4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Official Asus EEE PC Thread #2, Love it ? Feel it !

recoil
post Aug 17 2008, 12:33 AM

334 posts

hi bros,

im using 901.. my boot up takes abt 40secs... running on stock win xp without Anti virus programme.

mind to share some tips to further optimise my boot up time?
recoil
post Aug 17 2008, 12:44 AM

334 posts

thanks bro... wut would u recommend for AV? just worried that pc will be slowed down alot
recoil
post Aug 17 2008, 02:17 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Aug 17 2008, 08:30 AM)
Better if you check with your reseller or asus.  The check up is free during the warranty period.

I see the hdd is not firmly placed like the normal  laptop. No special slot for that.

They have to move my hdd to a side before doing any upgrade of ram. Make sure it is put back in a proper order.

If the vibration is strong ,then do not what would happen. People using wind also notice the same problem.

P/S : HAVE ANYONE TRIES THE PC TOOLS ANTI VIRUS ONLY TAKES ABOUT 5-8MB IN RAM. KIND OF GOOD FOR EEE PC. STILL TRYING.
sky,

im going to try out AVG.. anyway, what's the diff before and after AVG in terms of boot up n shut down time for winxp on 901?

hehehe... little bit worried as i only have 1gb ram for my 901 unit.,
recoil
post Aug 17 2008, 02:59 PM

334 posts

sky,
very true... hehehe... ok.. will give both a try leh.. preventive is better.

by the way, is something goes wrong with my 901.. how can i recover the stock win xp? the box came with a dvd,.. but not sure if win xp is inside also... tongue.gif sorry, am quite newbie to this
recoil
post Aug 19 2008, 11:26 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(WHITE ACE @ Aug 19 2008, 04:01 PM)
@ Emino

hahaha^_^
this Logon Loader didn't operate like yours, more like a scarecrow very 'Kayu'...  i need to find another one.

Added on August 19, 2008, 7:08 pmAny bros want to own a whole big Arcade into his Eee with minimum space?

Dungeons & Dragons?
Rygar classic?
Aliens?
Street Fighters?
Raiden?
Superman?
Shinobi?
Robocop? ....and more... 

Check out www.rom-world.com
Download the games and it's emulator.
* Arcade games were under MAME - download MAME Emulator too.
*you want more? Nintendo? Super Femicom? Neo-Geo? Atari?.....
Is all here.

Enjoy, cheers n chill out!~  wink.gif
hi bro,

how do i actually run the roms after downloaded the mame? eheheh... blur rclxub.gif
recoil
post Aug 20 2008, 08:46 PM

334 posts

bro,

what's d spec of 904?? price seems to be attractive wor..

but im already owning a 901 now... tongue.gif
recoil
post Aug 23 2008, 12:00 PM

334 posts

yeah, buy one for me too if the price is messed up... P

by the way, 904 is in store now?
recoil
post Aug 26 2008, 08:42 PM

334 posts

just got myself a linksys wireless router...

now enjoying wireless network at home... n the portability of 901 is great... batt. can last 5 hrs... hahahhaa bravo!

Added on August 26, 2008, 9:03 pmi have a beginner question here..

as im new to wireless network... may i have some guidance how can i share files between 2 notebook and a pc connected to my wireless router?

hehehe...

This post has been edited by recoil: Aug 26 2008, 09:03 PM
recoil
post Aug 26 2008, 09:05 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Aug 25 2008, 09:33 PM)
HMMM..its great! but the price is a bit unexpected! with that type of feature, i am wondering will asus sell it below rm2200! lets see when it out!
bro,

i bought myself the transparent protector for my notebook's exterior... only rm13 for a sheet which can cover up to 17" notebook.

i DIY mine..

Added on August 26, 2008, 9:07 pm
QUOTE(Hico @ Aug 26 2008, 09:05 PM)
got urself any bag or case for it???
i ordered a bag from a forumer here... still waiting to get the bag as carrying around with the pouch is rather inconvenient..

rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by recoil: Aug 26 2008, 09:07 PM
recoil
post Aug 26 2008, 09:17 PM

334 posts

i bought mine at regular comp. acc. shop in low yat lor...

yeah.. i understand wut u meant.. but my 901 is white colour.. therefore, bubbles are not really visible... between, have to cut the protector in size lor...

if ur notebook is black in colour.. bubbles will be very obvious... kekee.

for rm13.. i just used half.. still got half keeping for next change.
recoil
post Aug 26 2008, 09:43 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Aug 26 2008, 09:21 PM)
you put ur protector at the corner as well or only the top of the 901??? as the round round corner always the most dangerous part to get scratched if you hit something accidentally lo.. but tat part is the not easy to stick the paper smoothly lo..
how abt ur bag??? u order a shoulder bag?
bro,
u're rite, the corner is quite impossible to stick with skin

here's the link to bag ordered

http://www2.elecom.co.jp/accessory/bag/bm-ib04/

you can scroll back a few pages to look at this

recoil
post Aug 27 2008, 10:02 AM

334 posts

bro,

im running out of space for my C drive of 901...

how can i increase the safety margin for space? mind sharing on optimisation for 901 C drive?
recoil
post Aug 27 2008, 11:33 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(seaotter @ Aug 27 2008, 10:24 AM)
vixxiee, emino. You want the bag?

i ordered through shady the bag, paid but then realised that it wont fit my 1000H. So i ordered a bigger bag, which comes to my question - anyone wants the bag? selling it cheaper than the retail price.
yeah bro,

i ordered my 901 bag from shady too.. hehehe
recoil
post Aug 27 2008, 12:31 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(jackdon @ Aug 27 2008, 12:23 PM)

Its been a while since I posted here. Now an update on my touch screen that I install on my eeePC 901. I would not recommend this modification to anyone here because there are still some issue with the calibration. It seems the pressure from the bezel (side plastic panel that faces you) is putting some uneven pressure causing the need to recalibrate the screen quite often and can be quite irritating. For now I have done some minor fix and it seems to solve the issue and I am sure not many users here would be as patience.

Pros (once the calibration is solve)

The joy of navigating with the finger or a stylus with addon like Grab and Drag and MouseImp, I can swipe my finger up and down to scroll webpages makes surfing in the car with cramp space so much easier.

Cons

Well if you the calibration is not solve you will need to calibrate very often and can be a pain.
The touch panel now introduce quite a fair bit of glare on the screen as it coves the matte anti glare originally on the eeepc screen.

And eeePc 901 rocks the 4GB is more than sufficient for OS WinXP Pro SP3 nlited (no swap file), Office 2003 custom install, Opera 9.5, FoxIt (PDF Reader), Sonic PDF Creator, Able2Extract PDF Convertor, RelayFax Client (SMTP to Fax), FFDShow codec, Real Alternative, Quick Alternative, Media Player Classic, Palm Desktop, TrueCrypt, Avast AntiVirus for Home, ACDSee 9.0, WinRAR, Garmin MobilePC, Sound Forge 9.0 and a few more small utilities.

Look at all those that I install and still have 1.67GB to spare smile.gif, I still have not start to use the 8GB SSD yet. I store my audio files and some video on the 8GB SD card and also a 1.8" 30GB External HDD.

tongue.gif

Well I am happy with the 901 with the 5 hours battery.

jackdon
hi bro,

am wondering how u can optimise ur space in C drive.. hehe.. im using the stock settings and added some updates here n there... now only left 600MB... sad.gif

so, how do i configure mine to nlited WinXP?? im still using the stock WinXP..

please help

recoil
post Aug 27 2008, 01:43 PM

334 posts

hehe.. this is quite technical to me now...

i'll read up over the web n will try out.. haha

thanks bro

Added on August 27, 2008, 1:50 pmby the way, i dont recall that my eeepc 901 comes with a copy of Win XP home CD... it was pre-installed to the machine...
do u get a copy of the cd?

This post has been edited by recoil: Aug 27 2008, 01:50 PM
recoil
post Aug 27 2008, 05:44 PM

334 posts

hi bro,

i got 901.. but dun think i have the winxp installation disc...
recoil
post Aug 28 2008, 12:47 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(WHITE ACE @ Aug 27 2008, 07:51 PM)
Thanks bro,

Now i know what to do. Am gonna rip that StarOffice apart n install Office 2003.
Gonna download it from Rapidshare or MegaUpload site.

I don't think i wil often use external DVD drive so am gonna save that money for a Class 6 SD card. happy.gif

Added on August 27, 2008, 8:01 pmAlso found Office 2003 Mini 72MB only!! I got found it in Rapidshare download thru Googling.

More mini applications coming up to rescue our 901 C drive. Hope i can get 2GB free space. 
happy.gif
bro,

mind to share the link for office 2003 and the mini version?

thanks alot thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

recoil
post Aug 28 2008, 01:33 PM

334 posts

white ace,

many thanks.... hehe
yeah.. i've been trying hard to get more space for my 901 C drive... but no good.. still 500mb free only... headache ar

also, im not very tech savvy.. so it'll be risky to go forward with the nlite... hehehe.. i only have the recovery dvd from 901 bundle.. dun hav a copy of winxp home edition sad.gif

Added on August 28, 2008, 1:35 pmby the way, do we need an account to download frm rapidshare? i dun have an account.. hehe

This post has been edited by recoil: Aug 28 2008, 01:35 PM
recoil
post Aug 28 2008, 03:13 PM

334 posts

thanks alot bro

recoil
post Aug 28 2008, 10:46 PM

334 posts

true enuf... buying netbook is much affordable nowadays..

still can remember during my college days.. a decent twinhead notebook can cost up to rm10k.... now we're spoilt with choices of low budget computers

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0457sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:15 PM