OMG! It happened again!

TSDante18
post Apr 27 2008, 03:32 PM, updated 18y ago

372 posts

So yesterday some of my friends drop by at my house to play some games....we always enjoy playing Dead of Alive 4(Fighting game). I turn on my xbox360 and it ran fine. After playing a few rounds.....suddenly my x360 hanged!! i restart the system, and the next thing i knew....3 RED LIGHTS OF DEATH!!! for people who dont know what RROD, 3 red lights of death...it means my x360 is dead and will never start up again.

The worse thing is this is the second time my x360 got RROD...last time it cost me RM250 for repairs and it took 2 months to repair.....My advice to future console buyer....don't ever buy a x360. Buy a Ps3 or wii, it is much safer. I am not planning on spending another RM250 for repairs again.....

At least i still have my PS3 to play....going to buy GTA4 soon too.

samurai20
post Apr 27 2008, 03:45 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

OMG !!! 3ROD.... laugh.gif.... for 2nd time strike by 3ROD... difficult to repair already.... anyway it depend on ur luck & machine too.. laugh.gif... time to play PS3... dude .. biggrin.gif
pedro
post Apr 27 2008, 03:46 PM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

Can it be repaired after second 3ROD?

I thought it couldn't.
rayza
post Apr 27 2008, 03:58 PM

78 posts

thats why i bought ps3
PhoenixByte
post Apr 27 2008, 04:07 PM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

if you rich and so in love with 360...buy and buy again laa. happy.gif
slickz
post Apr 27 2008, 04:10 PM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

they say lightning never strikes twice in the same place.

Well............... we can clearly see here RROD isn't obeying that rule. laugh.gif Where's the Xbox defence force ? tongue.gif

lim360
post Apr 27 2008, 04:12 PM

59 posts

When you buy your Xbox 360,is this 360 a falcon set?
rainingzero
post Apr 27 2008, 04:21 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(lim360 @ Apr 27 2008, 04:12 PM)
When you buy your Xbox 360,is this 360 a falcon set?
either falcon set or not, a console shouldn't be got this prob. The engineer should know about heat issue...
so far, never heard PS3 got such problem. maybe thats the goodness of delaying the launch of PS3 last time.
further improving b4 launched.... smile.gif
UltramanToron
post Apr 27 2008, 04:29 PM

241 posts

buang ajos mcm aku! muahahha
Mgsrulz
post Apr 27 2008, 05:04 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

microsoft came out with a statement a while ago saying something like
by the time you finish installing GTA4 on the ps3,you could've *insert the many things you can do in GTA 4* on a 360

supposedly sony responded to that statement with
by the time you get your 360 back from microsoft because of RROD,you could've already finished GTA 4 on the ps3

maranello55
post Apr 27 2008, 05:08 PM

Accelera Ayrton!!
3,385 posts

xbox 360 - phailed
hd dvd- phailed.....haiz
Microsuck_360
post Apr 27 2008, 05:10 PM

241 posts

guys janganlah kutuk xbox banyak-banyak pasal aku pun nak kutuk jugak muuuahahahahah laugh.gif cool.gif
ionStorm
post Apr 27 2008, 05:11 PM

*nyan*
3,350 posts

When I saw the topic title...I guessed it was about a 3ROD already...

Oh well...I also kena. I really like the game titles on the X360...but this 3ROD really...aih...dunno what to say. sad.gif
nwk
post Apr 27 2008, 05:14 PM

256 posts

xbox should be renamed FAIL-BOX. Thank god, I decided to buy a PS3 instead of the infamous FAIL-BOX!
runemastertan
post Apr 27 2008, 05:16 PM

1,221 posts

Eh? I thought Microsoft did something to repay back those faulty XBOX that has RROD? Me wrong?
slickz
post Apr 27 2008, 06:10 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(runemastertan @ Apr 27 2008, 05:16 PM)
Eh? I thought Microsoft did something to repay back those faulty XBOX that has RROD? Me wrong?
no u get 3 years warranty from microsoft. That is, provided you didn't buy the modded version. A little ironic if ppl buy xbox here mainly because it can play backup games.

I just feel bad for xbox owners, especially those who didnt take any steps to prevent this from happening. I mean, can they get peace of mind while playing good games like GTA IV that make them want to play for hours, but yet at the back of their mind, they have to worry about it overheating ?
TSDante18
post Apr 27 2008, 06:30 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Apr 27 2008, 06:10 PM)
no u get 3 years warranty from microsoft. That is, provided you didn't buy the modded version. A little ironic if ppl buy xbox here mainly because it can play backup games.

I just feel bad for xbox owners, especially those who didnt take any steps to prevent this from happening. I mean, can they get peace of mind while playing good games like GTA IV that make them want to play for hours, but yet at the back of their mind, they have to worry about it overheating ?
i dont think RROD is caused by overheating lor.....i only play my x360 once or twice a week. And only play for 3 hours max.
juniorpop
post Apr 27 2008, 06:36 PM

20 posts

This is the exact reason why I'm not getting the 360 ever!
Though it has the greatest game lineup now.
slickz
post Apr 27 2008, 06:41 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(Dante18 @ Apr 27 2008, 06:30 PM)
i dont think RROD is caused by overheating lor.....i only play my x360 once or twice a week. And only play for 3 hours max.
oh, ok. Then I'm wrong. So it's not because of overheating ? Unknown cause? Oh no. sad.gif
samurai20
post Apr 27 2008, 06:59 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

Design = FAIL
R & D = Fail...

Result = 3ROD.... FTW.... laugh.gif
welwitchia
post Apr 27 2008, 07:58 PM

1,219 posts

My first RROD fix lasted for about 6 months.. then it happened again and each subsequent fixes lasted less than a month. I've since given up on the crap-box 360.

5zal06
post Apr 27 2008, 08:22 PM

195 posts

i just buy xbox360 yesterday..only play for 1 hour..and then rest the xbox360..

hope my xbox will not get 3rod..so expensive..
GamersFamilia
post Apr 27 2008, 08:54 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,865 posts

QUOTE(5zal06 @ Apr 27 2008, 08:22 PM)

yea hope so buddy...depends on luck...dont think to much bout it...just play and enjoy..my premiuum xenon 360 dah 1 yr and half...no rrod..perfect..hopefully my elite falcon also the same...

telling u , me dont think bout 3rod......stay positive always...
TSDante18
post Apr 27 2008, 09:13 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(5zal06 @ Apr 27 2008, 08:22 PM)

ya..it really depends o your luck....RROD is not caused by overheating. It is just faulty design.
jeerie
post Apr 27 2008, 10:29 PM

42 posts

buang jer....buang mase main mender tu kalau main dalam ketakutan...

-already put my xbox360 somewhere else since january2008...until no 3ROD issue, i will not thinking bout buy it again..membazir ko tau tak...
edvpc
post Apr 27 2008, 10:39 PM

HardSun..... (IntoTheWild)
1,274 posts

kasehan... sweat.gif
satriakid
post Apr 27 2008, 11:36 PM

426 posts

Seems around the net, there aren't much about falcon set 3ROD, so I reckon his is non-falcon set.

Besides, I'm planning to get 1. Seeing this happening, thinking of shifting my mind to get a Wii instead, and maybe a NDSL. XD
TSDante18
post Apr 28 2008, 12:37 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(satriakid @ Apr 27 2008, 11:36 PM)
Seems around the net, there aren't much about falcon set 3ROD, so I reckon his is non-falcon set.

Besides, I'm planning to get 1. Seeing this happening, thinking of shifting my mind to get a Wii instead, and maybe a NDSL. XD
yes, mine is not falcon set. Falcon set can still get RROD but less. The wii is also get, but the graphics are mostly only ps2 quality.
BlackKri
post Apr 28 2008, 12:41 AM

39 posts

last time i thought i saw my bro's xbox360 shut down while playing games and restarted with having the 3rrod but actually i was wrong it was actually one red spinning in a circle and can be fixed by reconnecting the wires behind the machine. but luckily it's didn't lit up 3 reds on the power button otherwise really go crazy!!!
killerloop81
post Apr 28 2008, 12:53 AM

SpLiTfIrE
1,429 posts

how come Xbox din come up a new modify design for this RROD?
Eisenmeteor
post Apr 28 2008, 01:40 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

Last Friday I played my 360 after 2 months++ din play it..Lucky ntg wrong..Still works fine..Its a 2006 model..So I dunno wat chip they used dat time..haha
TSDante18
post Apr 28 2008, 02:32 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(killerloop81 @ Apr 28 2008, 12:53 AM)
how come Xbox din come up a new modify design for this RROD?
Got...it is the Falcon chip set. Still got RROD, but less.
MSA
post Apr 28 2008, 09:27 AM

317 posts

QUOTE(Dante18 @ Apr 28 2008, 02:32 AM)
Got...it is the Falcon chip set. Still got RROD, but less.
Dante so sad news so many xbox player defecting into PS3. Me as well ....hahaha
But My xbox nvr kena 3rrod ..... but i just like everything about PS3 .. especially it's online feature.

Welcome to the PS3 club
GamersFamilia
post Apr 28 2008, 09:38 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,865 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Apr 28 2008, 01:40 AM)
Last Friday I played my 360 after 2 months++ din play it..Lucky ntg wrong..Still works fine..Its a 2006 model..So I dunno wat chip they used dat time..haha
2006 - Xenon Chip
satriakid
post Apr 28 2008, 10:42 AM

426 posts

QUOTE(Dante18 @ Apr 28 2008, 12:37 AM)
yes, mine is not falcon set. Falcon set can still get RROD but less. The wii is also get, but the graphics are mostly only ps2 quality.
Yea, Wii graphic more like ps2, but I'm eyeing on a Wii and Xbox for the games, not graphics.

Aside, falcon does still 3ROD but less, not much reported on 3ROD yet, like I said.

This post has been edited by satriakid: Apr 28 2008, 10:49 AM
DEz012
post Apr 28 2008, 10:58 AM

574 posts

Looks like Microsoft is making alot of money due to 3 ROD & buy another unit for replacement in less than a year for those unlucky guys. Wonder that's why 360 has good sales on their console.
hairuLeZ
post Apr 28 2008, 11:58 AM

67 posts

those who looking for 360, make sure to get the falcon unit. Very less report for the 3rod icon_rolleyes.gif
acougan
post Apr 28 2008, 12:14 PM

590 posts

i think MS will be manufacturing their new model "jasper" very soon with 65nm GPUs. those models should be more reliable and just maybe put this sorry "3RL" tragedy behind them.

for ppl interested in 360 platform, save up the money for japser+GeoW2 in a few months time thumbup.gif

disclaimer: my xenon360 is 23 months old - suffer only 1 incident of 3RL, still working but i seldom play after getting ps3 and a used xbox1 tongue.gif

This post has been edited by acougan: Apr 28 2008, 12:20 PM
satriakid
post Apr 28 2008, 12:23 PM

426 posts

Yea. I'm waiting for that.

http://blogs.mercurynews.com/aei/2007/10/0...n_comes_jasper/

mambo
post Apr 28 2008, 05:06 PM

Me And My Perverted MInd... Never Alone
679 posts

ts,

bro ive see ur pic.. tq for the upload. Btw i would like to know few thing from you. do you have any aircond in ur room where u play ur xb, and one thing i can see there is ur xb have lack of good air circulation.... this could be one of the factor u srtike by the rrod... i can see that ur set is too close to the wall behind it, and also u stack ur game on top of ur unit which also block the air intake...

I am still new in this xb360 scene and i also heard there is some owner which have few unit on their shelve still working since day one.... may be by looking at how we store our unit we can find out a way to atleast increase the chance of not getting hit by rrod... and most of the owner that have their unit since day one and still alive and kicking until today mention about good air flow...
sonic_cd
post Apr 28 2008, 08:24 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

does putting the console in horizontal or vertical have anything to do with the rod issue ?
bidfordun
post Apr 28 2008, 08:38 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(satriakid @ Apr 28 2008, 10:42 AM)
Yea, Wii graphic more like ps2, but I'm eyeing on a Wii and Xbox for the games, not graphics.

Aside, falcon does still 3ROD but less, not much reported on 3ROD yet, like I said.
Well said, indeed. smile.gif if only everyone starts thinking like this.
satriakid
post Apr 28 2008, 08:57 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Apr 28 2008, 08:24 PM)
does putting the console in horizontal or vertical have anything to do with the rod issue ?
I doubt so, because the box is design to be able to stand upright and be used lying down also. I guess you need airflow which is clear. I have a friend who use standing fan and directly blowing at it, in air conditioned room some more.

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Apr 28 2008, 08:38 PM)
Well said, indeed. smile.gif  if only everyone starts thinking like this.
Well, games are important. Buy console is because of games, second by graphic for me, but PC, vice versa.
5zal06
post Apr 28 2008, 09:49 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(satriakid @ Apr 28 2008, 08:57 PM)
I doubt so, because the box is design to be able to stand upright and be used lying down also. I guess you need airflow which is clear. I have a friend who use standing fan and directly blowing at it, in air conditioned room some more.
Well, games are important. Buy console is because of games, second by graphic for me, but PC, vice versa.
i see some ppl says.if u put vertically,it might scracth the cd..not sure ..i put it horizontal

juniorpop
post Apr 28 2008, 10:25 PM

20 posts

It seems the RROD is rampant here in Malaysia too.
Faulty design by Microsoft.
satriakid
post Apr 28 2008, 11:52 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(5zal06 @ Apr 28 2008, 09:49 PM)
i see some ppl says.if u put vertically,it might scracth the cd..not sure ..i put it horizontal
Well, turn off the console before you move it, thats why. They move the xbox from lying position to standing and vice versa when its on and running, and the disc is spinning, thats why. The disc will hit the lens holder and scratch the dise. If you noticed, some of the optical drives have dampers on the top, but most of them do not have them now as the module is mounded lying down and never be moved, like how our pc's optical drives are.

So, turn it off before you flip it.
maxsteel
post May 1 2008, 09:50 AM

371 posts

Or you can try fix it yourself.. wink.gif
http://www.i-hacked.com/content/view/263/1/
ipaqfreak
post May 1 2008, 03:09 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(Dante18 @ Apr 27 2008, 03:32 PM)
So yesterday some of my friends drop by at my house to play some games....we always enjoy playing Dead of Alive 4(Fighting game). I turn on my xbox360 and it ran fine. After playing a few rounds.....suddenly my x360 hanged!! i restart the system, and the next thing i knew....3 RED LIGHTS OF DEATH!!! for people who dont know what RROD, 3 red lights of death...it means my x360 is dead and will never start up again.

The worse thing is this is the second time my x360 got RROD...last time it cost me RM250 for repairs and it took 2 months to repair.....My advice to future console buyer....don't ever buy a x360. Buy a Ps3 or wii, it is much safer. I am not planning on spending another RM250 for repairs again.....
At least i still have my PS3 to play....going to buy GTA4 soon too.

Question.... do you mod ur xbox360? you should not had repair your xbox360 at the first place... get it replace instead.....

well, I do not have such problem at all, my xbox360 has been 3 years already.... still great !!
cannavaro
post May 1 2008, 03:55 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(juniorpop @ Apr 28 2008, 10:25 PM)
It seems the RROD is rampant here in Malaysia too.
Faulty design by Microsoft.
Yup, Malaysia and the rest of the world. laugh.gif
adix4
post May 1 2008, 04:33 PM

ich bin eine Katze :3
1,254 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Apr 27 2008, 04:10 PM)
they say lightning never strikes twice in the same place.

Well............... we can clearly see here RROD isn't obeying that rule. laugh.gif  Where's the Xbox defence force ? tongue.gif
but my teacher said kalau u pernah kena lightning sekali tapi u tak mampus , sooner or later kau akan mampus pasal kena lighting jugak

p/s:reffering to the 360 not u slickz icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by adix4: May 1 2008, 04:45 PM
satriakid
post May 1 2008, 06:28 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(ipaqfreak @ May 1 2008, 03:09 PM)
Question.... do you mod ur xbox360? you should not had repair your xbox360 at the first place... get it replace instead.....

well, I do not have such problem at all, my xbox360 has been 3 years already.... still great !!
Seeing from the picture, might be unmodded. See original games. drool.gif

QUOTE(adix4 @ May 1 2008, 04:33 PM)
but my teacher said kalau u pernah kena lightning sekali tapi u tak mampus , sooner or later kau akan mampus pasal kena lighting jugak

p/s:reffering to the 360 not u slickz icon_rolleyes.gif
If first time kena not yet mampus, sure scare already and more careful. XD. If mampus, mampus la. biggrin.gif
adix4
post May 1 2008, 06:37 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(satriakid @ May 1 2008, 06:28 PM)
Seeing from the picture, might be unmodded. See original games.  drool.gif
If first time kena not yet mampus, sure scare already and more careful. XD. If mampus, mampus la.  biggrin.gif
ni teacher aku cakap

u tak suka u pergi

snipersnake
post May 1 2008, 07:00 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

wow adi..why the hostile language?

our buddy here was hit by the thing, if you cant contribute just move along.
nakata101
post May 1 2008, 07:23 PM

*******(PES&WE)******* Play Like Champion
2,423 posts

I think this thread should move to Xbox section or just close it, he is not the only one got hit by 3rod, he open the thread tell us his xbox360 hit by 3rod again, ya, he is not the first one, i m not sure his repair is send to Singapore' Microsoft for claim, spend the postage fee n service charge around rm250 or he just send it to the local ppl repair it which cost rm250?
I wonder what is the purpose TS open the thread, he is not trying get help from someone after his xbox360 hit by 3rod for second time, he choose to play PS3 than it. So what r we discussing here again??? Repeat it n repeat again the same thing......
adix4
post May 1 2008, 08:57 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ May 1 2008, 07:00 PM)
wow adi..why the hostile language?

our buddy here was hit by the thing, if you cant contribute just move along.
aku pun kena 3rod , this is what im going to say to u

video to explain
GamersFamilia
post May 1 2008, 09:01 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,865 posts

wow 3 years...awesome man
juniorpop
post May 1 2008, 09:12 PM

20 posts

Wow your 360 really tahan lasak!
snipersnake
post May 2 2008, 08:37 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(nakata101 @ May 1 2008, 07:23 PM)
I think this thread should move to Xbox section or just close it, he is not the only one got hit by 3rod, he open the thread tell us his xbox360 hit by 3rod again, ya, he is not the first one, i m not sure his repair is send to Singapore' Microsoft for claim, spend the postage fee n service charge around rm250 or he just send it to the local ppl repair it which cost rm250?
I wonder what is the purpose TS open the thread, he is not trying get help from someone after his xbox360 hit by 3rod for second time, he choose to play PS3 than it. So what r we discussing here again??? Repeat it n repeat again the same thing......
agreed. too many similar and redundant threads here.

Console couch should be a place with overall view about console gaming, not a specific console discussion.
kuya
post May 2 2008, 09:29 AM

73 posts

everybody is talking how the legendary 3ROD/3ROL related to 65nm or 45nm technology. can anyone relate how the 65nm or 45nm technology related to 3ROL/3ROD?

as far as I know the 65nm or 45nm technology is the process of shrinking the transistor size to have a better dice per wafer where more logic transistor can be embedded to the wafer.

of course in between the process if the leakage issue is not tackle then thermal will be an issue.

so back to the legendary 3ROD/3ROL issue, can someone explain how the x-clamp solution related to the 65nm or 45nm process technology?
marky
post May 3 2008, 03:43 PM

xoxo
893 posts

just get a pc and plug ur x360 controller in...same thing... dont have halo3 haha but eliminate fear of 3rod
PrinceOfPersia
post May 3 2008, 04:30 PM

Hashsashin
1,038 posts

QUOTE(kuya @ May 2 2008, 09:29 AM)
everybody is talking how the legendary 3ROD/3ROL related to 65nm or 45nm technology. can anyone relate how the 65nm or 45nm technology related to 3ROL/3ROD?

as far as I know the 65nm or 45nm technology is the process of shrinking the transistor size to have a better dice per wafer where more logic transistor can be embedded to the wafer.

of course in between the process if the leakage issue is not tackle then thermal will be an issue.

so back to the legendary 3ROD/3ROL issue, can someone explain how the x-clamp solution related to the 65nm or 45nm process technology?
orang INTEL sudah bersuara thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Goonerforever
post May 3 2008, 04:42 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(Dante18 @ Apr 27 2008, 06:30 PM)
No big deal.. Just buy an intercooler fan or something.. Worked for me.. No more problem..
a13solut3
post May 3 2008, 04:51 PM

Whiner FTW!
1,759 posts

QUOTE(Dante18 @ Apr 27 2008, 09:13 PM)
ya..it really depends o your luck....RROD is not caused by overheating. It is just faulty design.
I thought it were caused by overheating issue? Since the ventilation system is not good enough due to design problem, and the heat accumulated inside melted the GPU link to motherboard, thus it cause the 3ROD problem?
Goonerforever
post May 3 2008, 10:49 PM

141 posts

Had the 3rod problem before.. but after using the cooling fan it went away.. never had to send for fixing or anythin..
satriakid
post May 4 2008, 02:18 PM

426 posts

3ROD problems is due to overheating GPU, which causes the soldering to melt/crack, due to cold soldering problem and also lead free soldering tin being used.
deathninjax
post May 4 2008, 03:53 PM

124 posts

my xbox 360 which has no video output was finally fixed by bernard. he use heat gun to heat the gpu until it can be removed then he resolder it using lead solder. too bad i bought a new falcon xbox 360 arcade. have 2 consoles now. i borrow my coursemate play.

0.0314sec    0.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:11 AM