4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Official Asus EEE PC Thread #2, Love it ? Feel it !

davidmak
post Aug 10 2008, 10:43 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(cwilliamc @ Aug 10 2008, 10:17 AM)
Hi michaeltan1943, since i bought this from my best fren which is branch manager of one of computer shop, he did show me his cost and their profit is really less than RM100 each. my fren only earn me less than RM50 for my purchase.

So jux wanna clarify the misunderstanding of ppl toward the seller.
Allow me to put in some more information into the equation so everyone can ponder. That cost of his is the price he gets from the main ASUS representative office. And behind that chain, there's another cost from the manufacturer. In mass production scale, these components are pretty cheap. The bill of materials cost should be a lot cheaper. And all these costs will give you the retail price. Some retail stores can give you a more competitive price because they get consignment from ASUS. In such a large quantity buy sell, there's can be a lot of freedom in adjusting the price while still be able to take a large cut of the cake.
davidmak
post Aug 10 2008, 04:24 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Aug 10 2008, 01:42 PM)
Kind of agree. I Opt  for 1000.

On the other hand, the quality control of Asus  is not there for eee pc  due to heavy demands.

Then again, their batteries  supplied from LG was facing a problem ( due to a serious fire in April this year ).

But the others may want to impress the consumers ( as  new comers ), so the quality could be better than Asus.
No offense here but I don't understand every time when a product is in heavy demand, the quality control will go down the drain. And it always associated to the non-western products. The failure rate is always consistent. With more demand, they simply produce more. And that failure rate is represented by a larger quantity but their percentage is always the same.

Again why would a battery face a problem just because its factory was in a serious fire? It was either produced before that faithful event or they were produced after. Why would the fire be involved? They could just build it somewhere else.

The newcomers simply tries to attract consumers by spending more time on the cosmetic/exterior of the product. They give better specifications at a more competitive price. With a lower price, it will always eat into the reliability of a product and somewhere in between. Then again, people don't over-engineer a product to last longer than the lifetime of usage. So a time span of between 3-5 years (usually) is reasonable.

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Aug 10 2008, 02:06 PM)
Simply reason for the battery draining problem on the 900 - High standby current
You mean there's a leakage somewhere in the circuitry? Well the Celeron M ULV was built on a larger architecture and not 45nm. The core voltage will always be slightly higher. Also the chipset used is off an older generation and it sucks a lot of power too.

QUOTE(Balok @ Aug 10 2008, 03:17 PM)
i got problems on EEE 900 sad.gif

after install Vista Basic, i failed to find wireless driver. Where can i find it?
Maybe you can identify the chipset number used in your machine. Then look for other vista notebook drivers which uses the same chipset. It should work. Some are product specific, so you need to keep looking.

davidmak
post Aug 10 2008, 10:42 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Balok @ Aug 10 2008, 04:30 PM)
erk...

How to identify the chipset number?
i use 20GB Black EEE PC 900
According to the information I searched from the internet, the WIFI card used in the Eee PC 900 is still the same one used on the Eee PC 701. The WIFI chipset is Atheros 5700. Maybe you can try another way to obtain the driver - through Windows Update. The standard installation should have drivers for your built-in ethernet. You can then access Windows Update and hopefully it is able to detect a proper driver for it.
davidmak
post Aug 10 2008, 11:56 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(wufei @ Aug 10 2008, 11:14 PM)

Added on August 10, 2008, 11:18 pmNow pairing it with bluetooth laser mouse.

Magnificient.

The bluetooth software is marvelous. Very fast detection.

Other findings:-
Put on the AC plug, turn to Super Performance Mode - you will like it
Adaptor is very hot.
Yeah adapter is very hot especially when you are using and recharging the battery pack at the same time. I think its due to the small and compact nature of the adapter. The amperage is also very high but you can charge the battery faster though.
davidmak
post Aug 11 2008, 08:21 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(blurprincess @ Aug 11 2008, 07:53 AM)
i got mine 5800.

i thought every laptop got the drain issue?  because we connected to eee pc, the batt will slowli "lost".. same like the rechargeable batt..
Yes that is true but the drain does not comes from the Eee PC but from the battery itself. It is a feature of every rechargeable battery or battery because there's always an internal resistance. It will cause a self drain but usually a very low percentage each day to a month. In Eee PC 900/700's case, the drain is exceptionally high... up to 10% each day as reported by the sources.
davidmak
post Aug 11 2008, 01:23 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(openweb @ Aug 11 2008, 11:24 AM)
Hello All
Is the keyboard area of eeepc 901 getting "hot" after hour of normal use? (eg. browsing, word processing and online chat)
In my experience with the Eee PC 901 so far, the keyboard area isn't hot or warm at all during heavy use. At most the underneath is warm only. The fan does a good job in dissipating the heat away from the unit. During charging however, the battery module is slightly warm especially the area near the hinge.

QUOTE(recoil @ Aug 11 2008, 11:31 AM)
hi bro,

mind to share if i would like to setup GPS on 901 ... wut n where to get those Garmin devices? bluetooth?
Actually any bluetooth GPS receiver will do just fine. The navigational software can be of any. For the sake of convenience and usability we usually prefer either Garmin or Mapking. The map support is also great because we have the local community Malsingmap providing very detail maps of our country. If you want recommendation you can try Holux or any brands that uses the SirfStarIII or MTK chipsets. Lookout our trade section, there is one member selling these devices.
davidmak
post Aug 12 2008, 09:06 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(recoil @ Aug 12 2008, 08:11 PM)
hi there,

question on battery

i normally using AC to power my 902 for home use...  how to prolong the lifespan of the battery?

should i use untill fully discharged and store it aside?

or i should keep it fully charged and keep?

hehehee... sifus here pls help
If you're really concern on the battery, then you can use the Eee PC with the battery removed. However, you will now be exposed to power outage and whatever data you're working with will be lost. If you use the Eee PC as an information consumption device, then this is not really a problem. The NTFS file system is a journal based file system and is very robust.
davidmak
post Aug 12 2008, 10:55 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(recoil @ Aug 12 2008, 09:16 PM)
hmm.. thanks..

sorry its 901 tongue.gif still trying to get use with the small keyboard...hahahah

guess i should just charge up the battery n keep... plug it in when im on the move..

also, i noticed that i'll require 1G+ of space when i choose hirbenate... space on 901 C:/ is crucial..  hehe

also, what if i upgrade the RAM to 2GB? will it require more empty space for hirbenating?
If you are using 2GB of RAM, the space required to do hibernation will be higher and that is 2048MB as indicated by SKY.

QUOTE(recoil @ Aug 12 2008, 09:54 PM)
sad.gif i just bought mine few days ago..... doubt can use this

sorry
Check the bottom casing of your Eee PC 901. There are various product stickers at the bottom. Notice one of the stickers which has a number such as 12 on the corner of the sticker. If you have 12, that means the hardware motherboard is version 1.2/12 and that is the same motherboard used for upgrading by JKKmobile on his youtube guide on HDD modification.

QUOTE(leenux @ Aug 12 2008, 09:30 PM)
hope it's okay to post this here:

i have a toshiba hitachi 1.8" 30gb external hdd + casing. bought 2-3 months ago from a seller here for RM80. since i have got a 320gb hdd now, im selling this item for RM50. i tot of keeping it for 900 but dun see it happen now. PM me if interested. prefer COD only.

edit: it's hitachi.. not toshiba sweat.gif
Bro, the price of RM80 is nice! You're selling at RM50? Sweeter... thumbup.gif Anyway how old is the product? Does it have a ZIF cable?
davidmak
post Aug 13 2008, 09:48 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(recoil @ Aug 13 2008, 12:30 AM)
hi david,

i saw my sticker... written as MB Rev 901... 12.. see photo attached.
hi micheal,

yeah... i asked around early thiis week before i purchase... there's this shop at sunway pyramid asking RM1899 for 901... i just replied him "Good luck" with a smile and walk away

ahahhaha
Yes, that is the one used by JKKmobile on his own modifications. Yours should be equipped with the ZIF connector.
davidmak
post Aug 14 2008, 06:51 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(shady @ Aug 14 2008, 10:55 AM)
Not all rev 12 boards come with ZIF. In fact most of the new batches of 901 doesn't come with ZIF. ASUS removed the connector to cut cost. Only the first batch comes with ZIF connector. One way to check is the serial no. But the safest way is opening up the cover.
Cost per GB wise, 1.8" HDD is still the cheapest for ZIF solution followed by CF/SD and then SSD. Buffalo will be releasing 32GB/64GB SSD to replace the 8GB SSD on 901 but the cost will be around RM 450 for the 32GB and RM 900 for the 64GB. Almost 1/4, 1/2 of a new 901. If storage space matters i recommend 1.8" HDD. CF, SD will be faster in access time but HDD still rules for storage.
Gosh, few subversions on the same motherboard revision? Now that misleading. Guess we'll have to open up the casing to find the answer. I think the 1.8" HDD solution is a better alternative if the price is not near RM350. Otherwise the 32GB for RM450 sounds reasonable because it also have 30GB of space and the performance is most likely faster including the advantages of a SSD. But I agree with you, SD cards are cheap and the non-invasive way of having more storage.

However, if users are using the Eee PC as designed I don't think upgrading the storage is ever required. Given internet/communication program does not require a lot of space and also the advent of Web2.0 applications, the default storage is actually pretty ok. User files can be saved on the SD card for utmost portability.

QUOTE(pigduck @ Aug 14 2008, 04:30 PM)
thinking of getting the eee pc 701... just bought a brand new desktop but require the portability.

good buy?
Well the Eee PC 701's resolution is lesser so you'll be doing a lot of horizontal left right scrolling. Not an enjoyable experience. Better aim for the Eee PC 901 or other alternatives with at least 1024 x 600 resolutions. The 1024 horizontal pixels is required because most web pages are designed to be viewed on a standard 15-17" 1024x768 resolution monitor.
davidmak
post Aug 14 2008, 11:08 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Aug 14 2008, 07:07 PM)
hey guys thanks for the quick replies...

but isn't 1024px horizontal really tiny on a 8.9inch screen?
Yes, its small but you'll get used to it. Its not really really tiny but you'll find reading Eee PC like reading a small book. The 1024 horizontal resolution is able to display a lot of information but the vertical resolution is just not enough. But thats fine since you can scroll up and down easily than left and right. If 8.9" is small for you, then the 10" will give you a large size but with the same resolution and no more information than the 8.9".

QUOTE(Togepy @ Aug 14 2008, 09:03 PM)
can pc 901 support 1680 x 1050 resolution for 22" lcd??
will it get hots if i use it with high reso for long time?
I am not sure but I remember the external VGA port can support external monitor or TV. The resolution will definitely be higher than the standard 1024x600 resolution on the 8.9/10" LCD display. We're talking about the GMA950 here. Look up for the Intel specifications for the resolutions supported. I have the same graphics core on my 15.4" laptop with resolution of 1280x800. So I don't think it will have problem with the 22" LCD. But you'll need to try to find out.

Maybe other uses can chip in?
davidmak
post Aug 16 2008, 09:24 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(WHITE ACE @ Aug 15 2008, 10:27 PM)
I kiss this pearl white like no 2molo.

I'm Loving It!
happy.gif
Same here hehehehe thumbup.gif I am wiping the glossy surface every time I used it with a microfiber cloth. But I am liking the surface because it seems to be quite resistant to scratches and smudges. Like the white color so much.
davidmak
post Aug 19 2008, 09:48 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Kyl3 @ Aug 19 2008, 09:03 PM)
What's the latest price for 900 and 901 in lowyat plaza ya?

And which one is a better get?
I would definitely go for the Eee PC 901. Better overall specifications even though it does not have as much storage capacity as the Eee PC 900. But if your priorities are storage capacity and you don't wanna invest anymore SDHC cards for the 901, then the choice is clear.
davidmak
post Aug 23 2008, 02:26 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Aug 23 2008, 02:11 PM)
Luckily I bought 901 in that store. Now its limited edition!
Yeah lucky for me too, otherwise I may never get the right 900-series. Seems like ASUS is creating a mess here. They wanna maintain the RM1699 price point throughout the 900-series family. So they mix this and that. To make matters worst, a consumer may never get the right 900-series. Currently I think the 901 is the right balance between performance and form factor. The rest is basically so close.

I guess they are trying to force consumers to go straight for the 1000H?
davidmak
post Aug 24 2008, 12:42 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

This could be the reason why the Eee PC 901 is nowhere to be seen and instead 904 coming into the picture. As far as 901 is concern it is still the best Atom platform for the 8.9" form factor. If this shortages of Atom is true, the 1000H should be affected real soon since it uses the same CPU too.

Dailytech: Shortages of Intel Atom CPU Leads ASUS to Celeron M
http://www.dailytech.com/Shortages+of+Inte...rticle12742.htm
davidmak
post Aug 24 2008, 12:56 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Hehehe I wonder who is interested in my one-month-old 901. Toying with the idea of funding for a VAIO SR-series. tongue.gif
davidmak
post Aug 24 2008, 03:23 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Aug 24 2008, 09:10 AM)
pls don't take advantage & sell at mark up price wink.gif
No no... don't jump to conclusion so fast. I am not trying to make a profit here. Its just that the selling price will not be as low, thats all. I bought mine at RM1749, so maybe sell at RM1600 and below. But I have not decided yet. tongue.gif

I think my prices for my stuff has always been reasonable so I guess it's gonna be ok.
davidmak
post Aug 25 2008, 04:53 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Aug 24 2008, 07:08 PM)
would there be an eee model with the new dual core atom in the near future?
Honestly speaking, I hope there is one in the future. But the current dual core Atom sold for desktop boards has a Z suffix in front. The netbooks uses N suffixes. I hope Intel will not restrict dual core Atoms from the netbooks. Now that the Centrino Atoms brand name has been dropped, I do hope the dual core Atoms if they ever become available for netbooks come with the Poulsbo chipset.

The current i945GSE maybe throwing out a lot of heat and not as efficient as the CPU itself. A very ironic feeling there.

QUOTE(mcchin @ Aug 25 2008, 03:03 PM)
Finally!!!!

got my eee pc 901!!!!

in the end I am just really happy that there is a ZIF socket for future upgrade!!!! thumbup.gif

now I can  rclxm9.gif
Nice! Really nice... good that you have that ZIF connector intact.

davidmak
post Aug 26 2008, 10:08 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(recoil @ Aug 26 2008, 08:42 PM)

Added on August 26, 2008, 9:03 pmi have a beginner question here..

as im new to wireless network... may i have some guidance how can i share files between 2 notebook and a pc connected to my wireless router?

hehehe...
You can start by simply right clicking a folder and then select 'share'. Different OS would have this option differently but the concept is the same. I assume that all your computers are able to connect to the router and have access to the internet. So technically, all your computers should have a valid internal IP address and on the same domain.

QUOTE(Hico @ Aug 26 2008, 09:14 PM)
but DIY is not as smooth especially the corner part..i tried on my other notebook and a lot of bubble can be seen and beside is not as nice too...where do you buy ur protector???

which forumer you buy the bag from????how much is it????
Try using your hair dryer set to medium heat and gently blow on the material to allow it to expand. When it is soft, it is easier to 'shape' the curves and bends. Don't overheat though, we don't want burnt plastics hehehehe. Especially white plastics which turns brown in no time!
davidmak
post Aug 27 2008, 10:32 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Aug 27 2008, 07:09 PM)
Office 2003 is much lighter than star office, light one is about 300mb, whereas star office is about 800mb.

Installation can be done through desktop cd rom by connecting through local networking to eee pc.

Alternatively ( suggested by someone ) is :-

Buy a DVD ROM drive for around RM 70.
Buy a USB-IDE and power adapter cable package for around RM 50-60.
Total = approximately RM 130. Can be bought in almost any computer shop nowadays.

P/s: better bring along with your 901 to test.
Just to add in for the benefit to other users, you can also copy the installations files from the Office 2003/2007 CD to the thumb drive and execute from there. You don't need the autostart scripts. Just run the executable/msi file and it will install on its own.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0262sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:05 PM