4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Official Asus EEE PC Thread #2, Love it ? Feel it !

emino
post Sep 14 2008, 08:55 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

I tried to play dota once with my 901, but the reso is too small for my taste.

I guess I should find diner dash and some other along the same lines as diner dash works fantastic with these kind of laptops.

I tried gba and snes games via emulators, but the keyboard is not that great to comfortably play those games.
emino
post Sep 15 2008, 07:20 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

Anyway guys, dont forget to login into your free YoStore account. Asus had put tons of flash games in it!
emino
post Sep 15 2008, 07:59 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(booby @ Sep 15 2008, 07:45 PM)
YoStore? How to access?
Oh. Thought got 2  blush.gif
Read the manual. It haz info on how to access YoStore.
emino
post Sep 16 2008, 10:39 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(vixxiee @ Sep 16 2008, 10:33 PM)
any1 know how to delete the automatic update stuff..i forgot to off it..then last night my eeepc update it self..now my C is less then 200mb..

if there is no solution..i will reformat again  sweat.gif
ccleaner has that option. download it! thumbup.gif
alternatibely, you can wipe out old System Restore checkpoints.
emino
post Sep 16 2008, 10:50 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Sep 16 2008, 10:49 PM)
A laser mouse can track more surfaces than older red-light mouse. The wavelength used on a laser mouse is narrower than its predecessors so it'll help it track more details on different terrains. Also those laser mouse don't have those annoying and glaring red beam, its usually invisible but don't put your eye in front of it k. Hehehe!

I am using a HP Precision Laser Tracking mouse that I bought at RM70 during its Further Mark Down Sale at Jaya33 last month. It was a co-incidence and I was there at the right time and place.
I'm using bluetooth mouse. No need an ugly stick of laser mouse receiver hogging the limited usb. thumbup.gif
emino
post Sep 16 2008, 11:15 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(vixxiee @ Sep 16 2008, 11:13 PM)
i try to restore to older checkpoint...but there is no checkpoint b4 today  doh.gif will try the ccleaner..thx
I mean clean up the older checkpoints, but since theres no older checkpoint, i guess thats not the point.

yep. ccleaner removes those updates 'uninstaller' files which are the ones that actually takes up space.
emino
post Sep 17 2008, 09:34 AM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Sep 17 2008, 12:16 AM)
But the drawbacks for bluetooth is that you need to leave the bluetooth on which uses alot of battery. Both choices has its pros and cons tongue.gif
I've always leave my bluetooth on to sync with my phone anyway. So I guess its not a problem for me wink.gif.
emino
post Sep 18 2008, 03:07 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

I'm wondering is there any shops that sells extra chargers for eee pc. It would be less hassle to have one charger at office, one at home and one safely store inside the box of my motorcycle than bringing them EVERYWHERE!
emino
post Sep 18 2008, 04:48 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

vista should be more resource hog, thus draining more battery i think.
emino
post Sep 19 2008, 07:13 AM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(razlan @ Sep 19 2008, 06:23 AM)
those into photo editing, can use faststone image viewer, its free and doenst hog ram as much as photoshop
I found photofiltre is also quite good for lite editing. Also, photoshop 7 runs pretty fast and smooth. Most CS photoshops only provides additional automation process that people can do manually in photoshop 7 anyway.

Added on September 19, 2008, 7:16 am
QUOTE(137807102 @ Sep 18 2008, 07:48 PM)
i dont think the eee charger is that heavy
even i always carry it in my bag...including my camera..hehe
I dont think its that heavy either. I just dont like carrying too many wires in my bag. I got my ds charger, ext hd power cable (i'm using one with multimedia function, so it needs power cable), phone charger in my bag already and they get tangled up sometimes.

This post has been edited by emino: Sep 19 2008, 07:16 AM
emino
post Sep 19 2008, 01:56 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(137807102 @ Sep 19 2008, 01:44 PM)
photoshop 7? is that an old version od adobe cs...
i like using photoshop since im compatible with it..hihi
its an old version alright, before the whole cs thing started, but I've been using that for years before finally switch to CS3.
and you know what, I design stuffs for my company, and still have my job, so I think thats enough to say its good enough tongue.gif.
emino
post Sep 19 2008, 07:12 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Sep 19 2008, 06:17 PM)
Yes , you are right.

I was thinking of buying a 3G modem last year when it was selling at RM 850. So I did not buy.

3 months ago , i took a relook at 3G modem  and then again I did not buy.

But since, Celcom could upgrade my RM 88 +15  ( streamyx plus hotspots )  to RM 108 ( streamyx plus 3g celcom ). Then i said  why not ?

I think for a long time, finally i bought the 3G modem. The beauty of it, I do not need to look for Starbucks or hotspots like that to surf . Mamak stalls will do. I think there are more mamak stalls than starbucks or hotspots combined. Quite easy to locate one when caught  in trafffic jams  in KL.

Honestly, i think the price of  3G modem would drop to less than rm 200. Since, i am in financial services sector, i do not want to wait.

For the purpose of sharing my personal view with others. Do not mean to poison you.
I just use my handphone as modem (via bluetooth) to connect to Maxis 3g. less hassle and expense! icon_rolleyes.gif
emino
post Sep 19 2008, 08:20 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Sep 19 2008, 07:36 PM)
Sorry i do not have a 3G phone, so a new 3G phone  is costing me  RM 350 or more.

Secondly i am using only a 3G data card. So to reserve  s 3G phone just to surf web is a waste for me. Unplug and plug sim cards less hassle ?

Then again through bluetooth, what is your speed, mind to share. ?
A long, long time ago, before I even thinking of buying eee pc, I bought a k810i. Not for its 3g though, but for it's 3.2 mp camera.

And now, I just use it as a modem since its already have that function.

Secondly, I used myphone sim card since its already a 3g simcard. so another thing that is already there for me icon_rolleyes.gif

And here is my speedtest data (attachment). Its enough I guess, sine I only use it for simple surfing. Like right now I'm at jusco, waiting for a friend to finish shopping. I just take a seat and whip out my eee. thumbup.gif

emino
post Sep 23 2008, 12:10 AM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(SerioseCat @ Sep 22 2008, 11:27 PM)
damn, torn between 1000H/80gb and Compaq CQ40--115AU.

Both around same price range, rm1800.

How ah?
Do you want smaller size and longer lasting batery laptop that is designed for basic office tasks or a full laptop with dvd-roma nd better specs?
emino
post Sep 23 2008, 11:35 AM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

too bad 901 is no longer in market sad.gif.
at least i managed to get it. icon_rolleyes.gif
emino
post Sep 24 2008, 10:55 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Sep 24 2008, 10:21 PM)
How much exactly you pay for it ?

I find the keyboard protector a bit expensive selling like rm 38.
wow... why so mahal? I got my keyboard protector for 910 for just RM15 at LYP.
emino
post Sep 24 2008, 11:40 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Sep 24 2008, 10:59 PM)
Not easy to get for  1000H . Let us know where to buy .
I think i have their business card lying around somewhere. WIll post the details if I can find it. tongue.gif
emino
post Sep 25 2008, 08:56 AM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

Even my 901 can support office 2007. So 1000 should.
emino
post Oct 7 2008, 08:26 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Oct 7 2008, 07:36 PM)
1. Mozilla Firefox - no worries le ... 900H should be able to do it.
2. ACDSee photo software to view pics should be ok ... but photoshop its painful on the eye ... not forgetting the speed ....
3. MS Office 2008 - not sure coz i using office 2007 on my 1000H - still painful when using powerpoint (too small screen)
4. WMP + Video Lan - no idea why its a bit laggy when i forward the vid.
5. backup camera pics - both also can - get a 8gb high speed compact flash for ur dSLR ... lolx
6. Yum Char - both also can.

hope that helps

btw there is the 904HD also and its quite cheap 1399 i think
1. Mozilla 2.0 works good. 1.5 is better, but not many plugins works well with that. 3.0 is worse when visiting flash sites, very laggy.

2. I would recommend XnView as a replacement. That one works well, very light and free.

3. MS Office 2007 works well. Dunno bout 2008.

4. I'm using klite codec with media player classic. works really well, not laggy etc.

5. not a pro camera guy. i just use it to store my cameraphone pictures. sorry.

6. do that all the time!
emino
post Oct 11 2008, 10:33 AM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(vixxiee @ Oct 11 2008, 10:30 AM)
how come u didnt have a cd with u?? the window is in the recovery cd
yes. the recovery cd have windows, but you cant add additional languages file through it.
i think its possible for you to do that through reformat/reinstall windows and set to install the language files during installation.

or you can find a copy of windows xp home from either borrowing it or whatever and install it using that. it wont ask for any serials if i'm not mistaken.

for me? when i reformat my windows to xp pro, i add the language files as well.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0491sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:51 AM