we have seen it all. One viewing is enough for this movie.

7.5/10

Just about good enough to invite you to "The Avengers" next year. "Captain America" brings retro and nostalgia of WWII in typical action hero manner. Villain is flatly done. Good movie, but not great. Worth a watch.

Here are Meta and RT for "Captain America" and "Thor" :

Stayed back and watched "The Avengers" trailer. Brilliant but so brief. Such a teaser.

SpyMalaysia
post Aug 13 2011, 07:34 PM

Lots of obvious comparisons with Thor which I thought was a fantastic movie.

I have to admit a feeling of apprehension before seeing Captain America because I just thought it would not be a good super hero movie.

The reality however left me pleasantly surprised & I thoroughly enjoyed Captain America, it was much much better than I had anticipated but I thought the Thor movie just slightly edged out the latest movie from the Marvel universe.

Roll on The Avengers next year.......I just hope it can live up to what will be the most hyped movie of the decade so far.
Reimao
post Aug 15 2011, 12:22 AM

Hola~!
709 posts

It's by far the best superhero themed movie. I've always felt that superhero movies which are more 'human' aka non magical/super power-esque would be better since it would be much more realistic in a way.

I seriously feel Thor was a moderate movie at best. Choppy movie thru and thru.
reehdus
post Aug 15 2011, 04:22 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(Reimao @ Aug 15 2011, 12:22 AM)
It's by far the best superhero themed movie. I've always felt that superhero movies which are more 'human' aka non magical/super power-esque would be better since it would be much more realistic in a way.

I agree, while Thor was certainly not bad by any stretch (by bad, i mean Green Lantern bad), Captain America was more human and I guess slightly more realistic in a way (I say slightly because come on, a vibranium shield that deflects everything and flies? Superhero serum? Lolz). There wasn't the
. Hugo Weaving may have been underused, but hey, he's been in three major trilogies, we've seen enough of him...haha. In terms of visual effects there may not be as much going on here as Thor or others (no CGI enemies or faraway Jotun planet here), but the CG skinny Steve Rogers was fantastically done. I haven't watched Rise of the Planet of the Apes or XMen first class, but this is definitely one of the best movies of this year for me.
amirudin920927
post Aug 16 2011, 07:25 AM

///-| Kapten | Amirudin |-\\\
1,431 posts

Thor much better than Captain America
Kyoyagami
post Aug 16 2011, 10:30 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Knowing Captain, i knew this would lack in superpowers and what not. But I was very happy to see the other element in this story.

its purely on Patriotism. Kinda makes me feel good about Malaysia, i'll admit.
soul2soul
post Aug 16 2011, 03:38 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

I don't really like Captain America because he does not have powers, only stupid tin milo shield.

I want to see psychic powers on displays, mind-over-matter and moar sexplosion please.

And chris even, I thought he was not a right cast for the superhero.
Vinspire
post Aug 17 2011, 01:32 AM

Sleeping Member
1,667 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Aug 16 2011, 03:38 PM)
I don't really like Captain America because he does not have powers, only stupid tin milo shield.

I want to see psychic powers on displays, mind-over-matter and moar sexplosion please.

And chris even, I thought he was not a right cast for the superhero.
did he actually become that thin and buff up back for the movie?
+Newbie+
post Aug 17 2011, 10:00 AM

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

Nope. They used CGI, I believe.
Kyoyagami
post Aug 17 2011, 12:13 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Its CGI. Wholly.
shopoholic
post Aug 17 2011, 09:10 PM

What's CGI? So, is it worth going then? I loved Thor!

This post has been edited by shopoholic: Aug 17 2011, 09:10 PM
domcobb
post Aug 17 2011, 09:34 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(Reimao @ Aug 15 2011, 12:22 AM)

I second this. I like how they portrayed one man, with enhanced strength and agility, can never achieve much compared to team work! I like the scenes where they didn't just show how Captain America bring down the enemies but that his team mates were also shown to getting things done aka blowing up tanks, surrounding the enemy camps, etc. smile.gif

This post has been edited by domcobb: Aug 17 2011, 09:35 PM
ahcheap
post Aug 17 2011, 10:38 PM

TM UniFi/Streamyx Reseller
1,466 posts

CGI?
micyuki
post Aug 17 2011, 10:53 PM

138 posts

Thor was the best thumbup.gif
ask_dino
post Aug 19 2011, 04:08 PM

DS is the name
741 posts

QUOTE(Vinspire @ Aug 17 2011, 01:32 AM)
did he actually become that thin and buff up back for the movie?
I think the time when he is thin was using CGI, because I remembered I read somewhere that Chris Evan actually trained and built up his body for the part of Cap and I saw the poster of Puncture where he also stared in the movie, his body quite the same.
incognito
post Aug 19 2011, 06:47 PM

i've got a hunger, twisting my stomach into knots
2,402 posts

apparently, it's 80% chris evans during the skinny steve scenes. a few shots used body doubles, but ultimately they decided to digitally shrink him so that they can retain his performance, his nuances and subtle movements etc.

Vinspire
post Aug 20 2011, 07:54 AM

Sleeping Member
1,667 posts

QUOTE(incognito @ Aug 19 2011, 06:47 PM)
apparently, it's 80% chris evans during the skinny steve scenes. a few shots used body doubles, but ultimately they decided to digitally shrink him so that they can retain his performance, his nuances and subtle movements etc.

i c. thx 4 d' answer guys smile.gif
utar_boy
post Aug 22 2011, 06:20 PM

127 posts

so who would be the team leader for the avengers?

I vote Tony stark instead of Captain america.

in terms of personality, i like
Tony > Steve > Thor

in terms of style and coolness
Tony > Thor > steve

Added on August 22, 2011, 7:43 pmthis show kinda remind me of GI Joe

the whole evil genius villian

in a secret lair

with guards that has epic futuristic guns and obey total order

and the villians secret hideout corridor reminds me of GI Joe too

not forgetting the fight scenes

This post has been edited by utar_boy: Aug 22 2011, 07:43 PM

57 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top