4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Official Asus EEE PC Thread #2, Love it ? Feel it !

recoil
post Aug 12 2008, 09:16 PM

334 posts

hmm.. thanks..

sorry its 901 tongue.gif still trying to get use with the small keyboard...hahahah

guess i should just charge up the battery n keep... plug it in when im on the move..

also, i noticed that i'll require 1G+ of space when i choose hirbenate... space on 901 C:/ is crucial.. hehe

also, what if i upgrade the RAM to 2GB? will it require more empty space for hirbenating?

recoil
post Aug 12 2008, 09:35 PM

334 posts

hi leenux...can this hdd be used for my 901 ?
recoil
post Aug 12 2008, 09:54 PM

334 posts

sad.gif i just bought mine few days ago..... doubt can use this

sorry
recoil
post Aug 13 2008, 12:30 AM

334 posts

hi david,

i saw my sticker... written as MB Rev 901... 12.. see photo attached.

hi micheal,

yeah... i asked around early thiis week before i purchase... there's this shop at sunway pyramid asking RM1899 for 901... i just replied him "Good luck" with a smile and walk away

ahahhaha

recoil
post Aug 13 2008, 12:49 AM

334 posts

jamezco,

not really actually... just round the corner n i saw evernew selling the same unit for rm1699 and some selling rm1749..

just that one of the shop is jual mahal.. really cannot understand
recoil
post Aug 13 2008, 03:32 PM

334 posts

hahah.. i think players in industry is catching up in netbook market share. anyway, asus has a long history of netbook n pioneered...

shop around...
recoil
post Aug 13 2008, 04:05 PM

334 posts

not sure of the heatsink.. im a 901 owner..

no regret owning this product.. hehe.. quite happy now
recoil
post Aug 13 2008, 10:14 PM

334 posts

david,

cool... i might go for the CF Zif extension later on... hehehe.. i guess cf is relatively cheap now

Added on August 13, 2008, 10:18 pmhi guys,

i just noticed that my 901 charger adapter is generating some small noise while charging my 901...

anyone have this problem before??

This post has been edited by recoil: Aug 13 2008, 10:18 PM
recoil
post Aug 14 2008, 11:06 AM

334 posts

shady,

by the way, i just noticed that my 901 charger adapter is generating some small noise while charging my 901...

have u heard such noises from the power adapter? just worried it might burn or so.

also, what would be the recommended antivirus programme for 901?
recoil
post Aug 14 2008, 11:36 AM

334 posts

hmm.. if such small squeaking or whinning noise is ok,, then i'm fine lor.. hehe.. just worried on any overvoltage/heat that might lead to explosion...

as for AV, you're right.. i personally dont like AV running on my system.. it just slows down everything.

recoil
post Aug 14 2008, 12:34 PM

334 posts

hmmm.. thanks for your advice... true.. i want to avoid this as well.

do u think i can get exchange on the spot? hehe
recoil
post Aug 14 2008, 01:31 PM

334 posts

thanks bro.. i called up Asus service centre..

yeah, will bring mine over tomorrow for an exchange.. really worried of fire hazard...

cheers
recoil
post Aug 14 2008, 06:41 PM

334 posts

thanks sky,

yeah, i talked to them on the phone n they sounds reasonable.. perhaps.. they urged me to see them quickly to avoid any surge of power supply to the 901 or fire hazard.

heheh..

pig duck,

if im not mistaken ... 701 linux is going to rm999 in the market. but 7" screen is bit small for my eyes tongue.gif
recoil
post Aug 14 2008, 09:24 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(Togepy @ Aug 14 2008, 09:03 PM)
can pc 901 support 1680 x 1050 resolution for 22" lcd??
will it get hots if i use it with high reso for long time?
hmm... doubt so ler.. 1024x768 max ler sad.gif

recoil
post Aug 16 2008, 11:36 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Aug 16 2008, 09:24 AM)
Same here hehehehe thumbup.gif I am wiping the glossy surface every time I used it with a microfiber cloth. But I am liking the surface because it seems to be quite resistant to scratches and smudges. Like the white color so much.
yeah, the finishing is nice... but i just put a layer of transparent protective film on top ler.... will it leave some adhesive when i remove it later? tongue.gif

also, i just got my power adapter changed at service centre.. just told them that im afraid of potential fire hazard... anyway, it seems to take a while to fully charge my 901 battery... ppl, mind to share how much time it takes for u to charge??

mine already 2hrs n still charging only up to 85%.... worried
recoil
post Aug 16 2008, 01:03 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(^prion^ @ Aug 16 2008, 11:52 AM)
Hi everyone. I'm interested in the eee 901 as well. Can anyone who have bought it recently share here wat price (+ any freebies)? Maybe i'll get it from lowyat/digital mall.

Plus anyone who has hooked up a GPS unit with it? kind enough to share your experience?
hi there,

i got mine for rm1650 + freebies [mouse n usb hub) @ imbi plaza
recoil
post Aug 16 2008, 10:02 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(WHITE ACE @ Aug 16 2008, 01:55 PM)
After 1st initial 8 hours charge on power off condition. After that, 3 to 3 half hours per Full charge is normal. I used to unplug it when i see Power Meter is 100% on Power Management.

Cheers~
thanks bro for the info... heheh.. just wanna have some idea on how much time to spend for a full charge.

overall, am happy with my unit for the moment... just that am waiting for my external dvd drive to install some office programmes...

the batt life is amazing.. can last me abt 6 hrs or so... without wifi n bluetooth. just normal net surfing via lan cable.

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
recoil
post Aug 16 2008, 11:01 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(^prion^ @ Aug 16 2008, 10:50 PM)
hi recoil. thanks for the reply. real good deal. i saw a few pages before this that u bought it in pineapple. hope i got that luck as well.
prion.. good luck.. hmm.. overall its a good deal n they willing to exchange my unit when i found some issue with it.. so, u can go to them n say lyn forumer introduced.. tongue.gif test ur unit before taking home

Added on August 16, 2008, 11:04 pm
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Aug 16 2008, 10:31 PM)
local lan via cable would allow you to set up your office, if you mark your pc cd rom as sharing. i did that to install office 2003.

before that you need to set up  your networking . i use wifi to send docs to my pc for direct printing (  from 1st floor  using netbook to ground floor pc connected to a  printer )

Actually, i wanted to buy 901 with cd rom enternal, but ending up buying 1000H. I forgo the cd rom.
thanks for sharing... but i dun hav a router at home now.. kekeke.

its ok.. not urgent to use office as i still have company's laptop... 901 for net surfing n waiting to get a wireless router so that i can make full use of the 901 long batt life and light weight.. hehe

any recommendation on wireless router? am thinking to get the linksys.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by recoil: Aug 16 2008, 11:04 PM
recoil
post Aug 16 2008, 11:45 PM

334 posts

not too sure of wireless n.. hehe..

am living in condo.. so, normal wifi will do for me.. as long i can walk around in the house and still holding my 901 for net surfing.. heheeh.

anywya, might need some of ur help to setup my router later on.. i'm currently using maxis wireless modem (the ZTE type which comes with LAN cable)
recoil
post Aug 17 2008, 12:20 AM

334 posts

im using maxis... currently there's a promotion... rm 58 minimum

and rm 78 for 3.6mbps wireless..anyway, it should be much cheaper than these rates.. just look at rates in china.. its so darn cheap there... tongue.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0423sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:09 AM