DELL XPS M1330 FANS CLUB #2, The saga goes on....
BlueHeng
Oct 3 2008, 01:52 PM
QUOTE(dracozz @ Oct 3 2008, 09:40 AM) hi guys, juz got my new xps1330 few days back. i've a few questions which i hope those with xp can answer them. 1) grey scales are severely lacking when playing fullhd movies via hdmi output. any remedy on this? it seems normal vga out is perfect for my lcdtv. 2) can xps1330 be connected to a 5.1 channels speaker system? if yes, how? 3) i've heard of the notorius nvidia gpu problem. is overclocking the gpu really not recommended? 10q so much in advance! I'll answer the question 3. Based on my experience, the clock speed for the nvidia gpu drops when it's hot. So erm.. i don't quite see the point of overclocking it further. And yes, it's not recommended as it's already freaking hot. Just playing CoD4 alone at low settings is enough to bring the temp up to 100 degrees max.
BlueHeng
Oct 4 2008, 02:39 AM
QUOTE(5564321 @ Oct 3 2008, 09:05 PM) Well, just asked about an quotation for extended extra 2 years complete cover...RM1300!! Last time i ask Rm1040 > RM1300,freaking crazy!! I think the price sorta increases as the laptop grows older. Or perhaps you've changed some parts? haha it's like insurance eh? You wait till older, cost more $$$.
BlueHeng
Oct 9 2008, 10:17 AM
I would suggest that you make a big complain outta it on the report. Ask for new components etc. Who knows? You might get lucky.
BlueHeng
Oct 11 2008, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(vixxiee @ Oct 10 2008, 06:00 PM) i just enable the graphic again by install the driver again..this is the temp i get using the new mobo and on my new zalman nc-1000  bro you sure you're idling? Or you're running some programs? It's very high lo.. mine's about 60+ when idle. Play warcraft3 it shoots up to 90-105 degrees. zzz
BlueHeng
Oct 24 2008, 11:22 PM
QUOTE(kazasho @ Oct 23 2008, 01:54 AM) avoid buying with nvidia 8400gs @5564321 google for iAtkos. Im using iAtkos v2, its a torrent file + jack sparrow, so cant link it. Last time graphic drivers ok, need to check again. bluetooth ok, wifi ko, external monitor ko, usb ok, sound ko @n20nine thanks ya. just now read about it. just type 4 words, then people fight for what. wth  its been a month, so better I avoid posting Well the 8400gs will only have problems provided you play a lot of games for long hours. If you're just into some graphics... autocad.. then it's alright. QUOTE(kronikloops @ Oct 23 2008, 02:23 PM) need help here.did guys have face any prob reading SDHC card from ur laptop? no problems here too.
BlueHeng
Oct 30 2008, 04:24 PM
.... it's in the dell website la.. and yes all of it you can buy in malaysia
BlueHeng
Nov 4 2008, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(redtuna @ Nov 4 2008, 02:48 PM) i xcidently drop a mineral water bottle full of water on my laptop last night while watching dvds. n' the water gushing onto my keyboard and speaker in no time..but luckily i manage to turn my laptop upside down quick and wait the water to dry itself. l've checked all the hardware n' all are properly function. Lucky me.. but just in case, does the complete cover warranty cover water spill? Well the main thing you have to do is quickly remove the batteries. Water doesn't spoil your electronic items.. short circuiting will. If no power source and you let it dry chances are very highly your laptop won't have any damage. As to your question. Complete cover does include accidental spills and drops.
BlueHeng
Nov 20 2008, 06:01 PM
QUOTE(cancer_kid @ Nov 19 2008, 11:13 PM) of course not 8gb. i plan to have 4gb memory. now running 3gb. but last time around. system will only detect 3.2gb i think. so now can run full 4gb? QUOTE(ruffoundation @ Nov 20 2008, 03:29 PM) yap2..mine can detect n run 4 gb ram.. @ruffoundation: You're only partially right. Now it can detect 4gb ram but if you're running on 32bit you can only utilize 3gb. Only with 64bit os you can make use of all 4gb ram. So the only advantage if you're using 2x 2GB RAM is you'll have dual channel speed.
BlueHeng
Dec 2 2008, 10:57 PM
QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Dec 2 2008, 01:31 AM) can xps m1330 play Call Of Duty 5????any 1 try before??? CoD 4 runs ok with a low-med setting. CoD 5 I assume will be the same as the game engine is similar if I'm not mistaken. QUOTE(David900924 @ Dec 2 2008, 01:28 PM) I play crysis b4 with my lappy but the temp is very critical even with cooling pad. around 85-95..so I only play for few hours not to exceed more than 90. Not sure about call of duty 5 though but call of duty 4 can play it so smooth Is that the max temperature you've taken with HWmonitor while playing the game? Or just the average temperature/temperature while minimized? Even while playing WC3 none of my friends with a M1330 reported max temp of lower than 96degrees.
BlueHeng
Dec 4 2008, 01:06 AM
QUOTE(snowfire64 @ Dec 3 2008, 11:28 PM) Hi. Is it normal to have GPU temperature of 77C while just browsing the internet? For this laptop yes.. it's sorta normal.. mine's currently at 73 degrees.
BlueHeng
Dec 16 2008, 06:32 PM
QUOTE(oxpigb00 @ Dec 16 2008, 11:59 AM) how do you check the temperature? and what temperature's considered abnormal? Try googling for HWmonitor. Well for this laptop I would say if your idle temperature is more than 85 it might be abnormal. QUOTE(orangysb @ Dec 16 2008, 05:14 PM) It's the dreaded classic inevitable Dell XPS m1330 death call, your graphics card is fried after 6 months, time to call Dell and ask them to replace your motherboard, better do it now before it dies completely. Yeah I agree. Better get the mobo fixed asap before you totally can't do any work. Remember to start backing up your files from now just in case.
BlueHeng
Dec 16 2008, 09:44 PM
QUOTE(M4A1 @ Dec 16 2008, 07:16 PM) just call and request for motherboard replacement? but now all ok hmm how to request... There's no need for your mobo to be totally screwed up before requesting for a new one. Just call them and tell them you've been having problems on and off very frequently for the past few days.
BlueHeng
Dec 20 2008, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(100plus7up @ Dec 20 2008, 03:54 AM) wahhh...really have to replace a new motherboard every 6 months arr?? i just replaced a new one last few months.. why like thissssssss???????????? =(((( Not really 6 months. It's just on average. Mine's still working after 6 months.
BlueHeng
Dec 28 2008, 09:32 PM
QUOTE(windows7 @ Dec 28 2008, 08:01 PM) M1330 has built in graphic accelerator? meaning need not graphic cards as M1530 with 8600GT? im confusing now First of all... you're confused... not confusing. Anyway to your question, when buying a dell computer you can customize what you want. So basically you can choose whether you want the 8400M GS (for M1330) or 8600M GT (for M1530). If you choose not to have the nvidia graphic card, you will be given a standard Intel GMA.
BlueHeng
Dec 30 2008, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(orangysb @ Dec 30 2008, 04:25 PM) Mine only took like half an hour, why would it take so long for yours? Changing the motherboard is just a matter of unscrewing and screwing. I bought mine with 4gb ram, kinda pointless anyway since Vista 32bit only recognizes up to 3.5gb. Probably a faulty ram? yeah mine only took less than an hour as well.. ahha..
BlueHeng
Dec 30 2008, 06:54 PM
QUOTE(perror @ Dec 30 2008, 06:37 PM) Hi orangysb, I tried with Corsair and Kingston but both exhibited the same problem. I'll be updating the BIOS and Vista and see if the problem resolves itself. Will keep you guys posted:) Erm.. just checking in case you didn't notice.. (but i doubt you're that blur), did you buy the correct type of RAM? Maybe you accidentally bought DDR3 or something?
BlueHeng
Dec 31 2008, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(M4A1 @ Dec 31 2008, 11:46 AM) motherboard problem is only for nvdia user or those normal intel graphic also? is it good to downgrade it to intel graphic ? only nvidia... for me i definitely need 8400gs because i need to you some engineering cad software. so... no choice lo.. good thing dell is next business day on site. if not i sure go complain kao kao..
BlueHeng
Jan 1 2009, 01:19 AM
QUOTE(IMAX @ Dec 31 2008, 11:12 PM) Dun take Nvidia means use the IntelĀ® Integrated Graphics Media Accelerator X3100? Any other better choice to choose? IntelĀ® Integrated Graphics Media Accelerator X3100 ok or not? Can play old game like Silent Hill 3, Diablo 2??? Or can run software like Maya or not? Diablo 2 i know sure can because the graphics requirements quite low.. silent hill 3.. maybe... but on low.. Maya you can forget about it.. 3D rendering will put too much load on the X3100.
BlueHeng
Jan 1 2009, 01:38 AM
QUOTE(IMAX @ Jan 1 2009, 01:24 AM) if wanna buy DELL XPS M1330, only 2 choice we have right? Either the Nvidia or the integrated, right? Lets say i buy the basic one with integrated graphic card, mayb few years later i really need to do some high graphic activity on the DELL XPS M1330, can i add on the graphic card myself? DELL XPS M1330 only come with these 2 choices or the mobo only support these 2 cards? Yes you're only limited by these 2 choices. And to answer your remaining questions: For a laptop, usually the graphic card is soldered onto the motherboard. I've even read somewhere that in some cases manufacturers actually 'custom made (size, shape, etc)' their graphic card to be soldered onto their mobo. So once you choose yours, you'll be stuck with it forever. No changing.
BlueHeng
Jan 1 2009, 07:08 PM
QUOTE(M4A1 @ Jan 1 2009, 10:16 AM) for the integrated x3100 ra3 can... cause mobile intel 945gm can play RA3 QUOTE(IMAX @ Jan 1 2009, 04:18 PM) u mean can play Red Alert 3??? So which means integrated X3100 is not tat bad a graphic card and more than enough to run light graphic application? Light graphic application is okay...flash shouldn't be a problem. Heavy graphic rendering like maya might be problematic. As for RA3, even the 8400GS can't run medium settings smoothly. Need around low, so honestly I think if you're gonna run RA3 on the X3100 it'll be very low settings with occasional lag.