DELL XPS M1330 FANS CLUB #2, The saga goes on....
djlah
May 2 2008, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(gyvermac @ May 2 2008, 02:37 PM) oh for sure kazasho... i will try later today. by the way guys, i can see my HD partitioned into two C (OS) and D (system backup). My HDD capacity is 250GB. As we know 1kb=1024 bytes, thus 250GB is actually about 244GB in actual , rite? but I can only see my total capacity is 230GB. Anybody can explain?  most simple way to clarify by enter to BIOS. see there...
djlah
May 3 2008, 07:24 PM
QUOTE(MrLawKH @ May 2 2008, 11:56 PM) U got the bluetooh driver? I have 2 OS, but on XP sp3, there isnit any bluetooth icon or program show up in the control panel. and cant find the bluetooth driver on dell website. by the way, XP sp3 performs really well. for winxp, try this: Dell Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module (Bluetooth 2.0 + EDR) http://ftp.us.dell.com/network/R161378.EXEupdate us, after try. This post has been edited by djlah: May 3 2008, 07:24 PM
djlah
May 4 2008, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(chipun @ May 4 2008, 02:00 PM) hai guys.. i just notice that i had one dead pixel of my screen after changing the wallpaper. it size about a particle of sand. can i request for screen replacement? or there are certain criteria of dead pixel that qualify for screen replacement? cheers! yes, either >5 dead pixel or 2 joint dead pixels. but if system still new as not more than 14days, may try to request too. This post has been edited by djlah: May 4 2008, 05:47 PM
djlah
May 7 2008, 08:27 AM
QUOTE(lester @ May 6 2008, 07:55 PM) Remeber last time I ask dell malaysia and they told me that our lappie cant use that becoz some antenna is not installed, some said the card not compatible with our network....and now we all know that they bullshitting us, our lappie can use WWAN card as long as it's unlocked.. they not totally bullshitting you la  . not only unlocked. but must make it happen only compatible with local telco. just like at Australia, the Vodafone are partners with Dell. the card are also compatible with Vadafone signal. user just need to order the WWAN card from Dell with hardware driver & register the service with Vadafone to get sim card with software provided = work! but here Dell don't sell the WWAN, probability are local telco still not interested with this way but only getting the cheapo MIC brand external device for his customer.
djlah
May 7 2008, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(lester @ May 7 2008, 12:26 PM) Don't really under stand what you talking abuot, the card can support 850, 1900, and 2100 MHz bands on HSDPA and UMTS networks and those network is used by most of the Telco included Maxis, celcom, digi. As you said like at Australia, the Vodafone are partners with Dell, this is where the card will locked to Vodafone network only, so you can't use it for other Telco.......When the card is not locked to any specific Telco then you will be able to use it, that's y i'm saying what v need is only an unlocked card. local telco or dell don't support, simple since they din tested and offer this feature here. if you're expect, if unlock yourself lor.... I guess that's why about privacy and usage or certain reason the card are locked. Do you know that if you do it are legal or not to connect local telco without their acknowledgment by using non-authorize device? share with us expect.
djlah
May 7 2008, 01:00 PM
QUOTE(lester @ May 7 2008, 12:55 PM) "simple since they din tested and offer this feature here" it doesn't mean that WWAN card is not compatible in malaysia network that's y i'm saying the bullshit us. Can you read a few post back that I already install an Unlock card and using with the Celcom 3g without any problem. we dun have to unlock the card ourself the unlocked card can be purchase from other country....for the reason they locked the card is because of business strategy not about the privacy. about using non-authorize device it will be the same scenario as you using AP Mobile phone or you bring the phone from other country and use it in malaysia. So pls dun misleading the forumer if u dun know it. thanks for your sharing.. that's why I asking whether it illega or not, just like ppl always discuss AP phone is or not. wat i guess unlocked iphone here should be illegal but u also cant said they bullshit you wat... no offer no support, nth wrong for me. if they offer this feature but don't support you then is bullshit la... This post has been edited by djlah: May 7 2008, 01:03 PM
djlah
May 9 2008, 08:17 AM
QUOTE(phoenix @ May 9 2008, 02:41 AM) dopoD810: Is there any way to check the current model of the mobo? just disassembly your system to check the motherboard label. remove your memory at the bottombased then check there is a long serial number, like: CN-0 PU073-xxxxx-xxx-xxxx Rev A04 CN-0 D057P-xxxxx-xxx-xxxx Rev A00 This post has been edited by djlah: May 9 2008, 08:19 AM
djlah
May 9 2008, 10:51 PM
QUOTE(mokh @ May 9 2008, 07:53 PM) .............. reading replies in this topic make me unsure about my experiment result btw, should i ask for mobo replacement to dell? can i get it even i dont have major prob? btw, its good to have the latest version. not necessary. and Dell also won't entertain you if mobo no issue. some times replacement part are worse. it's really depent on luck sometimes only la.
djlah
May 22 2008, 12:05 PM
QUOTE(likwei @ May 22 2008, 10:31 AM) guys,my xps auto shutdown after i turn on for few minutes.i just called DELL,they will send technician to my place on tomolo. do you guy think they will take back my laptop to reapair?if yes,for how long? thanks guy! usually they wont bring back the notebook but the technician do it on the spot. ( On-Site Service ) only take back the system if really cant duplicate the issue, and will take about 3-5 working days.
djlah
May 23 2008, 06:13 PM
QUOTE(dani_irwan @ May 23 2008, 06:02 PM) MrLawKH, what do u mean by the mobo being PU or DU? I recently replaced my mobo under warranty, it was a refurbished unit, but I dunno if it's PU or DU. is the part number for motherboard PU073 & D057F you can check the part number by remove the cover below, remove the ram then will see it
djlah
May 25 2008, 09:26 PM
QUOTE(skeith @ May 24 2008, 07:22 AM) hey, got a question here. My xps m1330's hdd got some noise when defragment, virus scaning. sometimes, the noise also come out while i doing some file transfer or do something heavy load. is it normal?? or should i call technician? my xps using WD 160GB 5k+ rpm hey~ you may try go to BIOS (F2) then under performance, there is option for HDD. changed to performance. I found that less noise compare to bypass or silent. for my case I guess this is work as per design and is not hdd failure or defective. DELL won't change the hdd if don't have any failure unless there is extreme loud noise can even heard from phone or you make "noise" bla bla with customer service (personally I felt not good as act like beggar; no hard feeling dun flame me) just my 2cents.
djlah
May 27 2008, 05:48 PM
QUOTE(orangysb @ May 27 2008, 04:54 PM) Ok i just got myself a Dell XPS M1330 yesterday, got a pretty high-end one with 2.5ghz 6mb cache, 4gb ram, 200gb 7200rpm hdd etc in it, so far everything's been good except for one thing that annoys the f*** out of me. When i first got it and played music, the sound will be distorted towards the end of every single song, and they are pretty darn obvious, otherwise when i do other stuff like opening programs, there'll be some very slight crackling sound in the music, i was so irritated at this supposedly top of the line model that i reformatted my laptop and reinstalled all the drivers. So far it's been good, no more major distortion with the sound but i think i've heard some very minor ones, if this goes on i'm gonna call Dell and ask them what the hell is going on. Anyone else with the same "luck"? this is vista known issue. just go to control panel open sound, under playback tab, double click "speaker/headphones" click :Enhancements" on top, check "Disable all enhancement", restart computer and try again.
djlah
May 28 2008, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(orangysb @ May 28 2008, 01:49 PM) Ok did that but i'm not sure if it's made any improvement, since there's no more obvious distortion after the reformat i did. It could be me being oversensitive but i think i still hear some very minor distortions, occasionally. I'll have to try installing other media players and see if there's any difference. Anyway is Vista known to have issues when it comes to wireless connection? I was at my friend's place and her laptop connects fine and fast with her wireless router and mine was just painfully slow. Or could this be a Dell problem. But the thing is i connect fine at other wireless spots, i think, or perhaps it could be faster. no wireless issue in vista and dell. for you scenario, could be environment or network traffic issue.
djlah
May 31 2008, 07:31 PM
QUOTE(skeith @ May 31 2008, 03:13 PM) haha! jus wat i said, all depend on ur luck! and congratez tat they finally made ur machine perfect! lets cheer for dell technician support! the 1st problem is the most common problem, this is wat they call "flaw" or something like tat. most of the oversea user face tis problem, and one of my fren too. they said it was graphic card fault, burn or something. but the 2nd problem of urs, i not really bout it  8400 is a discrete graphic card, not integrated. means seperated. although 8400 is a discrete graphic card, but when video card issue and need replacement, will replace mobo. 8400 and mobo are 1part only for xps1330.
djlah
May 31 2008, 07:52 PM
QUOTE(bcktang @ May 31 2008, 07:44 PM) hi, i was wondering if anyone can put up a picture of their system, esp the tuxedo black, looks 'real' from user's picture than those in the dell website. I am considering getting a xps 1530 with the following specs C2D T7250 : 2GHz 800MHz, 2MB cache 15.4 WXGA (1280x800) truelife 4GB 667MHz RAM 160GB HDD 7200RPM Nvidia 8600GT 6 cell Batt, i am considering getting it from uk, and where i am now i do not have to pay VAT, which is 17.5% less than uk price, aft conversion is about 3.8k RM, what do you guys think ? may get meself a vn nano mouse as well. Usage, includes minor gaming, will also be used for programming and other electronics compilation for electronics circuitry and EDAs. and also PCB. So it should be a near desktop replacement..... currently using a compaq and going bonkers with it, if stay UK in long term, I suggest you better purchased the system at UK. some of user had bad experience of UK support because of system purchased from asia. But I wonder why, UK tech support are so not friendly/helpful even system are international warranty. they will request you transfer the warranty, no system information found, cant check, bra bra...... then only support you.
djlah
Jun 7 2008, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(hyperx @ Jun 5 2008, 02:06 AM) hi ppl .. i wanna ask.. is there any issues with m1330? coz my bro bought one.. comes with vista home premium first thing.. there is a vista bug which it cant install driver for any mass storage (pendrive, external hdd, etc etc) then.. it has weird thing.. when it is idle.. suddenly it turned off.. the hdd, monitor all off.. then it restart back.. during booting, it said that "windows are not properly shut down" pls help me is that just a vista issues or really xps problem? right now im thinking to install vista ultimate.. do that will help to solve my 2nd prob? for the scenario, we can see that is not hardware issue but is software problem mostly. may try windows repair, last option reformat computer.
djlah
Jun 9 2008, 10:12 PM
QUOTE(suki @ Jun 9 2008, 08:04 PM) To know the actual size of your HDD (and also the hidden partitions), right-click Computer > Manage > Disk Management. *** Since Vista SP1 slipstreamed DVD is now available, can we actually request Dell to send one over? I also suggest most accurate way of check the size, reboot press f2 go to BIOS to see, simple and easy. I guess this is not allowed by Microsoft. 1 licence only can have 1 media copy. therefore Dell will not also send you second DVD. This post has been edited by djlah: Jun 9 2008, 10:13 PM
djlah
Jun 14 2008, 02:52 PM
QUOTE(mokh @ Jun 14 2008, 01:23 PM) i think the abnormal sound is a known problem... i think it produces by the mobo. but, it only appear when hdd is present and windows is loading. in bios, no sound..if boot via CD/DVD also no sound. this is from what i have experimented before. as i got replaced total 3 mobo, all of them got the sound. it is high frequency sound and give me headache if expose for long time. without this issue, xps m1330 just a great lappy. solution; use ear/headphone.  this is what we know all the while, if anyones here really care and always hear closely, may refer below for workaround: 1. Download RM CPU Clock utility (freeware) 2. disable the "Enable Popup Mode" tickbox in the "Advanced CPU Settings" section. Refer : http://www.futurehardware.in/557984.htmDownload: http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/System...k-Utility.shtml so no need wonder whether to call dell or not, by replace motherboard many times won't solve or lower down the noise level. just my 2cents.
djlah
Jun 16 2008, 08:23 AM
QUOTE(137807102 @ Jun 16 2008, 04:00 AM) what is the highest hdd xps 1330 can support erk? wanna upgrade it.. is it advisable to put in ssd? price dnt matter part available from dell max is 500GB 5400rpm can be support. SSD option also available, but 1 capacity option only which is 64GB. 2 types 9.5MM & 8MM. SATAII This post has been edited by djlah: Jun 16 2008, 08:26 AM
djlah
Jul 4 2008, 12:30 PM
QUOTE(bonline @ Jul 4 2008, 11:46 AM) i got multicoloured lines.... hey all XPS M1330 user: if encounter multiple vertical lines issue happen, can try update latest BIOS too. A11 few bug fix related with video, as the video card are integrated on motherboard. http://ftp.us.dell.com/bios/1330_A11.EXEThis post has been edited by djlah: Jul 4 2008, 12:31 PM