4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Official Asus EEE PC Thread #2, Love it ? Feel it !

davidmak
post Aug 6 2008, 08:28 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Aug 6 2008, 08:17 AM)
1000H compare with 901, what is good and bad?????
People may want the 1000H because it has more storage capacity, larger keyboard and a more comfortable display while people may want the 901 because of the very compact form factor. The 1000H isn't a lot larger than the 901 actually but the ergonomics is a lot better. Although the screen is larger by an inch the resolution stays the same. So you only get larger fonts and icons. I am comfortable with 901's screen size though so it all depends on your expectations.

For me the only reason why I should get the 1000H is the storage capacity.
davidmak
post Aug 6 2008, 08:50 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Aug 6 2008, 08:30 AM)
icic...how abt the glossy finishing??? same like 901?
Yes same as 901. The same glossy surfaces on the top surfaces (display outer shell and keyboard area). The bottom LCD casing and bottom chassis is a very light matte surface which is great for slightly rough terrain. Overall, it gives you a hint of quality and nice finishing. My advice is to get the white color because it hides finger prints and grease extremely well. You won't see a thing unless you scrutinize every inch of the surface diligently. It is also not noticeable with scratches.

The only thing we don't know yet is discoloration. I am extremely worried about the keyboard which may suffer yellowish coloration after long term use or exposure to light and UV rays. Also, the 6-cell battery's color tone and finishing is slightly different from the rest of the 901 (white). The color is slightly off white which kinda spoils the overall look.
davidmak
post Aug 6 2008, 09:23 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Aug 6 2008, 08:53 AM)
i also noticed if white colour, the keyboard look a bit low quality like will easily get yellowish...
Black colour will be more attractive due to its glossy !  shocking.gif
Yeah, a little yellowish impression. I remember one of JKKMobile's video has the 901's keyboard swapped with the black version. Looks pretty contrasting. When you mention glossy, did you mean the keyboard itself is glossy? I think the white can be long lasting provided we take good care of it. Maybe apply some plastic shine on it. I use to clean old white turned yellow plastics with these. Gives back the shine it once had.
davidmak
post Aug 6 2008, 04:00 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Aug 6 2008, 11:07 AM)
The 901 with 2Gb ram would be able to run Vista SP1 smoothly, and according to some benchmarks made, synthetic benchmarks carried out in Vista yielded higher results as compared to XP. As long as its either the Wind, 901 or 1000H, it'll run great =D.
So meaning I can run that on my 901 just the same as running Windows XP? Thats provided its vlited correct? hmm.gif I wonder if the startup and shutdown time will be affected. My machines running Windows Vista actually took longer to startup compared with my office machine which runs on Windows XP and on a very last year specifications. Both machines have been optimized.
davidmak
post Aug 6 2008, 10:56 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Honestly lar... a safe estimation should be 4.5 hours plus minus 0.5 hours. Thats on a setting of reasonable brightness, reasonable amount of WIFI and bluetooth usage, reasonable usage of the processor and other things.

If you reduce the brightness to the minimum, no WIFI and no bluetooth and idle, then 6-7 hours isn't impossible. But that is not practical because we don't use a laptop this way.
davidmak
post Aug 7 2008, 07:59 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Aug 7 2008, 12:39 AM)
Is it possible to create customized winXP using nlite from the Asus 901 CD recovery disk?
I don't think so. I did not check mine yet but I read that most of the contents in the ASUS 901 recovery CD is actually ghost image files. There's a utility that helps you make a bootable USB thumb drive with these files to restoring the C and D partition to its factory default.

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Aug 7 2008, 01:26 AM)
Installed Speedy Vista Ultimate SP1, and so far seems pretty good. Everything is smooth, fast loading, etc. Gonna run 3dmark03 now.

Previously on XP with stock drivers, my 3dmark03 was 800. With new drivers on XP, it rose to 811.

We shall see how it fares on Vista smile.gif
Care to share with me which version is the latest XP drivers? Is this from the ASUS download website or from Intel's or other sources?

davidmak
post Aug 7 2008, 01:11 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(hangy2k @ Aug 7 2008, 09:37 AM)
what program you install? any antivirus? you may want to apply some tweak on it to make it faster. wink.gif

btw the processor itself is only 900mhz, you cant compare it to other laptop with higher processor speed.
Actually both processors the Celeron M ULV 900MHz and Atom 1600MHz is almost the same in terms of performance. Thats at this very moment. Reason is because the Celeron M is essentially a out-of-order execution unit while the Atom is an in-order type which is similar to our very first Pentium processor. In fact, most of its design rules were taken from there if you read their technology review. In an in-order execution process, if the data was not in its cache it had to wait for the system to fetch it from memory. It cannot do other tasks while waiting and that could mean loosing a few hundred clock cycles for just that. An out-of-order process would allow the processor to re-arrange its schedule and perform other simpler tasks while waiting.

Of course the Atom has other performance enhancement like symmetrical multithreading, some SIMD enhancement extensions and other tweaks. That will require lots of optimization from the OS and programs to make use of it. Especially a compiler to optimize for in-order execution.

The reason an Atom is much better than the Celeron M is due to its architectural platform based on the i945 and GMA950 graphics core than the very yesterday's technology of i910 chipset. However, the Poulsbo chipset is the actual chipset it should be paired on. Thats for next year's product and it should be a lot more power efficient.
davidmak
post Aug 7 2008, 07:13 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(okk @ Aug 7 2008, 06:49 PM)
Sumtimes charge, sumtimes won't change, I beleive it's software problem coz the new one also same...
Then you should send it back see if they swap you a new system. Hehehe! But most likely they would swap a new motherboard for you or before that, do a complete restore of the OS to double confirm. Better do a backup now before visiting them again.
davidmak
post Aug 7 2008, 11:25 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(NIckLJF @ Aug 7 2008, 10:02 PM)
When will it be available? I do not need windows xp
I should be available soon by September this year. Anyway the Xandros Linux distribution by ASUS is available for download from the eeepcuser forum. You can install it on the 901 XP version. However, I believe waiting for the Linux variant will be more worth it because the money save is used for an extra 8GB (Total 20GB or 4GB + 16GB) of storage space.

QUOTE(recoil @ Aug 7 2008, 10:18 PM)
hi,

just came back from sunway, shops there saying PC904 will be out in 2 weeks... issit true? wuts the spec? win xp?

and i was told that price will be almost the same as current Pc901 ard RM1699

there's no freebies buying at sunway.. only a mouse..

so, should i wait for PC904 instead? not sure of the specs.

Added on August 7, 2008, 10:34 pmhi bros,

another question... 901 or 900 .. which one faster? some said SSD runs slower? so, is 900 (using hdd) faster than 901?
The Eee PC 904 is actually the same 8.9" LCD from the 901 but ported to the Eee PC 1000H chassis. So those who prefer a larger keyboard, larger storage capacity HDD, likes the smaller 8.9" display and want it slightly cheaper... this is for you. Also it has larger speakers on the sides of the LCD display like the 700/701. Anyway its a little odd. Why do you want a 8.9" display on a 10" chassis??? Might as well buy 1000H because of the gain in size anyway.

Actually there's not much difference between the 1.8" Micro-HDD and the SSD. The 901's faster SSD is the 4GB partition which is reserved for OS. The 8/16GB SSD is of slower type which is where I believe the micro-HDD will be faster. However, since the OS runs on the faster SSD I believe the end result will not be that much of a difference.
davidmak
post Aug 7 2008, 11:44 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Guys want 8 hours of battery life on your Eee PC 901/1000H? Now you can have it! An 8-cell battery built by 3rd party manufacturer especially for the 901/1000H.

http://www.liliputing.com/2008/08/8-cell-8...-available.html
davidmak
post Aug 8 2008, 08:36 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

I checked Intel Download Center and I found a new driver for GMA950 Intel accelerator. The version is 14.32.4.4926 which is a lot newer than ASUS's. I wonder if this is usable for our Intel i945GSE chipset. Did anyone tried? Thanks.
davidmak
post Aug 8 2008, 08:53 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Aug 8 2008, 08:45 AM)
after installed xp, how much free space left on your 4gb ssd???
Mine is around 1.7GB. Nlited ones will have a lot more free space left as their Windows installation can be as low as 500-600MB leaving quite a lot of free space left.

However, I prefer a non-nlited ones at the moment because I would like to preserve functionality at the moment until I have the time to nlite my own version.
davidmak
post Aug 8 2008, 01:54 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(recoil @ Aug 8 2008, 11:31 AM)
hi ppl,

couldnt decide either 900 or 901... please help

900 - cheaper, More GB but shorter batt life,
901 - long batt life, bluetooth but less GB and more expensive
Definitely the 901 of course. If you want storage, you can still make use of the SDHC cards for your media collections. The programs that you will most likely use on an Eee PC may not require a lot of hard disk space. While 4GB dedicated for the OS is unlikely to be run out of space even if you update it periodically, the second 8GB should be a no problem for your documents and programs. If you want movies and mp3s, put it on the SDHC card.

However if you feel insecure due to the low storage, you can still do a modification to include a 1.8" micro-HDD. If you can't do it by yourself, you can ask others over here or shops.
davidmak
post Aug 8 2008, 06:52 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(LordGrimm @ Aug 8 2008, 05:50 PM)
Yup, my set hasn't arrived yet but I am making lists already on:

1. How to repartition the hard disk
2. What to uninstall / install
3. How to make it faster
3. Should I get PDA air / 2 GB RAM / some new bag to carry it in?

laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
1. I think you can repartition the disk during initial installation of an OS. Right now you need to use utilities like Acronis Disk Director or Partition Magic or other freewares.

2. You can uninstall all Microsoft office related items and Microsoft Works if you plan to use things like Office 2003/2007. The PowerDVD can also throw away. You can install VLN player for that. Others really depend on your own taste or what you need or don't need.

3. If you want it faster, insert 2GB of RAM. Actually 1GB is already fast enough. You can do a zero file paging and then create a RAMDisk. Only approach this if you know what you're dealing.

4. Spend your money on the 2GB RAM. The default ASUS slip case is good enough for the job. You don't need the adapter since the 901 runs for a long time. If you're planning to use more than 5 hours straight, then take it with you.

--------------------------

Anyway question for everyone, have you guys realize that Firefox 3 is slow on the Eee PC when scrolling and switching tabs in certain times. I realized that its the SSD that is slowing it down since it has to read data from its internet cache. Are there any workaround for this?
davidmak
post Aug 8 2008, 10:16 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Aug 8 2008, 07:52 PM)
How about putting FF3 cache on RAMdisk?
Yeah, I had thought of using RAMDisk but I was concern on certain feedback that it could ruin installations that require a restart of Windows. Once the PC turns off, all the temp installation files will be gone and installation would fail.

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Aug 8 2008, 08:55 PM)
Today, one dealer in Digital Mall PJ wanted to sell the 1000H to me for 1699.

Is this really cheap?

The spec is the usual 1000H spec. I was suspicious and I left
Probably it has no ASUS official warranty? Better check correctly. However, if the shop decides to price it low, then its probably their decision to cut price or something.

QUOTE(blurprincess @ Aug 8 2008, 09:27 PM)
guys, i had my windows xp install buy my dealer..
below are the software i got, do i have to have it?  i just use the 900 to surf net, video conferencing, email and some simply excel
please help to advice which one i can uninstall

asus os cleaner
ETD ware PS/2-x86 7.0.1.3
google pin yin ime
microsoft .net framework 1.1
microsoft sql server 2005 compact edition
msxml 6.0 parser
windows defender

all above, i dunno what's that.. i would like to uninstall.. will it affect anything system thigns?
The ASUS OS cleaner is quite useful. Its an automatic file cleaner that minimizes the real estate used by the Windows installation. For example, when you do a Microsoft Update, all the installations files will still recide in the installation folder after update. So that program clears these from the system and keep disk usage to a minimum.

.Net Framework 1.1 is required as some programs uses coding from it. Same goes to the sql server and parser. Windows Defender is an antispyware which is not really necessary. You can install an antivirus program that has antispyware feature.

davidmak
post Aug 8 2008, 11:52 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(blurprincess @ Aug 8 2008, 10:53 PM)
i got myself nod32, is that enough?

thanks ahead...
ccleaner is one kind of antispyware?
Yes, I am using NOD32 also. Have been using it for so many years and on all my PCs. Its very lightweight and uses very little resources. Very effective also.

QUOTE(recoil @ Aug 8 2008, 11:42 PM)
hahaha,

i'll give it a pass... could be some gimmick offered by those shop..ekekeke..

rather jsut get a regular 901... wanna get one soon.... tongue.gif

Added on August 8, 2008, 11:42 pmguys, where can i get some tips on the additional 1.8"hdd mod for 901?

how much would it cost huh? and how many GB?
need some guidance here... eheheh
I think we have one member here trying to sell his mods. He's currently in Japan and should be back soon. Probably you search back 2-3 pages and get his contact.

--------------------------

I have already upgraded to the latest GMA950 graphics drivers for Windows XP from Intel Download Center. Improved performance. Last time moving windows rapidly would cause 80-95% processor utilization which made me wonder graphics acceleration wasn't optimum. Also with lots of flash animation running on LYN, the processor utilization usually stays around 30% and above. Now with the latest drivers, moving windows will only incur a 10% average utilization and flash animation only incur a 20% average penalty. Pretty good in my opinion.
davidmak
post Aug 9 2008, 12:32 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Aug 8 2008, 11:57 PM)
I doubt the RM1699 one is legit. The fella must've mistaken it with a 901 tongue.gif.

Btw, anyone had problems with webcam? In other places it works fine but in MSN, its very dark.
Probably you need to do some setting on MSN application's side. Try the webcam and mike setup. It'll allow you to tune the color output of your webcam and other settings.
davidmak
post Aug 9 2008, 09:15 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Aug 9 2008, 12:39 AM)
Therein lies the problem. Under the Audio and Video setup, its fine. Shows fine, and the exposure changes automatically, as it should.

But when you go into Webcam settings, or if you start a video call, the video show is very dark, as if the exposure setting is turned off.

Problem isnt there when you use skype.
hmm.gif hmm.gif Isn't there a provisional setting that allows you to tune the webcam setting while still in a video chat?

Did you recipient on the other side notice the same thing too? If picture is clear on the other side, then I wouldn't worry about it at all because it could be a MSN installation problem. Try install a newer version of the MSN live messenger. Like the version 9 beta 9.
davidmak
post Aug 9 2008, 11:35 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Aug 9 2008, 07:42 AM)
nope. He took out the 1000H and showed me. I too told him whether he is mistakenly quoting the 1699 901. Anyway, I don't buy things if it is too cheap.

I am a very cautious buyer. But then again, I am sure their margins are 2 to 3 hundred ringgit per unit and not RM50 as claimed by you.
Maybe they only have one or two units which they want to clear. Maybe old motherboard revisions? Anyway if they have genuine stock and it comes with genuine ASUS official warranty, I don't see why not to buy it. As long as it is not a stolen unit hehehehe... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Aug 9 2008, 09:18 AM)
Yahoo!!!! Enjoying My EEE PC 1000-H, 2GB RAM biggrin.gif

Hooray!!!!! rclxms.gif

Anyone could help me to get a good tutorial on installing a lite version of vista using v-lite....most of tutorial are only or installing vista using v-lite....not to make it smaller in size and faster in speed

TQ
Using vlite, you can dump away windows components that you don't want like outlook express, movie maker, domain networking, etc. That will decrease the overall size used by the installation. Other components like drivers and support files can be dumped too. You just slipstream your ASUS driver into it and you're done. That should save a lot of space. A lited version usually runs faster because windows has lesser components to manage now.

For me, I am trying to preserve the stock settings of my windows installation as much as I can because I want to retain Windows XP/Vista's functionality. I only do optimization by only enabling the services that I require. Others stay inactive and the memory footprint will be smaller and easier to manage. However the downside side is the installation footprint not as small as some members over here.
davidmak
post Aug 10 2008, 12:50 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Balok @ Aug 9 2008, 01:57 PM)
i got problems with my EEE sad.gif

after install WinXP on my 20GB black Linux eee 900, it seemed that it can't detect the 16GB SSD. how to solve it?
When you install Windows XP you went through the disk formatting manager setup. This is where you partition your disks and format them. You probably could have formatted the 4GB and install on it, leaving the 16GB unattended since it was using Linux file format system initially. You need to reformat the 16GB partition to a Windows file format.

You do this through Control Panel>Administrative Tools>Computer Management>Storage... Look for the d: drive and reformat it to NTFS or FAT32.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.1965sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:04 PM