4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Nokia Nokia XpressMusic 5800 "TUBE", Nokia's first touch S60 device

Eiraku
post Nov 28 2008, 12:59 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Urhk... Time to sell off my PDA (and other assorted stuff) and to jump from the SE side of the force... brows.gif
Eiraku
post Nov 28 2008, 08:11 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(unknowndevices @ Nov 28 2008, 07:19 PM)
erksss?...Eiraku?...didn't know you were eyeing for this model also?... hmm.gif
Was aiming for the Xperia or the IPuhn3G OR the TouchHD but with all three touching 3K easy... cry.gif cry.gif

Sell body + soul asso cannot finance one (camera and lenses cannot sell, worth more then life + soul)... sweat.gif

The 5800 has:

1) An HUGE ASS touch screen + TWO styli (the guitar-pick thing phails, although it IS harder to lose)

2) A 33 hour music playback - MARKETING-WISE optimistic, I know.

3) S60 - the programs for which are abundant, although I wonder just how many S60 proggies are touch enabled.

4) Acceptable video playback - me anime collection + the bundled 8GB card + the HUGE screen + serviceable speakers: WIN.

5) The REQUIRED 3-inch jack - Why? Ask me how many fastport HPM-82's I've bought since the start of my life with Eiten-Tan (the W810), come on, ask. Seems SE has been building them for ULTRA-FREQUENT replacement cycles.

6) A serviceable AF camera module - no Cybershot I know, but that's what my Alphy-Tan is for. Besides, it records videos at 30FPS, although at only god knows what reso... sweat.gif

7) Oh did I mention the HUGE ASS touch screen?

So, I have FINALLY found the perfect way to rid my pockets of the load that is the Axim + W810 bundle I've been carrying around for a while... If the 5800 comes out at around 1.6k, I'm sold... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

If not, I'll wait... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 28 2008, 08:13 PM
Eiraku
post Nov 28 2008, 10:40 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Vakiyo @ Nov 28 2008, 09:55 PM)
I also very interested the Nokia 5800..I just search at taiwan website ...they sell NT14900 that mean around RM1500-1600 only they launch at 06/12/08 rclxms.gif
So, everyone here gonna run out the door with cash/credit card/debit card/property to pawn/father's wallet/money freshly stolen from the nearest bank the moment the 5800 hits?

I might just... Other then the prospect of a quick dying (ala IPhun 1st gen) touch screen and the Proc not fast enough to take full advantage of the 640x360, mouth watering razor sharp screen for Video playback; there seems to NOT be much going wrong on the thing... Nokia seems to have a winner on their hands... brows.gif

Faster faster launch here! drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

And I wonder if they have more robust 3rd party time management/office apps/financial tools ready for the version of S60 the 5800 is running on?

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 28 2008, 10:41 PM
Eiraku
post Dec 1 2008, 12:56 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 1 2008, 12:30 PM)
me wait for price to drop, kekeke, cheapskate tongue.gif

anything below Rm1.5k is my range.
Ditto... Although I could still consider it if it drops below 1.6k... By that time all the bugs will be pin-pointed by all the (even more than me) impatient early adopters... brows.gif
Eiraku
post Dec 2 2008, 07:12 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Urk... Now what... N97? 5800XM? Can't choose... (well, in truth, can choose easily... Confirm no money for the N97 lor... biggrin.gif )

TUBE FTW... Just faster faster come over... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 2 2008, 07:16 PM
Eiraku
post Dec 2 2008, 07:27 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(unknowndevices @ Dec 2 2008, 07:16 PM)
yeah!...you answered your own question already... whistling.gif
anyway,you understand what's your main priority right?...don't let N97 overshadowed your "dream" TUBE... rolleyes.gif
LOL... Sure... Just need someone to try playing transcoded movies (OR, anime) on the 5800 later to seal the deal... Wanna see how much reso and bitrate can be crammed into the 5800 before the 300++mhz processor chokes... brows.gif

Other then that, the lack of a proper keyboard can be handled by a BT keyboard, no problem... And as for the N97, I would have rather they redesigned the N81 (sliding keypad and all) with the 5800's screen --> Perfect for car bound SMSing... biggrin.gif

But I'd say they're saving that for the N8x-something later... brows.gif
Eiraku
post Dec 2 2008, 08:10 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Hmm... 15fps MP4 file... Must be h.264 or something like that... I wonder if it does DIVX... biggrin.gif

Too used to jamming DIVX anime from the lappy straight to the X51v's CF without any transcoding (thanks to the fastest - amongst those supported by TCMPC - Proc + Graphics Chip combo ever seen on a mobile device)... biggrin.gif

Very much spoiled by that + the 640x480 hi-res screen... brows.gif

But the Axie sucks in terms of battery life, for such a huge device... Hampers any sort of mobile work (typing, gaming, music)... sweat.gif

Nothing the Tube + a couple of extra batteries couldn't fix, I hope... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 2 2008, 08:11 PM
Eiraku
post Dec 21 2008, 07:33 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Uhmmm guys... Somebody finally succumbed to the Dark Side... sweat.gif

But.... - click spoiler -

That ain't stopping me from getting my technophile fingers all over it though... And for a phone with a meagre 300++mhz processor to outdo my 645mhz processor + 3d accelerator equipped super-pda Axim in playing YouTube movies (they play smooth as silk on the 5800, darnit!), it's also a bit sad... thumbup.gif

Will report more on the phone, but my initial view --> two thumbs up (except for the extremely sensitive accelerometer and slightly lag inducing portrait to landscape switch!)

And the music sounds just fine to my non-aficionado, Walkman mega-bass saturated ears... brows.gif

The countdown to this little household having TWO of these babies starts now... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 21 2008, 07:38 PM
Eiraku
post Dec 21 2008, 07:42 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(noos @ Dec 21 2008, 02:53 PM)
anyone know the part of the touch screen is make by scratch-resist material like iphone or juz a normal transparent plastic?
Nope, just normal plastic... Get a screen protector pronto!

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Dec 21 2008, 07:28 PM)
there will be more and more Nokia Tubians around after this  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Give me a week... I'm peeing in my pants already playing around with my dad's 5800 (oh the humiliation... I feel like a secondary schooler again darnit)... I MIGHT be joining the ranks REALLY soon... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Dec 21 2008, 07:41 PM)
it seems this 5800xm can seduce middle age person like ur dad. good2  thumbup.gif .
do post more of ur dad's 5800XM  wink.gif
For my middle age dad --> Can easily play his beloved YouTube (not mobile YT eh, the desktop version) with no lag what-so-ever + 8 gigs of music (he'll probably only use 2 though, the rest he probably wants for his downloaded youtube movies)... Deal clincher... brows.gif

The onboard speakers are also good enough to do acceptable YouTube audio in a slightly noisy kopitiam... thumbup.gif

Will continue on reporting on the 5800... These few days will be make it or break it for me and the 5800... Whether or not I'll be getting myself one of these babies... biggrin.gif

Although my eyes are already bleeding and my fingers shaking... AP or Ori sudah tidak kisah punyalah... biggrin.gif

Anyone up to creating a dedicated XM5800 owner's thread soon?

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 21 2008, 07:54 PM
Eiraku
post Dec 21 2008, 08:00 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Aiseh... Running over to my dad's room for another 'muntah darah' (puke blood) session with the 5800... biggrin.gif
Eiraku
post Dec 21 2008, 08:25 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Aishiteru^Suki @ Dec 21 2008, 08:09 PM)
Hi guys.. can any of u or new users somehow try to compare the SQ or loudness of Tube to Innov8??  hmm.gif wanna double check before let all my money fly to tube here..  sweat.gif thanks  notworthy.gif

one more thing.. whats the equalizer setting listed in Tube?? any 3D setting or sterero widening available?
Can't help you to compare the two... No Innov8 to compare... biggrin.gif

Although, personally, I bet my money on the 5800 for the OS (S60 Touch)... Up to now its proving to be far, far more finger centric then WM... Also, the people developing for the S60 platform, plus the fact now that UIQ is dead... I feel there's more of a future for S60... sweat.gif

Although I have no idea what the Innov8 is running on... AND I'm running off topic (Speakers to OS)...biggrin.gif

As for the equalizer setting, I haven't seen Stereo Widening yet (although IINM, Mobile-Review did mention that the 5800 had it)... Only bass boost and the normal crap + a 5 band (IINM) manual equalizer... Nothing much more then my oldie W810i... biggrin.gif

Going back down to help set up WEP WIFI access on the 5800... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 21 2008, 08:26 PM
Eiraku
post Dec 21 2008, 08:28 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Dec 21 2008, 08:26 PM)
talk about SoundQuality (how come Nokia never emphasize this feature on this XpressMusic), how does it fend off against N-series ? unsure.gif

so far there's not much info about the music player
Someone posted this a few pages back... biggrin.gif

http://www.thenokiaguide.com/my_weblog/200...view-music.html

I, for one, generally agree with the guy... Although I'm only comparing the 5800 with my W810i, my PSP and the whole crapload of MP3 players that I once had... biggrin.gif

And for me, the 5800 does fine enough + my old W810i earplugs (trashed the Nokia plugs back into my dad's box for testing)... biggrin.gif

For everyone else, there's always the N91... brows.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 21 2008, 08:29 PM
Eiraku
post Dec 21 2008, 09:40 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Updated web browsing hands-on:

Surfing with the XM5800 is HUGELY dependent on the WIFI line that you're leaching on... If the Access Point ur using is fast, then surfing is smooth and lag free (case in question, the relatively deserted kopitiam)... If the AP you're using is clogged with Torrents and other crap (like in my home), then you can really feel the 5800 getting clogged up to crap slowness... sweat.gif

But, other then that, the 5800 is really kicking my Axim's behind in web surfing... sweat.gif

Then there's the accelerometer... If someone tells you it's sensitive, they're lying... It's CRAP sensitive... brows.gif

Just A FEW fragging degrees off landscape and the thing goes all crazy trying to move to portrait before realising it's own hyper-sensitiveness and switching back to landscape... Aiyoo Nokia, can you tweak a few lines of code to tell the the sensor to be a bit more lenient? sweat.gif

And about the proxie sensor, yes, it's working like the one on the IPhone... At least the dialling screen blacks out when I put it on my face... Dunno yet what will happen when someone picks up a call while web surfing / movie watching / game playing / music listening... biggrin.gif

Eiraku
post Dec 21 2008, 09:49 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 21 2008, 09:41 PM)
damn techy daddy!!! biggrin.gif
Blame his son and his poisoning... If I didn't talk him out of it, he would have gotten himself a 5800 in Indo last week... sweat.gif

Deadly poison eh?

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 21 2008, 09:41 PM)
and hey, how about we assign you as the new Nokia 5800 Tubey TS?

i like the way how you manage the SE W810i discussion thread biggrin.gif
I can help, but I might be a bit busy to handle TS'ing... It being my last semester and all next year... biggrin.gif

But let's let this thread run its course first... Plus the fact I haven't even BOUGHT the 5800 yet...

QUOTE(Aishiteru^Suki @ Dec 21 2008, 09:36 PM)
back to the topic, so Eiraku, u stated just now no stereo widening?? are u sure? go go check.. worst case if i dun buy this phone my gf will.. will poison her kaw kaw  brows.gif  brows.gif
Just checked... YES, IT DOES HAVE Stereo Widening... thumbup.gif

And that gorgeous 360x640 screen is still darned gorgeous... drool.gif

Makes the X1's 800x something screen seem cramped for some unknown reason... I blame WM... sweat.gif

And I didn't know Nokia Maps was that advanced already? God, I missed a few years of advancement... I wonder just how much better Gramin XT is for people to so want to install it on their phones... brows.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 21 2008, 09:53 PM
Eiraku
post Dec 21 2008, 09:59 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 21 2008, 09:53 PM)
*Gulp*

sometimes i choose to skip to read you guys' reviews, because the more i read, the more i gatai my hands are.

enduring to the max!!!!! >.<
You're not the only one... sweat.gif

Feel like just going to the ATM and splurging straight on an AP without waitng... There's also the FAT CHANCE that my dad DOESN'T warm up to it enough to want to keep it in a few months and passes it down to me - FOR FREE! rolleyes.gif

Aiseh... Wait ka? No wait ka? Can go nuts like this... sweat.gif

Anyhow, back to the phone itself... Web lagginess, program incompatibly, crap quality camera plastic cover issues aside, this is probably the single most important phone in Nokia's product line-up IMHO...

A smooth, intuitive UI, good sonics (to my ears anyhow), the POTENTIAL to run GREAT programs (viva la S60!), that blardy beautiful screen... It's a touch-phone for the masses (if they can pull the Ori price down just a liiiiiiiiiiiiiiitle bit lar)... biggrin.gif

It's that good... Very good IMHO, for a first try all-touch phone... biggrin.gif

As the Indonesian XM5800 banners display, it's all about "Sentuhan Cinta", the Touch of Love!

Have you felt it? Sentuhan Cinta... laugh.gif

Gosh, I'm gushing like a fanboy... sweat.gif

Now, to transcode some anime for the thing to play... Anybody knows what this thing can play, in terms of movie codecs?

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 21 2008, 10:05 PM
Eiraku
post Dec 21 2008, 10:09 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(mrhenree @ Dec 21 2008, 10:05 PM)
you know woot? in canton, we say you are the 'god' and also the 'ghost'.. ask pple wait, but here promoting like we have no reason but need to own it asap like that...  whistling.gif
Hahahaha... True... laugh.gif

The power of fanbois... sweat.gif

Somebody's gotta help topple the Evil Empire of the Expensive Fruit Branded Electronics... sweat.gif

But seriously, it's a likeable phone IMHO, just like the one I'm using now (my loveable Eiten-Tan - W810i)... They both ain't perfect, but they sure as heck can do a lot of things well, AND EVEN surprise you sometimes... biggrin.gif

What else can I say... brows.gif

Now, for some Video testing... drool.gif

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 21 2008, 10:08 PM)
lol Eiraku, looks like your dad's tubey is in your hands now
for movies, 3gp, mp4, avi (with smart movie) should be workable.

there's a studying guide on how to convert DVD to mp4.
i have bookmarked this, just in case i need it next time biggrin.gif
http://www.eprice.com.tw/mobile/talk/?prod...e=1&list_page=1
Thanks mate... If it accepts XVID (as I can see from the guide's pics... can't read chinese), then I'm just gonna cram my standard XVID test video (the 1st Episode of Macross Frontier, non-deculture edition) into the memory card - un-transcoded or anything - and play... brows.gif

I just love stress testing electronics... rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 21 2008, 10:14 PM
Eiraku
post Dec 21 2008, 10:18 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Dec 21 2008, 10:14 PM)
will not buy this phone, because the price dropped so fast, seems very "laoya"..not confident with this tube..thought its like a exclusive model, but so cheap.. rclxs0.gif
Well, it's a people's phone, IMHO... The VW of the touch phone world... biggrin.gif

You'll have to wait for the N-series touchies to come over lar for the exclusive ones... icon_rolleyes.gif

Oh, I haven't touched on the build quality yet... Yes, it DOES NOT feel as solid as my W810i (what current Nokia phone does?), but the plastics are of acceptable quality, and it AT LEAST doesn't feel like I (or in this case, my dear father) has just splurged a thou and a half on a piece of lawya plastic... sweat.gif

It does have a certain heft to it, but will it survive a thousand falls like my W810i did? I really don't think so (it's a touch screen summore)... sweat.gif

My thought? Get a frigging silicone case as soon as one comes out... You'll need it... Although, this DOES NOT mean that it is crap cheap lawya... It's build FINE for a current gen, plastic phone... biggrin.gif

It's just that, in terms of build quality, ALL the companies have gone down the deep end ever since the early days of the N-series... sweat.gif

Even SE, Moto ain't building phones like they used to IMHO (the X1 excluded, it's a crap expensive model, mind you)... brows.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 21 2008, 10:23 PM
Eiraku
post Dec 21 2008, 10:30 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Dec 21 2008, 10:20 PM)
oh..i see..but this phone is it worth like that only?? from what i see, the spec should worth 2k  hmm.gif
You win some you lose some... biggrin.gif

You can't expect ANYONE to come out with a GPS + 3.2MP Camera (look, that's hardly top of the line) + WIFI + 360x480 High Res, 3' screen + 320mhz (correct me if I'm wrong people) proc + in-box 8GB mini-SD phone AND build it like a tank with an aluminium outer casing (being a bit realistic here and not saying Adementium); while still offering it in the 1.5 - 1.9k bracket, rite?

Trust me, it ain't a perfect phone... It has net lags in high traffic WIFI networks, it has an utterly emotional accelerometer, it has a crap ass cheap stylus that I wouldn't wanna get caught dead using (and even then I haven't explored the Tubey enough yet to dig out ALL it's imperfections)... The few things that you pay for to get a sub 2k, full touch, "Volks-iPhone"... brows.gif

And I ain't putting down the people from the Evil Empire of the Expensive Fruit Branded Electronics either ... I can't say I don't lust for the FruitPhone just like everyone else, it's just that lust ain't gonna pay your bills... Money saved by buying slightly more cheap feeling phones will... brows.gif

Now to actually go buy the "slightly more cheap feeling phone"... brows.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 21 2008, 10:35 PM
Eiraku
post Dec 21 2008, 10:41 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Now we just need a notes program for the XM5800 that acts like an actual paper notepad... Something I can jot on... biggrin.gif

I have that on my Axim, sure as heck saves me a coupla hundred in 555-brand small note books... biggrin.gif

That, and QuickOffice Touch, some sort of Fleximail (WM email client) alternative, a personal financial management program... * eiraku continues on yapping alone in a frenzy of 5800 induced catatonic stupor *

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 21 2008, 10:42 PM
Eiraku
post Dec 22 2008, 12:02 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(booooster @ Dec 21 2008, 11:50 PM)
5800 all fingers only can do?
I'd say 85% of the time, no problem... It just gets a bit tight while surfing, and clicking links... This is where the plectrum (the guitar pick thingy) comes in handy... biggrin.gif

As for the cheap ass plastic tooth-pick for a stylus, when (and IF) I get the 5800, it's gonna stay in the silo most of the time, at least before a note-pad jot program is introduced and I start to need a proper stylus... biggrin.gif

Coming from WM myself (a long time modded Axim user), this thing is FAR, FAR more optimised for finger use then normal WM... I mean, even BASIC S60 touch blows my highly modded, finger-centric WM config out of the water... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 22 2008, 12:03 AM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0465sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:18 AM