20 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

GUINEA PIGS CORNER V2, Kiut Kiut Kawaii~

Jamien
post Jun 26 2008, 11:18 PM

2,647 posts

limie... Your pictures are so very blur. Got clearer ones? squint also I not sure. Try to pressure your GP's private part top a bit and see got penis pop out a not. Or can take clearer pict?

Where's this shop you talk about?

I saw an adorable Aby GP that's brown (like nescafe) and white with red eyes. At Pet Family just now. You bought your cage dy?

@Sharil: as expected comment from a male forumer. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Jamien: Jun 26 2008, 11:19 PM
Jamien
post Jun 26 2008, 11:38 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jun 26 2008, 11:26 PM)
limie : looks like male... well... based on the reference site that sharil n Jamien gave earlier laugh.gif

Jamien : the shop.. no more edi laugh.gif just went there.. not petshop anymore... haha just now went to petshack to look for a cage.. but I'm looking for a cage that can suit 2 GP.. I like the one Jack use to put the pigs but.. well.. it's messy as the food n all scattered around outside the cage laugh.gif
I asked Jack to look for me a nice cage... hehe he's working on GP starter kits.. so I'm waiting for that....

Sharil : If i wan to see u can go petshack to meet.. no need picture... ur cavy picture is more important than ur pic laugh.gif

btw.. mozz, u're saying that u put GP in ur room rite? as long as open the door and window then not smelly..
well, I got air-cond wor.. how? once when i opened my window.. i forgot to close it.. ended up.. I'm having mosquito attack at nite -.-
Air cond got ionizer ma. Or cover your window with mosquitoe netting lor.

The GP starter kits are up dy la Muchan. Go take a look lar. They're making the set with zoozone. Very good if you wanna avoid mess like in the shop.
Jamien
post Jun 26 2008, 11:48 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jun 26 2008, 11:43 PM)
out edi? 0.o
just now I'm talking to jack..
he still thinking what to put and all.. he looks so confused laugh.gif
If can... I wan to avoid zoozone.... the cage to big n width.. no place to put ler... some more.. quiet heavy... haha

I'm still searching bout the cage... hehe
btw, forgot to mention... I met jawwp n 2 forumers as well
Wah~ Lucky you~ If you want light-weight cage you cannot avoid the bersepah.... plus the small zoozone isn't very big also lar. You saw the size of the smaller zoozone?
Jamien
post Jun 27 2008, 12:01 AM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jun 26 2008, 11:56 PM)
yep... in fact I'm using it for my boy now laugh.gif
Actually, I like the cage that they put for rabbit package.. because its more longer.. but it will give me lots of work to do...

then.. just now Jack told me.. if wan nice cage... the price is RM 400!!! but the cage is nice thou... oni for 1 GP.. but easy to clean hehe

see how la.. I'm still searching also.. haha what do u use for ur micheri?
The one will bersepah wan. Haha... But my GP won't simply throw food everywhere. Just the poo, dunno how, manage to kick out from the cage. Damn Terror.

smile.gif That's good to hear limie. Most important is that they get better.
Jamien
post Jun 27 2008, 12:26 AM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(sozhaiming @ Jun 27 2008, 12:07 AM)
i heard guinea pig is smelly? is it true ? if it is true, can i know how do you guys deal with it ? my girlfriend is really into it now and i promise to buy her one or two. we both are quite new to guinea pig and we need help from other senior over here.... can someone tell me in more detail on what you guys feed ur GP? how many meals? how long do you bathe them once? how to make sure they are clean? and others as well ? thanks >_< ..
Guinea pigs are not smelly. Basically even if their body is oily, they still do not smell unpleasant. I still always hug my Micheri when she long didn't bathe. Won't smell like dogs or syrians wan (not to say that these 2 animals smell bad).

smile.gif And please read first page. The information is there for you to browse. Other additional questions we will be very happy to answer for you.

Bathing, I do it once in 3 weeks. I clip their nails once in 2 weeks.

Jamien
post Jun 27 2008, 01:02 AM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(sozhaiming @ Jun 27 2008, 12:29 AM)
that's great .. because we are living with other housemates as well, we scare that the others dun like the smell ..

well, i did read the 1st page but just tat i need some personal experience which is better than theory right ?
Hmmm... I would agree wif u. Hehe...

My sister used to live with 7 housemates. She had her GP there. No smell or anything and there was no one complaining. In fact, one of her friends got poisoned and had a GP herself. biggrin.gif

Premium hay and any premium food. Gps have this absolute talents for picking out premium food...

You can bathe them with small animal shampoo or bunny bath. Don use those for dogs or cats. Too abbrasive for their skin.
Jamien
post Jun 27 2008, 01:41 PM

2,647 posts

Rumizu, congratulations! How's it feel to be a grand daddy?

Muchan.... Not yet even get your girl wanna think of hubby dy. You really like those ancient china parents la. XD
Jamien
post Jun 27 2008, 07:08 PM

2,647 posts

Muchan~ I just came back from Pet Wonderland in Midvalley. I saw the special color abbys you were talking about. Their so called spacial color is the ones with the fur tinged slightly with other colors. There's one there that kinda look like Jazz.
Jamien
post Jun 27 2008, 08:04 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jun 27 2008, 07:21 PM)
Jason : hahaha.... xD

Jamien : yeah... I saw one that looks like Jazz... but the rest looks like a normal color for me.....

talk bout color.... I like the black and white GP at Petshack yesterday... ><
cute!!! but but but... it's a male... omg! xD
biggrin.gif I told you to be careful! You fell in lov wif a boy jor. So how now?
Jamien
post Jun 28 2008, 12:08 AM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jun 28 2008, 12:04 AM)
yeah I know.. but I have to think for the future xD
later sure crazy to think out how to move etc.. plus I have to bring back cage that can fit at least and can fit to my room space lar.. if not how? lol
Measure dy go home check lo. Bigger is always better ma.
Jamien
post Jun 28 2008, 12:21 AM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Jun 28 2008, 12:13 AM)
jamien-->wanna ask...wat u use for ur gps bedding???
I line with newspaper first then I put shavings. My Micheri has horrid drinking habits. She drink one mouthful and drips half a mouthful. But if I give her a smaller bottle she don want to drink. Sigh...

Not to mention sometimes pee or poo, the shavings can absorb the moisture properly. My house pets all need shavings anyway. 2 Syrians, 3 GP... Later 1 suggie. biggrin.gif

I also notice that on warmer days, Micheri would just sleep on the newspaper. On cooler nights, she will sleep on top of the shavings.
Jamien
post Jun 28 2008, 12:31 AM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Jun 28 2008, 12:28 AM)
think of using woody...
http://www.petshack.com.my/webshaper/store...ProductItem=530

izit ok for gp???cos before tis,think of corncorb...but saw soem article, it can caused hazard if gp eat it...
I never use before lar so I can't really comment. But since you are using a zoozone, just put newspaper and shavings and make sure you toilet train them. It's such a big space, it won't get dirty so fast so long as you clean the toilet daily. My 2ft cage clean once in 2 or 3 weeks can, it would still be clean if I want to. Cuz Micheri is toilet trained.
Jamien
post Jun 28 2008, 12:47 AM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Jun 28 2008, 12:35 AM)
haha....tis becouse urgp toilet trained...

i found that woody pet good...it adsorb smell n pee effectively...mayb try on this...
blush.gif Actually I'm trying to stress the importance of training your GP to use a toilet.

It's a hassle at first but in a long run it saves you tonnes of money, time and work.

You can try the woody and let us know how it works. Feedback is always appreciated. But do try to toilet train your GP k?
Jamien
post Jun 28 2008, 01:59 AM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(liette` @ Jun 28 2008, 01:53 AM)
been monitoring this thread for some time and i must admit GPs seem to attract me but i'll read more till i know im so ready.

sharil, are u the guy at pet shack today wit the glider? smile.gif

got a question too, how does a GP's poo look like? similar to rabbit's droppings or?
rclxms.gif Welcome Welcome! smile.gif So happy to know people who research before buying.

Hmm... I dunno about rabbit poo. But they're similar to hamster poo. Magnify the poo size of a syrian by about 5 times. That's how a GP poo will look like.
Jamien
post Jun 28 2008, 02:15 AM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(liette` @ Jun 28 2008, 02:04 AM)
Thanks for answering Jamien. What's the best recommended cage for GPs?
zoo zone? or those wire bottom cage, like the one pet shack using to house their GP... i know wire bottom is not good for their paws but u can put the rubber thing like wat pet shack do rite?

which is better?
Hmmm... As I mentioned before, any cage that has bars on the top for ventilation (prevents heat stroke) and basically no wire bottom (to prevent bumblefeet) is good. A minimum of 2ft x 1ft cages. You can put toilet mat for them to stand on but I feel it's not necessary if you toilet train them. I think they use the wired bottom plus toilet matt so the poo will fall under the wired area. And it's probably more comfortable for them to walk on when it's a one pice plastic bottom.

smile.gif It's one great bonus for GP owners since GPs are toilet trainable. Then you just clean the toilet tray every day and the rest of the area will more or less be clean.
Jamien
post Jun 28 2008, 02:25 AM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(liette` @ Jun 28 2008, 02:19 AM)
I think I'll aim for the guinea pig starter kit from pet shack/jtl. smile.gif Everything I need would be there. but den again, breeder celect as bedding would be a tad bit pricey eh. im using that as my hamster's bedding tho.

any tips on how to toilet train etc. and do u know of any breeders? i, for one, dislike purchasing pets from pet shops.
Ask Sharil. Some of his babies go to petshops and they're beautiful~ His black beauty is now pregnant. Ask him save a baby for you lar.

Get a toilet tray that is different color from the food tray, etc etc that you don want him to pee on. GPs can see color so they can differentiate things using color. Just clean the cage thoroughly and pick a few of the poo poo put inside the toilet tray. When you play with your GP and put it back to pee, put it back in the tray and make sure the GP pee in the tray.

Training may take about 4 days to 2 weeks or even longer depending on the GP. So till then, you gotta pick up the poo and toss in the toilet and try to make it pee in the tray. They are rodents so they usually just pee and poo at one spot so it's just a matter of teaching them where to poo and pee. Also, sometimes they may miss timing and accidentally poo outside the toilet. Don't whack your GP for that lar.

Giving a treat when they pee or poo in the toilet also helps.
Jamien
post Jun 28 2008, 02:57 AM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jun 28 2008, 02:50 AM)
actually u can get from petshack...
because their GP came from a good breeder brows.gif
I'm sure some know where jack n joan get their cavy from....
plus.. u can trust petshack as they're the most friendly and caring for their pets...
their pets came from a good breeder they know.. or maybe I know them too laugh.gif
Eh? Who? I dunno de.
Jamien
post Jun 28 2008, 03:35 AM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(tina_yess @ Jun 28 2008, 03:13 AM)
GP cant jump?? the cage made from cardboard ah? ya lo, like this also ok, dont need a real cage..
It's made from cloroplast. If cardboard then the cage will become soft when GP pee on it. sweat.gif

They can jump but not very high. So just make sure the cage is taller than your Gp's length from butt to shoulder.

smile.gif I prfer this kind of setups really cuz it's cheaper, m ore spacious, got good ventilation and you can basically see your GP when you look over the cage.
Jamien
post Jun 28 2008, 02:23 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(liette` @ Jun 28 2008, 11:35 AM)
Ahh, remember the small boy that ask u what's a sugar glider rofl. I'm him. smile.gif HAHA.

No la, im the guy with him..

btw, mind to elaborate on why keeping one, male is better and not female? female more prone to loneliness ?

i understand that 2 males might fight tho.
hmm.gif Females ar. My house female GP are independant women. biggrin.gif All independantly housed. Successful GPs. Can own their own house. tongue.gif

From what I know, 2 males can get along well as long as they don't have to fight for mating rights and the space you're putting them in isn't too cramped. If suddenly got a female, they will most likely fight no matter how close they used to be. They might also musth to mark territory. So theres the greasy smell.

blush.gif But this is just knowledge I gained from reading since my house 3 GPs are all ladies.

Females are no more prone to loneliness than males. females are slightly smaller in size. not very likely to mark territory. '

I think both male and female are good, depending on how you house and care for them.
Jamien
post Jun 28 2008, 06:25 PM

2,647 posts

Muchan... All thing inside OF COURSE will heavy ma. The GP herself won't weigh little lor.

@limie: What carrier did you buy??? I just use the medium guppy tank as a carrier le.

20 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0509sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:46 PM