13 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 >Bottom

Home Theatre Will you really go 7.1?

clngu
post May 2 2008, 11:14 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(Audio Nirvana @ May 2 2008, 10:43 AM)
Does it really matter? It's up to you whether you want to use the length as your width, or vice versa. I think what matters most is your door and window positions.
yupe ... affect your 7.1 setup ... door and window don't think matter most (unless the room is small) ... saw many dedicated HT room cover them up with acoustic materials ...
hackwire
post May 2 2008, 11:16 AM

4,256 posts

i think i can't use 7.1 after all . the room is too small.
clngu
post May 2 2008, 11:23 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(DigitalKL @ May 2 2008, 10:41 AM)
i only have 20ft x 10ft. but room double as a study room as well as HT room

10ft wall is the projection wall. i wish i got a wider room

I think pek pek also I can masuk 7.1 kua.... rolleyes.gif
20 feet as length ... can do 7.1 setup ... the surround back left and right can position behind your seat ... you can have B&W 600/700 series with Denon 3808/4308 or Pioneer LX70/90 or Onkyo 875/905
rx330
post May 2 2008, 11:24 AM

11,808 posts

so room small kenot do 7.1 ar?
Audio Nirvana
post May 2 2008, 11:26 AM

243 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ May 2 2008, 11:14 AM)
yupe ... affect your 7.1 setup ... door and window don't think matter most (unless the room is small) ... saw many dedicated HT room cover them up with acoustic materials ...
What I meant was, if you have a rectangular room, it is up to you to place your system with speakers firing down the longer length of the room. It is no drama if your "length" is actually shorter than your "width", because then you just consider your "width" as the "length" lah.

But if you have windows or doors on the shorter wall, then you're going to run into some difficulties placing your speakers or projector screen there.

Added on May 2, 2008, 11:27 am
QUOTE(rx330 @ May 2 2008, 11:24 AM)
Not cannot.... no point.....

This post has been edited by Audio Nirvana: May 2 2008, 11:27 AM
rx330
post May 2 2008, 11:30 AM

11,808 posts

why no point?
Audio Nirvana
post May 2 2008, 11:33 AM

243 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 2 2008, 11:30 AM)
why no point?
IMHO, if you have your front/side/rear speakers placed so near to each other, you just have all these sounds clashing with each other. Sort of one big jumble/rojak of sound, so to speak. So perhaps you'll have even more difficulty hearing the steering and panning effects.

I feel that there should not be too much overlapping of the range of each speaker. So where the sound of one speaker ends should be where the sound from the next speaker begins, with only a slight overlap, if you get what I mean.

This post has been edited by Audio Nirvana: May 2 2008, 11:35 AM
TSDigitalKL
post May 2 2008, 11:34 AM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ May 2 2008, 11:23 AM)
20 feet as length ... can do 7.1 setup ... the surround back left and right can position behind your seat ... you can have B&W 600/700 series with Denon 3808/4308 or Pioneer LX70/90 or Onkyo 875/905
wah i got approval liao to do 7.1... rclxms.gif icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by DigitalKL: May 2 2008, 11:35 AM
clngu
post May 2 2008, 11:35 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(Audio Nirvana @ May 2 2008, 11:33 AM)
IMHO, if you have your front/side/rear speakers placed so near to each other, you just have all these sounds clashing with each other. Sort of one big jumble/rojak of sound, so to speak. So perhaps you'll have even more difficulty hearing the steering and panning effects.

I feel that there should not be too much overlapping of the range of each speaker. So where the sound of one speaker ends should be where the sound from the next speaker begins, with only a slight overlap, if you get what I mean.
I agreed with you

Added on May 2, 2008, 11:36 am
QUOTE(DigitalKL @ May 2 2008, 11:34 AM)
wah i got approval liao to do 7.1...  rclxms.gif  icon_idea.gif
so got budget rite ... come we go shopping then

This post has been edited by clngu: May 2 2008, 11:36 AM
rx330
post May 2 2008, 11:37 AM

11,808 posts

still tak berap faham
does it means tat, end of the day, i can hear surround, but abit messed up, due to the placement?
Audio Nirvana
post May 2 2008, 11:46 AM

243 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 2 2008, 11:37 AM)
still tak berap faham
does it means tat, end of the day, i can hear surround, but abit messed up, due to the placement?
Imagine if you had Digitalkl's 20ft length, then when a spaceship flies from front to the back, you should clearly hear the sound go from front speaker, then side speaker, then rear speaker, with a large enough delay between each speaker for it to make sense.

But if you have 10ft length only, due to the proximity of the speakers, you'll almost be hearing the sound come from all the speakers at the same time, so yeah, it's gonna be abit messed up as you say. At least if you only have front and rear speakers, you'll have a bigger distance between the speakers to better simulate the movement of the spaceship from front to back.

Hope that didn't confuse you more.
aiman04
post May 2 2008, 12:22 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 2 2008, 11:24 AM)
Where got police to come tanngkap you? tongue.gif

Just try first la, if not ssuitable, use those speakers for you bedroom la... whistling.gif

QUOTE(Audio Nirvana @ May 2 2008, 11:46 AM)
Imagine if you had Digitalkl's 20ft length, then when a spaceship flies from front to the back, you should clearly hear the sound go from front speaker, then side speaker, then rear speaker, with a large enough delay between each speaker for it to make sense.

But if you have 10ft length only, due to the proximity of the speakers, you'll almost be hearing the sound come from all the speakers at the same time, so yeah, it's gonna be abit messed up as you say. At least if you only have front and rear speakers, you'll have a bigger distance between the speakers to better simulate the movement of the spaceship from front to back.

Hope that didn't confuse you more.
I never have that problem. Never. Any of you guys already tried or not? To me if your room lentgh is too big, it won't be realistic already. The most important is that the sound image travels to your back surround, meaning just behind you, not all the way to the kitchen!

I don't have a dedicated room, so doors will have to be compromised. Here's my actual layout:

The white box is where I lie down to watch movies (I like to lie down). The door in the back actually just an opening with curtains that I closes when I watch movies.
apisgogo
post May 2 2008, 12:40 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

my room is small 15ft x 7ft..

i able to enjoy full 7.1 surrounds with no clashing what so ever... it depends on your amp avr configuration smile.gif

calibrate your speakers level using SPL meter.. and u r set.

and another thing, your room acoustics play important role. if got quite diffuser and bass trap to level the sound in the room. gonna add more absorbent later on.

in my case, smaller room, the sound gets more focus.

This post has been edited by apisgogo: May 2 2008, 12:41 PM
clngu
post May 2 2008, 01:10 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

prepare at least RM4k for basic sound acoustic setup laugh.gif

megatron007
post May 2 2008, 03:59 PM

4,000 posts

TUN AIMAN

ur LIVING ROOM DAMM BIG

if u got a 92" screen lagi sedap

*cabutzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
JiauBoy
post May 2 2008, 04:05 PM

727 posts

really no place for that. sad.gif
htkaki
post May 2 2008, 05:23 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

taikor rx, use the pj in your massive living hall lah. The, can go for 10.2 setup
psp _BOY
post May 2 2008, 05:34 PM

I've been lying wide awake paralyzed
1,978 posts

Ya, with Theta Casablanca MK III and Six-Shooter, plus Klipsch reference speakers, individual tweeters, as well as 8 subs, like Kipnis Home theater, Don't forget the 16 Macintosh Monoblocks.

Of course you need the 16' wide SmX 2.35 with a Sim2 HT5000 dual lamp setup, you'll get around 20-22fl! Only the best lens, so we use ISCO III

Damn son, that's gotta be one heck of a room.

This post has been edited by psp _BOY: May 2 2008, 05:35 PM
htkaki
post May 2 2008, 06:10 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ May 2 2008, 05:34 PM)
Ya, with Theta Casablanca MK III and Six-Shooter, plus Klipsch reference speakers, individual tweeters, as well as 8 subs, like Kipnis Home theater, Don't forget the 16 Macintosh Monoblocks.

Of course you need the 16' wide SmX 2.35 with a Sim2 HT5000 dual lamp setup, you'll get around 20-22fl! Only the best lens, so we use ISCO III

rclxms.gif can recommend this to elite clngu thumbup.gif

hackwire
post May 2 2008, 09:05 PM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ May 2 2008, 05:34 PM)

PSP , who is that guy in your avatar. Why is the face in orgast shape?

13 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.0252sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:04 AM