Malaysia as an Option in Contacts Address Book, DONE solution by frozzbyte & alang

TSbola
post Apr 12 2008, 11:25 PM, updated 18y ago

222 posts

For Adding Malaysian Addresses into your Contacts

=======================================
INSTRUCTIONS

1. download attachment Contact_Address.zip (provided by frozzbyte & alang)
2. unzip the file and you will find a file called ABAddressFormats(MOD).plist
3. RENAME it to ABAddressFormats.plist
4. Using your SSH software ( i used WinSCP) to log into your phone.
5. go into the directory /System/Library/Frameworks/AddressBook.framework
5a. (optional step) copy out your original ABAddressFormats file OUT of your iPhone for safekeeping
6. DRAG ABAddressFormat.plist into it
7. Confirm COPY and overwrite the file
8. Disconnect iPhone and restart your phone.
9. MALAYSIA should appear as an option in the country selection list in your Addressbook

This post has been edited by bola: Oct 11 2008, 05:16 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Contact_Address.zip ( 3.44k ) Number of downloads: 192
Attached File  Contact_Address_for_iPhone_2.1.zip ( 3.84k ) Number of downloads: 69
Skylinestar
post Apr 13 2008, 09:12 PM

Mega Duck
10,473 posts

any iphone users can lend a helping hand?
alang
post Apr 13 2008, 09:39 PM

115 posts

please read the iPhone Club version 6 thread. I got my solutions from there. Forgot which page, but I just download the file and copy it to my iphone.

Hmm, lucky you that I manage to recover the file from time machine. Please read the instruction. Credit to the original poster.

This post has been edited by alang: Apr 13 2008, 09:41 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Contact_Address.zip ( 3.44k ) Number of downloads: 461
darkimp
post Apr 13 2008, 09:50 PM

363 posts

thanks thanks..that what i need too.
SHOfrE3zE
post Apr 13 2008, 11:00 PM

Drop It Like It's Hot
1,895 posts

is there anywhere i can do without using iphonebrowser? i dunno y but iphonebrowser indicates that my iphone haven't been jailbreak yet. obviously mine has already been jailbreak since i can use digi and accessing the installers program.
frozzbyte
post Apr 14 2008, 01:02 AM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

@SHOfrE3zE
Did u use ZiPhone to do all the jailbreaking and stuff? If u do then u need to install the ZiPhone iBrickr Fix under Unlocking tools from i.unlock.no repo. This is to enable AFC2 service that iPhoneBrowser use thru the manzana protocol. I know this is a lot of mambo jumbo.
TSbola
post Apr 14 2008, 01:04 AM

222 posts

thanks alang,

patched it already and working well.

uniquexme
post Apr 14 2008, 11:51 AM

839 posts

guys, anyone can get there incoming sms to show the name? mine only show the name for incoming call, not the sms. so when i change the contact to international format, incoming call no show name, but show for sms.
SHOfrE3zE
post Apr 14 2008, 03:52 PM

Drop It Like It's Hot
1,895 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Apr 14 2008, 01:02 AM)
@SHOfrE3zE
Did u use ZiPhone to do all the jailbreaking and stuff? If u do then u need to install the ZiPhone iBrickr Fix under Unlocking tools from i.unlock.no repo. This is to enable AFC2 service that iPhoneBrowser use thru the manzana protocol. I know this is a lot of mambo jumbo.
Hey thx alot bro. Now my iphone is detected as jailbreak. Thx again!
uniquexme
post Apr 14 2008, 04:39 PM

839 posts

guys, can anyone here pls explain to me how to set the setting for malaysia as describe above? me newbie. thanks.
BryanHY
post Apr 14 2008, 05:25 PM

86 posts

I need some help too. Im new LYN member. where is the iPhone thread? Guys help us out...
uniquexme
post Apr 14 2008, 10:28 PM

839 posts

so where are u gonna put the attached file? hmm. it seems no one is answering leh.
alang
post Apr 14 2008, 10:40 PM

115 posts

taken from the readme.txt which is included in the zip file

/System/Library/Frameworks/AddressBook.framework

Change the stock ABAddressFormats.plist to ABAddressFormats.plist.OLD and copy the patched one here. Rename ABAddressFormats(MOD).plist to ABAddressFormats.plist. Reboot the phone for the changes to take effect.

scarred
post Apr 14 2008, 10:44 PM

268 posts

@alang,
do u know how to optimize the appsupport for faster SMS loading?
alang
post Apr 14 2008, 10:47 PM

115 posts

@scared - I have no idea, I just own iphone for 2 weeks. But I'm learning a lot from here and still learning. I read it somewhere on iPhone Club version 6 thread where you need to edit the .plist file and remove other countries to make sms loading faster
scarred
post Apr 14 2008, 10:54 PM

268 posts

in version6 eh? i did browse thru the thread..but too tired to click each pages...i think i missed it! *sighh*
SHOfrE3zE
post Apr 14 2008, 10:58 PM

Drop It Like It's Hot
1,895 posts

use a software called iphonebrowser. it's a windows based program. so install it to your pc and connect your iphone. then browse as said in this thread.
Imzadi
post Apr 15 2008, 04:02 PM

155 posts

Worked as per instructions. Thanks guys!
BryanHY
post Apr 19 2008, 04:40 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(SHOfrE3zE @ Apr 14 2008, 10:58 PM)
use a software called iphonebrowser. it's a windows based program. so install it to your pc and connect your iphone. then browse as said in this thread.
Where to get iphonebrowser? Installer? Or website? or edit source in Installer?
Whats is SSH program?
Help !!!
ken_wickedboy
post Apr 19 2008, 05:58 PM

439 posts

Awesome work! Thanks alot!

0.0193sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled