Xunlei good for BT V2, A whole new V2

midnight_plue
post May 4 2008, 08:39 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(sharkteef @ May 4 2008, 04:42 PM)
i find that .400 onwards is really troublesome.
ever since i got .327 from u i didnt bother with the rest until i formated my comp and installed the latest. thats when my headaches began. reverted back to .327 and i'm going to stick with it all the way through.
how many seeders and downloaders on your tracker for that file ? if it's less than 100 seeds, its going to be hell.
and a friendly reminder, it has to be public tracking torrent files. i've tested a few on private tracked torrents, it wont perform the same as public. i cant figure out why. will run some more tests on it.

nice blog must visit ma. i like to see ppl's recomendations on places to visit/ places of interests and food.
haha
will write those later
it's in my draftsbox forever ady tongue.gif

btw, how to differentiate between public tracker and private tracker?
SUSsharkteef
post May 5 2008, 12:26 AM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

QUOTE(midnight_plue @ May 4 2008, 08:39 PM)
haha
will write those later

normally privately tracked torrents require some form of membership. sorta like a member get member or join member of some site thing, or it circulates only within a small/unique minority.
on whether how to differentiate them, i really have no idea.
gerrardling
post May 5 2008, 12:52 PM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

midnight_plue, are u mmu student ?
midnight_plue
post May 5 2008, 12:55 PM

283 posts

yeah
i am
how did u know?

Added on May 5, 2008, 12:58 pm
QUOTE(sharkteef @ May 5 2008, 12:26 AM)
normally privately tracked torrents require some form of membership. sorta like a member get member or join member of some site thing, or it circulates only within a small/unique minority.
on whether how to differentiate them, i really have no idea.
thanks for the explaination
i did an experiment the other day

i use both XL and utorrent to download one same torrent
what i notice was
XL speed for that torrent is slow
while using utorrent the speed is much faster

i suppose that maybe the newer BT clients can kick XL user ady by limiting the bandwith
so if ur having slow speed with XL
maybe can try utorrent or other BT clients

just my 2cents anyway
btw, me on metrofon when i did this experiment

This post has been edited by midnight_plue: May 5 2008, 12:58 PM
lionheart23
post May 5 2008, 01:27 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(midnight_plue @ May 4 2008, 08:39 PM)
haha
will write those later

public tracker no need to register, speed maybe slow

Private tracker need to be registered and banned leecher,
so if your thunder suddenly too slow, don't scream, coz it's leecher.

Other factor maybe less seeder or what so ever.
SUSsharkteef
post May 5 2008, 02:41 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

@midnight - i have both metrofon and streamyx but i find no fault with metrofon at the moment, cept their unforgiving downtimes.
also i did a test on 1 particular private seeding torrent with xunlei several times now and it works but i still need to run more tests before i can confirm that private seeding torrents
would not affect xunlei users too much.
also i dont think alot of ppl would ban the xunlei client. as far as i know, i'm still able to obtain full speeds on both metrofon and streamyx. i have posted some screenies back and
they show me obtaining external ip's and clients which varies.

@lionheart, not all privately tracked torrents ban leechers.

and yes when doing troubleshooting on why your client is downloadin at extremely slow speeds, pls check several things

1 - check your normal download speeds by downloading something from microsoft's website. i highly recommend larger files such as dotnetfx. check that speed first. why use microsoft ? because its got one of the largest bandwidth to offer.
2 - make sure your firewall or antivirus isnt the culprit.
3 - check router settings if u are behind one.
4 - get extremely high seeding torrents for testing purposes. (seeders beyond the 3000 mark + leechers beyond the 3000 mark = total 6000 up/dl)
5 - if u tampered with xunlei's settings' go back to HeHeHunter's blog and start from there.

TSHeHeHunter
post May 6 2008, 07:03 PM

664 posts

After testing and testing...

Which I just get TM to change my line... (TM is being kind to me!!!)
from G_lite to ADSL2+.

You can compare below.

BEFORE

AFTER

since then, I checked out the speed and see.

The latest version, v5.7.12.493 is very slow! 15KB>
v5.6.8.327 is much more stable and faster. 130KB<

This prove that older version works better.

This post has been edited by HeHeHunter: May 7 2008, 12:23 AM
SUSsharkteef
post May 6 2008, 08:05 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

QUOTE(HeHeHunter @ May 6 2008, 07:03 PM)

Which I just get TM to change my line...
from G_lite to ADSL2+.

You can compare below.

BEFORE

AFTER

heheh aztech old modem. i also had the same unit before god fried it to bits.
.327 is memang very canggih however what disturbed me in .4 version is the multiple error i get.
when i wake up in the morning, the new version always have errors in them forcing me to use the task manager to shut down xunlei. either its that or some protocol thing pops up bout 100000000000000000 times before can exit. its a major drag. thats why i shifted back to .327 with smooth flowing easy problemless features.
speed wise i think both about the same coz i can still get maxed speeds with the newer ones.
TSHeHeHunter
post May 6 2008, 09:04 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(sharkteef @ May 6 2008, 08:05 PM)
heheh aztech old modem. i also had the same unit before god fried it to bits.
.327 is memang very canggih however what disturbed me in .4 version is the multiple error i get.
when i wake up in the morning, the new version always have errors in them forcing me to use the task manager to shut down xunlei. either its that or some protocol thing pops up bout 100000000000000000 times before can exit. its a major drag. thats why i shifted back to .327 with smooth flowing easy problemless features.
speed wise i think both about the same coz i can still get maxed speeds with the newer ones.

I am a old guy man... Using everything also old. Computer P3, aztech modem, old CRT monitor, old mainboard, Ge Force 3 Graphics.

tongue.gif

But can run vista summore.
lionheart23
post May 6 2008, 10:05 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(HeHeHunter @ May 6 2008, 07:03 PM)

Which I just get TM to change my line...
from G_lite to ADSL2+.

You can compare below.

BEFORE

AFTER

my line still Standard:ADSL_G.dmt........................ doh.gif
vmad.gif vmad.gif mad.gif
midnight_plue
post May 6 2008, 10:39 PM

283 posts

hehehunter
thanks for the experiment
i'll stick with the older version tongue.gif
now i think i know why my speed never as fast as b4 dy
SUSsharkteef
post May 6 2008, 11:57 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

QUOTE(HeHeHunter @ May 6 2008, 09:04 PM)

I am a old guy man... Using everything also old. Computer P3, aztech modem, old CRT monitor, old mainboard, Ge Force 3 Graphics.

tongue.gif

But can run vista summore.
u're 1 chinese cycle younger than me leh
TSHeHeHunter
post May 7 2008, 12:19 AM

664 posts

QUOTE(lionheart23 @ May 6 2008, 10:05 PM)
my line still Standard:ADSL_G.dmt........................ doh.gif
vmad.gif  vmad.gif  mad.gif
G.DMT can support up to 4MBps max. biggrin.gif

ADSL2+ said to support till 20Mbps. drool.gif
But you see my DSLAM then you will understand that it is a waste to give me ADSL2+. cry.gif

QUOTE(midnight_plue @ May 6 2008, 10:39 PM)
hehehunter
thanks for the experiment
i'll stick with the older version tongue.gif
now i think i know why my speed never as fast as b4 dy
That's good, my friend still argue with me that the latest works as fast.
At least you are not like him. smile.gif

QUOTE(sharkteef @ May 6 2008, 11:57 PM)
u're 1 chinese cycle younger than me leh
How you know de? plue leak my age out ar? blush.gif I get shy de wor.
SUSsharkteef
post May 7 2008, 01:23 AM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

QUOTE(HeHeHunter @ May 7 2008, 12:19 AM)
G.DMT can support up to 4MBps max.  biggrin.gif

ADSL2+ said to support till 20Mbps.  drool.gif
But you see my DSLAM then you will understand that it is a waste to give me ADSL2+.  cry.gif
At least you are not like him.  smile.gif
How you know de? plue leak my age out ar?  blush.gif  I get shy de wor.
i ask u b4 long ago ler. u having stpm that time.
cyc85
post May 7 2008, 06:21 AM

sob~sob~
1,202 posts

this few days i duno why my xunlei download so slow.... less than 50kB for 4 tasks torrent...
it's juz happen this few days....
usually i can download for full speed for the same type of torrent(taiwan entertainment show)....
there is at least 10 local peers but how come still so slow?
Juz tested download a file from ccleaner.com, it can't reach 20K.....
Is it xunlei problem or my computer????

This post has been edited by cyc85: May 7 2008, 06:24 AM
slko
post May 7 2008, 10:43 AM

836 posts

i oso have the same problem too..
midnight_plue
post May 7 2008, 12:05 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(HeHeHunter @ May 7 2008, 12:19 AM)
G.DMT can support up to 4MBps max.  biggrin.gif

ADSL2+ said to support till 20Mbps.  drool.gif
But you see my DSLAM then you will understand that it is a waste to give me ADSL2+.  cry.gif
At least you are not like him.  smile.gif
How you know de? plue leak my age out ar?  blush.gif  I get shy de wor.
i din leak ur age ler
never mention anything
huhu
maybe for him, the latest is better la
i'll have to try .327 and the later version to determine
maybe different ISP provider and different pc specs will determine the speed smile.gif

QUOTE(cyc85 @ May 7 2008, 06:21 AM)
this few days i duno why my xunlei download so slow.... less than 50kB for 4 tasks torrent...
it's juz happen this few days....
usually i can download for full speed for the same type of torrent(taiwan entertainment show)....
there is at least 10 local peers but how come still so slow?
Juz tested download a file from ccleaner.com, it can't reach 20K.....
Is it xunlei problem or my computer????
maybe ur line kena throttle
try to limit the download to only 2 or 1 at 1 time instead of 4 at 1 time
and limit ur upload speed
if not, maybe the peers limited their upload speed dy smile.gif
SUSsharkteef
post May 7 2008, 02:12 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

no slowdown for me.
i usually open 6-10 tasks to be downloaded at the same time. always hitting max speeds around 270-290kb/s.
.327 is really great.

TSHeHeHunter
post May 7 2008, 03:42 PM

664 posts

I will stick back to the old one.

scared suddenly die off.

midnight_plue
post May 7 2008, 03:51 PM

283 posts

sharkteef